USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by allen
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by William
Horizon Mobility Mayan
Written by john
Alber E-motion
Written by John
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by Kathleen
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by JP
Lifestand LSC
Written by Max
Pride Mobility Go Go
Written by Allan
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1122
Written by James
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by alex
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Quantum Jazzy 1400
Image of Pride Mobility Quantum Jazzy 1400
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
Standard rehab features including the Versa SeatTM frame
• accepts a broad range of seating systems,
• fully programmable digital electronics.
• Variety of specialized drive controls.
• Active-Trac Suspension,
• patented two-motor,
• mid-wheel drive,
• adjustable front anti-tips
• optional high-speed motor package
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews801
Durability?3.3805.00
Ease of use?3.5005.00
Meet expectations?3.0005.00
Overall Rating:3.000.004.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Kevin from Medford, Oregon, USA submitted this review on February 9th 2013 at 02:35 PM. Kevin is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:The color is pretty!!!
Weaknesses:This chair has been nothing but grief since I got off the plane with it. The cable that engages the motor to go free drive to freewheel was broken by the airline. In fact the cable was too short from the factory.

I have logged over 30 problems with this chair...from tipping forward and tearing up the carpet or breaking the leg rests off and rolling my leg underneath.

Yesterday 24 hours after my chair was repaired I went for a ride in the sunshine...by the way 2.8 to 4.4 mph is VERY slow and it gives you a surging feeling. Anyway, in the middle of traffic another error "Drive 2 motor disconnected". The motor clunks and clanks and made a high pitch sound just before it broke.

Since 12/1/2012...it is now 2/9/2013...I have spent more time in my backup manual than this one. over 15 tech visits...this chair is JUNK stay away!!!
Comments:DO NOT GET THIS CHAIR UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!!!! Terry Konrady the Pride rep swears by this chair...that's only because he makes high commission on this chair!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Disgusted from Wisconsin submitted this review on September 8th 2011 at 12:27 AM. Disgusted is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The Jazzy 1420 was awesome out of the box, however, just six mos later, I have nothing but grief with it!
Weaknesses:#1 I dont beleieve they properly or EFFECTIVLY train thier techs. I have had several techs look at my chair on several different occations and they all had to call in for advise or questions on how to do something! These are NOT airplanes, they are rather simple devices and with a matter of about 4 days training, they should be able to tear down a complete unit and put it back together (BLINDFOLDED!) - Thats what we had to do in the Military! In any case:

a) My chair (seat) is broken,

b) My rear tires flutter so badly that I have to stop every 20 feet or so when going at full speed (which is about 20-25% slower than it was when I first got the chair).

c) Power is MUCH less than I had at first.

d) I havent had two techs give me the SAME answer as to how to charge my chair since day one. Each blames the other for how the batteries are...

e) Motors clunk or click when I drive it making a LOT of noise in "quiet zones"

f) It pulls to one side then the other

g) The chair is unbalanced. When I turn, the front wheels dig down into the carpet, and Ive ripped one persons carpet thus far!

h) the front rollers roll all the time when Im driving. They shouldn't as they are only anti-TIP devices.

i) the Battery Level indicator is at best an IDIOT light! - It stays on the Highest light, till it gets down to about Id guess 60%, then it moves down faster and faster sometimes within a matter of blocks - leaving you stranded! It took 2 hrs of use to move from full chg to the next light (of 6) and then in a matter of one more hour you could be down all the lights and dead on the street, in the rain!

j) Sometimes the power surges... you might be moving say at 4mph and then at 3.5, then up to 4 and down to 3.5 giving you this surging feeling.

k)
Comments:1. make sure you talk to others in your area to determine what wheelchairs you MIGHT be able to get (depending on your insurance or finances)

2. after you find out what BRANDS (ford, chevy,...) are available, then start asking questions. What is important to you. How far it will go etc ..

3. Make sure thier staff is TRAINED and not just some stupid 2 hr courses. I mean TRAINED!

4. How long will it take to get parts?

5. Get insurance on your Wheelchair - Mine cost more than all the cars Ive ever owned!

6. talk to at least 4 differnt people about how you should charge the batteries in YOUR chair. (that means you will have to get the Name, Make and model of your batteries!
And yes .. Even call the Mfgr to determin what they say!
Batteries are EXPENSIVE and they run down fast - even FASTER WAY FASTER if you dont Properly charge and maintain them!

7) If you dont like the way your chair is opperating, complain till it works right!

8) Get a printout if you can, or even just HAND WRITE all the Programming settings they have put in your chair. That way when someone else comes out and changes something, you know What it USED to be and how it felt then so they can PUT IT BACK WHERE IT BELONGS!

9) and my BEST ADVISE would be .. to DO WHHAT YOU CAN to STAY HEALTHY so you dont NEED one of these stupid things! Tell and show your kids and grand kids .. the neighbor kids .. etc ..
If I would have done things Differently / Better - I wouldnt have all this first hand knowledge to share with you today!
Take care and God Bless.
(and if that offended you - Do us all a favor and Move to some country that believes the way you do)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Greg from Ambler,PA,USA submitted this review on June 4th 2009 at 10:49 AM. Greg is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:speed, turning radius excellent.
Weaknesses:brush in the motors got dirty and needed to be cleaned. wire to joystick got pinch a lot and need to be replace. The L bracket that hold joystick broke two time and need to be replace
Comments:none
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Greg from ambler, pa,,usa submitted this review on June 4th 2009 at 10:20 AM. Greg is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed is good but take a while to go high speed. Turning radius is good for maneuverability indoor and in tight spaces. batter last a while because I use on board charger instead of off board charger
Weaknesses:bush in motor got dirty,worn out and need to be replaces. The wire to the joystick got pinch a lot and need to be replaces. The L bracket broke two time and need to be replaces
Comments:I would strong recommend this chair
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
gary from bountiful submitted this review on February 1st 2007 at 06:25 PM. gary is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:is awsome for a big guy 250-340 weight turns and tilts great.
Weaknesses:tires,bateries,cords, run out to fast.
Comments:great speed.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Greg from Ambler,Pa,USA submitted this review on April 27th 2006 at 06:40 PM. Greg is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:speed, turning radius excellent. no major repairs
Weaknesses:brush in the motors got dirty and needed to be cleaned
Comments:none
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Don from Kokomo, In. USA submitted this review on October 8th 2005 at 03:41 PM. Don is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Seams to have power enough, and speed is ok. I like the large wheels for outside use. Can turn on a dime.
Weaknesses:My pet peeve. You need to have the control plugged in, in order to charge the batt. I would like to leave it in my truck when charging. I need to remove the seat in order to put it in the bed, because I have a cover on the bed. The cover will not let me put the chair in with the chair seat on.
Comments:Would like to be able to charge the batt. without having the seat on.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Michael from Yadkinville, NC 27055 submitted this review on August 4th 2004 at 07:37 PM. Michael is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:NONE
Weaknesses:The entire chair. These charis are made for older adults that are going to use them inside or maybe go to the mall in them. If you plan to use a power chair outside at all I suguest you look at another brand of chair.
Comments:Do not buy a Pride/Jazzy or Quantum if you want a reliable chair for an active lifestyle.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
steve from dunedin fl. submitted this review on July 5th 2004 at 01:56 PM. steve is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:it small and compact goes good i think. we had to have the controler turned up from factory to slow didn't want to go in carpeting. few adj. on the tilt but i like it so far.
Weaknesses:anti tips need more available adj.
Comments:wish the adj's on the chair was easier to do!
nice chair
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Go
Hurricane
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy