USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Permobil Koala
Image of Permobil Koala
Childrens front wheel drive power wheelchair.
• Seat lift raises the seat from 37 to 61 cm.
• The seat can be inclined. The angle can be adjusted from 0 to 25 degrees. Active sitting position. The inclination can be adjusted 5 degrees forwards.
• Manoeuvring panel in two versions: swivelling on one of the sides or built into the table with a removable joystick.
Articulated rear-wheel suspension ensures ground contact even if the ground is uneven
The foot plate can be angled and is available in two sizes
Adjustable supports for head, arms, trunk and thighs
Reflectors on the wheels
Electronics which can be programmed to meet the users requirements.
Ergonomically designed seat with many adjustment options.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews260
Durability?4.004.170
Ease of use?5.004.670
Meet expectations?4.503.170
Overall Rating:4.003.330.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Billie from MI, USA submitted this review on August 20th 2010 at 11:03 PM. Billie is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:We love the small size and looks of this chair. It looks "cool" and allows our daughter to be at the same level as her peers. Our 6-year-old has been using it for 2 years now with very few problems. She is able to manipulate all of the controls, including the height adjustment which allows her to sit up at tables when we eat at restaurants, and to look into the ice cream display at the ice cream place:-) It is easy to maneuver and a zippy little chair that gives her a lot of independence.
Weaknesses:I just wish it had more built in safety features. We worry about her feet and knees because there is no protection in case of an accident. However, I don't think this exists in any power chair that I have seen. I would love to see some sort of safety sensor for small children, that would stop the chair before it runs into a wall (or a person!).
Comments:Overall this has been a great chair for our daughter and will definitely set the bar high for future chairs.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
danny from lexington ky submitted this review on January 23rd 2009 at 03:09 PM. danny is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:the chair is super for small areas and turns on dime. my son has no trouble getting around with this chair.he has the basic kit chair priced over 20,000, witch brings me to this point!!!!
Weaknesses:the power system is going out after 2 yrs? the speed control has been replaced 6 time going on # 7 this week. the charger port has been replaced 2 times. the back two wheels broke at the welds and feel off due to spot welding on the was not clean. the back support on the seat has broke due to the same thing. the basic wheel it came with were replace due to leaking or balding in less then 3 mo. at a time.
Comments:In overall the chair is great for the user, but It is a joke That it cost so much and has so much up keep.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Norm from Scottsdale Arizona USA submitted this review on October 8th 2008 at 11:46 PM. Norm is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Love the chair for my son.
Weaknesses:The sensitive handcontrol has broken three times. We need to find an after market control to make it easy for him to use. We have also noticed a total shut down and we wait for 15 min. for it to be able to restart. We are not sure why it just shuts down.
Comments:Would like to comment on the nice design and ease of use for my son. But as stated there are some issues.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Christen from Pontiac, IL submitted this review on December 16th 2007 at 02:57 PM. Christen is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Elizabeth has a Koala. We love the chair. She does really well in her chair. Having SMA type 1 its very easy for her to control the power chair. The positioning is great for her.
Weaknesses:The mini joy stick is too light for her. It is too fragile. It took her awhile to be able to use this after having a borrowed chair from a friend that has on with a factory joy stick.
She has the robot arm and we had to move the jot stick to the front of the chair. We did not get a control for us. She is 4 and its hard sometimes to move the chair with out her in it. Its not the power chair we have trouble with its the joy stick. We love the chair.
Comments:We need a desk top for school and a way for us to control the chair. The chair is very durable but the control and the mini button is now broken but we have it so it will work. Transporting the chair some how caused the mini joy stick to break off the post.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Jenny from Georgia submitted this review on May 16th 2007 at 01:56 PM. Jenny is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great chair. Allowed my 3 yr old to be at the level of her peers. Very reliable. Very quiet, smooth, and can go over very rough terrain w/ very little ease. That thing can go anywhere and my daughter tested that.
Weaknesses:Hard to make adjustments w/ laterals. Armrests were to far apart for my daughter to utilize. Service techs are not familar w/ repairs on Permobils.
Comments:In general, I would highly recommend this chair. It set the bar for future chairs.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
dawn from houston, tx submitted this review on June 7th 2006 at 09:37 PM. dawn is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:good turn radius. quiet. smart looking.
Weaknesses:price.
Comments:expensive but a great chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
jen from UK submitted this review on January 4th 2006 at 05:02 PM. jen is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good seating, very easy to manouvre, rise is very useful, good looking and stylish. Reliable. Great chair for small kid.
Weaknesses:Very small - esp. for lower leg length. Can get bigger seat and back but no way my son (average 7 yr old) will need these as he has already outgrown the lower leg room (footplate almost on the ground - very dangerous on rough ground or slight dips). This chair could only be used by "young teen" (see Permobil spec.) of very short stature or with very short legs.
Comments:It's a real shame this chair has been outgrown so soon as we really like it (and it was pretty expensive). Possibly Permobil need to rethink their marketting since it is definitely sold as a chair that will grow with the child.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
robert from Seattle, USA submitted this review on April 7th 2005 at 12:45 PM. robert is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:very small chair for my son
Weaknesses:to slow
Comments:very good small wheelchair for small childern
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Permobil
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C400 Stander Jr
C400 Vertical
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
C500 Stander
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman 2K Stander Jr.
Chairman Corpus
Chairman Entra Stander Jr.
Chairman HD
Chairman Minivertical
Chairman Vertical
Entra Corpus
Entra Miniflex
Entra Mps B
F3 Corpus
F5 Corpus
Hexior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Playman
Playman Robo
S5 Corpus VS
Street
Trax
Trax Corpus
Trax Miniflex
X850 Corpus
Similar products (Pediatric Power Wheelchairs)
Cyberbug
DragonFly
Entra Miniflex
Junior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Kid Power
Playman
Playman Robo
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pronto M71 Jr
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quickie Z500
SnapDragon
Starlight
TDX Spree
Trax Miniflex
Wizzybug
Zippie Z-Bop
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy