USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Mikayla
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Larry
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Joyce
Medicare Technology Mambo Standard
Written by I.J.
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Barbara
Invacare 3G Arrow True Track
Written by David
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by Robert
Box Wheelchairs Daily Chair
Written by Deidra
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-715HD
Written by debra
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Thomashilfen International Lex EASyS 1
Image of Thomashilfen International Lex EASyS 1
Pediatric stroller style wheelchair.
• Aluminum chassis.
• Ergonomical and adjustable safety system for rehabilitation strollers.
• Reclining.
• Height adjustable push bar.
• Fixed or swiveling front wheels.
• Total measurements= 25 x 41 x 39". Folded measurements= 25 x 19,5 x 34,5".
• Seat height 21.1".
• Front wheel= 7.5", back wheel= 10".
• Weight= 36.6 lbs.
• Maximum carrying capacity= 77.1 lbs.
• Seat tilt +6 to 40 degrees.
• Reversable seat.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews090
Durability?02.220
Ease of use?02.440
Meet expectations?02.440
Overall Rating:0.002.440.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Adam from Vestal submitted this review on January 25th 2011 at 02:52 PM. Adam is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Appearence.
Weaknesses:Always requiring maintenance. Not easy to adjust. Not very comfortable for my daughter. Unlocking and removing out of base is difficult. The locks that secure the straps for the lap restraint is in a very awkward location, it is difficult to adjust when she has different clothes on. Pads always falling off. Should come with more detailed instructions and trouble shooting. Should have a better service policy. Why should you pay so much? I had a buckle break and screws fall out and do you think I could find a parts list for the repairs?
Comments:I wonder if the designer has kids? My daughter hates it. Does not support her that well, just lock her down. Over priced.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
LaKiesha from Jacksonville Fl USA submitted this review on August 12th 2010 at 11:47 AM. LaKiesha is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This stroller LOOKS like a stroller. We even had new parents asking us what store we got it from. The Sunshade is very big and thick/insulated. Kept my son pretty cool. Sunshade went all the way down past his knees. The basket was a great size and actually usable(not the same as one in photo). Great for HF kids needing a place to ride. Has TIS(Tilt In Space) and reclines completely flat. Seat was really comfy for my son. Very comfortable to push. Great brakes. They are spring loaded and only take a toe to activate. Can even stop the stroller in a split on an incline with no hands.
Weaknesses:It's very heavy. Wasn't a huge deal for us but definitely worth noting. We also had problems with our TIS switch sticking. Sometimes it required two hands to activate making a second person necessary to hold the seat as, if you dont, it will release and "dump" quickly. WD40 helped that. If a child extends hard and often, it could cause the recline to slip a bit.
Comments:I highly recommend this chair for kids that are HFing. Although it says it's great for kids requiring alot of support, it's really not and that's why we ended up moving on. This chair would not be good for kids sensitive to positioning as you have to undo the tilt and recline for folding. We liked this stroller. It just didn't meet all of my son's needs. I still miss that sunshade and basket, though. Haven't found anything even close on another product.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Melissa from Tyrone, PA, USA submitted this review on July 19th 2008 at 10:27 PM. Melissa is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Does fold up for transport and reclines so we can change his diaper.
Weaknesses:Padding came loose from frame. We had to "super glue" it back together. Screws loose all of the time. Reclining mechanism is horrible. Many people had difficulty using it. Pommel bent and broke. Head rest material deteriorated so that the pads are now showing. Straps on the chest harness do not adjust easily. For example in the winter, we wore a coat on him for school, the aid at school never adjusted the straps so that they were loose on him without the coat.
Comments:At first we loved this wheelchair. I even recommended this to others. After the first year, I began to dislike it. We have had it for about 3 years. We are looking into another one. Our son is rough on wheelchairs. This one is ok for a child with mild or moderate needs.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Lynn from NE submitted this review on September 22nd 2007 at 06:17 PM. Lynn is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Anti-tip, known as the BSS is fabulous, positioning options, growth room with seat and back, adjustable handle are added benefits and it doesn’t hurt that it is just about the only nice looking seat with tilt/recline out there.
Weaknesses:Fasteners and lock-down screws/knobs not the best. Loosen rather rapidly with daily use and do fall off and go???. Leg angle locking system stinks. Tray corner broke off (they have since changed the type of tray they offer) with regular, non-abusive use. Little miscellaneous pieces fall off…we are currently missing a few, lost two when traveling on vacation but were able to replace at hardware store. The under the chair basket is not helpful because you can’t actually get to it. The anti-tip also makes it hard to get up and down uneven or somewhat raised curbs (have to pop a wheelie, which takes some work for the person pushing…)
Comments:It is heavy, but we knew that going in. It appears very comfortable for our daughter – she will crawl over to it to get in. It WILL NOT FLIP OVER! This was a pivotal component for us as our daughter can flip over a chair in a nanosecond by throwing her weight against the seat. She has NEVER flipped her EASyS. Love the flexibility for growth and positioning. Appreciate the recline for changing while in the community. The tilt-in-space controls/adjuster knobs are in a difficult place to get to and use. Think the handles may be beginning to strip. Took a little while to get used to putting it together, but once familiar, not too bad. With over a year on our chair and a lot of use, things are starting to rattle and that is disappointing. I had huge hopes for this chair. It has fulfilled our needs, but leaves some convenience and durability to be desired. Coming from a Maclaren Special Needs stroller, this is a huge step up. Hoping it stays together and functions properly for the years we still hope to get out of the chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
barbara from Belfair, Wa submitted this review on July 12th 2007 at 11:46 PM. barbara is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfort..and easy to "drive"/maneuver
Weaknesses:durability, easy of transport
Comments:Took it on vacation with us had it very securely anchored in our truck and when we took it out there were nuts and bolts and little peices all over and the seat was half way unattached... it was very hard to not only figure out where all the tiny peices went but had to dig out actual tools to disassemble and reassemble a few parts which was time consuming and took over 4 hours.. a peice cracked too. strolling around in the hot sun wasnt great for the adhesive keeping the velcro on the stoller( the velcro that was keeping the fabric and soft peices on) the velco actually slip and shifted form the summer heat and it was a sticky gluey mess.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Robert from US submitted this review on August 10th 2006 at 11:53 AM. Robert is a care giver who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:We have the Jazz Easys and we love it!! There are lots of strenghts - great support for my son, adjustable stroller handle, looks like a "typical" stroller, easy to turn, push, etc!!
Weaknesses:I wish there was a locking mechanism for the stroller when it is folded. Thomashilfen does sell an a velcro strap to hold the stroller together, but a trip to the fabric store and you could make your own.
Comments:Everyone seems to be complaining about the weight of the product, but comparing this to my son't wheelchair, it is so much easier for me to pick up and put together. I would compare it to the travel systems are used when you have an infant. If you are looking for something lighter, etc. then there are other options, but I don't believe they offer the same support as this stroller. We tried out a convaid with my son and it didn't support him at all.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Angela from Raytown, MO USA submitted this review on June 27th 2006 at 12:51 PM. Angela is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:none (The school that my child went to at the time liked it some what.)
Weaknesses:unfortinately I trusted the people at a clinic (PT, DR. and Rep.) to decide what wheel chair would work for my child and I that was a mistake obviously!! I'm 4'11" so it was very hard for me to throw into the back of my van the only thing that worked out at the time was that I had a van that had room in the back to fit it, now I don't. It was hard to break down, and to postion it for her feeding also, and was scared that it would fold up on her once I got it in position for her tube feeding, everything was hard to set, knobs and screws and connections were horriable. We ended up not really using it and getting a regular stroller, plus by the time we got it PT wanted to start working on walking so we endend up getting a walker also. We are now trying to get rid of it. Oh by the way when we got it we got German instructions so we had to figure out how to put it together and work it on are own.
Comments:Anyone working in Pediatrics please don't recomend this or order this chair for anyone even if they are your enemy big waste of money!!!!!!!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Kim from Arizona submitted this review on March 6th 2006 at 04:44 PM. Kim is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfort for child
Weaknesses:Very heavy... although was expected. Folds down but does not 'lock' into place, therefore if you lift it inocorectly the whole unit tries to flip open. Foot tilt screws/fastenser do not work AT ALL. Supplier gave advice as to how they should be positioned which made no sense on an engineering point (told to line up teeth together not interlock) and I humored them... still does not work. As well the seat takes two people to push into position (horizontal or vertical) and the knobs only work 30% of the time to allow this function.
Comments:Unfortunately, I am so disspointed in this product. For the amount it costs, I would expect a higher quality unit.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Laura from Manalapan, NJ usa submitted this review on January 19th 2006 at 05:06 PM. Laura is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The positioning chair is good. keeps my son in a good postion
Weaknesses:not durable as the tray cracked and had to replace it twice. The tilt screw has worn down and I have only tried to do it twice. Not a long lasting reliable chair. I also have the strolle part of it as we mainly use it as a positioning chair. Havng a child with a disablity is hard enough carrying let alone the stroller base weighs a ton and takes two people to attach seat to stroller. Unless your van has a huge trunk space this is NOT a good stroller. For the amount of $$$ it was a waste to purchae the stroller part and the tray
Comments:not a good purchase
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy