USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Electric Mobility Rascal ConvertAble - 600T
Written by Carol
Sunrise Medical Quickie 2HP
Written by Al
Life Motors Tara
Written by Evan
Lifestand LSE
Written by Joanne
Pride Mobility Quantum Q600
Written by Alex
Alber E-motion
Written by Kris
Sunrise Medical Quickie Q7
Written by Karl
Permobil C500 Corpus
Written by Mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Donald
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Travis
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Invacare Pronto M6
Image of INVACARE Pronto M6
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
• Foam-filled tires for flat-free operation.
• Full-time, 6-wheel suspension.
• 20 seating and positioning adjustments.
• Invacare MKIV-RII electronics with programmable performance.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews540
Durability?1.602.500
Ease of use?4.604.750
Meet expectations?2.602.500
Overall Rating:1.802.250.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Buzz from Riverside, CA USA submitted this review on May 19th 2012 at 12:09 PM. Buzz is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:We park it in our garage and it is so handy. We use it to get the mail, visit neighbors and just to get outside and take a ride. The whole family uses it. It is smooth and powerful, but not too powerful. It has been a lifesaver for us.
Weaknesses:You must wear the seat belt. If you hit the driveway going full speed, it shakes you up a bit. It is very heavy to move.
Comments:We love this power chair. It has given us such freedom to travel around the neighborhood. We look forward to driving it every day.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Albert from Redwood City, CA USA submitted this review on November 28th 2011 at 04:42 PM. Albert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power elevating seat. Comfortable adjustable chair.
Weaknesses:Short-lived motors. Adjustable height armrest won't stay tight.
Comments:I've owned my M61 Proto wheelchair for less than two years. It has never been out of the house and is well cared for. Yet the right motor failed. This is unacceptable, especially since it costs $1000 to replace.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
william from Champaign, IL,,61821 USA submitted this review on March 7th 2011 at 12:16 PM. william is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:6 YEARS AGO MEDICARE PURCHASED MY PRONTO ELSE I WOULD NOT HAVE HAD ONE
Weaknesses:GETTING REPAIRS THERE IS A "ROADRUNNER" DECAL WITH AN '800' NUMBER THAT USED TO GET THE COMPANY'S ATTENTION AND GOT MY CHAIR REPAIRED. TODAY, THE PEOPLE ANSWERING THE PHONE "wE NEVER HEARD OF THEM..." THE CHAIR IS USELESS
Comments:POLITE SOCIETIES ANYWHERE FROWNS[GENERALLY] ON THE LANGUAGE , NO MATTER WHAT DIALECT i'D USE
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Anthony from Westville submitted this review on January 19th 2011 at 10:34 AM. Anthony is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Goes overland ok, and the comfort level. The simple ease of transporting it. It's durable and take simple abuse, i mean when I bump into things by accident.
Weaknesses:Doesn't hold a charge long ie all day because of the smaller size batteries. There are plugs on the sides of the motor that fall out and leak grease. Someone without the ability would call to get the chair fixed and be told the motors are bad even though they're not. I fixed them, but that should never have happened! I own two of them, I'm watching the other one to check to see if it starts having the problem.
Comments:The chair should have free replacement plugs or caps for the grease leaking problems.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Gloria from New Albany, MS 38652 submitted this review on February 23rd 2009 at 01:59 PM. Gloria is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:It has done the job well for 6 years
Weaknesses:The casters have had to be replaced twice already and are "gone" again.
Comments:Invacare was absolutely no help to me in finding an alternate source for the casters now that they have discontinued them.

Without casters the chair is unusuable and is quite expensive to be unusable after 6 years.

If anyone knows a source for casters, please let me know.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Anita from Charlotte NC USA submitted this review on February 1st 2007 at 11:01 AM. Anita is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The only strength we have really found in this chair is that it keeps Mother from having to lay in bed all day.
Weaknesses:Has trouble moving on indoor/outdoor carpet. Unable to even cross indoor threshholds. Moves freely on tile floors.
Comments:This chair needs to be outlawed. It is so unsafe! The wheels will not turn, the seat does not hold it's shape and causes lower back pain, the joystick controller is constantly "going out" and it's almost impossible to get (costly) repairs, at your own expense, of coarse. The sorry wheels are constantly hanging up and tosses Mother into the furniture and walls.

**** THE PRONTO M6 IS VERY VERY UNSAFE!! ****
It should have the following warning label:

!!! NOT FOR USE WITH A LOVED ONE !!!
*** FOR USE WITH CRANKY IN-LAWS AND NEIGHBORS ONLY! ***
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Rick from Schaghticoke, NY USA submitted this review on August 4th 2006 at 11:50 PM. Rick is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:What strengths? I don't see any. I got this chair free when a friend died, and the second day I had it it got stuck on a little loose gravel in the yard and will NOT go up a ramp without "high centering". Strengths? Yeah right.
Weaknesses:Hangs up on "spit" i swear. This thing is also the UGLIEST chair I ever saw but then again ALL Invacare products are homely as--well snot. When I got this I knew it'd be a problem the second I saw it. It runs fine but simply is USELESS on anything but a hard smooth floor, and even a little sag in a floor will "stick" it. It high centers easily, and then won't move. The casters are junk--they are the same as shopping cart casters in design and construction, and the old chrome "monsters" from the 1940's and 1950's had this junk, I was surprised to see it back on a "modern" chair! Those caster swivel bearings will be toast in a year or less I guarantee it. The chair is also uncomfortable, even with s supracor cushion atop the seat and a leather back cushion I can't sit more than 2 hours in it.
Comments:Mid-wheel drive chairs are just what designers SHOULDN'T design! It's obvious that 4 rigidly mounted casters outboard of 2 center drive wheels will carry the entire weight of the chair on uneven surfaces and "high center" the drive wheels leaving you STUCK! And no way to get it loose either! Real smart engineering, these designers are DEF college educated and have NO common sense at ALL. This is an indoor ONLY chair which makes ir redundant because power chairs are SUPPOSED to give you OUTDOOR mobility. Indoor power chairs should be outlawed as they are a HUGE rip-off and cheesy and cleap. And why CAR SEATS on power chairs? Apparently who designs them don't have to SIT in them! And frankly, these seat look UGLY on power chairs and say "cheap!" When a Supracor cushion doesn't relieve the pressure it's a BAD seat design. Wonder if Invacare knows anything about pressure sores? A para will get one in a day on this stupid seat. And frankly, I'm embarrassed to ride this thing in public--it's SO ugly that a Scion XB looks elegant next to it! Since this thing is unusable, I guess i'll try to maybe trade it for something I can use, as I can't sell it as it was given to me by close friends and selling wouldn't be right. invacare is living up to their reputation--the ROLLS chrome chars were junk and their ugly and unusable power chairs follow closely. And ALL mid wheel drive power chairs are worthless for active users period.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
mary from fort myers florida submitted this review on November 4th 2005 at 12:23 PM. mary is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is great when it works. It has afforded my mother mobility during her sturgle with MS.
Weaknesses:The chair is less that four years old and I have already had to replace the motor in it and the battery. This was a very large expense and Medicare did not help with the cost. Again the chair is having problems, now it is cutting off while she is riding around and it pitches her foward.
Comments:I would not reccomend this chair for a person that needs a dependable chair. Having it serviced is costly and very hard to get someone out within a week.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
CHARLOTTE from PLAQUEMINE, LA submitted this review on December 7th 2003 at 12:59 PM. CHARLOTTE is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is fair. I have had multiple problems with the chair since my purchase.
Weaknesses:The chair was purchased less than two years ago and the company I purchased the chair from has went out of business. There are many places willing to sell you the chair because Mediacare pays them, but it is impossible to get repairs on the chair when the company that sold it to you goes out of business. No other company wants to take on the responsiblity of the chair if they didn't sell it to you.
Comments:There must be a better system in place to hold someone accountable for repairs. Being an invalid I cannot perform daily activities now because my chair is broken and I can't find anyone to repair it. Medicare will only provide another chair after five years.

The current system of sell sell sell should be changed.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Other products by Invacare
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
A-6S
Action MVP
Allegro
Aluminum Transport Chair
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
At'm Take Along Chair
Auriga 3 Wheel
Auriga 4 Wheel
AX3
Buzz HMV
Buzz HMV R17
Comet
Comfort Mate Extra
Compact
Compass SPT
Compass XE
Deluxe
Eliminator OSR Racing Chair
Essential
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Excelerator Xlt
Excelerator XLT 2000
Excelerator XLT PRO
FDX
Infinity Gentle Contour Cushions
Infinity Low Contour
Infinity Max Contour
InTouch Stabilite OM
Intouch Targit
Invacare Jr
Invacare Jr. Sa
IVC 18
IVC 900
IVC 9000 JYMNI
IVC 9000 Topaz
IVC 9000 XDT
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
IVC 9000XT RECLINER
IVC TRACER IV
L'L Excelerator
Leo Scooter
Leo Scooter
Lynx LX3
Lynx LX3 Plus
Lynx SX3
MVP Fixed Frame
MVP Jr.
MVP Jr. Fixed Frame
MyOn Jr. Wheelchair
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51 LXP
Nutron R51LX
Orbit
P9000 XDT
Panther LX4
Personal Seat VF
Power 9000
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M71
Pronto M71 Jr
Pronto M91 with SureStep
Pronto R2 250 Series
ProSpin X4
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Roller M1
Roller Navigator
Rolls 900
Silhouette Pin Dot
Solara
Solara Jr.
Spree 3G
Spree XT
Spyder
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
TDX SI
TDX SP
TDX Spree
Thompson Lever Drive
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator BB
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator Jr.
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End - X-Terminator BB
Top End - X-Terminator QR
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Force R
Top End Paul Schulte Signature BB Titanium
Top End QR.2G Defensive Rugby Chair
Top End QR.2G Offensive
Top End Reveal
Top End Schulte 7000 Series Basketball Wheelchair
Top End T-5 7000 Series Tennis Wheelchair
Top End T3 Tennis Adjustable
Top End T3 Tennis Elite
Top End T3 Titanium
Top End Terminator Everyday Heavy Duty
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Transformer
Top End Twirl
Top End X Terminator Titanium BB
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Tracer Sx5 Recliner
Transfer Chair
XLT Gold
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
Xtra
Zoom 220
Zoom 220 HMV
Zoom 300 HMV
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy