USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Jay A Division Of Sunrise Medical J2 Deep Contour
Image of JAY a DIVISION OF SUNRISE MEDICAL J2 Deep Contour
Fluid flotation wheelchair cushion.
• Pre-contoured foam base with a 3D Jay Flow Fluid Tri-Pad.
• Designed for the person at extremely high risk of skin breakdown, who also seeks stability.
• Seat well is 3" deep. Seat well narrows toward the rear to accommodate various pelvic positions while providing stability.
• Tripad design incorporates a left and right side fluid section for lateral stability, plus a section specifically designed to protect the coccyx.
• A layer of soft foam under the fluid pad provides additional skin protection.
• Product Weight: Approx. 6.27 lbs.
• Product Width: 14 in. - 24 in. modified models can extend ouside this range.
• Product Length/Depth: 14 in. - 20 in modified models can extend ouside this range.
• Product Height: Approx. 4.5 in.
• Product Weight Capacity: 250 lbs.
• Cushion cover material choices Ballistic stretch, air exchange, incontinence
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews912
Durability?4.444.004.00
Ease of use?4.783.004.00
Meet expectations?4.561.004.50
Overall Rating:4.331.004.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


marcus from California, Md(usa) submitted this review on December 1st 2011 at 02:53 AM. marcus is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:very good and comfortable and a very nice cushion i just got on 11/30/11.
Weaknesses:gel goes to the back after a long time sitting on it
Comments:i love it so much
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Salomon from Mexico submitted this review on June 25th 2010 at 07:40 PM. Salomon is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have been on Wheels since 92, Im an L1 complete paraplegic and this is the best cushion I have ever owned.
Weaknesses:Its Too Heavy
Comments:Great
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
frank from new city new york,USA submitted this review on March 13th 2010 at 02:42 PM. frank is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:See comments below.Instead of preventing it has caused serious problem.
Comments:This cushion has caused my wife to have a significant sore and opening and together with visiting nurses we have been trying to heal sore. My wife has been forced to stay in bed most of the day. This has been going on for several weeks.The problem has been attributed to the cushion by our medical help.You should warn purchasers of this problem immediately.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Glenn from Houston, Texas USA submitted this review on June 24th 2008 at 12:59 PM. Glenn is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The extra jel in the back for the tail bone area.
Weaknesses:The hard foam in front can be uncomfortable.
Comments:Over all the seat cushion is good, however the hard foam in the front by the legs can be some what uncomfortable, I have regained some feeling in my back side and upper legs and any pressure hurts.

I like the extra jel in the back to adjust for the tail bone.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Carol from New Port Richey submitted this review on January 24th 2008 at 04:01 PM. Carol is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:It's been 3 years since the right side below knee amputation I went through and coccyx pain from constant sitting was getting nasty. I tried a ROHO air cushion and it only made the whole thing worse. With the Jay 2 Deep Contour cushion I sit comfortably AND I sit up straighter, sometimes for hours. On a scale of 1-10, my pain used to be 7-10 and the Jay 2 cushion cut it back to a level of more like 3-7 (I still have some discomfort but the drop in pain is really fantastic.)
Weaknesses:Necessarily heavier than the old mattress foam I was using, so lifting it to transfer from electric to manual wheelchair took a little getting used to. And during my one month use, I notice I have to push the gel back in place once in a while.
Comments:I don't think I'll ever want to change cushions - the stiffer foam front and sides keeps my knees up and my posture better. At 5'11" I can just barely reach the floor/ground in my manual chair, while in my electric chair I'm much closer to my old walking height because the cushion is so high and I love view from a little higher up!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Billy from Mansfield, Ohio USA submitted this review on August 8th 2007 at 01:08 PM. Billy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:WOW! This cushion has been a lifesaver for me for well over 5 + years on the original cushion! I'm a C-2 level quad who is unable, for the better part of most days, to get a pressure relief for 8-10 hours+, due to living at home while my mother works. No problem sitting upright at the computer during this time and it's been way better than my old Jay2 model cushion with it's rigid injected foam base. I haven't replaced this one yet, and it's about 6 years old! Jay Medical really has great products and a lot of accessories to outfit just about anyone's special needs.
Weaknesses:Would really like to have a cushion cover in lighter white/gray colored fabric material other than black, as sitting in direct sunlight for any prolonged amount of time can really cause heat to cause the rump to sweat, and moisture leads to irritation and tissue breakdowns real quick.
Comments:After becoming a C-2 quad in '90 due to a drunk driver, I've only had 3 brand new cushions in 16+ years, and they were "ALL" Jay Medical Gel Cushions! I haven't used Roho or any other brand cushions but see no reason to switch anyway.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Tim from UK submitted this review on August 4th 2007 at 10:22 AM. Tim is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Not liable to leak, unlike my air cushion.
Weaknesses:Pressure relief not as good as an air cushion.
Comments:Provides good general pressure relief for C6 tetraplegic with bony ischial area, but beware gel can deteriorate so needed to monitor this and replace gel pad after 1-2 years.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Samantha from Oregon submitted this review on April 7th 2007 at 07:37 PM. Samantha is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Out of all of the two cushions I've used (Jay Combi and Jay J2 gel), this was the best cushion I've ever had. I use it in both my manual, and power wheelchairs, and never felt any more comfortable in my wheelchairs, than when I started using the cushions. Even though I alternate use between my 2 wheelchairs periodically, I feel comfortable sitting for prolonged periods of time since I've had the cushions, without feeling pain (as I had when I used my previous cushions).

I use both of my wheelchairs for approximately 5-6 hours per day,
and wanted a cushion that I can feel comfortable with sitting in, even though I'm able to get out of my wheelchair when I need to. When I found this one, it was truly a dream come true. The recline part of it, supports my torso and hips really well, and prevents me from sliding down in the wheelchair.
Weaknesses:It makes you sit up higher in your wheelchair if you don't have the included solid-drop base that you can get with the cushion. I soon discovered this when entering my van one day with my power chair, and whacking my head on the top part of the sliding door frame. I'm a fairly tall person (5'6"), but the problem of sitting tall was soon resolved, thanks to the service technician.

The other weakness, is that if you have a sling seat, the cushion makes it "sag". I was told that if you add a cushion rigidizer, it would make the cushion more rigid and not sag, if it sat on the sling seat.
Comments:This is an awesome cushion to use, if you really want comfort for long periods of sitting time in a wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Bumper from The Big Apple (NYC), USA submitted this review on July 6th 2003 at 12:16 AM. Bumper is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I got this one for free so I guess that would count as a strength. It's held up pretty good under me for a couple of years so far. Keeps me from wobblin around in the chair and as straight as a soldier.
Weaknesses:A bit tough for these quad arms to lift. The pack of gooey stuff seems to hold up okay, but the foam base started shaping itself to my wheelchair seat.
Comments:I sometimes get this strange butt ache when I sit on the cushion for to long. Have to get off for a while or switch it out for something else.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Matt from Puryear, TN USA submitted this review on November 1st 2002 at 11:09 AM. Matt is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Excellent Cushion For All Day Sitting!
Weaknesses:None That I Can Think Of.
Comments:I'm a C-4 Quadriplegic and have actively used this cushion since my accident in 1989=13 years. I work M-F, 8 hours per day, I'm in my chair and on this cushion usually from 07:00am-10:00pm, 7 days per week, I've never had a pressure sore from sitting on this cushion and I would confidently suggest it for any quad that sits all day. I find it very stablizing because your bottom is down in the Gel-Fluid. I'll always use a Jay Gel-Fluid Cushion!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Tammy from Carmel, NY, USA submitted this review on July 12th 2002 at 01:00 PM. Tammy is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good pressure relieving capabilities. Can be easily modified to allow for postural deficits. A good selection of accessories. The manufacturer is good about doing customization.
Weaknesses:Patients with prominent I.T's may bottom out on the cushion. The fluid seems to stiffen with time and sometimes requires changing. Bolsters and wedges tend to cause the fluid to migrate.
Comments:I am a P.T. who works primarily with spinal cord injured patients. I have found this cushion to be an effective pressure reducer and posture enhancer.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Tom from Hartford, Ct, USA submitted this review on March 21st 2002 at 03:39 PM. Tom is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good posture and position control.
Weaknesses:Can be heavy for some users to handle or move.
Comments:Has worked well for positioning needs, very good for controling posture. Handle on the front of the cover is appreciated by those with limited hand function.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy