USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Permobil Chairman HD
Image of Permobil Chairman HD
Bariatric front wheel drive power electric wheelchair.
• The complete version of the Chairman HDô is normally supplied with a seat lift and an electrically adjustable back rest, but without batteries and charger.
• Standard customisation is included at no extra charge.
• Seat can be elevated 20 cm.
• Electrically adjustable seat inclination.
• Electrical adjustment of the back and leg rests.
• Double rear castor wheels support wheels which improve safety are standard. • Widened, reinforced Chairman chassis.
• Front support wheels are standard.
• Double rear castor.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews710
Durability?2.571.000
Ease of use?3.862.000
Meet expectations?2.861.000
Overall Rating:2.291.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Neil from Portland, Oregon, USA submitted this review on August 26th 2011 at 07:23 AM. Neil is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Generally a great chair. Replacement arms with the new design are a big improvement.
Weaknesses:You need a competent technician to properly adjust the controller.
Comments:This is my second permobil. I had a good friend who was a wheelchair technician. He discussed various factory controller settings and made several adjustments for me to my first chair. The biggest problem I have had is incompetent technicians who do not know what they are doing. The controller was originally set to maximum sensitivity. every time I touched it the chair jerked. Had call the repair guy an idiot when he claimed he couldn't fix the problem.

The original plastic fabric is way to light weight. Took it to a car upholstry shop and had it replaced with heavy duty vinal for 10% of the cost the dealer wanted.

When the chair is in raised position it does not move. This is a pain when I am in the kitchen.

Overall the reliability is outstanding. Several friends want me to will them the chair because of the lack of problems.

I have FSHD muscular dystrophy. I find that raising the arms for side transfers is difficult because of the weight.

None of the motors has ever died. However, one technician failed to properly repair a fuse holder which then shorted out dumping me out of the chair. He then claimed to have never worked on the problem. In 8-10 years this is the only serious failure.

I am outside on the street almost every day rain or shine. I have been very happy with this chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
pennie from york county pa submitted this review on November 15th 2010 at 01:13 AM. pennie is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:it is good for climing 2 inch curbs
Weaknesses:repeted controler replacments
6 or more times needs replaced again
leg rests slide mechanisum keeps dropping down leg rests material for armrests low quality tairs very easaly
just by usage ,arm rests ajustment limited hight wise
head rest option was crapie stuck straight out in back
stupid people put a switch chair down under bottom of wheelchair
the double casters easily pick up thing become emtangled in the
casters cause problems require wheels diasembled to clean out
Comments:electrical problems can't be tracked down
permoble delays shipment of repair parts
also in the shop every 3, 4 months 1 to 3 months at time to get repaired since 12/10/2000 when i got it from permoble
not reliable manufaturer to buy a wheelchair from even if they gave it tome i would not take another one
38,000 dollar peice of crap
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Beverly from Winter Garden,Florida USA submitted this review on February 28th 2007 at 02:26 PM. Beverly is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:Overall the Permobile C300 is very unsatisfactory. It has been the shop way too much. Hard to get service in a timely manner. I would not advise buying this chair...Very weak in preformance...
Comments:My son has had this chair for almost 2 years. Everything that could go wrong has gone wrong. I would like to hear from others about their Permobile chairs. Thanks
Would certainly NOT advise buying this chair. Way,way too much money for what you get.....
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Robert from Bridgeport, NY USA submitted this review on April 7th 2006 at 06:34 PM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have had my HD since Oct. 2000.

It cost too much, but so did my Invacare Storm that the HD replaced.

The Permobil has had few major breakdowns.

The progressive joystick is nice in Syracuse, NY winters and on lawns because you can slowly increase the power to the drive wheels and not lose traction or rip up lawns.

I thought the lights were not needed, but I learned they are great for seeing under dark desks and tables so you don't smash your toes, and I use the 4-way flashers when crossing streets so the drivers running red lights can see me.

The seat was comfortable, but I had to get a Roho seat to prevent skin breakdown.

The ability to raise your feet or tip back are both great in preventing pressure sores and remind me of the days I could kick back in my Lazyboy.

And the chair turns on a dime and is very driveable with a good amount of power for climbing hills, curbs and ramps.
Weaknesses:Drive wheel bolts break easily,and there is only one per drive wheel, but a quick trip to the hardware store taks care of that.

Just upgrade to a bolt with a good case and hardness.

Look for bolts with at least 3 lines on the top of the bolt head, (that is how bolts are marked for case and hardness).

The one problem that can not be repaired is a bad armrest design.

The plastic arms break just from using the swing-away joystick.

The metal underframe of the arm pokes the side of plastic armrest cover until it cracks the plastic and causes the entire edge to breakaway.

I have lost count of the number of times new armrests were installed, but I would guess about 9 new armrests were installed in 5 years.

A vendor told me this was corrected on newer chairs, but the repair is not available for olderchairs.

And now that this is not covered any longer, they want me to pay $161.00 per armrest to replace my current broken armrests.

So I just break off the sharp pieces so no one gets stabbed by them.
Comments:Nice Chair, Very Reliable, But Could Be a Great Chair If Price Was More Reasonable, Good Bolts Were Used On Drive Wheels, And Armrests Were Not Junk.

I take very Good Care of my Chair, and take Pride in not having it look pitiful, and the broken armrests tick me off.

Permobile really should be expected to correct that design defect, but they have not.

Guess they do not value repeat sales.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Lorene from Weston, WI USA submitted this review on October 28th 2005 at 12:30 AM. Lorene is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:WOW!!! Where do I start??? This chair is an absolute beast when it comes to durability!!! It is extremely rugged and VERY well made. It has headlights, taillights, blinkers/hazards, tilt/recline/elevate etc.... The seating is very rugged-NO squeaks/creaks etc.....It is the BEST chair IN THE WORLD!!! American wheelchair manufacterers should TAKE LESSONS!
Weaknesses:Wiring from controller to chair was tied up on outside of arm and after MANY bangs and gouging to the back of the armrest (going backwards through doorways too fast....MY fault!) The wiring needed replacing. But this may have only been a fluke- The wonderful people at Permobil company have thought of EVERYTHING to be user friendly and durable!! Hats off to Permobil!!!
Comments:I have been extremely rough on this chair and it has taken quite a beating and still looks and runs beautifully! This is THE BEST and ONLY chair I recommend for anyone who is considering getting a powerchair! While they may be a bit pricey, you get what you pay for!!! Also, for bariatric use, this is the MOST durable chair and has the heaviest weight capacity for seating options.... Permobil Rocks!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Linda from (Lebanon, Pennsylvania, submitted this review on July 20th 2004 at 02:25 PM. Linda is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:The seat is very unstable and rocks all the time. The controller had to be replaced 2 times since I got it in 2/2000 and now it isacting up again. Repeated calls to get the wheelchair fixed have produced no competent results. A product recall for a potentially dangerous situation was not sent to me and I narrowly averted a catstophy when I happened to take the chair to a different place to have it looked at for about the 40th time since I have had it, and they told me about it. This was 2 years after the recall.
Comments:This chair is not worth the money. The response to complaints is non existent and the quality of the chair is poor in that it costs so much money and is always in need of some repair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Robert from Billerica,Massachusetts submitted this review on May 17th 2004 at 12:17 AM. Robert is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:?
Weaknesses:Many.
Comments:5/13-17/2004

Permobil HD

This is my second test of this chair. The second time around was better. The chair seemed to running very good. Iím more relaxed not so many people around. Using the chair at home by myself. The joystick took a like getting the big knob just right. Winding the chair through the hallways. Could not take chair in bedroom armrests too wide. I still am looking for some one to put in wider doors at bedrooms and back door. The seat was my own a Sipacore but that only lasted a day. Switched to the ROHO. Had trouble with air pressure. Got it down to right level it was better but driving I would lean a great deal. Went to Bedford to try chair at there at patientís parking lot. Went up low curb fine. Over onto gravel and loam, no problem, then up hill on grass and pine needles with ease. Over two-inch branches, now I am very impressed with the ability so far. Down the grade too steep for seating so I reclined. The chair was stable over lose gravel. Then to a corner where crushed stone was placed and compacted for drainage and a test area for such a chair. Onto the gravel turn around off the gravel, then backed on then off up a 3Ē step with no hesitation. Boy now I am impressed. Down the side walk past building 3, running at full joystick, wondering at what percentage the drive is set 80% maybe? Moving alone at a good clip, ĎBANG,,, THE ,, IíM LOOKING AT THE GROUND!? What? Then I look at joystick lights flashing in middle,,,, this is not right,, Iím still looking at sidewalk. I looked around to notice the back end of chair is up high? BANG,, the back of the chair falls to the ground. I WAS JUST STANDING ON THE FRONT WHEELS OF THE PERMOBIL!!!??
The center row of lights was flashing, the chair would not move. I have my cell phone so if I need to call for help. I turned off power then back on again, lights stayed steady. The chair did move again, but we did not go as fast. Up to building 4 then return to van and home. Adjusted the leg rests to fit me better, much better.
I need a better seat cushion. If I take this chair. But with that stop!
No I can not take a Permobil. Too dangerous. May stop at anytime throwing me from the seat. Belted or not.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
wendell from pittsburgh, pennsylvania submitted this review on April 13th 2004 at 02:39 AM. wendell is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The Permobile Chairman Heavy Duty HD, is a horrible power chair from my expeiences the last four years. It is a good chair program wise, but it was in the shop 9 months a year!
It strenghts? Be real!
Weaknesses:The over all production and power was nice at first. Until you get strandled because the chair seat system breaks alot, bolts frequently fall off and it is truelu a piece of crip, mainly if you are very active, particularly in the streets riding most of the time. If you are a home body thenit will be a great chair for you.
Comments:I was told when I was first introduced and fitted for my Permobile Chairman that it was the top of the line mainly for what I do for a living. I advocate for the disabled, elderly, homeless, amd I am always on the go... relying on my wheelchair a heck of a lot.

The Permobile Chairman HD was a huge disappointment from the first time I had to get it. At the Center for Tech Asssistance in Pittsburgh, I was mad as heck that my chair was broken the first day I went to pick it up. The sales Rep had to call the headquarter in Europe because the did not have a base here in the United States.
I was in CAT for seven long hours while they were trying to correct the problems with the chair.
It broke down a month later and was in the shop nine months. I drove it for two more months it broke again back in the shop another long nine months. I drove it five more months when it returned they had completely rebuilt the chair every thing was brand new when it broke dowqn again this time in the shop a whole year!
I am getting a new Permobile Trax on Wed April 15, 2004 and I am skepitical because of the hell I went through with the Chairman Hd
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Permobil
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C400 Stander Jr
C400 Vertical
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
C500 Stander
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman 2K Stander Jr.
Chairman Corpus
Chairman Entra Stander Jr.
Chairman Minivertical
Chairman Vertical
Entra Corpus
Entra Miniflex
Entra Mps B
F3 Corpus
F5 Corpus
Hexior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Koala
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Playman
Playman Robo
S5 Corpus VS
Street
Trax
Trax Corpus
Trax Miniflex
X850 Corpus
Similar products (Heavy Duty Power Wheelchairs)
255 Pc
710 PC
888ws_500hd
926p 20
Betatrac
Big Bounder
Big Bounder H-Frame
Bounder Plus
Excel
HP3
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Elite HD Wheelchair
Jet 2HD
Nutron R51 LXP
Pev 2000
Power Wide Recliner 2540
Prairie Cruiser
Pronto M91 with SureStep
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quickie QM-715HD
Rascal 314
Rascal 645 Pc
Rascal 710
Rover Express
Sahara RTLE - HP7RTLE
Scout 6 & 6.75
Scout Boss 6 & 6.75
Scout Boss 6NS
TDX SI
Teknique XHD
Titan C - P11C
Wide Power 2500
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy