USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Hoveround MPV5
Image of Hoveround MPV5
Front wheel drive powered wheelchair.

No specifications available at present

 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews620
Durability?3.832.500
Ease of use?4.334.000
Meet expectations?3.332.500
Overall Rating:3.172.500.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


CAROL from WAUCONDA, IL, USA submitted this review on May 19th 2015 at 09:48 PM. CAROL is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very easy to maneuver, it stops on a dime if you let go of the control toggle, can be operated w/1 finger, if necessary. Most parts can be gotten at your local store (I got my last battery at Sears). I've got the chair w/footrest style & it fits thru all my doors. Recharger doesn't require a 220 line. The charge + speed displays are color coded + bright enough for a person w/poor vision to see.
Weaknesses:It takes 2 people to load it because it's heavier than a lot of machines, even broken down for travel.
Comments:Social Security won't pay for the accessories, such as replacement TIRES.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Les from St Petersburg, Fl usa submitted this review on January 3rd 2015 at 08:27 AM. Les is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:very reliable. comfortable - can stay in it for hours with no back pain, etc; I take it everywhere except sand - goes well on grass, gravel, cobblestone, etc. with no problems. very stable, being low to the ground. very maneuverable - can turn on it's own footprint. Service in this area is good. Excellent traction on all surfaces. Excellent for small, limited spaces.
Weaknesses:max speed is 5mph - could be higher. Joy stick takes a little getting used to, but once learned becomes very natural. Low storage is payoff for great mobility.
Comments:I highly recommend the MPV5 to anyone needing full time reliable wheelchair mobility. very good all-around solution for any situation. I have had this chair for almost 4 years and would readily get another.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
jennifer from new york submitted this review on December 12th 2013 at 08:10 PM. jennifer is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:my grandmother and I travel a lot especially around the holidays. At least, I like to take her to the movies once a month, while living within the city and her enthusiasm, she's able to drive herself there, enjoy a movie and have a day out.
Weaknesses:She constantly has problems with her tires and 'fuses'
Comments:She constantly has problems with her tires and it's more of the city having really bad displays of their sidewalks; some corners not even having a wheelchair ramp. Also she hit a bump today and the whole machine turned off, i didn't know what to do so i contacted the operator via the hover round hotline and was told how i would manually be able to move the chair to wheel her back the two avenues and 3 blocks we had already began to cover. I was told on the phone that there was a fuse that was broken and to buy one at ace hardware. i'm having a hard time finding information in regard to the fuse or where it is entirely but i'll keep looking.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Mark from Lancaster,California submitted this review on November 28th 2012 at 10:44 AM. Mark is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Easy to use and clean
Weaknesses:the clicking but it mandatory
Comments:For me as a disabled 300 lb man it works very well., but i don't take on grass or gravel but why would i. works great on sidewalks and handicap ramps. comfortable for my Fat Bottom. manuvers great on short carpet. getting 15 miles to a charge and actually have to carry dog back from walks.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Nancy from Texas submitted this review on July 27th 2012 at 07:09 PM. Nancy is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfort, easy to turn in tight places
Weaknesses:frequently needs repair
very slow repair service
although some people in tech support are very nice they have some that are very rude and argue with you when you are right.
Comments:THink at least twicce before buying from Hoveround
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Bill from Jacksonville submitted this review on January 19th 2011 at 12:19 AM. Bill is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:does get me around!
Weaknesses:Wheel spin and if it spins to much will blow a fuse and its back to hoveround for repairs.Caused me to purchase different tires. Made in USA. This is not a free chair. Co makes it money on the back side of the cost of chair. Not to mention there poor service. I told them to take it back if they could not fix it my Attorney would pursue.
Comments:Wish I had done my homework on this Co. Would not have obtain this.
Service Tech, has always been great. He is at the mercy of the Co.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
NanNan from Brooklet, GA submitted this review on June 9th 2010 at 06:09 PM. NanNan is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Well made chair, charges easily.
Weaknesses:Takes lots of practice to handle. Not usable outside at all - hard to move in grass and jerks and stops on gravel.
Comments:Company has low income help but does not offer it to customers - Customers are supposed to know about it and ask??! Wish I'd bought a mobility scooter instead. Cheaper and better suited for use outside.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Miss M from EL , OH, USA submitted this review on February 1st 2009 at 01:17 PM. Miss M is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Can't think of any.
Weaknesses:The chair is heavy and bulky to manuver in the house. It doesn't do well in the grass or gravel. I've been stuck in my front yard so many times I don't dare take it on grass. Has difficulty going over curbs. Doesn't give good body support. Is not supposed to be used in rain or snow, so leaves me homebound if the weather is inclement.
Comments:I was talked into buying this chair by a slick salesman, but now wish I had done my homework beforehand. I would not recommend this chair to anyone. If this chair gets someone to the Grand Canyon, it must have been brought in on a truck!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Hoveround
Bolero
Forerunner
Hvr3
MPV 4
Teknique FWD
Teknique FWD
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Teknique XHD
Transporter
Transporter GL
Transporter GLX
Transporter LX
Similar products (Front Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
Euroflex DX Compact 900
318 PC
Alante
Alphatrac
C1000
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman Corpus
Challenger FX 1700
Dragon
Entra Corpus
Entra Mps B
F3 Corpus
F5 Corpus
FDX
Handipower Alego
Jazzy 1450
Jazzy Elite 14 Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES Portable
Jazzy Elite ES Wheelchair
Jazzy Elite ES-1 Wheelchair
Jazzy Select Elite Wheelchair
Jazzy Sport 2
Jazzy Sport Portable
Lexs
Lifestyle
Liner
Moto Universal
MPV 4
Omegatrac
PWC 3300
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Scout M1 Convertible
Sopur Power 160E
Suprema
Teknique FWD
Turnabout
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy