USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Hoveround Teknique FWD
Image of Hoveround Teknique FWD
Fron wheel drive power wheelchair.
• Operator speed control
• Folding seat (removable)
• Adjustable/Flip-up armrests
• Automatic battery charger
• Automobile-style seat with formed foam
• Tru-Charge meter
• Flip-up foot plate
• Special high-impact cover
• Regenerative and automatic braking
• Programmable, microprocessor controller
• Length 35"
• Width 24.4"
• Weight: • Total 228 lbs.
• Seat 51 lbs.
• Power Base Unit 113 lbs.
• Batteries (each) 33 lbs.
• Standard Seat Height from the floor 20" - 23"
• Standard Seat Width 17", 19", 22"
• Range (est.) 20 miles
• Load Capacity 300 lbs.
• Turning Radius 20.5"
• Speed (est.) 5 mph
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1201
Durability?4.0004.00
Ease of use?4.5004.00
Meet expectations?3.9202.00
Overall Rating:3.580.002.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Edmondson from Riesel, Texas submitted this review on September 23rd 2010 at 09:37 PM. Edmondson is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good for inside and outside, but it does get stuck easily if outside in the least damp ground. Powerlift seat that is available a necessity as an amputee.
Weaknesses:Take very long time to service. then when they finally come out, it takes months for the part to come in and reschedule another service date. Frequent repairs neeeded.
Comments:Will not buy hoveround again.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Bob from Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey USA submitted this review on May 20th 2010 at 02:04 PM. Bob is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durable, all weather, easily maneuverable in an ordinary office or cubicle arrangement. Arms lift out of the way, electric lift seat (optional) is terrific for file cabinets, library or supply shelves. The Technique FWD is probably not foolproof, but I own and use two of them and neither one has ever betrayed me. Steep ramps can be a problem, but someone can easily walk behind me and keep a hand on the back to hold it down. The dynamic brakes are great, and even if the ramp angle is a bit steep, the chair won't creep once you take your hand off the joystick. Hoveround repairs (twice in ten years) have been within a week. If I was starting all over again, knowing the power chair market, I wouldn't hesitate to buy another Technique FWD.
Weaknesses:Perhaps not as streamlined or 'stylish' as some chairs, but easy to care for. Chair backs and arms are a very ordinary gray, although of a good grade of upholstery plastic. Options for colors and more breathable material would be a plus.
Hoveround charges seem high for batteries, battery chargers, cushions and tires. Owners might do better on the internet. There should be improved on-chair storage options. Driving around in a dark house fumbling for switches could be helped with chassis mounted lights pointed forward and to the rear.
Comments:Despite any candid criticism, I have lived with this machine for nearly ten years. Any weaknesses I experience don't detract from a sturdy, dependable, and easily operated power chair. People constantly seem amazed at how I can manage narrow passageways, doors and right angle turns. I also have a conversion minivan (2010 Honda Odyssey by Rollx of Savage, MN) The Hoveround Techique FWD has been equipped with hardware to mate with an EZ-Lock device I had installed in the van. The power chair is safe, comfortable and fits well as I use the van. I would suggest the power seat lift especially if the user will be in a ramp-type van for transferring to a passenger seat.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Patricia from Peoria AZ USA submitted this review on April 29th 2010 at 02:38 PM. Patricia is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is a highly durable product. Very easy to maneuver. I have had my Teknique FWD for 7 years, and only had it serviced two times. Once was tires and the charging system, the other, just recently, I needed the wheel bearings replaced. Very sturdy.
Weaknesses:It is really only for indoors, no matter what they show in the commercials, unless you are on a totally flat surface. Any incline can be treacherous if you are going across it, and if it is a steep incline, and you are going down, you stand a very good chance of tipping forward. If you wear your seat belt, as they recommend, that can result in painful facial injuries, possibly death. DO NOT wear the seat belt if you have some mobility. Mine has tipped forwards twice.
It is also rather slow. About walking speed at it's fastest.
Comments:I highly recommend this unit, but do advise some caution, as I mentioned, it can tip, causing injuries.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Judy from Stockton, CA, U.S. submitted this review on April 28th 2010 at 05:56 PM. Judy is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Powerful, comfortable seat, very sturdy foot rest, well built with strong metal components.
Weaknesses:Don't try to go down a ramp that's not legal or appears steep. Wheelchair tips forward even though it has small wheels in front. Cause was illegally steep ramp which chair is not designed to negotiate.
Comments:I like my chair. It's much more comfortable than my last chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Joshua from Buffalo, NY submitted this review on December 19th 2008 at 10:03 AM. Joshua is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This product is very durable and has a great range. I have two of their chairs and not one problem with the repairs or the employees.
Weaknesses:They has some phone problems once in awhile, but who doesn't.
Comments:I have seen a couple of the other reveiws on this product complaining about the service. I used to have a chair from the scooter store, and you can get repairs fast, but they are not quality repairs, and you have to take you broke down chair to a local repair shop. Hoveround will send a Tech out to my home to fix my chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
frank from league city tx usa submitted this review on August 29th 2008 at 03:40 PM. frank is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:when working properly all is well
Weaknesses:If you have a problem you really have a problem repairs are loooonnnng coming if at all. Their tech support is almost non-existant. they will blame DR's, insurance co's, YOU for non-service. it's almost as if they expect you to know six months in advance that you are going to have trouble.
Comments:BE WARNED BEWARE
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Russel from Panama City Fl. submitted this review on April 23rd 2008 at 03:52 PM. Russel is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Sturdy, it shares similar qualities with an armored vehicle.
Weaknesses:Extremely heavy. Very limited customization. Tech support from Hoveround is horrid and replacement parts are astronomical in cost.
Comments:When deciding on a power mobility product make sure you try it out before deciding. (The exact model)Visit your local DME (Durable Medical Equipment) providers as they tend to repair/service products they supply more reliably than ones ordered site unseen off of the TV or from an add.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
dennis from Arlington, MN. USA submitted this review on February 24th 2008 at 11:29 PM. dennis is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good heavy duty chair. Takes alot of Rough housing.
Weaknesses:While the local serviceman is very nice and great about getting here as soon as possible after he has his paperwork, the main company in Florida is absolutely terrible about timely service. They are very slow and if you complain, they are even slower. I would NEVER get another Hoveround. Go with a brand that can get you fixed up and going again in 2 days...like maybe the scooter store.
Comments:Chair is alright, but the company is absolutely bullshit.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Nunzio from Las Vegas NV USA submitted this review on February 2nd 2008 at 12:52 AM. Nunzio is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair has a lot of power. All I'll ever need. It is also very comfortable. Most of all was the way I was treated !! Hoveround did 98% of the work, just like what was said in the T V ads.
Weaknesses:I haven't found one yet.
Comments:I don't know what I would have done with out them. This chair has saved me. I could not walk 100 feet without beening in extream pain. I couldn't even walk out to get the mail. Now I can go shopping, even in the malls.best of I get to go camping, fishing,boating and a lot of other things with my GRANDCHILDREN all 17 of them, and it didn't cost me a dime.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Robert from Winter Haven, FL, USA submitted this review on October 27th 2007 at 02:53 PM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Overall very durable, comfortable, little service needed, turns great, holds a charge, weight distribution is ideal.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I would recommend this chair & company to anyone.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Timothy from Knoxville,IL,USA submitted this review on October 12th 2007 at 09:55 AM. Timothy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Halfway decent motors, Relatively easy control stick.
Weaknesses:Way to top heavy, flips to easy. Motor lockouts in very poor position under the frame. Poor foot rest design Joystick falls off to easy. Tech support is awfull
Comments:I would not recomend this chair or this company to my worst enemy buyers stay away
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
charles from maryland submitted this review on May 19th 2007 at 05:18 PM. charles is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:repair service when needed.
took 3 weeks to get a repair.
Comments:good
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ron from Wayne, PA USA submitted this review on March 11th 2006 at 04:07 PM. Ron is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Quality throughout.
Weaknesses:Owner's manual lacks clear illustrations of (1) mounting the Joystick controller on the powerchair frame, (2) the suggested routing of the Joystick cable, (3) the location of the end of the Joystick cable where it joins the drive unit, and (4) the place where the charge cable joings the unit. These are described and various warnings given, but no illustrations are provided.
Comments:I purchased a used Hoveround Teknique FWD from the family of a deceased owner. I received the original purchase documents, Handbook, etc., but a letter to Hoveround regarding service-per-call or a service contract has not been answered after several weeks.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Hoveround
Bolero
Forerunner
Hvr3
MPV 4
MPV5
Teknique FWD
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Teknique XHD
Transporter
Transporter GL
Transporter GLX
Transporter LX
Similar products (Front Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
Euroflex DX Compact 900
318 PC
Alante
Alphatrac
C1000
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman Corpus
Challenger FX 1700
Dragon
Entra Corpus
Entra Mps B
F3 Corpus
F5 Corpus
FDX
Handipower Alego
Jazzy 1450
Jazzy Elite 14 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES Portable
Jazzy Elite ES Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES-1 Wheelchair
Jazzy Select Elite Wheelchair
Jazzy Sport 2
Jazzy Sport Portable
Lexs
Lifestyle
Liner
Moto Universal
MPV 4
MPV5
Omegatrac
PWC 3300
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Scout M1 Convertible
Sopur Power 160E
Suprema
Turnabout
Β  Β 
Β 

Β 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy