USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Supracor Stimulite Contoured
Written by Jarrod
Max Mobility SmartDrive
Written by jimmy
Permobil M300 Corpus 3G
Written by WheelieGuy
Electric Mobility 600 Series
Written by Larry
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Ralph
Invacare Top End Crossfire T7A
Written by jesse
Discontinued Flofit Medical Flexseat
Written by Siggy
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Emily
Kuschall Kuschall Advance
Written by franco
Hoveround MPV 4
Written by CJ
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Permobil Street
Image of Permobil Street
Power wheelchair with rear wheel drive and elevating seating system.
• 25cm seat elevation
• 45 degree seat tilt.
• Top speed is 12 km/h.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1510
Durability?4.875.000
Ease of use?4.535.000
Meet expectations?4.275.000
Overall Rating:4.474.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Justin from North Carolina submitted this review on September 22nd 2014 at 05:41 PM. Justin is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Motors and power seat has never broken.
Fast
Good looking
Weaknesses:Cheap controller buttons peel off.
Flutter kit falures
Comments:I have had this seven years now and it was a beast. Faster than any chair I have ever seen, and with a name like street, what would you expect? Cool head and tail lights and a sweet looking shroud. Only items that were ever replaced were tires, controller, and flutter kit. Durable in all ways. It has now been replaced with an m300 not because of failure, but simply because I wore the heck out of it. It did become a squeaky bucket of bolts, but it still works perfectly fine.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Skip from New Orleans, LA submitted this review on May 7th 2013 at 05:09 PM. Skip is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:It rides great. The function such as the up and down legs rests are dependable. The seat up and down, test bace are easy to use. And the back laying back are easy to use.
The chairs stability seems good.
Weaknesses:It would be nice to have the ability to charge while in the road. And it is a little higher than my other powerwheelchair
Comments:I like the Saftey features on slowing down the chair under certain conditions. I wish there was an indicator
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
T. from USA,MN, NA submitted this review on June 17th 2012 at 02:17 PM. T. is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:speed
Comfort
Agility (considering this is a big ass chair it goes in smallish places pretty hood)
Not as ugly as I would've thought
Rugged strong durable product
Runs smooth
Excellent Joy stick
Love The R-NET control
Fixed the plug in port problem 1 accessible port and one less accessible
Has a locking function.
Good seat depth for short people
Weaknesses:Does not Recline to a fully prone position (only 45 degrees as opposed to 90.)
Speed inhibitors are a pain to live with and on the newer makes are either very difficult or impossible to override
Hard to mount backpack
difficult to find suitable wheelchair bags and totes
Comments:long overly detailed review to come shortly. Bottom line worth the extra time, energy and money. This is a grown-up chair that requires the user to have a high degree of comfort with handling power chairs. Handling meaning steering and programming. Ideal for SCIs amputees and paraplegic/triplegic C.P. STANDARD OR PRETTY CLOSE TO STANDARD REACTION TIME IMPERATIVE! This ain't your grandma's power chair. That said, speed is adjustable within modes.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Paul from Orlando, Florida submitted this review on April 19th 2011 at 10:39 PM. Paul is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I am the "original" Paul, from Fairfax, Virginia, that posted reviews below. All the comments and ratings still apply.
Weaknesses:Ditto.
Comments:April 19, 2007

The arm rests finally failed.

Well actually the arm and ball socket that hold the arm rests into position finally failed. The socket portion is what actually gave out. The socket is thinner metal and the solid steel ball finally spit it's way out of the socket.

I've had this chair for seven years so something was bound to give out.

On the bright side I'm hoping this will finally force the Veterans Administration to get off their butts and order me a new chair. The downside ... ugghh ... it takes weeks to deal with them.

This Street has served me very well over the last seven years. I hope I can get it fixed and keep it as a backup. I absolutely love the Permobil Street Corpus. Unfortunately it failed me at a terrible time ... I live alone and was getting out of the swimming pool. When the arm rests dropped I fell back into the pool. All good since I'm an excellent swimmer, but the chair was way out of position for transferring once I was back out. I had to crawl to my bedroom, pull myself up onto my bed, and transfer to my manual backup chair.

Fortunately my neighbor lady checks on me every night and she was able to get my Street into the house before it starts to rain tonight.

I'd give this Street 10 stars if I could.

~Paul
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Solomon from Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States submitted this review on September 10th 2010 at 03:47 AM. Solomon is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed, suspension, durability, lighting kit,
Weaknesses:does not recline or tilt fast enough, speed inhibitor engages at to little angle And cannot elevate to post height unless chair is tilted all the way forward which makes it useless for me (cannot keep myself sitting upright and too much pain in my rear end)
Comments:I test drove the earlier model Street and loved it, but when I received my Street, which is the new model, I was quite letdown! I had no idea there was going to be a speed inhibitor. It is not that bad for the elevator mode, but is unnecessary otherwise, in fact, even dangerous for me. I have pain in my rear end so I need to be tilted back more than usual. When driving and coming to a sudden stop when tilted back I am just thrown forward slightly but when tilted down to where the chair now will drive it feels like I'm going to be thrown right out of the chair sometimes. The main reason I bought this chair was for the extra height in the elevator versus the chairman 2S that I have, but it only elevates part way and then you have to tilt all the way forward to elevate the rest of the way. I cannot hold myself straight up in this position and it is too painful on my rear end to sit more than a few seconds, so needless to say I was quite letdown with this chair. And to drive in a position which is comfortable for me the lockout will be engaged, so I have to drive a little bit and then sit and tilt back and rest, drive a little bit, sit and tilt back and rest etc. I have a feeling this chair will be going in my closet as my spare and I will be pulling out my old chairman 2S to use as my primary, as this does not have all the lockout mechanisms.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Paul from Fairfax, Virginia submitted this review on January 23rd 2010 at 10:27 PM. Paul is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I'm the original "Paul" that posted two comments on this product. I'm coming up on 5 years using the Street and still love it. I'll be starting the process for a new chair in a few weeks and will definitely be getting a new Street.
Weaknesses:The charger port is in a crappy location. I hope they fixed it on the new version. I'll be calling the Virginia area rep for Permobil on Monday to see about getting a loaner to try out the latest version. I'll take a look at it and list it's strengths and weaknesses after I've evaluated it.
Comments:I've used and abused my Street for almost 5 years. The only things that have really failed me have been the rubber tires... and of course all rubber/air tires fail eventually. Otherwise the chair has performed flawlessly.

I do think that I'm going to go with the seat elevator this time instead of seat recline.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Paul from Fairfax, Virginia submitted this review on September 22nd 2008 at 08:58 AM. Paul is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durability, ruggedness, speed.
Weaknesses:Charger port in lousy location.
Comments:I posted my first comment about the Permobil Street on June 17th 2005. It still applies. This is an awesome chair. Smooth, quick, safe, durable, and rugged. I've traveled all over America in this chair and have never been let down.

The biggest thing some users may not like is it's size. The Street with Corpus seating is not for little people. If you're small and have issues transferring alone you may want to look at a different seating system or a different chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Joel from Vancouver BC Canada submitted this review on June 30th 2008 at 06:16 PM. Joel is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Really comfy, Seat elevator rocks been in lots of concerts and never feels like its bust as I'm being tossed around, drives like a Cadilac.
Weaknesses:Soo heavy, wiring system needs to be reworked they keep breaking from the seat elevator, speed wish it was faster would like to keep up with my buddies in there quickie 646se, cheap plastic rims, headlight mounts could be fold away as where they mount now only light up the backs of my legs and not the road in front of you, greasable hinge points on front arms. adjustable wheelie bar height.
Comments:Over all I like this chair, being that I'm 7ft tall its very hard to find a chair that will fit me, I've had mine for 3 years now and only in the last year has there been problems.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
George from Pittsburgh PA USA submitted this review on April 28th 2008 at 09:59 PM. George is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Rugged and sturdy. Comfortable, (so my daughter says) precision steering, excellent power and speed. Many excellent seating options.
Weaknesses:Wire harness from joystick to control box breaks at points of most back and forth fatigue due to seat hieght position adjusting. (Heavier guage wire and re-routing may resolve) Tie downs on rear of chair anti-tip wheels are not able to be used because they are located to far back on the chair and to low to the ground.(Relocate higher and more forward may help)
Comments:We would purchase this chair again. Most likely due to my daughters preferance of rear wheel drive we will get this exact chair again next time.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Richard from Houston, Texas, USA submitted this review on July 22nd 2007 at 12:46 PM. Richard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:With the seat elevator fully extended the chair can STILL move - great for shopping etc, looking people in the eye,VERY stable when extended like this, I do not know of another chair that does this (although there probably is). I cannot tell you the number of times I have maneuvered my old chair (had the elevator motion lockout switch) next to a shelf to get something only to find after my very LONG ride up, that I needed something else that was 2 foot away but I could not reach from where I was - so . . . LONG ride down, reposition chair, LONG ride up, LONG ride down. The bottom line is that I am in & out of the store in 1/2 the time now.
The ability to converse with someone at their level, ask salespeople questions without getting that "look", to see displays from the angle they were designed to seen from etc etc etc etc, all without someone looking down at me is unbelievably empowering. Being able to do all that and just hit the joystick to move away, instead of having to do all of the above maneuvering is simply awesome.
Sexy new carbon fiber "look" (mine is black) with really modern space-age looking head and tail lights. The lights actually light up the area they are supposed to. Great speed, I wait for no one, including the kids in the neighborhood on skates. Fantastic suspension, smooth as silk. Comfortable seating, I have the Corpus seat.
Weaknesses:Horrendous positioning for the charging port. Whatever engineer was responsible for that one should be taken out and whipped!
No onboard charger - that is a feature I really wanted but settled for the outboard because of the other features of this great chair.
Unless you know that there is a limit switch if the foot rest post is all the way back you will think something is wrong with the chair at first. Move the leg rests out from the body and all is well. They need a warning label for this as it is NOT a common limiting switch on most chairs.
Foot rests do NOT support enough weight like other Permobils, mine fell off twice.
It would really be nice if there was a variable speed rotary switch instead of only 5 choices. You must STOP the chair to adjust the speeed with the current on-joystick pad selection switch, a real problem going thru doors from outside (full speed) to delicate maneuvering inside (low speed) b/c everyone behind you has to stop as well. Many, many other times it also a problem (too numerous for here).
The chair is relatively heavy for its size and cannot be picked up without a lift or ramps (I use a lift).
The darn things are not cheap! As one reviewer I read said "the price of being disabled keeps going up for those who can least afford it." I wholeheartedly agree!
Comments:This is my 2nd Permobil. Had the Chairman HD before I lost 240 lbs (bariatric surgery) I gave the Street the 4's below in the product rating ONLY because of the charging port and the lack of the variable speed switch. I really love this chair but the requirement of stopping to adjust the speed is maddening at times. It is hard to keep up with a group of friends, crowds etc. No one expects you to stop dead right in front of them so they inevitably run into and fall over the top of you. That is not bad when it is a beautiful young lady, but it is those 400 pound hairy guys and the 350 pound opera diva's that really bother me!
Like a lot of folks I have a manual chair for use inside because the power chairs, for the most part, just don't have the maneuverability for inside the house. Besides, when you "miss" and hit something with a power chair you can really do some damage.
I am pretty rough on a chair and this one has held up quite a bit better than others that I had. I have not had the occasion to use Permobil's service yet, but did on my old Permobil. They were always quick and efficient when I used them.
Overall I am very happy with my Permobil Street. It has performed as it should, done everything I have asked of it and has not had any major problems in more than one year of ownership. If not for the 2 problems I mentioned I would give it a 5 plus.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Tim from Troy, NY, USA submitted this review on April 24th 2007 at 12:05 PM. Tim is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good handling, Comfortable.
Weaknesses:Doesn't come with solid tires.
Comments:I took this chair out a couple of times to the local shopping plaza down the road from the house got there and back no problem. I also have a manual chair. I use the power chair when I want go to the mall or out with my wife in her power chair. I love the chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mark from Copperas Cove, Texas, United States submitted this review on May 6th 2006 at 08:36 PM. Mark is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Powerful, smooth, quick, stable and comfortable.
Weaknesses:Slow to accelarate(probably to keep the front wheels down). One freak incident of the front tire coming off the rim. I was not off-roading.
Comments:I use a midwheel drive chair in my house because the Street cannot fit in certain parts of my house, but when I'm going to town, my son can get on his bike, and I get on my street and we tear up the town! ;o)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lewis from Berkeley, CA submitted this review on November 24th 2005 at 02:33 AM. Lewis is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed, comfort, service, reliability, endurance.
Weaknesses:Does not recline flat
Comments:This is an update to my first review, as I have had the chair for well over a year now. I have used it in all kinds of weather, about 7 miles/day outdoors. It's amazingly reliable and tough, but the ride is silky smooth. The service has been extremely responsive from Permobil. I am using the Street with Corpus seat and tilt/recline, elevator, and power legrests. The elevator is handy.

I had a problem with getting too many flats for a while, but I put green slime in the rear tires now, and that stopped the flats.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Paul from Fairfax, Virginia submitted this review on June 17th 2005 at 10:36 AM. Paul is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Faster than advertised. Clocked via handheld GPS and a stopwatch over a known distance. Also, for fun, a cop buddy of mine (while visiting in Ohio) clocked me with a Laser Speed Gun. GPS and stopwatch/math say 10.6 and 10.68 mph respectively. The Laser said 11 mph.

Solid, stable, and a great center of gravity. I've used mine "off road" on local walking trails and bike paths. Some of them a tad bit rough. Never a problem.

Great coil spring-gas shock system. One for each of the rear drive wheels and one for each of the front casters. They provide a smoother than normal ride and help with stability during quick cornering.

For those of you, like me, that do not like "van" seats on a power wheelchair,... well you need to try the Corpus seat. I think you'll be just as surprised as I was. Although you probably won't want it if you have skin breakdowns on your butt.

The small quirky problems that I did have (listed below) were quickly and very nicely worked out by Mike Raway at Permobil. His tech support/customer service has made a phenomenally built product even better.
Weaknesses:1. The main charger port is in a crappy location and the charger is a tad bit noisy.

2. I don't like the screw in battery posts that have to be used, they make things difficult.

3. The main circuit board is in a crappy location and very hard for a tech to get to when adding on the lighting system.

4. The OEM front caster bushing made in Korea make a weird clicking noise when the chair is in motion. Make sure when you order the chair that you specify French made bushings.

5. (And this really isn't a weakness for me, but might be for some.) This is a tall chair. If you're smaller in stature you may have a hard time transferring into/out of this chair.
Comments:I'm post-SCI three years now. The Permobil Street is the first powerchair that I've owned. I went to several seating clinics and tried many different chairs,... most at home for a week or more. I'm just as in love with it now as I was when Anjali Weber (Permobil Rep for Northern Virginia) brought one over for me to try a year ago.

Between Anjali Weber and Mike Raway my experience with Permobil has been tremendous. They are part of what made my testing, purchasing, and ownership of the Street so great. They have really taken the time to answer every single question and make sure every need was addressed and taken care of.

Thank you Permobil, for a great product!

Also, I'm getting (hopefully) a Trax soon. I've tried one extensively and it's great. I'll write a review soon.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
David from Coon Rapids, MN submitted this review on April 4th 2005 at 05:24 PM. David is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed, Torq, suspension, comfort in seating, lights for night time safety, looks
speed settings,
Weaknesses:does not recline far enough, does not recline or tilt fast enough, speed inhibitor engages at to little angel,
leg rest lock out, manuvering in tight spots, font casters set to wide apart for turning,
Comments:this was only a demo, but I truly belive no one has done a better demo, "ever"
Chair base speed, GREAT, seating system speed, terrible.
lights, a must have for night time saftey.
comfy seating, very little repositioning needed even after extreme usage.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lewis from Berkeley, CA submitted this review on April 15th 2004 at 10:20 PM. Lewis is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Smooth ride, fast, comfortable, great seat.
Weaknesses:External battery charger needed, and it's noisy; sits high; fairly high turning radius
Comments:This chair has changed my life. I ride 10 miles a day over bumpy sidewalks, and used to have pain and spasticity from it. Much less so now.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Permobil
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C400 Stander Jr
C400 Vertical
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
C500 Stander
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman 2K Stander Jr.
Chairman Corpus
Chairman Entra Stander Jr.
Chairman HD
Chairman Minivertical
Chairman Vertical
Entra Corpus
Entra Miniflex
Entra Mps B
Hexior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Koala
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Playman
Playman Robo
Trax
Trax Corpus
Trax Miniflex
X850 Corpus
Similar products (Rear Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
320 PC
320 PC
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
Adaptachair
B500
B600
Bounder
Bounder Plus H-Frame
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
Compact
Conquer
Conqueror LY-EB203)
Conqueror LY-EB206
Dassie 200M
Elyps
Excite
Gazelle 250s
Go Chair
Hp 4
HPS
HS-5600
Hub Motor Drive XML10D
Jazzy Z-Chair
Kernow
Lancer 2000
Leader
Liber-T
Liberty
Mambo Mini
Mambo Standard
Model No. 08 02 02A&B
Model-No.-08-02-01A-D
Moto Standard
Neo
NUD Elevating
Power Carechair
Power Rider Indoor
Power Rider Outdoor
PWC 2200
PWC 2300
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie S525
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Rascal 250 Pc
Rascal 410 Pc
Rascal 415 Pc
Rascal 445 Pc
Roller M1
Select Traveller
Series 6
Sunfire General
Sunrise LS
Supertrans
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Tilite SXP
Tilite XP
Tracer
Traveller LY-EB103
Trooper
V 100
Wheeltech Budget 16
Wildcat
Zenit 4000
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy