USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by allen
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by William
Horizon Mobility Mayan
Written by john
Alber E-motion
Written by John
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by Kathleen
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by JP
Lifestand LSC
Written by Max
Pride Mobility Go Go
Written by Allan
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1122
Written by James
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by alex
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Permobil Chairman Corpus
Image of Permobil Chairman Corpus
Front wheel drive power electric wheelchair.
• Seat can be raised 20 cm.
• Electrically adjustable seat inclination.
• Electrical adjustment of the back and leg rests.
• Swing away joystick mounting hardware.
• Ergonomic seat design with built-in, adjustable supports for the curve of the back and trunk.
• The electronics can be programmed to meet the userís requirements.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews800
Durability?5.0000
Ease of use?4.7500
Meet expectations?4.8800
Overall Rating:4.250.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Joy from Baltimore. MD USA submitted this review on March 5th 2011 at 05:14 PM. Joy is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This was my first power chair to own, but I used several while in inpatient rehab facilities.
This was the only chair that could address pain issues along with mobility issues.
I have used it with only a minimum of problems over the years. It is extremely reliable, handles most terrains that I encounter (at least until the EZ-lock was installed; see below), adjusts to most positions that I need, and handles the steep hill that allows me accesss to my community independently. Without my aide I would be homebound otherwise.Headlights allow me to cross streets.
Weaknesses:It is a hair too high to fit under most tables. Retaurants increasingly seem to have higher tables, so I'm guessing this issue isn't unique to Permobil chairs. The tables designated for people with disabilities are all high enough.
Before the EZ-Lock was installed, my chair handled ALL terrain effortlessly. Perhaps it is a design flaw of the EZ-Lock that the chair now catches and scrapes on jagged ground. Also, due to postion of EZ-lock lock-down unit, accepting the chair in the tilted and reclined position I need for comfort put me in a position in which I can't make use of seatbelts. Frightening! This was both a problem of installer not informing me of options and of the EZ-lock system, but any wheelchair owner should be forewarned of this potential problem.
If ramp of my van lowers straight to the ground, it can be too steep and I am at risk for falling forward, chair and all. Not a problem with higher curb-cuts.
Arm with joystick has had to be adjusted 3 or 4 times at least; becomes loosened quite easily if I steer too close to the right as I am going through a door or if I push it too hard. That might be my driving; problem seems to have improved with time.
Worst problem: with power for moving forward turned off (for safety in close spaces), in order to adjust leg lifts, and/or to operate the tilt and recline features it is required that the hazard lights be on. Thus these lights flash on and off. The beep of turning on and off plus the flashing lights are extremely disruptive in a place like a theater or symphony hall.
Other problem: I don't know if any motor can be fully silent, but it seems that the motor makes enough sound that it draws attention. I'd like to move without any noise at all.
Are all motors this noisey? -- again, disruptive someplace like a theater. I'd like to shift positions without others hearing.
Last but not least: Don't like that when leg lifts are raised, my legs tend to either have too much pressure on my feet, which can worsen tone and set off tremors, or if not that much pressure at my feet, my legs can just slip down due to inadequate support. Just learned that ankle straps should have been installed from the beginning.
Evidently there are weaknesses in vendors and their services that have little to do with the chair itself!
Comments:I adore this chair. I got it when I had "real" insurance and have been told that now that I only have Medicare, it is unlikely I will be able to get another. Repair technician who takes care of a wide range of chair said that Permobil and one other are the two most reliable on the market. I have tried so many other chairs in hospitals and seating clinics that I know the Permobil seems the best for me by leaps, so am afraid of what lies ahead.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Marcy from Winooski, Vt. USA submitted this review on September 23rd 2010 at 11:56 AM. Marcy is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my 2nd Permobil Chairman, I was the first person to get one here in Vt. and I wanted it due to the durability and capability of the chair to deal with Vt. weather and challenges.
It does the hills and keeps going in 6" snow, and goes over small curbings. I can be out in all weather and not have any problems with the electrical system or mechanical problems.
Weaknesses:I am mot having any major problems with the chair that would not be expected from normal wear and tear. I have found that if something ODD or unusual happens the parts take a longer time to get. It could be due to its age but I am unsure of thisl
Comments:I am run a company which recycle's all types of equipment to persons with disabilities free of charge. Permobil is one of the best for durability even when considered old. My backup chair which is also a donated piece a Permobil, which is 5 years old. I am lucky to be able to have a backup chair so many of us do not. I am concerned that we are not being allowed access through funding to the equipment we need. I do not feel that said access is equal opportunity PT's will not write a script for the chair we need but for what they feel Medicare and Medicaid. I am concerned that the system is making a mistake and buying chairs which will be durable and fit the needs of those they are intended for. WE the disabled will pay for this with our pain and lack of access to the world.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Marcy from Winooski, Vermont USA submitted this review on February 4th 2009 at 05:09 PM. Marcy is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durable, reliable, adjustable to my needs as they change, higher speed then most chairs available. Deals with the winters here very well, do not have to worry about it getting wet or cold.
Weaknesses:My 1st year every part on the chair was replaced in order to make it work. It has been 7 years but it went thru a series of problems again and I felt that the technical ability of the people here was not what it should be. There needs to be more education for the people who perform the repairs and upgrades. The back frame has been a problem when needing to get special seating due to the back frame.
Comments:I am 53 and am on my second Permobile, the last chair was 9 when I retired it due to Hydrolic leaks that insurance would not pay to repair. I have working animals and the leaks were a danger to them. I now have a 7 year old Permobile and despite the need for repairs due to age I find it to be reliable, and it does great on the hills and diffacult roads and weather year round. You need to be able to handle rear wheel drive which is something to get used too. I recycle Medical Equipment and loan it out free to persons in need and I have found this chair outlives all the other brands, so despite the Price tag, I think it pays for itself. Its too bad you can't get insurance's to pay for it unless your prepared to do battle. I am unable to get the lighting package due to funding but I do have the seat riser and have had no problems with eithor chair in that area. A drunk hit me 3 years ago and even with that the only damage was a cracked axle near the motor and that showed up 6 months later. But the chair survived and thats what counts.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
charles from new york, ny USA submitted this review on December 15th 2007 at 08:55 PM. charles is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I owned a 1999 Chairman for 8 years. Solid construction. Rugged. Reliable. Turnsignals, horn, headlights, recline, etc all worked flawlessly.
Weaknesses:Shocking Service...
Such a great chair IF you can afford the $20+K! But when you need service, then the staggering problems begin (though I suspect they would claim otherwise).
Comments:I gave the chair to a C6/C7 incomplete SCI man with the understanding the batteries died and perhaps there were other associated problems as well. His friends had the clout to make the phone calls necessary to get service. I failed miserably, and I'm a pretty nice C5/C6/ SCI 63 yr old man (lol). Example:
In 2006 Permobil responded to my need for service ONLY after I publicly complained in writing on the 'Net. They did a great service job--and w/o charge! But only when I went to the Internet.
But again this year the chair died again and no one returned my calls or responded to my email requests. And no firm was listed as a repair center for my Manhattan, NY zip code area. Thankfully, a major player in a major corporation set up the repair service and the chair was picked up from my residence, repaired, and delivered to the recipient. It is the shockingly poor service (and similar stories I've heard from others over 8 yrs)that convinced me to donate the chair to someone with far more clout. I see a Frontier chair in my future.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
charles from New York City, NY, USA submitted this review on June 24th 2006 at 07:20 AM. charles is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:RUGGED construction: A perfect fit for Manhattan upper west side (and about any city) streets. DURABLE: I have had my chair for many years, with few problems (see below). STABLE base: No people traffic will knock you over. (I went early to a NY Eve's 42nd street party in my Permobil.) RADIUS: stable turns w/i radius of wheelbase, vital for tight living quarters. UPLIFT: The chair elevates 7" or so -- perfect for street fairs (and it still moves with total stability). TILT: At age 60, 6' body, 190 lbs, and C5/C6 SCI, I need the 90-180 degree back tilt, leg extensions. 15mile RANGE: You won't run out of power! Three SPEEDS: critical for city vs apt bldg situations....the list is long.
Weaknesses:I ran into battery charger connection and thus re-charging problems after a couple of years. The key is finding a good service center, or contacting Permobil for advice. This weaknesses list is short.
Comments:Sports accident and surgery in Australia. Rehab at Rusk Institute/NYU, New York. Quad for weeks, para for months,
chair-bound for 2+ years, chair-dependent (I can wobble-walk for up to about 1/2 mile) for 7+ years to date. At the Rusk, we selected the Permobil from a wide array of powered wheelchairs. Apart from the service issue hiccup, the Chairman choice was right on. (I wonder how the newer models can possibly be any better.)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Steven from Brigantine, NJ USA submitted this review on January 4th 2006 at 05:57 PM. Steven is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Small turning radius. Great controls. Great seating system. Tilt, recline, elevate, foot rest. Lights for night or dark rooms. Quiet!! Perfect for indoor use, good for outdoor use. Customer service is the best I have seen.
Weaknesses:Price!! Speed could have been a bit faster, but with front wheel it tends to fish-tail at high speed or quick turn.
Comments:I have used this chair for over 5 years, and I LOVE IT!!! This is the best chair hands down. I have logged many miles both indoors and outdoors, having worn through 4 full sets of wheels (and I mean worn through) This chair has never let me down.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
laura from crest hill ,Illinois submitted this review on February 5th 2004 at 06:19 PM. laura is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good adjustability. Responsive controls. Turns in small radius. Fast, quiet. Good strong quality. Great fitted seat back. Seat raises 8" (up to eye level!)
Weaknesses:Heavy. Doesn't free-wheel (it's hard to push when it's "off"). Pulls to low side on sloping ground. Very expensive.
Comments:Good on pavement, very comfortable. Front wheel drive takes learning, but becomes natural quickly.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Robert from Dallas, Texas, USA submitted this review on August 10th 2002 at 08:35 AM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have used the chair for about two years and have never had any
problems with any of the parts. I like the way it makes sharp turns. It fits anywhere I want to go. The seat feels good in any position you put it in.
Weaknesses:I wish the speed was faster than it is. The back of the chair swings out when you make sharp turns. You sometimes have to watch the back more than the front.
Comments:Very good chair that has never left me stranded anywhere.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Permobil
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C400 Stander Jr
C400 Vertical
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
C500 Stander
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman 2K Stander Jr.
Chairman Entra Stander Jr.
Chairman HD
Chairman Minivertical
Chairman Vertical
Entra Corpus
Entra Miniflex
Entra Mps B
Hexior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Koala
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Playman
Playman Robo
Street
Trax
Trax Corpus
Trax Miniflex
X850 Corpus
Similar products (Front Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
Euroflex DX Compact 900
318 PC
Alante
Alphatrac
C1000
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Challenger FX 1700
Dragon
Entra Corpus
Entra Mps B
FDX
Handipower Alego
Lexs
Lifestyle
Liner
Moto Universal
MPV 4
MPV5
Omegatrac
PWC 3300
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Scout M1 Convertible
Sopur Power 160E
Suprema
Teknique FWD
Turnabout
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy