USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Electric Mobility Rascal ConvertAble - 600T
Written by Carol
Sunrise Medical Quickie 2HP
Written by Al
Life Motors Tara
Written by Evan
Lifestand LSE
Written by Joanne
Pride Mobility Quantum Q600
Written by Alex
Alber E-motion
Written by Kris
Sunrise Medical Quickie Q7
Written by Karl
Permobil C500 Corpus
Written by Mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Donald
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Travis
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Permobil C350 Corpus
Image of Permobil C350 Corpus
Rear wheel drive power wheelchair.
  • Group 14 batteries.
  • 8 amp battery charger.
  • Base length without legrests 36.5"
  • Wheelchair weight with batteries 240 lbs.
  • 4 pole motors.
  • Seat width 17" to 18" adjustable.
  • Seat depth 16" to 22" adjustable.
  • Back height 14" to 29".
  • R-Net electronics.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews800
Durability?3.6300
Ease of use?4.5000
Meet expectations?3.8800
Overall Rating:3.620.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


william from medfield ma usa submitted this review on November 26th 2013 at 12:08 PM. william is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:very comfortable chair to sit in. I have all the power options except elevate. my chair only goes 5mph but I am OK with that I have had chair 4 months no problems so far. The chair has nice wide arm rests that are very comfortable I also like the rear wheel drive the chair is not that long it turns very easily.
Weaknesses:none so far I have about 130mi on chair.
Comments:You can always adjust chair to a position that you will be comfortable in. The Permobile chairs now have a fabric instead of the vinyl the old chairs had it seems durable.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bruno from Miami, FL, USA submitted this review on August 27th 2012 at 11:29 AM. Bruno is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:all the possible electronical adjustments, and leg support elevation. Confortable and fast enough despite some criticism in other reviews. We are not suppose to use it like a 4-wheeler, golf car, or a Mini cooper.
Weaknesses:Its size turns a little complicated to rotate in small elevators, bathorooms. Since it is my 1st power WC I am not sure how the others can face these challenges. I can not imagine to take it in my car, only used in a trip with a Uhaul trailer. My wife could not handle its weight neither lifts, which would turn dangerous to have this weight in the back of the car. Although it is part of the trade offs, solid and confortable vs practicality. Screws must be checked, since they turned loose, only improvement point I can point out after 3 months.
Comments:Very satisfied. Battery is great, never got on red color level, so for one day it lasts fine, very confortable, I can even sleep completely laying down in front of TV.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Phil from Birmingham, AL submitted this review on July 6th 2011 at 02:12 PM. Phil is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Iím following up on previous review of the C350 that I submitted in 2008, which was after my 1st year with the chair. Now that Iím finishing my 4th year, I thought an update was in order as I begin to think about whether or not I should again purchase the C350. Iím not going to go as in-depth as before, but I am going to update my ratings.

Ease of use = 5. Again, ďease of useĒ is great unless I am experiencing ďdurabilityĒ problems. It turns on and off when I push the button, and the other buttons work, too. Oh, it actually travels in the direction that I point the joystick. That seems pretty easy to use, huh?

Durability = 3. I previously wrote that it was hard to judge durability after only 1 year of use. I reported a cable problem in year and suggested that Iíd consider any powerchair pretty durable if I only have 1 issue a year, especially with the way I use the chair. I put a lot of miles on my chair. That said, Iíve had 6 major issues over the last few years. To date, Iíve had two separate cable problems different from that in year 1; Iíve had to replace the R-Net joystick control due to a bad on/off switch; I had to replace the left drive motor (Those who own the chair should note that prior to the motor outage I did notice occasional difficulty with keeping my wheelchair driving in line on a slight right angle Ė like the left motor was losing some of itís power); and I had to replace a cracked backrest along with the back pad due to the pealing of the imitation leather. I call those major issues because the problems actually cost me a substantial amount of money. Other problems include (like James W from TX) cracks in the joystick viewer glass, and Iíve had continuous issues with the actual joystick knob sliding off of the post. The imitation leather has also pealed from the headrest, but Iíve covered it with cloth. Finally, I obviously purchased the flat-free tires to avoid flats. However, Iíve discovered on two occasions that the front tires may not go flat, but they will slide off of the rims if you catch the tire in an awkward position. Youíre ok when you get your buddies to put the tire back on the rim, but come on Permobil! Since I canít give a 2.75 rating, Iíll round up my rating to a very generous 3.

Meet expectations = 3. I had high hopes for the C350 because Permobil prides itself on quality, and you are asked to pay a higher price for that quality when compared to other companies. Is it worth it? Thatís the big question. Iím not so happy with the chair that Iím not going to look at other options when I get a new one, but I have gotten accustomed to the chair. That comfort level is the only advantage the C350 has with me right now.

Overall = 3. If I take away the ďease of useĒ score, the C350 is lucky to get an overall rating of 3 from me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Leonard from Phoenix, AZ submitted this review on July 5th 2010 at 01:05 PM. Leonard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:A very sturdy, high quality, and reliable power chair. It can be programmed to adjust the speed, torque, turning sensitivity, and several other things. Seating and arms are highly adjustable.
Weaknesses:Very heavy. Too heavy for most lifts, I have not found one yet. Most aftermarket produdct won't fit and any work must be done by a technition. Even the arms are very difficult and complex to adjust. The battery charger is a hugh 30 lbs box that hums when charging, so you dont want it in your beedroom at night. Stock flip up peddles are too narrow for an average sized adult.
Comments:This chair is like owning a BMW, expensive to buy and to own. You most always need a technition to perform the work. But like owning a BMW, if you have the $$$, it turns heads and you never expected to work on it anyway. If I had a chance to do over, I would pick one of the highend Pride powerchair. More features and great quality for less cost over all.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
James W, from Houston, Tx submitted this review on June 15th 2010 at 02:59 PM. James W, is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very well built and a classy looking chair. Good lines, color selection was good. Overall, I would have to give it a 4.5 rating.
Weaknesses:Joystick, tilt mechanism, and front casters/tires. Joystick: soon after I took possession of the chair I noticed a small crack in the upper right hand side of the joy stick clear glass. Being concerned, I asked the dealer about it, his answer, get a tube of crazy glue and cover the crack. Tilt mechanism: metal shavings on the cover in the front. Dealer called the factory and they told the tech to "bend a bar" and it would clear the problem. Tech did that. Six months later, same problem, need to replace parts, to the cost of about $1600.00 dollars. This was a problem noted long before my warranty was up and I should not have to pay for the replacement of defective part. Apparently other people have had the same problem. Suspension very noisy. Front tires wore out very quick.
Comments:I have been in a chair now for 11 years and prior to the Permobile, I had 2 Quickie chairs, a 626 and a 646. They were very good chairs and very fast. I think the Permobile is a little slow, but I can live with it. If I bought another chair, it would be a Permobile, despite the negligence and factory not standing behind their product. I would have to give Permobile a 3.0 rating because, they do not stand behind their not
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Gary from Elizabeth, PA US submitted this review on December 21st 2009 at 02:55 PM. Gary is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:12/21/09- Re-evaluation:
Since my first post I've been through a lot.
After the first couple months I started having an issue with the seating system, mainly the tilt & recline. The actuators on the tilt & recline started making grinding noise and slowing down leaving metal shavings on the bottom cover. Now apperently that caused the seating system to loosen up and have excessive play in it.
After several attempts to repair the problem and working with district and regional Permobil representatives, they replaced my chair with a new one at no cost to me. This was Jan. or Feb. of 09.
Now this is a new chair now. This past summer I started having the same problems again. It was looked at by both my supplier/repair company and Permobil's disrict rep. After consultations between the parties with the manufacturer, they installed an updated seating system on my chair. I can honestly say now it's queiter, more powerful, and smoother than the previous design. Problem fixed (knock on wood).
Then starting in October I started having a front to back, side to side movement. On a recent trip to CT. it started getting worse. Thruthfully on my way back it was so wobblely it was scarey. When I did get back I had the repair company come look at it and they suggested I not use the chair. Thankfully the repair company come through with a loaner chair.
Here it turns out they had to replace the entire lift/raise mechanism. It also was grinding & had metal shavings throughout. The manufacturer, Permobil, replaced it. Now what's next?
I could see if I worked and used the chair around town, over curbs, through holes, but I live in a residential area and spend most of my time on projects in my garage or yard. The only other useage is on trips.
As I say, I'll keep you posted.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Phil from Birmingham, AL submitted this review on September 4th 2008 at 04:24 PM. Phil is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:- Low seat-to-floor height with tilt, recline, and elevator seat options.
- Solidly built.
- Very smooth ride on no-flat tires that feel like air-filled tires.
- R-NET joystick is a nice, clean look.
- Joystick settings for 4 axis (forward, left, right and reverse) acceleration control
- Battery life span and range per charge are respectable
- Nice assortment of adjustments in armrest and foot plates for tailored fit.
- Nice design for manual tie downs.
Weaknesses:- Corpus seat back is a bit flimsily made and should be sturdier.
- Poor turning radius - base design needs to be a bit more compact in length from front to rear wheel.
- Anti-tip wheels are too much (I removed mine to give me better turning radius and prevent me from damaging walls and such)
-Needs more speed Ė with top speeds reaching 8.5mph on some popular powerchairs, 6.5mph is simply too slow.
- Suspension was very noisy Ė the dealer recommended lithium grease spray, which seems to have corrected the problem.
- Swing-Back joystick mechanism needs more adjustment options.
Comments:Iíve been using a powerchair for nearly 25 years now, and I have a preference for rear-wheel drive. Previously, Iíve had 2 Fortress powerchairs, a Quantum Vibe (which was eventually replaced by the manufacturer due to terrible motor noise/wear), and a Quantum Q600. First, you cannot buy a Fortress anymore, but that chair is still my back-up. Although without all the luxuries of todayís powerchairs, that Fortress is still rock solid. The Vibe is probably the best powerchair that Iíve driven in regards to compact design and maneuverability, but the motor design was evidently flawed because the manufacturer ended up replacing my motors 3 times and giving me 2 entirely new bases before they scrapped the chair. They replaced the Vibe with the Q600, which I hated with a passion.

I was one of the first people to get this C350 chair when it came on the market almost a year ago. I chose it after extensive research into every powerchair out there. I live downtown, and I use my chair to get to most everywhere that I need to go, work, play, etc.

My powerchair requirements were low seat-to-floor height (no higher than 18.5Ē in front) because Iím tall but I still want to be able to get under normal height tables, a seat back that breaks down easily because I travel for work at times and removal (or full precline) is necessary to fit into some smaller plane cargo holds, a 45 degree tilt because, according to my therapist, Iíve gotten old enough now that my skin really needs it, recline because it allows me to transfer out of bed easier, and as much speed as possible because it is extremely important to get around quickly if you live in the city. As all of you fellow powerchair users know, itís hard to get the ďperfectĒ chair, but the C350 met about 90% of my requirements. Instead of a full, 190 degree recline, I settled for 150 degree, which the dealer rep adjusted to about 165 degrees. I also settled for only 6.5 MPH as top speed. I was hoping for at least 7MPH. I think 7 should be the minimum standard for powerchairs, and internal chair settings can be adjusted to meet the needs of those who need a slower chair. All of my other requirements were met with the C350.

Oh, I should also mention that I reluctantly got the 8 inch seat elevator option on the recommendation of my dealer. Although the insurance wasnít going to pay for it, I could afford it. So, I thought Iíd try it because it was a standard feature that didnít add to the 8.25Ē seat-to-floor height.

After almost a year of use, I feel like I can offer a review of the Permobil C350 Corpus that will benefit others. Without rehashing the strengths and weaknesses, Iíll tell you that I like this chair overall. Itís solidly built, and the motors have continued to run nearly as quietly as they did when new. Iíve had no near turnovers even without the anti-tip wheels, so itís been stable, too - even when I climb a relatively steep 20-25 degree angles. It runs well in the city and on grass. Although sluggishly, the chair also got me across a rather thick, loose rocky area recently. Now, I had only manual recline before this chair. I never had power tilt, recline and seat elevation. I like the tilt a lot, especially after a long day at work. However, the seat elevator is the best! I use it at work, in social setting, and when traveling to compensate for varying hotel bed heights. The seat elevator is the best money I ever spent on a ďluxuryĒ feature. I hate that insurance companies donít realize just how much added height can enhance independence and pay for others to have a seat elevator.

The only issue that I have with the C350 is with the swing-back joystick. The only way to position the joystick at the proper distance forward was to reverse the arm rest, so I have variations between the two armrests. The joystick is also lower than my arm rest, which makes driving difficult. If I had a little more length and height adjustments, I could position the joystick to a more suitable position.

Ease of use = 5. The C350 drives and rides nicely, and I like the nice clean RNET joystick

Durability = 4 right now. Itís hard to judge durability only 1 year after purchasing a new chair on the market. The only mechanical problem that Iíve had is a cable go bad. The joystick screen gave me the cable code, and I got the cable replaced in no time. If I only have 1 issue a year, it will be a nice, durable powerchair in my opinion.

Meet expectations = 4. I had high hopes for the C350 because Permobilís are supposed to be expensive because theyíre made the best. So far, itís looking good.

Overall = 4. Yes, I like the C350, but Iíd like it more if it were faster, a bit more compact, and the Corpus seat back was built as solid as the C350 base.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Brunazzi from PA submitted this review on June 2nd 2008 at 04:43 PM. Brunazzi is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comes with small cloth zipper bag of basic tools for minor adjustments and keeping chair tight. My Invacare didnt't have one & I lost bolts from vibration through the months.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I'v only had the chair a short time, but compared to my last two Invacare Arrows, I'm very impressed already. The styling, ride, ease of operation, and layout of & function of controls are great.
Like I said it's new so I'll stop back in a few month's with an update.
GB
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Permobil
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C350 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C400 Stander Jr
C400 Vertical
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
C500 Stander
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman 2K Stander Jr.
Chairman Corpus
Chairman Entra Stander Jr.
Chairman HD
Chairman Minivertical
Chairman Vertical
Entra Corpus
Entra Miniflex
Entra Mps B
Hexior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Koala
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Playman
Playman Robo
Street
Trax
Trax Corpus
Trax Miniflex
X850 Corpus
Similar products (Rear Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
320 PC
320 PC
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
Adaptachair
B500
B600
Bounder
Bounder Plus H-Frame
C350 PS
Compact
Conquer
Conqueror LY-EB203)
Conqueror LY-EB206
Dassie 200M
Elyps
Excite
Gazelle 250s
Go Chair
Hp 4
HPS
HS-5600
Hub Motor Drive XML10D
Jazzy Z-Chair
Kernow
Lancer 2000
Leader
Liber-T
Liberty
Mambo Mini
Mambo Standard
Model No. 08 02 02A&B
Model-No.-08-02-01A-D
Moto Standard
Neo
NUD Elevating
Power Carechair
Power Rider Indoor
Power Rider Outdoor
PWC 2200
PWC 2300
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie S525
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Rascal 250 Pc
Rascal 410 Pc
Rascal 415 Pc
Rascal 445 Pc
Roller M1
Select Traveller
Series 6
Street
Sunfire General
Sunrise LS
Supertrans
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Tilite SXP
Tilite XP
Tracer
Traveller LY-EB103
Trooper
V 100
Wheeltech Budget 16
Wildcat
Zenit 4000
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy