USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Hoveround MPV 4
Written by CJ
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Rick
Tzora Active Systems Easy Travel
Written by Ron
Permobil Street
Written by Justin
Teftec Omegatrac
Written by Jim
Pride Mobility Jazzy Select
Written by HOLLY
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by sandra
Pacesaver Eclipse
Written by Gary
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Chris
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by Paul
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie P222
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie P222
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
Detachable power base for conversion to manual wheelchair.
Product Weight: Approx. 115 lbs. w/o batteries.
Product Width: 14 in. - 24 in. seat width.
Product Length/Depth: 14 in. - 26 in. seat depth.
Product Height: 18 in. - 20 in. seat to floor (non-tilt).
Electronic Options VSI Intergral Joystick, QTRONIX remote joystick, QTRONIX USCM (specialty controls), Power Chair
Performance Packages.
(Speed in mph) 6.5 mph/ 300 lb. weight capacity.
Tilt Option Power Tilt.
Battery Type 22 NF, Group 24.
Overall Width 24.75 in. (14 in. - 20 in. seat widths), 27.75 in. (22 in., 24 in. seat widths).
Drive Wheel Size 12 in. X 4 in. (std.), 12 in. X 2 in. (opt.).
Drive Tire Knobby, V-Groove.
Caster Options 8 in., 8 in. (suspension), 9 in.
Transit Option No.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews930
Durability?2.782.670
Ease of use?3.892.330
Meet expectations?2.562.000
Overall Rating:2.672.330.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Greg from los altos, ca, 94024 submitted this review on March 14th 2013 at 09:20 PM. Greg is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good traction, speed. Adjustable CG. Ability to convert to manual chair. to be able to go up and down curbs. flexible wheelie bars.
Weaknesses:weak footrests, takes a while to cool down once it overheats.
Comments:I've been up and down steep hills, over rough terrain, and through sand and mud. All I've replaced in 5 years is a couple of footrests and a broken joystick cable. I think it's the best standard chair there is for rough terrain
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
john from jeannette, pa submitted this review on August 29th 2010 at 12:45 PM. john is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:none at all
Weaknesses:frame the T weldments that hold on footrests keep snapping off, going for third replacement.Little bits and pieces keep braking or falling off. Don't even think of using it after a rain, electronics will foul up. In 2 years $ 5000.00 in repairs qtronics controller lack of response.
Comments:Mine is like lemon in color, which describes the worst piece of junk Quickie has put out. I just don't trust the chair. The swing away legs are the worst designed, wobbble,shake,foot pads at different heights, always something coming loose. I'm going for the third replacement of the ill designed T shaped weldments that hold on the footrests, they are not gusseted and brake off quite easily. It turns like a trailer truck, back wheels will catch most doorways if you are not going perfectly straight through it. It I feel was created for one thing speed and to heck if the rest of the chair is a real piece junk. The controller is dampened so you don't lose control at high speeds if it will keep its progra I have no trouble with control at top setting, which seems to change every time it is taken in for repair, and many repairs it will need. If you plan to use it everyday forget this one, if you have a collection of chairs you bring this one out to impress with its speed, other than that it's put away and you use your old 12 years old reliable p200 or other. Because this chair will instill in you a basic mistrust of it being reliable ot trust worthy. Stay as far away from the P222 SE as possible, If your dealer even mentions it go elsewhere. The p222SE represents the ability to sell to the consumer the worst possible wheelchair made, where speed is stressed over quality and trustworthiness. You actually begin to hate it and Sunrise even more for making it, and the person who welded it. vze2kgc3@verizon.net if you want to contact me a class action or recall is needed for the P222SE
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
DebiDebi from Kissimmee,Florida submitted this review on February 21st 2009 at 12:47 AM. DebiDebi is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed, comfort
Weaknesses:Like several other users, I can't keep batteries in it, drained constantly.. I had the charger mounted under the chair, so I won't be without battery IF I can find an outlet ... Programming constantly, won't hold it... delays in joystick function too long, even tho programmed for quickest reaction time.. cell phone rings, my chair goes beserk! HATE this chair, been in it 3 yrs.. Heavy... HUGE battery out backend prevents close turns without hitting stuff in a narrow bathroom stall
Comments:I weigh 127 pounds, lightweight, so it's not the rider causing battery problems
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Joe from CA submitted this review on January 10th 2009 at 02:00 AM. Joe is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:extremely good speed. no real problems with this chair.
Weaknesses:no weaknesses that I can see.
Comments:This wheelchair saved my girlfriend's life she was hit by a SUV going 30 mph and the chair split in half and threw her approximately 60 feet the wheelchair is no longer usable but she is still alive with minor injuries thank God. We are going to get this chair again no matter what.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
rich from camp verde, az submitted this review on September 20th 2008 at 08:16 PM. rich is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:with the right parts, i.e. casters, back, tires, the chair really looks good.
Weaknesses:too many "falling off plastic bolt caps, too many un-braced frame areas, very weak frame, bad wire connection from the joystick control into the power unit plug and bad connection insulation from the base plug in to the driving motors. weak battery box for the weight of the batteries. ive had my chair worked on and welded on and things replaced, its on going.
Comments:but, if look what else is out there, in the same price range its an ok chair, just dont count on it when you need to.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Charles from Tulsa, OK, USA submitted this review on April 17th 2008 at 06:13 PM. Charles is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ultimate Speed, seat position & comfort over long periods of time, neutral gear enforces no drag when forced to push the chair manually.
Weaknesses:Stability over inclines/declines, battery life, ability to break down into parts was not thought out properly, NOT A REPLACEMENT FOR THE Quickie P200!!!! You must get the optional equipment, otherwise maintenance will be a major problem. Controller not as programmable as the P200.
Comments:I hate this chair. My wife has at least been comfortable all these 4 years (!!!) of living with this chair's faults. The dealer told us, "It's the new replacement for the P200!" And like idiots, we fell for it. Now the Greatest Chair in the entire history of wheelchairs is discontinued (Quickie P200), and we cannot go back to the Glory Years. The Glory Years is what I call the time when products were made that actually worked, and worked very, very well.

When I took the P200 apart it never broke my wrists, like the P222 does. Had to wear a wrist brace for several months all because the P222 is just way too heavy even after the seat and batteries are removed. When you remove the batteries in the P200 the unit doesn't fall over. It sets perfectly weighted just as it did before the batteries were removed. We ended up having to construct some ramps and load our P222 in the back of our van mostly still constructed.

After years of taking the P200 apart and putting it back together, it would not deteriorate as fast as the P222 did. When we had the P200 we could make use of a 2-dr Neon! Now we have to look at minivans/vans, because the P222 cannot keep breaking down without breaking the wheelchair. Now that's what I call quality.

The actual size of the P222 is huge now when compared to the size of her old P200. It is harder for her to maneuver in her parents house, or anywhere there is a narrow hallway (not to mention narrow doorways!!!). This is where sitting way too high gets to be a problem -- when it comes to navigating this beast. Which brings me to the controller....

When we first got the P222, of course the 5 gears appealed to us, as well as the performance, since we like to go on long walks. Then we actually took a walk with it. OMG! No control! We had it reprogrammed, only to find out that it cannot be programmed as well as the P200 could be. The delay (which feels like 10 yrs)-- in which you push the joystick and then it finally does something -- is totally loathsome. And control at the high speeds that the P222 can go - forget about it! What good is the extra speed if you end up running off the sidewalk and into on coming traffic?!?!

I wish Quickie (Sunrise Medical) would pull their head out of the ground and re-hire the guy who designed to the original P200. Have him redesign the P222 and P220 and go back to the older platform that was the P200. This is especially true now that we are looking at either replacing the motors, or buying a new chair after only 4 years of service.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
TechGuide says: You're not alone in praise of the revered and robust P200. As for the designer- You can read his comments on the chair at: http://www.usatechguide.org/itemreview.php?itemid=241
 
Trav from Tennessee submitted this review on July 13th 2006 at 04:45 AM. Trav is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair sits very high. This can be a pro or a con, but for the most part it allows access to areas that were out of reach in prior chairs. The speed is great, and the chair strength is outstanding. Sitting in the chair for long periods will create no comfort issues for an average user.
Weaknesses:When the chair has issues, it is an awful task trying to figure out the problem. The recline seems to cause issues with the power, thus creating problems of keeping a good charge. The main issue is keeping a decent charge. I have had three controls replaced, and I never seem to have a proper read on how much energy is in the chair. I have charged the chair for 12 hours, and the chair will run out of energy within an hour of driving. A minor problem with the chair height is fitting under standard tables, desks, etc.
Comments:Compared to the Quickie P200, the only plus to the P222 is the small jump in speed, and the design and recline features. When I do go after a new chair in the years to come, I will not repeat a purchase of the P222. The issues with battery life have been a constant. What good is it to ride in style and very fast, when you have to be plugged up to charge an hour later?

If you want a super fast chair with good strength, this is for you. But, only if you are a light user. Don't expect to explore the mall worry free. Keep a charger with you at all times.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Tom from USA submitted this review on September 10th 2005 at 03:01 PM. Tom is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:NICE COMPACT APPEARANCE, HANDLE WELL, GOOD POWER
Weaknesses:MECHANICAL PROBLEMS, WAS STOPPED AND RE-PLACED WITH P222 SE OR P220.
Comments:I'M STUCK WITH MINE AFTER 3 AND 1/2 YEARS WAITING FOR MOTORS AND APPARENTLY THEY DON'T MAKE THE JUNK MINE CAME WITH. I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH QUICKIE. MY P222 IS REALLY A P220 WITHOUT THE BUGS REMOVED!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ken from Fairmont, WV, USA submitted this review on April 4th 2004 at 10:08 PM. Ken is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Sharp looking, fast, highly manuverable, long range
Weaknesses:Heavy
Comments:I have a 2002 model and it has been flawless. Very stylish and VERY fast. Very long range per charge.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bernie from Danbury, CT submitted this review on April 1st 2004 at 09:10 AM. Bernie is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fast/compact/easy to use
Weaknesses:none
Comments:Great product.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
James from Newark, NJ, USA submitted this review on March 14th 2002 at 09:33 AM. James is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is fast and responsive. It is very controlable even at high speeds. The size of the chair helps with accessibility
Weaknesses:It has had several motor and controller problems.
Comments:The chair is fun and fast, but mechanical problems have made me cautious about where and how far I go.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy