USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by sandra
Pacesaver Eclipse
Written by Gary
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Chris
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by Paul
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Carol
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by Dan
Golden Motor Technology Co Ltd E-Wheelchair PW-8F20
Written by Justin
Permobil C500 Corpus
Written by Thomas
Permobil M400 Corpus 3G
Written by Michael
Sunrise Medical Quickie 2 Lite
Written by Ruth
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Magic Mobility Extreme 4x4
Image of MAGIC MOBILITY Extreme 4x4
All terrain power electric wheelchair.
• Four motors, passive steering, all terrain, powered wheelchair.
• Seat Widths: 410-460-510mm. Seat Depths: 410-480-510mm. Base Width: 710mm. Overall Length:1100mm.
• Backrest Height: 560mm.
• Weight: 110kg.
• Battery Size: 36A/hr to 73A/hr Gell Cells**. Range: 10km to 30km.
• Motors: Four 24V DC Custom Design.
• Max Incline: More than 1 in 4.
• Tyres: 145 - 70/6 Low Pressure Knobby.
• Park Brakes: Electromagnetic Disk X 2.
• Control System: Dynamic DX or P&G Pilot+.
• Manual Freewheeling: All four wheels.
• Seating Systems: Luxury MPS (std) or Modular Adjustable or Board Seat with MPS Backrest.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1720
Durability?3.474.000
Ease of use?3.712.500
Meet expectations?2.943.000
Overall Rating:2.823.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Martin from Gauteng, South Africa submitted this review on February 6th 2012 at 11:22 AM. Martin is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very strong, durable, powerful,
Weaknesses:Very over priced
Comments:I love this chair been in it for 10 years now and it has given me much joy over the years.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Gil from Plaquemine, Louisiana USA submitted this review on September 19th 2011 at 01:39 PM. Gil is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very Few
Weaknesses:Very Many
Comments:Nothing extreme about it, except price. I wish I would not have
purchased this chair and would love to get rid of it but too afraid to pawn it off on someone else. Little clearance between
wheels and fenders causing mudd to clog and run batteries down not to mention if you exceed 2" of water you will ruin one or more of the motrs. As many have said, "Backing up is a nightmare"
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ralph from Trenton ,Florida ,USA submitted this review on February 10th 2010 at 08:33 PM. Ralph is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:Tires leave marks on concrete and are flat prone .Slow as in 4 mph .Motors fail often ....welds break .Control module fails too .Too wide for most lifts. Awkward to drive in reverse.Factory is in Australia.Overheats ,then stops,etc.,ad infinitum,ad nauseam ,forever!
Comments:Manufacturer has c.y.a. alibi in operators manual .It states ,motors will go in "limp mode" when stressed .The only thing extreme about this chair is non performance .No wonder they superceded it .
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
luke from chulmleigh, devon submitted this review on July 3rd 2009 at 09:14 PM. luke is a care giver who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:powerful
Weaknesses: 
Comments:good wheelchair, good around town and garden and college
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Wendell from pittsburgh submitted this review on December 24th 2008 at 12:18 PM. Wendell is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:power
Weaknesses:way too low, 4wd will make those 73 batteries go down faster!
a service tech sai a person was stuck on a hill-patients fault incline to steep?
Comments:Coming from using A PERMOBIL TRAX which has speed and power this chair was a letdown. Way to slow, it turns funny and you have a hell of a time backing up.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
KAW from Thailand submitted this review on December 17th 2008 at 11:59 PM. KAW is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power,Appearance,Simplicity
Weaknesses:Price,Seat and Armrests, driving in reverse,sand and loose rock
Comments:I love it regardless!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Craig from Muncie, IN submitted this review on May 22nd 2008 at 02:26 PM. Craig is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair has great power and mobility. It is not hard on batteries I am still using the original set.
Weaknesses:It is hard to go backwards with the chair.
Comments:I use this chair to pull a 54" reel type mower in the summer and I mount a 36" snow plow blade made by snapper to plow snow in the winter. The chair does more than what it was designed for.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Julie from Nashville, TN submitted this review on November 23rd 2007 at 10:55 AM. Julie is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:goes in gravel, curbs, like is advertised
Weaknesses:B I G ... S L O W...but lovable
Comments:Son wanted to go somewhere beyond pavement. this works. it is pricey but we got a very good deal. I think it is fairly useless for most people. It is 4x4 but it sits low to the ground so looks iffy to me for the true daredevil. It does go in sand etc, but son is only 75lbs. I don't think it could take a beating, looks like a hoss but I think its probably pretty sensitive:). The seat is comfy and it does adjust back. The chair is great if you're prepared for its limits.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
kase from sebastian, fl usa submitted this review on October 31st 2007 at 08:16 AM. kase is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have been able to go across fields, mountain roads, small logs, along the beach, gravel, small curbs, tow things, carry stuff, and be both independent and even helpful in some situations when hauling stuff or towing coolers or wagons. I AM A C5/6 quad, typically in a sport chair. The Extreme 4x4 turns heads, starts conversations, is comfortable, and definitely increases my mobility. HOWEVER - see weaknesses
Weaknesses:I agree with most other reviews ... too slow, I can get stuck in inopportune places, can get stuck in sand (lower air pressure), you need to "plan" your approach to off-road terrain, very poor reverse steering, poor battery life. It is really big! I cannot get into my standard full size Ford van seated in it. I loose lots of independence in it due to height & size, it is heavy (understandably), PRICE is ridiculous.
Comments:I have had this chair 2 years, and only used it perhaps 25 times. This is mostly due to me being able to transfer in-and-out of my sport chair, van, and bed independently, but need assistance when using the Extreme. If I travel with it I need someone to load and unload it, and me into and out of it. If I drove from it, or was unable to use a sport chair I would undoubtedly use it daily. It has been great fun at festivals, on the beach, and long walks/rolls around the community or out in the country and mountains. As I said, I have not used it a lot, more like special/specific occasions. I have replaced the batteries once (after less than a year, possibly lack of use/charging).
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
John from Fayetville Arkansas USA submitted this review on September 20th 2007 at 01:42 PM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:easy ride goes good when it is not broke down
Weaknesses:hot weather motors shut down.axles break,electronics go out
Comments:This is the worst chair nothing but trouble from day one. axles have broke all of them. Have put 7 motors on the chair replaced the joy stick,the main brain,the brakes, it has been a really bad exprience.I would not advise anyone to buy one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Thomas from Marienville, PA. USA submitted this review on June 19th 2007 at 08:17 PM. Thomas is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Admittedly, this chair has gone where none have gone before. It is a very soft ride when you drop the air pressure in the tires down to about 3-4psi. I enjoy being able to go down the road or off into the fields or trails that I wouldn't even think about in my manual chair. It also feels like it has plenty of power but at a price.
Weaknesses:This is the first powerchair I've had so maybe some of this is normal, however,....The chair is difficult to back up and stay straight as when getting into my van. I have the controller and have it turned way down from the factory settings. It also has an unusual feeling of having a high center of gravity. The top speed is still way to slow even for offroad conditions. There are times one needs the speed to help with momentum when going up a hill. Sure, it has all the torque you may need, but if you do not have the speed to start on a loose dirt or shale hill, all you will do with all the torque is dig four holes in usually the worst spot on any incline. Then the fun comes in backing out of the holes and trying to keep the damn front wheels straight. Mine still tend to go from right to left causing an uneasy feeling when going backwards. Any one else have this problem with their steering or is it something I have to reprogram independent of the forward settings?
Comments:I find this chair to be a unique mode of "all-terrain" power chair, but I find the price of the chair to be WAY to high for what it's worth. All wheelchair user will agree with me that unfortunately, every item we may need due to our particular medical condition is always overpriced. After I got this 4x4 chair, I saw the RPV and another adaptation of the same design. Now those 6x6s are definitely all terrain and do not suffer from the weaknesses of the Extreme 4x4 in regard to stability, durability, and of course the damn steering. For instances where I will be going deep into the woods or expecting to encounter rain, snow or other water, or difficult terrain, I will take my old 6x6 atv that has the torque, speed, all terrain capabilities that surpass a 4x4 quad and leave the Extreme 4x4 for around the home and light offroad pursuits. It does great at hauling my garbage can out to the road as I am back an old dirt and rock lane. It would be great for getting my mail at the end of the road where it meets a main state route and everybody's mailbox is located if it had a little more speed. It works, just not $25,000 worth of chair in my opinion.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
phill from aussie submitted this review on May 28th 2007 at 08:02 PM. phill is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:great outdoor fun
goes over anything
Weaknesses:steering is touchy, but a good powerchair driver overcomes this fast. its a little slow.hard to reverse
Comments:i love it, hope i dont break it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Shannon from Alicia, Arkansas USA submitted this review on February 1st 2007 at 06:49 PM. Shannon is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair will go just about anywhere within reason. Comfortable ride with the balloon tires.
Weaknesses:Since I have received my chair, I have had nothing but trouble. First, I had the controller go awol, then the right front motor locked up, (liked to have never got it in the house). They replaced the motor, but it over-powers the other front motor and pulls hard to one side. I bought the $500 dollar programmer to re-calibrate the motors in sync but still no progress. Needs to go faster too, very slow even on pavement. Warranty is a joke!
Comments:Same as weaknesses
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Chris from Leesburg, VA, USA submitted this review on October 11th 2006 at 12:16 PM. Chris is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair seems able to go ANYWHERE. It is easy to use and consistently exceeds my expectations when hill climbing, on difficult terrain and just in general. Extremely pleasant tech reps who clearly want to help.
Weaknesses:Lack of local resources capable of diagnosing and fixing problems. Price.
Comments:OK now to contradict my comments above. I purchased my Extreme 4x4 in March 2005. I live in Western Virginia where the countryside is beautiful. I travel a dirt road to get to my home and from it have access to all kinds of trails fields, forests, all places that the chair is intended to open up for folks who are unable to walk. Until August of this year, I could not make any negative comment about this chair. Unfortunately, this has changed.

At that time, I started having a problem with the chair, for no apparent reason, going into "limp mode." This occurs when the controller for the chair senses a fault. A better description might be crawl and jerk mode. It can take 45 minutes to an hour to go an eighth of a mile assuming you don't experience ANY incline. And I do mean ANY.

The chair is unusable in its current condition. I have adjusted the breaks, sent the controller in for evaluation (no problems found), installed new batteries and my next step is to have the joystick reprogramed. My feeling is that I will get this fixed and hopefully soon. Since the chair cost more than $11,000 I pray this is not wishful thinking on my part. I will admit, as time passes, when I look at the chair sitting on a lift in my garage, it begins to morph into a dollar sign, but I intend to persist. If I am able to attach an addendum to this review in the future, I will do so when all is said and done.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Holly from Northern Alberta submitted this review on August 14th 2006 at 11:57 AM. Holly is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Awesome chair will go anywhere, I've never been stuck but have tipped it a few times
Weaknesses:Price and quality of building componants. In two years of use I have just toasted the fourth drive wheel, at 2500$ each to fix it is not acceptable. I believe this is common since the company have declined to tell me whether I have a lemon or not.
Comments:Very frustrating to finally have a means of transportation that gives me access only to have it constantly broken down.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Silas from Pennington Gap Va USA submitted this review on October 14th 2005 at 06:01 PM. Silas is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ability to go anywhere, really good ride.
Weaknesses:The chin control and the high price. Also hard to back up.
Comments:I really love this chair, I own a 500 acre farm, this chair has changed my life.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
EDDIE from IRA, TEXAS USA submitted this review on September 13th 2005 at 10:35 AM. EDDIE is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:ABILITY TO GO JUST ABOUT ANYWHERE, VERY COMFORTABLE SEAT, EASEY
TO OPERATE, SO FAR VERY STURDY AND DEPENDABLE
Weaknesses:HIGH PRICE
Comments:I AM A TRIPLE AMPUTEE , I STILL WORK AND THIS CHAIR HAS BEEN REALLY GREAT AT WORK I DO NOT HAVE TO HAVE SOMEONE DRAG AND SHOVE ME AROUND WORK LOCATIONS. i ALSO LOVE THE OUTDOORS AND HUNTING AND SHOOTING. IT OPENED AN OLD WORLD TO NEW INDEPENDCE FOR ME.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
David from Louisiana submitted this review on December 10th 2004 at 06:11 PM. David is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:GIVES SOFTEST RIDE OF ANY WHEELCHAIR I'VE TRIED IN OVER 27 YEARS IN WHEELCHAIR.
Weaknesses:MEDICARE/MEDICAID WILL NOT HELP PAY
Comments:CARRIERS AND VENDORS HAVE TOO MUCH POWER IN YOUR CHOICE OF WHEELCHAIRS... THIS IS A BLATENT VIOLATION OF YOUR 1ST AMENDMENT RIGHTS LIFE, LIBERTY & PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS ABSOLUTELY NO SKIN BREAKDONWS SINCE I'VE CHANGED TO THIS CHAIR AND I'VE HAD FLAPOVER SURGERY.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
JOY from California submitted this review on December 21st 2003 at 11:29 PM. JOY is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I can go on beach sand!! Can go so many places you just can't go in a regular chair! Snow, sand, rocks! I LOVE this chair!
Weaknesses:Price is high
Comments:If you love the outdoors and hiking in nature, you gotta get this chair!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy