USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Jan
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by Michael
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by Michael
Invacare IVC TRACER IV
Written by Lynceta
Redman Chief 107SRX
Written by User
Permobil Street
Written by Colleen
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Christian.
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Lynn
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1120
Written by mark
Karman Km 1500
Written by Don
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1170XL
Image of Pride Mobility Jazzy 1170XL
Mid wheel drive power electric wheelchair.
• Active-Trac Suspension.
• Patented mid-wheel drive design.
• Adjustable front anti-tips.
• Low center of gravity design.
• 16" knobby wheels and optimum weight.
• Speed range adjustable up to 6 mph.
• Adjustable seat height and angle.
• On-board battery charger.
• Mag wheels. Drive Wheels: 16" pneumatic or solid
• Rear Casters: 9" Pneumatic Articulating or solid
• Anti-Tip Wheels: Adjustable Front, 8" Solid
• Suspension: Full suspension with Active-Trac Suspension.
• Brakes: "Intelligent Braking" electronic regenerative, disk park brake
• Ground Clearance: 4 inches.
• Turning Radius: 23 inches.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1300
Durability?2.9200
Ease of use?4.3800
Meet expectations?3.1500
Overall Rating:3.150.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Brian from New Albany,Indiana, USA submitted this review on August 5th 2012 at 01:34 PM. Brian is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Chair Comfort
Weaknesses:Battery Longevity, Power, Controller Connection, Motor Brushes,
Comments:This is my first power-chair obtained through the scooter-store! Chair needs Constant Tightening, and The Controller Burns Out Easily, Lacks Power To Go Up Inclines! Ive Had My Controller Replaced 6 Times Now To The Point Where Was Warned By The Service Technician That Any Further Work Would Have To Be Paid For Out Of Pocket! I'm On Disability And Have Real Mobility Problems With NO WAY of Being capable of affording any real repairs, the latest issue im having is the controller now has a short in it And is not making complete contact the the base, causing the chair to only move in circles due to only one wheel being powered! The The Controller Seizes up and starts flashing 4 lights which means its loose! No Shit! Its Soo Loose No Matter What I Do It Will Not Operate! If Your A Bigger Person And Need A Mobility Product Do NOT GO THRU THE SCOOTER STORE!! The Jazzy 1170 xl is a pos!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
woody from Hartsville , SC,USA submitted this review on February 15th 2010 at 04:13 PM. woody is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:NONE
Weaknesses:A sorry piece of crp . Junkzy !
Comments:Quit pulling , day 1 ! Then after 2 weeks . Next time it quit , I entered hospital for 13 months . Pride wanted $4995.00 to repair it , after I paid $880.00 for a controler . JUNK , JUNK , JUNK !
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Steve from Denver, CO submitted this review on April 2nd 2008 at 07:30 PM. Steve is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I've had my unit for nearly 4-years now and have never had any problems! I'm still using the original batteries and I use it almost daily. As long as you follow the manufacturer's recommendations for charging the batteries and for maintenance, it should last a long, long time! I take it to the local dog park with my wife and shelties for their two to five mile walks on dirt/gravel...no problems! It still looks like new!
Weaknesses:It is heavy, but as long as you have the right vehicle and lift combination, it's no problem! People who don't research this properly are the ones reporting problems!
Comments:Since mine is now going into its fifth year, I'm thinking about buying a new heavier duty Pride Chair (1650). I'll keep my 1170 XL as a backup for it or may opt to sell it. If you're interested. you may contact me!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Dennis from New Lisbon, NY USA submitted this review on October 20th 2007 at 10:09 PM. Dennis is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Our property is a little over twenty acres and has some steep grades. My 1170 has taken me everywhere I want to go. I take it over dirt, grass, even ice. We built a stone wall recently and I was able to load some pretty substantial stones on the foot rest, between my legs, and move them from the pile to the wall. The seat in very comfortable. Great chair.
Weaknesses:I have had a few mechanical problems and wish parts were less expensive, but I have gotten almost seven years of use from the chair.
Comments:The chair seems to now be beyond repair at a reasonable price, so I am looking for a replacement. I understand the new 1170XLs are larger, too large for me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Gary from Snohomish Washington USA submitted this review on April 30th 2007 at 08:33 PM. Gary is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It is reliable. I have had no problems with it. The seat is very comfortable to sit in.
Weaknesses:Heavy and hard to load and unload. Not a lot of range for adjusting the seat height and slant of the back.
Comments:I love this chair. I sit in it for hours at a time and don't lose the feeling in my legs and it is always available when I need to use it. The batteries last a long time between charges. I think the lowest charge I have ever had is 1/2 power after using it on a trip to a Home show.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mike from Apple Valley, MN submitted this review on September 3rd 2006 at 05:42 PM. Mike is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Powerful! Because of larger wheels, less likely to tear up lawn or get stuck in gravel/river rock.
Weaknesses:This chair was a lemon from the start. It was bigger than the brochure (XL not XL Plus) that the dealer showed me, and I had to have a Harmar lift modified to fit the chair (dissapointment posted 12/4/2004). Three controller burn outs. Three sets of motors burned out in a three month period of time. Bushings and bearings continually wore out. Leg rests continually bent and rebent. The dealer was great and came out numerous times to fix parts that I couldn't adjust or repair. Saving grace, see comments.
Comments:Jazzy realized the problems with this model and this chair in particular. The Jazzy rep (and Jazzy) replaced this chair with a Quantum 600 XL, and although the 600 is not as expensive or as easy to use (curb climbing, rough terrain, grass and gravel). It appears to be a better model. Kuddos to Jazzy for realizing that they had an inferior product in the 1170 XL Plus and taking the initiative to rectify the problem. Go with the 600 Model, It's a real improvement over the 1170.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Kathy from Swansboro NC submitted this review on November 4th 2005 at 06:11 PM. Kathy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It does get me from point a to point B -- and has given me the freedom to work part time and to go on family outings and to play foot ball with my grandson.. no im not the tackling dummy!
over all: WHEN IT WORKS IT WORKS.. WHEN IT DOES NOT IT IS A PAIN IN THE A## TO GET WORKED ON..
Weaknesses:where to start... SERVICE AFTER THE SALE Shame on Pride... and shame on false advertising no curb climber this chair. battries weak, motors burn out .. controller goes bad-- squeeks and clunks..Front wheels give out and fall off after six months back wheels loose tread -- they promised to take it apart after one year and clean it and tighen up any thing needed.. ha.. right.. get them to do that.. now would you...
Comments:I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THE GUIDELINES ON PARTS THAT MEDICARE MEDICADE WILL PAY FOR ... AND WHEN THEY WILL DO IT.. IT IS ALMOST LIKE A SECREAT BROTHER HOOD WHEN I ASK THE QUESTION... TO THE DEALER..HUM..
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Lloyd from Arvada, Colorado, USA submitted this review on July 25th 2005 at 03:23 PM. Lloyd is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have now used my Jazzy 1170 XL for close to two years. I love this chair. It is powerful enough to move my 335 pounds to almost anywhere I want to go. It will go up very steep grades, and is excellent on dirt trails -- though you do need to get used to balancing yourself. In addition to me, we load it up with a food bag, pads for my wife and kids, and a large Camelback for me. That is at least 30 extra pounds. Also, we sometimes have my E Oxygen bottle on their when we are going to be away longer than the pulse OX b or C bottles will last.

I self-funded this chair to restore my mobility with my family on outings. With the obvious exception of stairs, it has taken me with them on trips and picnics. Then I started using this mobility to enjoy my neighborhood, shopping etc.

I think I may have damaged my right axle this last trip. I was bouncing over some rocks going to Steamboat Geyser, and have since noticed a clunk each revolution of the wheel when it is under load. But to be fair to the chair -- this was a steep area with several large rocks on the trail, and Yellowstone has the trail listed as not being accessable, but that is not enough to stop me. This chair goes and goes.

When this chair gives up the ghost, I will look for another 1170XL and that should show how highly I rate it.
Weaknesses:As I noted last year, the curb climbing ability for these chairs is over-rated. Do not think that you can climb a curb as easily as they show on the videos. My personal best is about 3 inches, and that is with a running start and then bouncing up onto the curb.

This chair is a couple of inches wider and longer than other smaller chairs. If you need those two inches think about giving up some of the ruggedness of the 1170XL and going with a smaller chair. But do this knowing that they are not as powerful and you are trading power for the smaller profile.
Comments:I use a Bruno VSL 670 lift that my sons self installed. Our first time we used 14 gauge stranded wire -- not enough power and the circuit breaker kept tripping. We re-wired it with 10 gauge solid strand wire, and it will lift the 670 into my E 350 1-ton Club Wagon -- that is much higher than mini-vans and even smaller 1/2 ton vans.

I have noticed that the chair is close to the lifts limit. While on vacation we have it loaded up with a food bag, bench seat padded chairs for wife and kids, and a 3 liter camel back for me. With this added weight the lift breaker does kick off a couple of times, but that is close to 30 pounds of extra weight.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Mike from Apple Valley, Mn, USA submitted this review on December 4th 2004 at 12:26 PM. Mike is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:1170XL Plus Capable of transporting larger individual
Weaknesses:Too large for any OTC ramp or lift (had to have a Harmar modified to fit chair) Manufaturer's warranty voided with modifications.

Workmanship on accessory basket substandard. Basket three wires welded to frame. Metal will work harden and fracture (break apart) within weeks of installation.

Swing away leg rests substandard in design. Additional (non-used) holes at top of upper portion weakens the tube making it susceptible to easy bending.

All parts on the chair need continual tightening and readjustment. My assumption would be that most end users are incapable of tightening and readjusting parts on thier own which ultimately leads to the product rattling apart.

Customer service of Pride Mobility is substandard. They will not talk to end user. I recomend dealing with a company that cares about their customers. To Pride mobility their dealers are their customers not the end user.
Comments:My recomendation would be, if you are looking for a heavy weight power chair; choose another manufacturer. Stay away from this companies products. If they don't care about thier end users, choose a company that does. They don't deserve your business.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Lloyd from Arvada CO submitted this review on July 27th 2004 at 12:23 PM. Lloyd is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I just got back from a trip to Yellowstone and was highly impressed by the chair. It easily handled all of the Geyser Basins on a single charge, and had power to spare, even coming up from the Firehole to the Old Faithful Lodge. I also was able to take my chair into the Back Basin at Norris -- very rough trail with no problems.
Weaknesses:Does not climb curbs as well as advertised. The fuseholder melted once, but no problems with the chair, replaced and chair is fine. Could have been fuseholder was touching either charger or motor, but cannot be sure.
Comments:Would highly recommend for larger people. It is much heavier duty than smaller capacity chairs, with a noticeably heavier frame and motors.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
James from Columbus Geogia submitted this review on June 27th 2004 at 02:00 PM. James is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I go around the lakes in our park without problems climb up grades and hills.
Weaknesses:Will not climb curbs as they said it would.
Comments:I am a large person and the chair fits me real good.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Richard from Canton, GA submitted this review on March 28th 2004 at 10:27 PM. Richard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chassis seems to be more durable than the model 1100 which I had previously. Overall design is good, but construction is lacking.
Weaknesses:The battery charger was defective. The batteries that they OEM are of lesser durability than what is available locally. There are inconsistencies in the dimensions of "same size" seats. The controller failed before two years. It seems that the general consensus is that the OEM controller is underrated for this larger chair. Oh, and of course it doesn't climb 6 inch curbs. The biggest weakness is the haughty, unresponsive manufacturer.
Comments:It seems that we peon users don't rate with Pride. Unless you are a reseller or service shop, you don't exist. I had my chair three weeks when the charger failed. It seemed that Pride knew about the problem and had had so many claims that they wouldn't allow local service to effect the repairs.

Pride contracted with some other vendor to replace the charger along with the batteries. The charger could be shipped overnight, but Pride insisted on using only their batteries as replacements which required close to ten days for shipping. Meanwhile, I'm without my new chair.

Also, when I tried to contact Pride tech support, I had to argue with some snotty call receptionist, to get ahold of someone. And when I called back, things were no better. It seemed as if they had no call logging system or any customer profile.

I wrote an ugly email to Pride and got some response, but some goodwill is irretrievable. Now, I come to find out my chair, that's not two years old, requires a replacement controller.

The reason I elected to go with another Pride chair was because of my old model 1100. I beat that poor chair to death and it kept on taking it.

Like I said, the 1170XL is a good chair with poor manufacturing. As far as the curb climing capability, I don't know of anyone that believed that from the start.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Kathy from Mobile, AL USA submitted this review on January 7th 2004 at 12:30 PM. Kathy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:style, comfort
Weaknesses:will not climb curbs as advertised, battery life, durability,
Comments:I originally purchased an 1170XL on a voc-rehab recommendation. I have used a manual chair my entire life but due to increasing shoulder problems, was unable to continue using a manual and had to switch to a power chair.
I first bought an 1170XL due to the advertised promise it would climb a 6 inch curb. IT WOULD NOT, not even the dealer could make it perform this function on a curb 3.75 inches high. The tires shredded - they did not wear down they shredded within 6 months, we purchased 2 sets of batteries within those 6 mths, the arm rest cracked and split, the controller burn up twice needing to be replaced and leaving me stranded the first time and locking the right wheel the second time slamming me into a wall. After much communication with the company, they replaced it with an 1105 model which also gave me repeated problems finally being replaced yet again with another 1170XL. I have used this one for almost 2 years and cannot wait until I can purchase another chair to replace it. It will NOT be a Pride/Jazzy model.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Go
Hurricane
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
 

© Copyright 2015 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy