USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Hoveround MPV 4
Written by CJ
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Rick
Tzora Active Systems Easy Travel
Written by Ron
Permobil Street
Written by Justin
Teftec Omegatrac
Written by Jim
Pride Mobility Jazzy Select
Written by HOLLY
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by sandra
Pacesaver Eclipse
Written by Gary
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Chris
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by Paul
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Quantum Jazzy 1420
Image of Pride Mobility Quantum Jazzy 1420
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
• Fully adjustable Versa SeatTM frame, which accepts a broad range of seating and swing-away footrests.
• Fully-programmable digital controller.
• 16-inch knobby drive wheels.
• Adjustable front anti-tips.
• Active-Trac Suspension.
• Equipped with a standard high-torque motor package.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1200
Durability?3.3300
Ease of use?4.1700
Meet expectations?3.2500
Overall Rating:2.920.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Chris from Sacramento CA usa submitted this review on March 19th 2012 at 04:18 PM. Chris is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have an amy systems seating which is still comfortable. Stable,
Weaknesses:Breakdowns motors going bad both sides 3 times in less than 1 year. Pride will not discuss the problems with "consumer" They might as well call patients in the home. Motor issues are a constant problem.
Comments:I would not recommend Pride products to any one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Kelli from Surrey submitted this review on July 7th 2011 at 03:55 PM. Kelli is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair can go and go and go. And if it ever ran out ( my fault) then it goes into manual mode. Loved it! Made it great to go out again.
Weaknesses:None that I can think of
Comments:I got this chair when I was in need. It gave me the freedom to have mobility and shop etc once again. To be able to enjoy life. I love the fact that it plugs in anywhere for charging. I would definitely buy another one if Needed.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
emma from china tx usa submitted this review on September 10th 2010 at 09:15 PM. emma is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Strong, fast, durable and reliable.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:I would highly recommend this chair for a heavy person.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
L from Lebanon, TN USA submitted this review on September 25th 2009 at 03:13 PM. L is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:easy to maneuver around tight places
Weaknesses:bad engineering, no foresight, a dangerous lemon
Comments:I am so disappointed in this chair. It broke down the first time when it was less than 6 months old. I have had it worked on for various flaws, some of them dangerous, several times. The problems include, sheared off pins and bolts, my large wheel literally sheared off at the axle, the motor went bad, jerking my chair sideways uncontrollably (thank God I was not in bad traffic). It stopped suddenly when I was going full speed and threw me off (I had to ask for a seatbelt to be installed.) It now loses its charge very fast, within seconds, for no reason that anyone can find, and will leave me stranded somewhere, if I use it. The seat pins don't work and now I am sitting on the chassis, rubbing my big wheels, and angry as a wild cat cornered. I really am thinking about a lawsuit against Pride Mobility - they don't seem interested in making it right. Top this off with the fact that if I don't have a powerchair I cannot go back to work, which I am almost ready to do.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Keith from Hertfordshire submitted this review on August 16th 2007 at 12:10 PM. Keith is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Able to cope very well with hard use, I use mine like a car,I do about 560 miles each year in my Jazy, over some nasty ground.
This wheelchair is the only design that grips in bad snow.
Weaknesses:the hand control needs to be more robust. I drive it with my head, as it goes over bad holes in the pavments/sidewalks, this unit gets badly abused. It is not strong enough. I brake one every 5 months.
However, this weekness cannot be blamed on the makers, but they could make this weekist part stronger.
Comments:If you replace these kerb climbing wheels that are not on the ground, with small casters. You will be taking a step backwoods, as you will restrict the driver. We all do not live on flat wheelchar friendly conditions.

Yours.
Mr. Smith.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
John from Wyoming submitted this review on July 27th 2007 at 05:11 PM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:when traveling the bolts and screws fall out, not easy to operate on grass, dirt, terrible on rock or gravel, don't even try light sand or open field.
Comments:when traveling the bolts and screws fall out, not easy to operate on grass, dirt, terrible on rock or gravel, don't even try light sand or open field. difficult to haul or carry with you on trips.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Dr Y from KERNOW (Cornwall) GBR submitted this review on July 15th 2007 at 07:36 AM. Dr Y is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very few outstanding I can thing of unless one includes manoeuverability
Weaknesses:Many: please see under for copy of email I have transmitted to Pride and many others.
Comments:July 15th 2007

Sirs;
I live in Kernow (Cornwall) GBR and have been wheelchair-reliant for approaching 14 years now.

During this Time, I have gained experience with a wide variety of power chairs and I now own a Jazzy 1400.

However, comfort aside, which, as you will understand, is a reasonably important factor, the reliability and back-up service which I have experienced is little short of disgusting!

For example, the dealer with whom I have previously entrusted servicing and repairs to my Jazzy was informed by me on Wednesday, July 11th 2007 of a possible pending motor failure.

Following no fewer than three telephone calls to this dealer, my Jazzy was - eventually - collected for analysis and repair on the morning of Tuesday, July 17th 2007.

By this time, the drive assembly was obviously (again) faulty. All in all, this will amount to the SEVENTH motor replacement in the little over three years I have owned the Jazzy; which I purchased from new.

I have now been informed by the dealers (Tremorvah Industries of Threemilestone, Kernow (Cornwall)) that my Jazzy will not be returned to me until approaching the end of next week, roughly, Friday, July 20th 2007.

This, I find totally unacceptable as it would appear to me that by far the vast majority of persons and companies involved in the servicing, repair and sales of any and all equipment and transport for disabled persons such as myself seem to think they have a "captive market" and that we all have to "dance to their tune" which I for one, have no intention of doing.

In this day & age, I find it absolutely ridiculous that an allegedly "main dealer" does not hold stock of basic items such as an electric motor or two in order clients' equipment and machines are serviced on a rapid turn-around.

True, I have been loaned a power chair but it is not sufficient in any way to meet my needs and requirements. The batteries require re-charging at least twice per diem - and that is with indoor use only - I shudder to think what would happen were I to venture outdoors, as it is, I am now having to fund extra hours for my care staff as I am unable to leave my home at all due to the lack of power in the item I have been loaned.

If and when my motor car requires servicing etc, my main dealers collect within minutes of the appointed time and always an almost identical model vehicle is loaned me which is completely free and totally suitable for my requirements.

As an example; a few months ago, unfortunately, my motorcar - a Mercedes-Benz required a major transmission overhaul. My vehicle fault was analysed mid-morning on the Wednesday, by 13.00 there was a transporter here to collect my motor car, by 14.00 a brand new replacement arrived and my vehicle was returned to me, all repairs excellently carried out, on the morning of the following Friday, since when I have been delighted with everything Mercedes-Benz have done for me.

I have, on many occasions, attempted to contact the Pride importers / dealers in Oxford GBR, concerning my dissastisfaction, only to be told on each and every instance that their engineers / technical staff are not available on the telephone and that, supposedly, even the reception staff have to email them (the engineers) and in any case, the staff of the Pride importers have been tasked "not to speak to or with the public concerning complaints".

This I find to be a most high-handed approach as, after all - we - the public - are the people keeping them supposedly profitable and unless matters and attitudes change for the better, I intend to take this matter to the highest possible level.

For this and other reasons, I am sending this electronic message world-wide, include recipients are a great number of my friends who are also disabled and plus businesses and authorities. No doubt I shall receive numerous supportive replies.

In the meantime, I intend posting the text of this email to the review section of the Pride website. Interested parties please note; my email address for contact is kernow.pirate@virgin.net

Dhys heb Gil

Dr Yöwan (Johnothän) Ingräm
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ernest from Bakersfield, California, U.S.A. submitted this review on April 20th 2007 at 03:44 PM. Ernest is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:A powerful chair that can handle very steep inclines Very relaxing, Easy to use and maneuvers very well for its size
Weaknesses:The only weaknesses that I have basically run into on this machine is Seat, the bottom uses plywood that is not strong enough, pressure on the back can crack the seat base making it appear that the back is weak, I had to put a 1/8" steel plate on the bottom to fix mine.
There is no way to lock the chair to prevent others from just getting on turn the power on an driving it .
The rear casters stick too far out on the sides and need to come about 4" closer for tight tuns and the seat should be easy to adjust with the flip of a lever like on some cars.
Comments:Great chair, just wish it came with a programmer and electronic key as part of the package! and more accessories available.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Joe from Lancaster Ca U.S.A submitted this review on December 13th 2005 at 12:45 AM. Joe is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:One hell of a powerful chair I feel like I can pull a house behide me.Very very relaxing runs great Would not trade it for anything.
Weaknesses:It Sits just a tad to high I wish it was just a little lower.
Comments:I am 6'2" about 400lbs and the 1420 pulls me like it was pulling a little kid around on it.I ordered mine with the high torque motors I figured I would rather have the torque over the speed and i will say it goes still plenty fast with the high torque motors.I am one very satisfied customer. Keep yp the Excellent work pride Mobility.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
SHIRLEY from SEGUIN TEXAS USA submitted this review on December 7th 2005 at 01:52 PM. SHIRLEY is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I LOVE MY JAZZY1420 I GET OUT OF MY HOUSE NOW COULD NOT LIVE WITHOUT MY CHAIR
Weaknesses: 
Comments:THIS CHAIR IS VERY COMFORT I GO ALL OVER THE PLACE WITH IT
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Robert from Leitchfield, Kentucky U.S.A. submitted this review on July 30th 2005 at 08:03 PM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I weigh in at 387LBs.and my Quantum 1420 so far has handled whatever I have pointed it at up to and including the very steep driveway that goes up to my house. Turning radius is good also.
Seating comfort could have been better, however I consider that my fault as I was not experienced with the seating options . I will stick with Jazzy when it is time for my next chair.
Weaknesses:The only weaknesses that I have basically run into on this machine is a weak pin type system to support the back on the captain seat.....I made a support system out of the same material that the arm rests are made of in order for it all to match and yet still add more support to the seat back....This definetly made me feel more comfortable as far as not having to worry about the seat back giving way and tossing me over backwards. The only other matter was the fact that when I take it on gravel I have to pull the seat and shroud off in order to pick the small gravels out of the battery box in order to keep from putting a hole in a battery.....It could use somekind of inner fender to maybe correct the problem.
Comments:Great chair, just wish it came with a programmer and electronic key as part of the package!
Even my dog likes the chair... and let me tell you Boo Bear is one particular Chihuahua!

Robert/Aka Noble
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Robert from Granite Bay CA submitted this review on July 5th 2004 at 12:07 PM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:Overpriced 1170. No real differences but they charge almost 2x as much. I have 4 power chairs, 3 1170's and this pig. I feel like this purchase was a total rip off.
Comments:I have had had fairly good luck with my 1170's, hence my purchase of the 1420. Biggest mistake I've ever made.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Go
Hurricane
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy