USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Supracor Stimulite Contoured
Written by Jarrod
Max Mobility SmartDrive
Written by jimmy
Permobil M300 Corpus 3G
Written by WheelieGuy
Electric Mobility 600 Series
Written by Larry
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Ralph
Invacare Top End Crossfire T7A
Written by jesse
Discontinued Flofit Medical Flexseat
Written by Siggy
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Emily
Kuschall Kuschall Advance
Written by franco
Hoveround MPV 4
Written by CJ
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Permobil C300 Corpus
Image of Permobil C300 Corpus
Front wheel drive power wheelchair.
• Front wheel drive.
• Corpus seating with size adjustments.
• 17.5" seat to floor height.
• 45 degrees of seating system tilt.
• 3" ground clearance.
• Four pole motors.
• Adjustable suspension.
• Length 43", width 24.25 to 28.5", height with standard back 43.75".
• 8" seat elevator.
• Weight with batteries 304 lbs.
• Maximum user weight 250 lbs.
• Two GR34 batteries with 16 mile range.
• 5 mph top speed.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews2730
Durability?3.262.330
Ease of use?4.042.670
Meet expectations?2.892.330
Overall Rating:2.812.330.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Ralph from Ohio submitted this review on October 15th 2014 at 06:38 PM. Ralph is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:VERY easy to drive. I really had difficulty keeping my previous front wheel drive straight at high speeds, but the C300 does not fishtail at all! The height of the lateral supports is easily adjustable, which is great.

We have a ramp to get into our house, and two other steeper ramps inside the house. The chair has not tipped forward while going down these ramps.

My chair has power tilt and power recline. There are times when I have to sleep in the chair. It allows you to adjust the recline and tilt angles while it is charging! This is a life saver.

The control box is very sturdy. I have not had any problems with it at all.
Weaknesses:The suspension is poor.
Comments:I have had my chair a year, and have put 200 miles on it. I have not had ANY problems with it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Emily from Belen, NM, USA submitted this review on October 8th 2014 at 05:20 PM. Emily is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfortable, indoor/outdoor speeds
Weaknesses:Where to begin! Mine has had serious issues so many times in the 16 months I've had it that it's been semi-useful more than fully usable. It had to go back to the factory in Tennessee, for instance, about a month after I received it because of a sheared bolt in the chassis. I was out of a chair for the better part of three weeks. I said I felt a replacement was in order but that fell on deaf ears. While the fabric arms are comfortable, the little plastic ridge around the edges that holds the fabric in place is not durable at all. On the left arm of my chair it began cracking apart after six weeks -- and the company that repairs it cannot seem to order the correct part to replace it. The thing scratches my skin and tears holes in sleeves.

The headrest structure protrudes too much in back, and can whack things (and people) behind you if you aren't careful. The chargers fail, the batteries have a short life, the screws fall out, the hydraulic footrest is held on by a very, very skimpy little webbing strap which failed after a year, causing the footrest to fall off suddenly and me to be almost dropped onto the ground. Nobody knows how to fix these things handily. The batteries are extremely difficult to reach, quite an oversight, considering how frequently they need replacing.
Comments:In choosing a wheelchair, you need to do your homework about the company that is going to be repairing it for you. I went with the recommendation of my Medicare Advantage people. While I cannot say if a different company in my area would do any better, part of the blame for this lemon of a wheelchair lies with HME in Albuquerque, NM, the company I got it from and which repairs it -- or not, depending on mysterious forces (I guess). The chair arrived with a broken charger (the high efficiency model) -- when shaken it sounded like it had rocks inside. That was eventually replaced with another of the same kind, which fritzed out after about four months. The third charger seems to be still working.

But the batteries, oh the batteries! The first ones lasted four months before they began failing long before the end of my day. The second ones, done as a warranty replacement, lasted ten months. For well over a month now I have been waiting for replacement batteries. The delay is due to HME's not ordering them when they should have -- twice, in a period of several weeks. Now that they have finally ordered them they say "they are on a truck, being driven (to NM) from California." So it will be more days, perhaps another week, before they're installed. Making my down time close to six weeks. And why are the batteries failing so often, anyhow? Mostly I roll around my home and yard, where there are three small ramps at doors and onto a patio, but all else is flat. I use the chair for everything, all day every day, as I have with previous chairs. But none of them had as many problems as this one has. And I'm a little old disabled woman on Social Security, with a lifelong habit of taking good care of things. I spend lots of time every day writing, reading, online, and so on -- never do I go racing around. I go to the library, the grocery store, do a little gardening and housework, play with my dogs. My wheelchairs may be used most of the time I'm awake, but they are treated gently.

My hands are not very strong due to nerve damage, but I routinely tighten the screws that I can reach. Still...

Screws fall out, the footrest fell off. The little piece of webbing that holds the footrest on is really flimsy! Mine sheared when the chair was about 13 months old -- and it took weeks and weeks to get a replacement! All that needed replacing was this miserable little strap, but they insisted on sending, and billing for, a very durable metal bracket for which there was no need whatever. HME people told me to hold the footrest on with DUCT TAPE for some weeks! That didn't work at all, so I finally rigged it up with braided baling twine.

One of the two screws that holds the joy stick structure fell out and disappeared. A tech came to photograph the things needing replaced/fixed on my chair, and left without addressing the obvious problem of leaving a pivoting joystick. The next day, while I was slowly backing up while closing a door, the back of the joystick "pipe" bumped into the door frame -- and the whole thing fell down, swinging on its cords. A little later the batteries began flashing red -- and I'm still waiting for new ones.

The controller suffered a crack in the plastic casing at some point. I'm gentle with this chair, since I depend on it for just about everything all day, but a small bump into the kitchen table possibly caused the crack a few days before I noticed it. A small bump at a low speed.

The tech did come after some weeks of the controller having to be held on with velcro (my invention), and replaced both the controller and the two screws.

The baling twine worked much better than the webbing strap to hold the footrests in place. Unfortunately the tech who "repaired" it with the new strap didn't know how to do it, so the structure still sinks slowly towards the ground, the strap is not connected and so when I put my feet up the structure doesn't extend at all. Also, since I'm short, he tried to fix the footrest to a comfortable position. It is my fault for not having checked everything before he left that the right footrest will no longer flip up -- the set screw that holds it at the right height was left too close to the metal beneath it, so you can neither put the footrest up or reach the hex-head screw to adjust it.

Since I need two long leg braces to walk around, my knees don't bend when I go to sit down. It's critical to my safety that I be able to have my legs against the seat I am about to sit on. With this non-flippable footrest it's nearly impossible to get in and out of my Permobil C-300. It has been left like this for weeks. It may not be Permobil's "fault" that it takes so long to get this corrected -- but it certainly is their responsibility to provide a webbing strap that wouldn't fail so fast and cause the problem to begin with. The square "tube" that the footrest structure is attached to has slid down so low that in order to go up my short, shallow ramps and over a half-inch high doorstep I have to raise my feet way up or it impales itself on the ground.

Techs should be equipped with full schematic drawings on every house call they make -- but the ones who come here never are. I generally bring out the books that came with the chair, but not everything you need to know is in there. Such as how to install that idiotic webbing strap. HME told me that if I simply bought a stronger replacement at a camping store that would void my warranty. And so having to use baling twine and velcro for weeks and weeks DOESN'T void my warranty? This was the only choice I had, if I happened to need to get around.

The joystick shows the chair's been 861 miles, and all four tires are showing significant wear.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
sandra from st. petersburg submitted this review on September 11th 2014 at 08:44 PM. sandra is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:they made the rims pop apart so changing the tires is easier on my mechanic.
Weaknesses:Do not get the joystick with the display it breaks right away. It is plastic crap.It sticks way out in front of your chair so Permobil made it so it swings out to the side. It is annoying to have to swing it out every time you go to your desk,bathroom counter, kitchen counter,and on and on.Yes they will all break. Lock tight all your bolts they will be falling out. Do yourself a favor pop your reflectors off and glue them on with good glue.
The arm pads that come with the chair are made out of pleather in 6 months it will get hard crack and scratch your elbows. The jell pads should have been standard for the amount of the chair.The back seat cushion should be leather or we should have the option to not be stuck with cheep pleather it gets hard fast in Florida. If you live in florida you may not get up your driveway because of the pitch for water run off at the street.If you bump the left side of your chair you can shut the chair down push the on off switch on the right side. I thought the chip fried out and sat for an hour stuck till I thought to push the on off switch in DDDDUUUUUU.....THE PLASTIC SHELL OF THE BODY BENDS Oh every time you turn it on there's a three to four second delay oh GOD that is really irritating.At night the display and the buttons are so bright in your face you cant see were you are going so have a light on if you live alone.I have to (now). The people who make them don't live in them.
Comments:If you had a corpus don't get the c300
I have owned mine for 2 years and it wont last long but I do a lot so take what you will from this.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Kevin from Salem, Oregon, United States submitted this review on June 23rd 2014 at 03:05 PM. Kevin is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Moves quickly and turns sharply
Weaknesses:Like others have warned, I did get injured from it tipping forward while coming off a downslope ramp and throwing me head first onto the pavement leaving a black eye. One could ride around with it tilted back so the anti tip wheels catch, but then one can`t maneuver around in tight spaces.
Comments:I would suggest a video come with it showing how strong the antitip wheels are to insure the chair isn`t going to tip and would highly recommend the rider to wear the seat belt when going on trips.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Travis from saint charles, ia, us submitted this review on February 2nd 2014 at 03:30 PM. Travis is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:durable. THAT'S IT!
Weaknesses:Does not turn in grass.
Tips forward on small hills. forget about the park!
my old tdx3 went everywhere.
c-300 DOES NOT NAVIGATE ON GRASS, ESPECIALY THE SMALLEST HILL!
Comments:$27,000 IS UNREAL!!! CANT EVEN GOTO THE PARK. forget about going down the smallest hill. try it I dare you, even if you tilt back, youll flip forward. PATHETIC
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Jamarr from St Paul Minnesota submitted this review on January 6th 2014 at 05:16 PM. Jamarr is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The smaller frame on the corpus 3G is slighty nicer the new armrest style is nice and so is the new joystick display and functions.
Weaknesses:The place,ent of the seat over the chassis makes for a downfall for the chair causes the chair to tip onto anti tippers easier. Screws in the armrests as well as the footrests continue to come loose and need to be tightened weekly. When there is to much weight on the seat the hind wheels shudder very annoying.
Comments:I personally hate this chair I have to tighten screws down weekly in the armrests and legrests. In my previous corpus 300 in the event that I fell out of my chair what I would do is put my butt on my foot plate and tilt the chair back until I was level with whatever surface I was closest to and transfer over tilt the chair back down and then get back into it. Now with this corpus 3G I put my butt on the foot plate start tilting the chair back and get about half way to the surface I want to transfer to when the rear wheels lift up off the floor and the chair starts dropping down forcing the foot plate to hurt my butt.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Travis from saint charles, ia, us submitted this review on November 16th 2013 at 10:27 AM. Travis is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:battery, strong arm/legrests, comfortable.
Weaknesses:sits up too high. DANGEROUS ON GRASS! turns extremely slowly. low top speed. tips forward very easily . people ARE GOING TO BE GETTING HURT ON THI9S C300! I smell recall within a year.
Comments:good chair on hard surfaces only :(
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
George from DeFunak Springs, FL submitted this review on October 6th 2013 at 07:24 PM. George is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Not many
Weaknesses:Arms are too wide to fit safely in drivers side space making driving difficult if not dangerous. Position actuators' break requiring 3 months repair time. Wires on controllers are cheap, too small in diameter for durability. Position controls are not usable for a quad. Legs rest system needs redesign, horrible. Chair tips easily. You name it, should be redesigned.
Comments:For the price this chair is not worth the money.
Permobil will not respond to users nor do they have an accessory catalog.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Travis from Saint Charles, iowa, us submitted this review on October 1st 2013 at 06:19 PM. Travis is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Acceleration battery life.
Weaknesses:Very unstable on grass or slightest hill. Very poor turning/handling on grass!
Tipps forward very easily. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!
Comments:VERY ANGRY THAT I AM STUCK WITH THIS C300 PIECE OF JUNK. I MISS MY TDX3 SO MUCH I COULD CRY!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Joey D. from San Benito Texas USA submitted this review on September 20th 2013 at 03:07 PM. Joey D. is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very nice to sit in the power seat and power foot rest preform well the swing away joy stick is nice too... As well as cup holder mount..
Weaknesses:Battery last for every other day!! Also power foot rest has only one button ! All the other functions have two buttons ..
Comments:n/a
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bill from Phoenix AZ Usa submitted this review on June 15th 2013 at 07:54 PM. Bill is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very reliable. Very maneuverable. Use it on the bus all the time with the ease of maneuverability.
Weaknesses:All of the plastic parts (Bumpers etc.) fell off rapidly. Joystick cover falls off regularly and replacement is near impossible.
Comments:Service in Phoenix is slow and takes forever for the parts to come in.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Mario from New York submitted this review on April 2nd 2013 at 04:44 PM. Mario is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Seat is comfortable. Seat back automatically adjusts when reclining so that you don't get back compression or extension like most wheelchairs.
Weaknesses:1. Rear battery extremely hard to replace. There is no access unless you have a power seat elevator. The hydrauic system on my chair doesn't put the chair in service mode. It may be due to a defect on my chair, but Permobil will not help. I followed the instructions on the service manual, but the chair doesn't work as stated in the manual. The only way to replace the rear battery is to have your vendor replace it.
2. Safety design problem: There is a safety problem with the Corpus 3G seat. The seat comes with power foot rest, power tilt, and power recline. These three functions are enabled by three linear actuators. The problem is that the linear actuators are the only things holding the chair in position. The seat back is held in place by the recline actuator. When an attendant pushes the chair, all the force is on this single actuator. When an actuator fails, the part of the chair held by the actuator will no longer retain its position. In my case, the actuator for reclining failed after I used the chair for a month and a half. I was putting the backrest to an upright position when the actuator broke. I fell backwards in freefall. Luckily there were two people nearby to help me out of the chair. If I was alone and my ventilator hose had come loose when I fell backwards, I wouldn't be here to write this review.
Comments:Liner actuators are electric motor driven devices that are used to move objects in a straight line. Most linear actuators that are rated for 600 pounds or less have plastic gears. Most linear actuators also have a 10% duty cycle. This usually means that you can run it continually for up to two minutes and then you must let it rest for 18 minutes. Even though these actuators are rated for 600 pounds, they don't always hold up to long-term use. The plastic gears are known to fail quite often. When designing system using these actuators, one must include a secondary mechanical device to prevent the system from completely failing when the actuators fail. The other option would be to use more expensive actuators that have metal gears. For these reasons, I don't think the Corpus 3G seat is well designed and can be potentially deadly. Imagine what would happen when you are on this chair in a van and you get rear-ended.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Renée from Gallatin, TN. USA submitted this review on March 23rd 2013 at 11:36 AM. Renée is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durable, Comfortable, Most power options of any chair I've owned. I've had it for almost 7 years but I've been using power chairs full time for 36 years and I've owned 6 or 7 of them maybe more. This is by far the best because I'm not in for repairs every other month. It's also the least "hospital-ish" in appearance of all I've owned or seen. Infinite adjustments. I have yet to have a motor fail.
Weaknesses:As with ALL power chairs, the black seating is hot in warm weather but that's not exclusive to this chair. No complaints at all, really. Wish more of the options were standard so insurance wouldn't balk on things like increased speed, Permobil's retractable EZ Lock-In Pin and lights package.
Comments:The Permobil company has been wonderful to work with. I toured the plant and the employees are very enthusiastic about the product they make and are always happy to see someone using it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Chris from Warrensburg, MO, USA submitted this review on September 4th 2012 at 03:57 PM. Chris is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:An almost great chair, so far. I have gone 1000 + miles without a break down in the last 9 months. Adjusts to many positions which makes it more comfortable as no two spinal cord injuries are alike. I had my first Permobil in 1991 and used it for 3 and a half years with only one wiring harness problem from moving joy stick armrest up and down to fit under tables. I used it forty hours a week at a large factory and pulled palates weighing over 1,500 lbs. This chair seems to be slower and to have less torqe but saying that it still is much better than the other 'modern' power chairs I have tried.
Weaknesses:Suspension is hard and hurts my back when going over the smallest bump or sidewalk expansion cracks. I have solid drive tires and will trade them off for pneumatic tires soon!
Back rest makes me feel like on a bucking horse when adjusted to soft. Back rest sqeaks a lot. I paid $1,200.00 to have 1.3 miles an hour faster drive motors. This chair cost Medicaid $36,000+ and I couldn't afford the chair lift function at $1,800. Center of gravity seems high cross slopes scare me as I have tipped over one time, so far. The plastic caps on the back casters have come of twice.
Comments:You'd think that Permobil's engineers would have some test people with spinal cord injury try these before they make thousands of them and send them accross the world. In Missouri higher speed drive motors and chair lift are considered luxuries, they are needed if you do any traveling as beds aren't at a standard height. After all that I like the freedom this chair gives me compared to my manuel chair. I am not stuck in the house or sitting on a porch just watching the world go by when the bus doesn't run.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Michelle from Oakland, CA, USA submitted this review on August 6th 2012 at 05:00 PM. Michelle is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I like that the chair can go just about any where on grass etc. I've take both of my Permobil's off road. Chair is tall and I can transfer from chair to most beds and commodes etc. The chair is great because I got three features recline tilt and up and down. So it helps me in my every day life a lot.
Weaknesses:I miss tilt side to side greatly. When I went for this chair Permobil wasn't making side to side tilt at that time for awhile. My chair has been in the shop a lot more with this model that with the Man-2 model that I had before. It seems they don't make them like they used too and this chair is in the shop again for repairs to the electronics. Third time in three years. I don't recall ever having this many issues with my old chair. Also my chair is coming off the base feature that goes up and down and because I'm on Medicare and Medi-Cal my repair company says their saying thats a luxury feature and I' have to pay to have that fixed or leave it that way til it is unsafe and then they'd fix it at my cost. How fare is that. It's a feature I use everyday to help me in my home up & down in my chair but insurance doesn't want to fix it. But I can roll around in it unsafe til I fall out of it. Lovely. Or I pay to fix it. Like I have it to fix. The foot rest is hard to push up and legs are too long.
Comments:Make the chairs better like you used too. Stop being so cheap. Either that or allow me to switch chairs into the other one I used to have. I'd be happy to switch into another used model of the Man-2. TY
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Carol from California submitted this review on June 5th 2012 at 03:11 AM. Carol is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is a quality, well engineered chair. If anything, one might argue "over engineered." The features operate smoothly and perform as expected. The chair provides a smooth ride and provides all the comforts that are required when one "lives" in a chair. I tested the Invacare FDX and choose this chair. Higher quality and smoother operation than any of the several high end chairs I tested.
Weaknesses:This is a lot of chair for indoors. Must be careful or you will beat your house up, capable of causing major damage. Size makes it a little cumbersome maneuvering into the front passenger position of a van, but it is doable. The headrest design adds length that makes it hard to judge distance and often hits things in a tight turn. I think the headrest is designed more for aesthetics than functionality.
Comments:I have read the many reviews for this chair and it seems either you love it or hate it. I was frankly surprised by the negative comments for I love this chair. All things considered, I think this is the "top-of-the-line" considering all that's out there.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Heather from Florida submitted this review on August 10th 2011 at 01:24 PM. Heather is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This wheelchair is incredibly durable. It's also the first I've had that is capable of using tilt, recline, power leg rest, and elevate in one wheelchair. It makes it quite versatile.
Weaknesses:The speed is horrible! Who in the right mind only wants to go 5 miles an hour when they're confined to a chair? Not me! Also, front wheel driving is not really my thing. It swerves at the top speed, which I mentioned is hardly speed at all. It also tips forward at the slightest jerk motion, which is frightening, especially when you in a vehicle. The power leg rest motor has worn itself out after 5 years, which is to be expected, really. The padding on the arm rests, as well as on the corpus seating system itself has worn out, which is also to be expected.
Comments:This chair has been good for me, but I am definitely looking forward to switching to the Permobil Street soon.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ervin from virginia submitted this review on June 2nd 2011 at 11:01 AM. Ervin is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:it is good off road goes in grass mud rocks and is pretty ccomfortable other than that it SUCKS
Weaknesses:IT BREAKS EVERY FIVE SECONDS AND BREAKS VERY EASILY!! I DONT RECOMMEND THIS CHAIR TO ANYONE UNLESS YOU WANNA PAY TO FIX IT EVERY COUPLE WEEKS
Comments:JUST REALLY WOULDNT RECOMMEND THIS CHAIR
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
blake from binghamton submitted this review on February 16th 2011 at 06:44 PM. blake is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:i've had it for a year and its still going strong. im 18 and i beat the crap out of it (i live in the sticks so i go off road). mine has everything lift, lights, everything tilts. if i tilt back a litle i can get in a normal mini-van. i can get threw tight turns. lots of power, smoth ride.
Weaknesses:i cant think of any, ive tested other chairs with diferint drive wheels and sutch but this is by far the best.
Comments:im a c-5 quad and this chair lets me do a lot of the things i couldnt do other wize.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Jeanette from New Jersey submitted this review on June 14th 2010 at 10:06 AM. Jeanette is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:HI ONLY thing I can say that is positive about this chair is that it has visual effects--it looks "pretty"...and that truely is ALL that I have found positive!
Weaknesses:1. EXTREMELY poor design in foot rest--when footrest is in up position, to transfer a nonambulatory person onto chair the back of their legs get SEVERLY SCRAPED on footrest, if you decide to avoid injury to child--you hurt your back LIFTING them up approximately 6-8 inches which is as high as necssary onto chair-
2. height of chair required $17,000 in van roof modifications--chair couldn't even fit in van door--daughter could not sit in chair to drive hich defeats the purpose of having a chair! Chair also does not Fit under our kitchen table or restuarant table--tables/desk etc at home need to be on lifts for daily use
3. Jerks profusely in any speed over slow
4. practically impossible to maneuver inside handicap accessible van using EZ Lock lockdown system--back 360 degree rotating wheels are horendeous to position chair in lockdown!!
5. Chair's Standing position places person in extrmely poor body alignment if used for any length of time
6 PERFECT chair for a completely ambulatory person who doesn't have to drive in it, sit at a table or transfer from toilet/tub etc---if you can walk---it is the chair for you--it's Visually appealing!
Comments:Sales person COMPLETELY MISREPRESENTED this chair to us---bold face lies! It was supposed to replace our existing stander--i.e. won't have to transfer my daughter into "another piece of equipment"..but standing psoition is horrible alignment not meant for weight bearing!
It was also represented as PERFECT in stores to reach high shelves---only they dont tell you the chair needs approximately 8 ft of space to FIRST go into a supine position BEFORE going into stand---what store has that kind of room to maneuver into stand??
You ONLY find out these things when the chair is in your home---then THEY REFUSE TO TAKE THE CHAIR BACK even though they represented it as a multipurpose piece of equipment----it is a NIGHTMARE I regret ever having seen this chair!!!! HIGHLY DO NOT RECOMMEND PURCHASE!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Roland from San Antonio, TX USA submitted this review on March 29th 2010 at 10:16 PM. Roland is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:My son has had no problems with this wheelchair.
Weaknesses:Weighs over 300bls.
Comments:Great wheelchair for a child to move around in.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Darin from Shelton,Wa. submitted this review on March 18th 2010 at 09:50 PM. Darin is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfortable, good in small house.
Weaknesses:in 4 months the left motor burned up. at 5 months the main base that the seat attaches to broke. i'm lucky i noticed something wrong before it broke completely off. i've only had it 6 months and tomorrow will be the 3rd 50 mile trip to to the shop. then a 3 week wait for parts, if i'm lucky. they moved the center of gravity forward so it has the 2 little wheels in the front that keep you from going over a 4 inch bump. my old permobil went anywhere.
Comments:i had a chairman basic from permobil that i got in 1999, used it until 2009, that thing would take a pounding and keep going. this new chair seems to be cheaply made. for $16,000 you'd think it would be more dependable.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Joshua from Lambertville, NJ, USA submitted this review on February 17th 2010 at 01:54 PM. Joshua is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Well designed, moves quickly (can easily keep up with someone jogging), durable, many great add ons (seat elevator, power legs-back-and tilt, light kit... all worth it), good battery life (3-days extensive usage), has a low profile for a big power chair.
Weaknesses:If your insurance doesn't cover it, price. Mine was about $26,000 after all the add ons. [I ended up paying $400 as my insurance covered 90% and MDA granted me $2,000 towards the purchase.] Large/heavy battery charger, not great when traveling. [Although, I saw a new one at the Permobile booth at the Abilities Expo '09 that was half the size... coming out soon I think.] I also had some cosmetic pieces pop off (plastic covers that cap off the back wheels).
Comments:I have FSHD and this is my first wheelchair. I took some time researching my options and wasn't thrilled with what I found. I was looking for the best possible chair (regardless of price) to meet my needs. At my PT evaluation a vendor brought a variety of chairs for me to try out. The Permobile C300 was by far the best product. The vendor said he almost didn't bring it because of the cost. I've had the chair for 8 months now and have been very happy with it to date. Now, if it could only climb stairs...
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
John from Escondido, Ca. USA submitted this review on August 28th 2009 at 09:49 AM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Easy to maneuver in tight spaces. Almost infinately adjustable seating. Comfortable for extended periods of use. Good torque for steep hills. Rear wheel suspension and large diameter front wheels are nice outdoors on large sidewalk bumps.
Weaknesses:Price new is high.
Comments:I have been using a Permobil C300 for almost three years, (bought used), and used a Chairman for more than five years before that. My current chair has elevate, recline, tilt and footrest controls. I would rate the reliability of the C300 as "excellent." I've found Permobil's technical support to be outstanding, but I have had unhappy experiences with a local DME provider until I found a good one a little further away.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Reverend William R from Anaheim Hills-South Corona, CA submitted this review on March 2nd 2009 at 06:11 PM. Reverend William R is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:When working correctly, the Permobil's C300 Corpus serves it's designed purpose. Has an Excellent turning radius. When working the leg lift feature serves its purpose. The Tilt and Incline system serves it's purpose.
Weaknesses:one drive motor emitted loud clicking noise ignored by the supplier. The chair jerked from side to side and would not travel straight. Sudden stops will tip you over even with the seat belt on. Poor customer service at ATG Rehab the supplier and Permobil in Tennessee. No loaner service initially until forced to by the Lemon Law in California. Leg lift mechanism fell off. It is held on by a weak nylon strap. ATG Rehap repair use industrial glue to bind a supposedly custom removable back cushion. The main power module shorted and burned out. Permobil field representatives need sensitivity training working with the disabled community.
Comments:Permobil's distributor ATG Rehab of Cerritos, CA delivered a defective C300. Someone in the world will be getting this "new" chair without knowing it required major repairs after two weeks of use. After 30 days of use it suffered 4 major failures of its electrical system, the leg lift mechanism detached. Thank God I was at home when fell off. It is much too heavy for us to lift. John Coffy of Permobil refused to discuss the malfunctions and defects. He is a difficult person to work with since he never returned telephone calls and emails regarding the issues. ATG Rehab took the chair for repairs and has not returned it for almost 1 year. They received full payment for a new chair without defects. I had the chair less than 30 days after March 11, 2008. An attorney was required to get a replacement chair without defects. I have requested an extended warranty because of the established and patterned repair issues. The chair is what I need to enjoy a good quality of life as best as I can with Charcot Marie Tooth Disorder. Permobil please be honest with your other disabled clients. Defective chairsY should not be delivered to your disabled clients and their caregivers. Medicare will not give us chairs for five years assuming your medical devices will last that long. I used mine for less than 30 days before it had major malfunctions.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Susan from Dallas, Texas USA submitted this review on November 19th 2008 at 04:37 PM. Susan is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very adjustable. I had tilt in space, recline, leg elevation and lift.
Weaknesses:Plastic vinyl seat is slightly sticky. Almost impossible to lift or move my seat while in the chair. Thin plastic back that breaks very easily. Arm rests are now a plastic shell around a metal frame with metal t-bars inside. The "T" of the metal is against the plastic shell, so the first casulty was the side of the armrest. The dealer never could get the chair to go in a staight line. It would turn abruptly to the right or left at random times. The controller failed after only 3 months. There are electronic connections under the chair that are completly exposed to the outside. This is a very expensive waste of money.
Comments:I do not know if any of the heavy rehab type chairs are any better, but this was very expensive and a total loss at this point.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
James from Frankfort, KY USA submitted this review on August 20th 2008 at 10:31 PM. James is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very reliable-well built-everything works as expected-even comes with its own tool kit. Mine has tilt, recline and seat elev. I also have a special built Jay seat that makes it even more comfortable. I also drive from this chair using the EZ-Lock system.
Weaknesses:hard to lift manual foot rests.
Comments:I would recommend this chair to anyone. It rides and performs better than the Quantum 6000Z.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Sonja from Minneapolis, MN USA submitted this review on May 23rd 2008 at 11:19 PM. Sonja is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:My name is Sonja Johnson I live in Minneapolis, MN. The very first time I used a Permobil Wheelchair was in 95 or 96. I was still in High School. I really liked my chair it had head lights til lights easy for me to use.
Weaknesses:I ONLY HAD MY PERMOBIL C300 NOT EVEN A WEEK AND IT BROKE DOWN ON ME IN THE MIDDLEOF THE STREET! THESE WHEELCHAIRS ARE EASY TO PUSH. MY BOYFRIEND HAD TO GO AND GET MY OTHER WHEELCHAIR IT WAS AROUND WINTER TIME.
Comments:I WILL NEVER USE THIS PRODUCT AGAIN. I'LL LET ANYONE NOW NOT TO PICK A PERMOBIL WHEELCHAIR! THANKS
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Wilson from Berkeley, California, USA submitted this review on April 28th 2007 at 07:29 PM. Wilson is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great comfortability
Weaknesses:Too heavy, parts needed to be ordered from UK, needs special tools for minor repairs
Comments:The chair looks and feels great, but needs to come with its own speed adjuster (especially for high functioning users). Other than that, no real complaints.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Beverly from Winter Garden,Florida USA submitted this review on February 28th 2007 at 02:40 PM. Beverly is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:?????????
Weaknesses:Arms are horrible,too wide to go thru widen doors, plastic keeps breaking which is dangerous because its really sharp. .Under the padding in the arms is a thing balsa wood with plastic screws. Not too smart engineering. It is clear that a user did not design the Permobile chairs...Cable has broken 3 time in the joy stick controls. Had the legs lifts less than 5 months and the motor went out. The plastic arms are laughable.Thight pads have screws in them,causes the covering to get holes. Etc, etc, etc.
Comments:Permoniles Mr. John Coffay is very had to work with. When you call he tries to blame all problems with the user. Which is mostly not the cause. The chair is very unreliable.Stuck in the middel of busy downtown intersection 2 weeks after her got the chiar. Would never buy again,Much ,much too expensive. My son is now sitting on a chair with all new attachments needed costs $45,000. No joke...We all know how rich the disabled are.>>>>>>>>>>
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Permobil
C300 CS
C300 PS
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C400 Stander Jr
C400 Vertical
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
C500 Stander
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman 2K Stander Jr.
Chairman Corpus
Chairman Entra Stander Jr.
Chairman HD
Chairman Minivertical
Chairman Vertical
Entra Corpus
Entra Miniflex
Entra Mps B
Hexior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Koala
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Playman
Playman Robo
Street
Trax
Trax Corpus
Trax Miniflex
X850 Corpus
Similar products (Front Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
Euroflex DX Compact 900
318 PC
Alante
Alphatrac
C1000
C300 CS
C300 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman Corpus
Challenger FX 1700
Dragon
Entra Corpus
Entra Mps B
FDX
Handipower Alego
Lexs
Lifestyle
Liner
Moto Universal
MPV 4
MPV5
Omegatrac
PWC 3300
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Scout M1 Convertible
Sopur Power 160E
Suprema
Teknique FWD
Turnabout
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy