USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by allen
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by William
Horizon Mobility Mayan
Written by john
Alber E-motion
Written by John
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by Kathleen
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by JP
Lifestand LSC
Written by Max
Pride Mobility Go Go
Written by Allan
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1122
Written by James
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by alex
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Image of TravelScoot TravelScoot
An ultra lightweight mobility travel scooter that quickly folds and unfolds to a compact size for transporting.
  • Carry capacity- Up to 320 lbs.
  • Speed & range- Maximum 6 mph, with a range of 8 miles.
  • Extended Dimensions- Length.....37" (94 cm), Height.....Up to 34", Width....23" (58 cm).
  • Folded Dimensions- Length.....33.5" (85 cm), Height.....10" (25 cm), Width....12" (30 cm).
  • Weight with battery...49 lbs. without battery...29 lbs.
  • Seat width..18"
  • Aircraft grade polished and anodized aluminum frame
  • Heavy duty carrying bag and fabric caddy included
  • Accomodates a cane or pair of crutches
  • Adjustable seat & handlebar height
  • Approved for airline transport.
  • Brakes- Dual rear friction brakes with dual parking brakes.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews4920
Durability?4.614.500
Ease of use?4.784.500
Meet expectations?4.473.500
Overall Rating:4.273.500.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Jon from Discovery Bay, CA, USA submitted this review on November 21st 2013 at 02:20 PM. Jon is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Light weight, well built; amazing product for intended use.
Weaknesses:On a steep downhill grade, braking does require some grip strength. Not a problem for me, however for those that might have less grip strength, go slow to start and brake early so speed doesn't get away. I've gone 15+ down steep hills and the brakes will stop it.
Comments:I'm 50 (male - 190#) have FSHD (muscular dystrophy) and can only walk short distances. The Travelscoot has been through airports, LONG days at Disneyland and gets used whenever I need to walk more than 100 feet (walk with wife, big box store, fair, events, etc). Although it does fold up, it actually fits in my hatchback (Audi A3) by dropping the handle bars and pulling the seat. I've never had to actually collapse it. I really can't imagine trying to get around using a "medical" grade mobility device.

Is it as stable and comfortable as a fat, heavy "medical" scooter? No, but that's apples and oranges. You can't pick up a typical scooter with one arm and put it in the back of a small hatchback... or drive it to an airplane gate and have it waiting when you get off.

My only negative comment would be pricing of the lithium ion battery packs as prices have dropped dramatically over the last couple years with Li-ion cells. An electronics savy individual could build a pack for a fraction of the Travelscoot price. Another alternative is eBay, Chinese LiFe batteries or even "crazier"... LiPo (which is what I did for a "reserve tank").

This isn't a plug and play alternative as lithium polymer batteries can't be overcharged, over-depleted or punctured... as they can catch fire. LiPo is what radio controlled hobby "guys" use to fly planes and such. More temperamental yes, however they are very inexpensive and have a very high energy density.

I recently "hacked" a secondary 4mm banana plug for a 5Ah LiPo (6s1p) and first run had 3.5 miles with an estimated mile remaining based on voltage. Mind you, this is a $46 battery, so 10Ah (2 in parallel) is less than $100... a good value in my book. A lot of DIY electric bicycle "guys" are using LiPo and there's a ton of info on the web. It's a great alternative if you fully understand the requirements of safely using them (charge/discharge cell monitoring and puncture protection). The 7s1p would be better suited to the motor's designed voltage, however these are not as common and come at a premium. Using a good cell balancing charger and cell monitor during use is highly recommended.

The Travelscoot is perfect for my limitations and use. Highly recommended.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
john from virginia beach submitted this review on October 2nd 2013 at 10:36 AM. john is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:wonderful goes anywhere sturdy
on busses on trains on cruse ships in taxi in auto trunk
Weaknesses:brakes could be better
Comments:love it made my life better
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Catahoula from Jonesville , la submitted this review on August 31st 2013 at 03:20 PM. Catahoula is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Battery life, lite weight , compact, stylish design , strong motor, fast!
Weaknesses:After a year mine started falling apart ; 1)break cables broke 2)the weld under neigh the seat broke, causing the seat to beunstabe , the Velcro started coming unstuck on the caddy between the feet however, it was all repairable .plus I use mine daily..
Comments:My back problems are so bad I cannot walk very far but, this little scooter allowed me to get back out . I got the upgraded battery. Well worth the extra money. Went to try it out at the mall of Louisiana and it wore me out before I wore it out.
It's never left me stranded and I've covered some ground. I am around 245 lbs. and it never misses a beat. Everywhere I go people ask about i I hope this helps someone.. God bless.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Linda from Fullerton, CA submitted this review on August 7th 2013 at 10:20 AM. Linda is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight, can fold up to fit in a trunk or into a VW Beetle, easy to get on and off a plane, can carry suitcase myself, great design - it has everything I need and nothing I don't.
Weaknesses:No reverse gear, no place for cup
Comments:I cannot recommend this scooter more. I travel with it out of state every week and to meetings for my job every day. It is durable, sturdy, and exceeds my expectations - the best investment I ever made!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Sherri from San Rafael, California, USA submitted this review on July 25th 2013 at 06:26 PM. Sherri is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:So easy to fold up or down and so light so that it can be fairly easily carried. It is very easy to drive and has enough power to go up fairly steep hills. You can really zip around so quickly and agilely with the TravelScoot! It has been very reliable as well. Also, the one time when we had an issue with it (the seat became unsecure) we called TravelScoot and they quickly phoned us back and told us how to easily re-secure the seat. So great customer service to go along with a great product. It is so light and so extremely easy to use that it is a wonderful gift!!
Weaknesses:It is my understanding that you can't ride it in heavy rain.
Comments:The TravelScoot has been a godsend! I have problems with my feet that come and go. When I am unable to walk or to hike, we just put the TravelScoot in our car and when we find our hike's starting point, we quickly fold the TravelScoot down and get moving! We have also taken it on our airplane trips: we enter through security with the TravelScoot and take it right up to the gate where the airline staff takes the scoot away and then gives it back to us at the end of our flight.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Keith from West Sussex England submitted this review on February 10th 2013 at 06:07 AM. Keith is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight, Easy Folding, Compact - best thing since sliced bread!
Weaknesses:If turning completely round, go right - left you have front wheel slide.
Comments:Superb - could not manage without it - lightweight and can easily be lifted in and out of cars. Long life battery excellent.
Needs a key to lock it up when leaving it
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Keith from West Sussex submitted this review on February 10th 2013 at 05:46 AM. Keith is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:1st saw one overseas and tracked Travelscoot down to Germany - was prepared to import one from America. It arrived within 48 hours of ordering via Royal Mail. Very simply to assemble - put the battery on charge - very lightweight to lift in and out of my car - weighs 34lbs - you clip the back rest on and raise the handlebar and off you go. Beautifully made - long battery life. Ideal for use on hard surfaces - when ever I use it people stop and ask for details. It is used almost daily especially in the Supermarket.
Out of 10, would give it 10!
Weaknesses:Turning is easiest to the right, if you turn to the left, there is some wheel slide - talking of when turning completely round to go back the way you just came.
Truely delighted with the Travelscoot.
Comments:If you want a light weight scooter - 1st class materials used to make it - for use on a flat hard surface, then the Travelscoot is the answer
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Steve from Texas, USA submitted this review on February 2nd 2013 at 07:47 PM. Steve is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Light, very light, extraordinarily light. Strong, fast, and durable too. Lithium batteries are light and last forever. After using for about three years, one belt broke - which was easy to replace. They have changed our lives. Description on website was very accurate and informative. Did I say they were light?
Weaknesses:While the folding mechanisms were tight at first, we used a little vaseline and they loosened with use. The only problem we had was the seat back sliding down the shaft. We solved that by screwing the seat backs to the shafts. Batteries are expensive, but perform well.
Comments:We bought two for our disabled teenage daughters. They became quite adept at using them after a day or two. These scooters have changed their lives. We have now travelled all over the world with them and used them on many flights, never with a problem. Without the scooters, they are limited in what they can do. With the scooters, they have no limitations. We have never run the batteries down, even after scooting through NYC all day. There is no need to buy the travel bag. Just ride it to the airplane door and take the battery with you while the scooter is stored in the belly of the plane.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
John from Balcolyn,NSW,Australia submitted this review on December 23rd 2012 at 12:43 AM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Light weight, but strongly constructed.
Weaknesses:Very poor brakes, must be able to drag feet. The ingenious but awkward folding mechanism is unescessary, as airlines accept it at the door of the aircraft without folding, the drive belt gets damaged by resting on hard surfaces when folded.
I replaced the solid rubber "tube" in the front tyre with a tube with puncture proofing slime in it, OK so far.
Comments:I love it, but think I can build a better one, i.e. front wheel brake, drive to both rear wheels. Must have Li ion battery.
Both our carry on bags travel on the frame and I tow a suitcase with my left hand.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Stephen from Herne Bay, UK submitted this review on November 18th 2012 at 05:17 AM. Stephen is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Liteweight and robust.
Weaknesses:Carrying case poor quality and arrived damaged. Even with reduced gearing, does not like steep slopes. For carrying up steps etc it would be better if seat yoke clamped on both sides to make rear rigid. Would prefer more graduation on battery condition gauge. Positioning of Velcro on Lithium battery does not allow it to be fastened securely.
Comments:It does exactly what it says on the website. The braking has not been an issue even with the scoot loaded with hand luggage and towing a case. Has been a boon in the 8 airports we have been through and creates interest with both fellow passengers and staff alike. The only problem with air travel is how the battery is carried and has varied between airlines and even pilots
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Sandra from Columbus, MT, USA submitted this review on October 26th 2012 at 06:39 PM. Sandra is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:It is a zippy, fun little scooter. Light enough to make transport easy. Great for getting out and about. Quiet to operate. Easy to handle.
Weaknesses:Vendor customer service is poor. Batteries out of stock. Requires multiple attempts to get an answer to simple questions.
Comments:While I like the scooter if I knew the customer service of the supplier was so poor I would have not purchased a travelscoot. When paying a premium price for a product customers should not be treated poorly.

The scooter was ordered Sept. 26th (scooter, lithium battery, SLA battery). Received scooter and lithium battery three weeks ago. SLA battery out of stock. I have been told the earliest it will ship now will be 11/05. I have tried working with them for another solution as I need it for a scheduled trip. I can't get them to respond to a simple question (do they still have battery kits of connectors. And holders as I have found a source for batteries). Two days later no answer and they know I am running out of time to arrange.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Dave from KURANDA QLD submitted this review on August 15th 2012 at 03:19 AM. Dave is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The Travelscoot is very light(19Kg with Lithium battery),strong and fairly easy to put together.
Weaknesses:The brakes are very weak. Could not stop sliding backwards on flat escalator.Important to note that this is not a disability scooter, mainly due to lack of electro-magnetic brake, lights,etc. Needs a bit of practise to be safe. Lithium batteries very expensive from Travelscoot distributors. Some small fixtures(clamps,seat height spacers not fitted with screws. Manual inadequate as far as servicing goes.
Comments:Has been a boon because of light weight and ease of use.Cheap but good and safe 24V 10Ah lithium(LiFePO4-Lithium/Iron/Phosphorus) batteries are available from China.Try Alibaba and type in 24V 10Ah
LiFePO4 Battery Packs.also available in 18Ah. My contact is valdave@oneseniors.com.au
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Peter from Adelaide, South Australia submitted this review on July 19th 2012 at 10:12 PM. Peter is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight, disassembly, manoeuvrability, comfort
Weaknesses:No reverse, weak brakes on slopes, buttons to release legs are stiff to push. Bag lasted me only two air flights, so I have a much stronger one now. Price of Lithium batteries, Love to talk to Dave of Kuranda about his solution to that, if you are reading Dave
Comments:I love my Travelscoot. I had a Merits Xpress travel scooter before, and kept it for twelve months after i imported the Travelscoot, but never used it again. When I take the TS out to public places, I often get asked where it can be purchased, so an Australian dealer should really be able to do well with it. I often travel on airlines and buses with it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Syndi from Oak Park, IL USA submitted this review on July 15th 2012 at 09:24 AM. Syndi is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great portability, easy to use
Weaknesses:Need review mirror
Comments:Best thing that ever happened to me since my inability to stand or walk for any length of time due to pain
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Melanie from Pacifica, CA, USA submitted this review on June 19th 2012 at 10:54 AM. Melanie is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:portability, maneuverability, convenience, affordability. Cool factor~!
Weaknesses:A little tricky for me to open up initially - a few parts stuck, slightly. But I'm not a very mechanical person. Recently, the steering column collar came loose - but it was a relatively easy fix. A close-up picture in the manual and an explanation of how to adjust/fix it yourself (easy, once you know how) would be helpful. Nothing serious enough, however, to keep me from giving this a top rating.
Comments:I obtained this scooter to transport me to and from the hospital where I work, so my scooter is in frequent use. Due to construction, the disability parking spots were moved to a distance too far for a disabled person to reasonably manage. Besides transport from the parking garage to work, and back, I have used it in malls, on well-packed or paved trails, on piers, on the GG Bridge and in museums. I'm a 64 year old woman who wears a full-leg brace, and find that I can easily lift it in and out of my Ford Escape Hybrid; I remove the battery and lift that separately. And because my car has a three-prong plug, I can charge the battery in the car as I drive. I've had no trouble with tipping, but keep the scooter at low speeds on corners and curves and ramps. At work, I lock (bicycle lock and cable) the scooter to a storage rack and take the battery into my office and lock that up. I have yet to take it on an airplane, but plan to with my next visit to Chicago. Looking forward to more treks in GG park and more museums. This is a game-changer. My bucket list of things I can now access grows daily.
PS: always carry your wrench packet with you for quick adjustments. It will help, I've recently learned, to periodically check and tighten, if needed, the clamp on the seat and steering column.
And my 3-year old and 19-year old nephews think the Travelscoot is Uber-Cool.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Lee from Cincinnati submitted this review on June 16th 2012 at 11:41 AM. Lee is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Light weight, light weight, light weight. Easily folds and can be lifted into the back of a small SUV or minivan without any fold-down or disassembly. Lithium battery has great range. I've travelled around the USA with this scooter and always ride it right down the jetway. I carry the lithium battery on board and the scooter is stowed below with the strollers.
Weaknesses:It does the job for which it was designed and advertised. In that respect, it is perfect.
Comments:This product was designed to be LIGHT WEIGHT! I've read all the previous reviews and the folks with complaints don't seem to remember that it was built for LIGHT WEIGHT! The website is very clear about the limitations of the brakes, seat, lack of reverse. Can't say this enough: It's LIGHT!!! If you start adding all the extras mentioned in other reviews it gets HEAVY. Heavy - BAD!!! Light - GOOD! I've had mine for 4 years. It's the best scooter I've ever owned and I've had lots.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Felicity from Wanganui new Zealand submitted this review on May 22nd 2012 at 02:45 AM. Felicity is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightness and strength. Also the seat is minimalist, stylish and very comfortable. The folding mechanism is smart
Weaknesses:It tricky to push both spring pins and wiggle the steering column simultaneously and I'd have added a lever that pressed the spring pins, making it a one handed job, not a three handed one. There's a knack to it, but I still fluff around and have to take a folding stool in the car so I don't overbalance. It's not just me, my husband had to practise too, and he's a handy type.
Comments:I think it could be still lighter, or come in two weight ranges, people under 80 kg for instance could definitely be safe and secure on a frame that was slimmer and lighter than this.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ron from Auburn, Ca USA submitted this review on May 6th 2012 at 11:47 AM. Ron is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight, small, and very easy to transport. The L-ion battery is long lasting.
Weaknesses:Not many weaknesses I can find if used as intended, and with a thorough understanding of the manufacturers listed limitations such as no power reverse, bicycle style brakes, etc.
Comments:Not much in this world is perfect, and the Travelscoot is no exception. However, if used within the manufacturers stated parameters, it has exceeded my expectations for a compact and lightweight mobility scooter.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
charles from san francisco submitted this review on March 26th 2012 at 01:19 AM. charles is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:light
strong
easy to put into my van with one hand, even with 20 lb battery
narrow, easy to keep med appts and go into any rooms
Weaknesses:way too light in front -- I tipped over backwards & tore rotator cuff
brakes are puny
uneven sidewalks, terrain, at speed could result in a crash
seat is uncomfortable
Comments:this is an update on my last review. I was going to return the scoot, but then I realized I really have nothing else to get me around except 2 canes and a very painful walking experience. The scoot has opened up a lot of previously closed doors. Yes there are many design flaws. One remedy I have for the light front end is to hang an 8 lb weight off the front basket -- this really keeps the front wheel on the ground better. After my very painful spill (the bruise is not pretty) I will have to be more cautious. Another tip: I found the backrest support bar hurts my backbone. I got a length of 1/2" rubber pipe insulation at the hardware store, cut a section to fit between the bottom of the backrest down to the curve leading into the seat; both inside edges of the rubber insulation have adhesive on them. Fit the rubber around the square bar, squeeze the 2 edges together, and it looks factory.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
charles from san francisco submitted this review on March 22nd 2012 at 07:41 PM. charles is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:light, strong, narrow, fairly quick, easy enough to lever into and out of my van
Weaknesses:Brakes are puny. No anti-tip wheels either on side or rear. steering wheel spins freely in either direction, so cords get wrapped around column. seat is uncomfortable after 15 minutes. charging units and/or batteries had problems.
Comments:very tippy. as I write this it is with my right hand since I tipped over backwards yesterday onto my left shoulder in my garage, with no warning, it just reared up--a scraped elbow, and an arm that won't move, but nothing broken on me, yet. Brakes are puny and unsafe--they push directly on top of the plastic wheels, with a small 1" wide pad. Seat is uncomfortable after 15 min riding around. Li-ion battery would not take a charge (red light kept blinking, but no mention in manual about blinking red light). Tony sent me a new charger, but the red light on new charger kept blinking. Tony apologized & said return the battery & we'll replace it; but this was before tipping over. Now I'm returning everything. After pricing the Lyric scooter I realize how limited and fairly primitive the TS design is. I was going to buy it and then find some shop to install anti-tip wheels, a motor on the right side to match the one on the left, and a better seat----but then I thought, why am I paying extra money to correct basic flaws that Mr. Huber should have improved already. He's had at least 3 years. BTW, Huber's excuse/rationale for not providing anti-tip wheels that would have prevented the injury to my shoulder is that they could contact uneven surfaces, prevent the left wheel from getting traction, and you'd have to get off the scooter to put it on even ground ---- huh?? Doesn't he say it should be ridden on hard flat surfaces?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Brenda from Potts Point NSW Australia submitted this review on February 16th 2012 at 04:28 AM. Brenda is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Love TravelScoot for it's lightness and versatility. I have travelled overseas and it is great to stow so easily on the plane, and be there ready at the destination. As it is so light (only 16kil) the airport staff do not mind assisting with it.
It is very strong ( I am not light) and the light lithium battery is so light and easy to manage and gives me plenty of distance.
Weaknesses:I haven't found any weakness with the TravelScoot.
It has exceeded my expectations.
Comments:TravelScoot has changed my life. I can now go out independently which I couldn't manage before. I can lift it in and out of my car myself!!
I have also found the Australian service to be excellent, when I have needed to contact them for advice when I first bought mine. Even on the weekend
when I really didn't expect them to answer my call, they were there for me.
Love that Scoot!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Ken from Sunnybank Hills, Queensland, Australia submitted this review on January 18th 2012 at 09:43 PM. Ken is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Light, easily transportable, durable, a delightful machine
Weaknesses:Customer service in Australia is weak. Unstable unless driven with care.
Brakes and no reverse gear are a trade off for weight. A better manual is neeeded.
Comments:I would recommend it to a friend but be prepared to do your own maintenance or outsource it. I have been to Fiji twice in the past year and the Travelscoot and battery traveled as free baggage on the airline with no problem. The TravelScoot set me free.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
David from Kuranda Queensland Australia submitted this review on October 24th 2011 at 11:32 PM. David is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Well made,very light(19kg with Lithium battery). There are lighter ones but this folds the best.Despite photo in brochure I could not take scooter in to planes in Australia Had to go as free luggage. Only 200 W motor available in Australia but this is very nippy. Handyperson could fit bigger motor with reverse for about $50
Weaknesses:Biggest weakness is price of batteries-see comments.Bell small and useless.Very poor brakes.Like any three wheeler is unstable on corners. Needs practise. Must lean forward when going up slope or over small obstacles.I went flat on back over one inch rise!SLA batteries not supplied.Poor customer relations. Had to download my own manual which suggested sticking a seat part with "even Chewing gum"!!Did not mention 30A fuse link.
Comments:Best to buy without batteries.USA wants over $700 for Lithium-ion batt and Australia wants about $915!!! for 24V 10Ah batt and charger.I bought a 24v10ah LiFePO4 batt & Charger from China(Alibaba - zhsydz.com) for $216 and it fits and works perfectly. A 24V 18Ah batt & Charger is availible from the Optimum Battery Factory for around the same price!! Australia and Hardy evasive when answering questions/.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Dean from Omaha Nebraska USA submitted this review on October 7th 2011 at 09:04 AM. Dean is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I flew around the world 5 times last year and the scooter held up well to the streets of China,France,England,Germany, Belgium. It folds up and fits in a VW Beetle and I take it right to the door of planes and they take it down with the baby strollers. You definitely want the lithium battery because it runs forever and is light.
Weaknesses:Some airports haven't seen it before and they are 'scared' of it. I carry the book with me so they can see how it is made. No weaknesses I can see. Wish more people were using them so more people knew the scooter
Comments:Rent one and try it. You must have the ability to back it up with your feet (like the Flintstones) since it doesn't have reverse. This is a lifesaver for me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Arifin from Singapore, Singapore submitted this review on April 27th 2011 at 10:56 AM. Arifin is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:- Compact, light
- Easy to assemble/disassemble
- Sturdy
- Able to go up ramps
- Distance per single charge (Standard LiOn battery) is extraordinary
- Good turning radius
- Quiet
- Helps you exercise certain muscles you didn't realize you have compared to when on wheelchair
- Wife no longer has to push me from behind, enabling us to walk hand-in-hand
- And since my wife is hearing impaired, walking next to me, we are able to communicate more fluidly, unlike previously, she has to stop the wheelchair first, get in front of me, and start signing
Weaknesses:- Seat too small for me (wide bottom guy) when put on backrest
- Gets too many attention when you want to be incognito
- Wish it had reverse gear, but with its lightweight, you can just pedal yourself backward ala the Flintstones
- Wish it had a speedometer to know how fast you are speeding at full throttle!
- Single gear motor
- Wish it was all terrain! But it is already multi-terrain :)
- No choice of colors, or themes to choose from, only chrome + black
Comments:I'm a heavy built person by Asian standard. I have bad knees, and even weaker ankles. And as someone who has to go for dialysis 3 times a week, this is a godsend! I could get to the dialysis facility in less than 15 minutes compared to 40 minutes by wheelchair. And time saved is not reflected in how exhausted I feel at end of each to and fro trip on the wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Susan from Belmont, CA, USA submitted this review on October 9th 2010 at 12:42 AM. Susan is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very light and I am sure it would fit in the back of a minivan or SUV without ANY dismantling. Not difficult to assemble/take apart once you have practised - although the instructions were NOT clear. Battery can be charged without moving it too much - just releasing one strap and unplugging the red contact wire. Very fast - even up slopes and carrying a full-sized person plus LOTS of shopping.
Weaknesses:Can almost 'take-off' if not careful with throttle - needs practice. Felt slightly ustable on curves combined with slopes - will be better with more use. Backrest is VERY uncomfortable - will use without next time I rent.
Comments:I can walk, but have a foot condition which requires restricting how MUCH I walk. I rented the Travel Scoot (delivered to my hotel and sent back from there) for a casino vacation. It took me round the casino, round a large Mall three times plus the distance from hotel to there and back, and the battery stayed fully charged. It has given me back the ability to see things without worrying about walking. I have a manual wheelchair which is useless if I am on my own because the so-called wheelchair ramps are too steep to get up (or down) them on my own - even at my hospital. After renting for this vacation, I plan on buying one for the times that I need to cover any distance more than a few steps. All the other scooters are so much heavier than I need. I just wish it was covered by Insurance - it fills a major gap.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Linda from Neenah, Wisconsin, USA submitted this review on June 1st 2010 at 04:22 PM. Linda is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very portable. VERY light, can carry in one hand. Very strong; carries my 300 lbs easily. Fast. REMOVEABLE battery: so I can recharge inside the house-Great in winter when can't leave it in car to freeze. Battery very light, good capacity. Great for the airplane: freight guys love stowing it for me.
Weaknesses:seat becomes uncomfortable after about 1 hour.
Comments:LOVE my TravelScoot. I will NOT be without it!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
John from Corvallis, OR, USA submitted this review on May 4th 2010 at 01:23 AM. John is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very light weight, agile and adequate power for a medium size person. Collapses to a nice small package.
Weaknesses:Very poorly designed breaks. Ineffective on any incline, especially when the wheels are slightly wet. I am surprised that such poor design has passed inspections. How about disk breaks?
Comments:Please improve the breaks before someone gets seriously hurt.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Kathryn from Hickory, NC, USA submitted this review on April 5th 2010 at 11:52 AM. Kathryn is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This very light weight scooter is durable and fast. I particularly like how easy it is to travel with. I am also pleased at how well it handles uneven surfaces, whether it is cobblestones, broken sidewalks or gravel paths.
Weaknesses:There is no reverse gear which is not a problem for me but I would not recommend it for someone who cannot walk at all. It comes with a heavy duty canvas bag for travel. However the first time I flew with the scooter the airline put a whole in the bag although the scooter was not damaged. I bought a hard sided golf bag (with wheels)which has worked well.
Comments:This scooter is wonderful. It has allowed me to continue traveling which I greatly enjoy.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Laura from Buffalo Grove, IL submitted this review on March 17th 2010 at 09:56 PM. Laura is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Easy to use, can load it into my vehicle myself, Gets me around when I need it.
Weaknesses:Some limitations with heading up inclines - do not have the power I would like, but have never gotten stuck prior to getting to the top.
Comments:I have MS and have limited function of my legs. Need a walker for any movement and distance is minimal. The TravelScoot has given me a new sense of independence as I can handle and navigate myself. I can go to the store again....
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Laurie from Boston submitted this review on March 8th 2010 at 11:08 AM. Laurie is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight, nice, sharp turning radius, comfortable. Very responsive and helpful customer service. I am small and light and most other scooters are too large for me. The travel scoot has a regular size (which, as other posters have mentioned can carry people of quite large size) and a junior size, which fits me perfectly.
Weaknesses:The same as any other travel scooter--not good in rain or snow. Somewhat slow on inclines, but I've not had a problem on small hills or long wheelchair ramps.
Comments:I walk with a cane and have difficulty walking more than short distances, but live in a non-accessible apartment building. Once I'm in the lobby, I can use the elevator, but there are a few steps up to the front door. This is the only scooter I am aware of that can be easily rolled or carried up and down the few steps even by a person of small stature.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Peter from London, Ontario, Canada submitted this review on January 24th 2010 at 01:00 PM. Peter is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The strength, ease of assembly, thoroughness of mechanical features and Lithium battery make this scooter perfect for fairly flat fairly stable surface driving.
Weaknesses:The backrest could have a button stop to keep it from sliding down the metal support.
Comments:I have muscular dystrophy and have used my Travelscoot to go through many many airports, around Disneyland and Disneyworld, through many parks, to and from stores. The Travelscoot is not designed for riding on grass or loose gravel like surfaces. I have the Lithium battery and have only managed to run it down once and that was my fault for riding on grass to feed the squrrels. Biggest problem I have is airline crew handling but I think I've got that whipped now and am getting less damage.
It's the BEST thing to happen to my mobility life ever.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Nancy from RTP, NC submitted this review on January 11th 2010 at 12:48 PM. Nancy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have posted before, all the strengths still relevant and even stronger. A breeze to fly with. Wonderful to tinker with and to customize. Larger batteries (more Ah) are available. The retailer is very responsive and has replacement connectors, belts and other parts available. Just about any bicycle horn, basket or other gadget will fit on it. One can easily lift it out of a minivan, hop on and take off. It also fits in any boot (car trunk) when folded up.
Weaknesses:None when you read the web site and follow the guidelines. Very durable. I did have to re-staple the band around the bottom of the seat after about 6 months of use.
Comments:After 4 flights I can say that I was able to scoot to the airplane door, remove the LiO smaller size battery, and gate check the little scoot without even folding it up, just like a baby stroller and weighs about the same. It was waiting at the airplane door when I arrived. I can't walk without assistance, but have enough leg strength to back it up out of elevators and such.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Lisa from BC, Canada submitted this review on December 15th 2009 at 11:44 AM. Lisa is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight.
Weaknesses:No one to contact when problems.
Comments:I personally think that it is partially a scam because it is not well made because you can not get help for a problem and the advertising is wrong. They are made for people who just do not like to walk and that the area is very flat not for people with mobility issues.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Paul from United Kingdom submitted this review on December 14th 2009 at 09:08 AM. Paul is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Hi,
I have already posted a 1-month review previously and would now like to give my views after 3-months use, including air and cruise travel. My previous strengths that I listed are still relevant, if not strengthened.
Weaknesses:Have now experienced rather lengthy periods of use whilst on shore excursions, airport transfers and cruise ship navigations the following are worthy of note:
The seat is covered in a rubber material and the padding is quite thin. As I weigh over 250 pounds and not on the slim side in my nether regions I did suffer some discomfort, both because of the qualities of rubber that can create high temperatures and lack of sufficient padding for comfort. I am in the process of devizing an alternative to the rubber and also the possibility of adding extra padding to the seat. This should be an easy job and will not add either extra weight or bulkyness.
The supplied bell is useless so I replaced it with an electric cycle buzzer that now blasts like a ships horn!
Comments:The design of this product lends itself to all the Heath Robinsons that are amongst us - I include myself as one of those too! Thus I have successfully added a means of keeping me dry on damp days. I purchased a golf trolley umbrella holder and a collapsable golf umbrella that when slotted in the holder, which bolts to the frame easily, can be moved to the desired position to completely cover both myself and the rear of the scooter.
I have also purchased a camera support that attaches quickly to the front handlebars and I now have a hands-free, very steady support for both a camera and a camcorder. This same support, which has a strong magnate quick release allows me to attach any number of devises such as a small table or cup holder etc.
The Li-ion battery is excellent, however, I will next time take a backup power source as the scooter died when I most needed it after leaving an aircraft at Gatwick and had to walk quite a way to baggage reclaim. I purchased a dry battery kit from Hardy and added two half power acid dry cell batteries with a combined weight of 10lb which should give me an approx 3 mile emergency range. These smaller batteries are quite hard to find so I am trying to find a cycle Li-ion battery that will do the job better. They tend however to be funny shapes !!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Nancy from RTP, NC, USA submitted this review on November 30th 2009 at 07:44 AM. Nancy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ditto to all of Paul's comments. Well engineered and very sustainable. Can be maintained, modified and repaired with common household tools. All components visible and can be replaced with ease when needed. Cost reasonable considering no need for a hitch haul, lift or modified van to tote it. Will easily fit into any car or minivan. Less than 35 pounds and the 4.5 pound LiO battery makes airline travel a breeze. Good customer support. Great for work, shopping and touring.
Weaknesses:None for purpose intended. You need to be able to use your feet and legs to help brake. Need hand strength for brakes and good judgment to limit speed.
Comments:Fills a growing market for the next 30 years in the USA. Best for bad feet, bad knees and bad backs. Is not a medical device and that is clearly stated on the web site. Current medical scooters and chairs weigh 100-600 pounds. Glen miss typed. One HP is 746 watts. A 600 watt motor can flip the travelscoot over backwards. Some inclines do require lower gears so it is up to engineers in countries other than the USA, to invent light weight electric transportation devices with drive and gearing similar to a 10 speed bicycle to handle inclines.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Elford from Helsinki Finland submitted this review on November 4th 2009 at 09:59 AM. Elford is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I can go just about any place with my Travelscoot. Shopping Malls, the Metro, elevators and even on escalators. I can carry many things such as my camera accessories etc.
Weaknesses:There are no weaknesses as far as I`m concerned. If you add a bigger motor, reverse gear, fenders or lights,etc, it would just add more weight.
Comments:I am very happy with the Travelscoot as it does everything its advertised to do. Its small enough that I can keep it in our apartment and it is small enough to fit in our very small apartment elevator.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Linda from Los Angeles, CA, USA submitted this review on October 30th 2009 at 04:43 PM. Linda is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Compact, lightweight, foldable, battery capactiy and distance.
Weaknesses:Comfort of seat, brakes aren't the best
Comments:I rode all day on thick carpeting inside a casino, traveling back and forth and could not run down the li-ion battery. I weigh almost 300 pounds and it works beautifully. Giving up a bit of comfort for the portability is worth it. It takes time to unfold and fold it the first time, so practice makes it easier. I love this scooter and the ingenious design.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
P from Lake Jackson, Tx submitted this review on October 25th 2009 at 04:22 PM. P is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Responsive, easy to turn in small spaces, zippy, no carrier needed because of light weight.
Weaknesses:Batteries are expensive and seem to last about a year with daily use.
Comments:My life has changed for the better since I got this scooter. I can go and do about anything I could before my knees gave out. I am grateful to have found such a well made and affordable scooter.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Marc from Lynnwood, Washington, USA submitted this review on October 15th 2009 at 08:28 PM. Marc is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great invention. Light in weight and well crafted, very light Li-Ion battery.
Weaknesses:-Lacks springs
-Accelerator too abrupt.
-Brakes not very effective.
-Li-Ion Battery needs to be removed from tray to recharge.
-Motor very weak on the slightest inclines or when starting while turning.
-the warning bell has too whimpey a sound.
Comments:This scooter is great for the purpose intended; easy to fold, easy to transport and light in weight.
That said, the TravelScoot needs some refinements to earn top marks. Some improvements are absolutely necessary: The accelerator needs to be replaced with a smoother one; the brakes are useless and downright dangerous. Too much force needs to be exerted to the break handles to get some breaking. Disc brakes could solve this problem. The motor is too weak, even on the slightest incline or when starting the scooter on a curve.
A more powerful motor and lower gearing might help some or a manually operated two-gear shift (high and low) near the motor would improve the performance, immensely.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Pam from Pendleton,SC USA submitted this review on October 9th 2009 at 12:03 PM. Pam is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:light weight, easy to fold, fun to ride
Weaknesses:Battery life. I have 2 batteries to rotate. I have never gotten over 2 hrs use off the better of the two. My husband contacted the company and at first they said to bad then finally sent one new battery. I am having the same problem with it. I recently have used it at an outlet mall and loved the freedon from pain. But the battery was showing weak in a short time. I stayed close to the car so I could push it back if it died completely. It was purchased for vacations with grandchildren. I do not feel comfortable taking on a cruise or going to disney with the kids. I will rent a scooter when I get there.
Comments:I might just have a bad unit. My husband an engineer bought it for me because he thought the design was good. But I just go to the mail box for fear of having to push it home. I wish I had went with a company that gives a better warranty for large priced item
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Orla from Ireland submitted this review on September 26th 2009 at 06:43 PM. Orla is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight and Compact. Folds up small so should fit into most car boots (trunks).

Because it is small, it fits into most places (cafe's, shops), and you have the option of folding it if you feel it might be in the way.

Depending on your physical condition, you might be able to lift it up, or roll it over steps or kerbs that are too high. In this way you can access areas or buildings that are not strictly wheelchair accessible. I am not strong but can do this easily with kerbs, and a step or two, unaided. I got the lightweight lithium-ion battery which probably makes this easier.

The handle-bar is height adjustible. I find this means I can get the height to a more comfortable position, so causing less muscle fatigue in my arms.

I find it easy to assemble and dissassemble. For me it is as easy as it looked on the official website. But I was a lot slower the first time I put it together, mostly because it took a while to figure out what the locking pins were (the users manual could have a clearer picture of them).

Good customer support . I have gotten very quick replies to enquiries both before and after I bought it (within 24 hours).
Weaknesses:Not suitable for someone with little or no use of legs (but also true of most scooters).

The lack of a reverse gear could be a problem for some. However, once I got used to it, I didn't find it a problem. In some ways I like being able to reverse by either using my foot, or just getting up and turning the scooter around. Reversing with other scooters can be difficult if in a tight spot.

Probably not suitable to go outdoors in if it is raining, or raining badly, as the battery and connector is somewhat more exposed than with other scooters. But this problem needs to be weighed against the overall mobility this product can offer, and rain wouldn't stop indoor activities.

I did have one technical problem about 9 months after I got it. One day when I was out the battery indicator light started flashing red and the scooter stopped moving. I knew the battery was almost fully charged. I just got a taxi home and e-mailed Hardy (the inventor and person who runs the company). I got a quick reply (within 24 hours) and he correctly diagnosed the problem. He sent me the replacement part straight away. It was easier than I thought to fix it (I had to replace the bit that contains the switch), and I have no experience at all with this sort of thing.
Comments:This scooter has done exactly what the official website said it would, and what I hoped it would. It allows me much more freedom and mobility than I have previously had. I would recommend it for anyone who can walk a little but has a problem with distance.

For any Irish readers, don't forget that in Ireland there is no VAT on mobility scooters for private customers. If you are charged VAT by customs, you can claim it back later (by using the form VAT 61a). There might be similar tax rules in other countries, so worth checking out.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Peter from Perkasie, PA, USA submitted this review on September 14th 2009 at 09:52 AM. Peter is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I use my travelscoot on a daily basis. It is so light weight and compact, it will fit in the truck of just about any car. Iím sure you could even fit it in a Smartcar. Even parking in a handicap space at work itís still a long, long way to my desk. With my travelscoot, which I can assemble in less then 2 minutes, I can be at my desk quicker than Iíve ever be able to manage in the past even when I was able to walk normally. My dog loves it too; when I take him for a walk after supper I take him on a lot long walk then my wife did. I canít wait to travel with it. Although I would like to ask Glen from CA a question, which 1.25 horsepower motor did he installed on the scooter and where he got it? I can be reached at (skinut@enter.net)
Weaknesses:The inability to drive it in wet (rainy) conditions.
Comments:If there is a lighter more transportable scooter out there I sure haven't found it and it's not from the lack of looking.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Paul from United Kingdom submitted this review on September 11th 2009 at 10:03 AM. Paul is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightest mobilty scooter that money can buy.
Moveable at all times (no power on other scooters locks the wheels)
Easy to unfold and collapse
Powerful motor
Makes use of Li-ion battery technology
Very User Friendly
Can be shipped easily and quickly all over the world
Direct contact by email or phone with the inventor (Hardy Huber)
Weaknesses:Because of the benefits mentioned above - there are NO weaknesses, just "Oh Well, can't have everything" scenarios.
If you want to be picky - then more confidence that things won't pack up in heavy rain. Hardy is testing his own Scoot in heavy rain as I write this review.
Comments:I am an avid cruise taker and have travelled all over the world in the process, visiting over 100 countries and thousands of locations. I now find that age and handicaps have caught up with me and I just can't walk much anymore! I have bought a series of electric mobilty scooters over the last couple of years - one folds down into the size of a suitcase and is pretty manageable - so I thought! This "Scoot" is amazing and will set me free again both whilst ashore and even moving around the ship (some are longer than 2 football pitches). I mentioned above that moveability when power is not applied is one of the strengths - On every other mobility scooter that I have heard about, cutting the power locks the wheels and acts as a break. Consequently, if you are in a wheelchair unfriendly location that has no ramps or pavement (sidewalk)runs cutting through kerbs, then you have to physically lift the scooter up the kerb or even stairway. The Travelscoot wheels stay moveable at all times unless you apply the nifty hand breaks, therefore you can stand up and lift the front wheel up the kerb. Climbing stairs is quite easy as long as you can climb them. On the Travelscoot website a large man (350 lbs) lifts his scoot with one hand and pulls himself up the stairs by the hand-rail with the other.
Many thanks Hardy for inventing this baby
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Glen from California submitted this review on July 30th 2009 at 12:48 PM. Glen is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Compact and lightweight
Easy to use
Weaknesses:Best on flat land
Comments:I have a hard SKB golf case for the scooter, and hard Pelican cases for the batteries for shipping, so I can check mine when traveling. I have put a 1.25 HP motor in mine, for going up hills. This is a great product!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Lynn Ellen from Oakland, CA submitted this review on May 16th 2009 at 07:58 PM. Lynn Ellen is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:very easy to fold and unfold.

fits into the trunk of my VW (new) beetle with room to spare.

easy to operate.

sturdy, easily accomodates 400+ pound person.

Inventor is very accessible and answers questions via email or phone.
Weaknesses:very basic, I will want to find ways to attach a water bottle holder, a headlight. seat may need a bit more padding.
Comments:I am taking this scooter to Australia in 2 months and I'm looking forward to all the freedom of movement it will afford, while still being compact to not require a special vehicle.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Cynthia from Boise, Idaho, USA submitted this review on May 15th 2009 at 06:25 PM. Cynthia is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very light weight; I can lift it with one hand. It fits in the trunk of my car. Easy for one person to fold up and down.
Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) battery lasts for hours and is light weight.
I weigh over 400 pounds and the TravelScoot has been working fine for me.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I have a back injury and other problems that leave me unable to walk more than a few hundred feet. For the past 5 years I have been paying for grocery delivery and I have had to do all my shopping online or depend on the kindness of others to shop for me. Since getting my TravelScoot I have been able to go shopping and run all my errands for myself again, my independence is back!
So far my TravelScoot rules.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Elizabeth from Baton Rouge, LA, USA submitted this review on May 15th 2009 at 09:58 AM. Elizabeth is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight enough to lift with one hand. Remove the seat and it folds up like an umbrella. I could fit two of them in the trunk of my Toyota Camry. It easily carries people over 400 lbs. Fits in smaller spaces that other scooters.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:My TravelScoot has changed my life by giving me independence. I don't need a special lift and I can carry it in any vehicle. No one has to help me with it. I have a blog about it at http://mytravelscoot.blogspot.com, if you'd like to read more.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Julia from Ft Myers, Florida, USA submitted this review on December 25th 2008 at 07:02 PM. Julia is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lightweight, easily folded/unfolded, easily transported, high reliability, superb customer support!
Weaknesses:No reverse, rough ride on cobble stones (I added a double-padding to the seat), travel case that comes with the Scooter does not provide adequate protection during airline trips. (I replaced the travel case that came with the Scooter with a well-padded travel case for airline travel.) Pack an extra drivebelt!
Comments:I have frequently taken my TravelScoot to Europe & Canada. It does well on steep hills, charges on both 120V and 220V, and has opened a world of travel impossible for me if I were forced to use only the very heavy electric wheel chairs that dominate the market. It is a Godsend....The lightweight battery is worth its extra cost.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ronnie from Carrollton, Texas USA submitted this review on June 9th 2008 at 01:41 PM. Ronnie is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:1. Very rugged construction - I used it during a day camp where all of the terrain was "off road" and it did very well. I don't recommend it for this sort of thing because it might damage a very expensive battery but it's nice to know that it has very high capabilities.

2. Light weight - I have the Li-Ion battery upgrade and the whole scooter weighs 35 pounds.

3. Portable - It can fit an airplanes overhead storage if they allow it.

4. Quick and Torquey - I surprised that will outrun and outclimb my Golden Buzz-around which weighs 4 times as much.

5. Customer Service - I have to communicate with the business owner on a couple of matters and all exchanges have been positive.
Weaknesses:1. Seat - Very good for a 35 pound scooter but don't expect something like what you would get with a 200 pound scooter.

2. No reverse - It was designed to push backward. A reverse gear would have added a fair amount of weight and bulk so this scooter doesn't have one. This is not a big deal because the scooter is extremely maneuvarable and you can just pick it up and turn around if you are in a really tight spot
Comments:Overall, the Travelscoot matches or surpasses the performance of scooters that are 3 - 5 times as heavy in every way most people care about and weighs 35 pounds (w/Li-ion battery) and easily folds into a tiny protective case.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
frank from viera, florida, usa submitted this review on September 13th 2007 at 10:44 AM. frank is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:very well built, convenient for travel
Weaknesses:a little difficult getting through security at airport. Each level wanted to personnaly check the battery case
Comments:a good lightweight cart, once you have assembled it a few times, it goes together in a few minutes. The only trouble I have had is a porter at airport set battery down to hard and broke the connector (Plastic)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy