USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Hoveround MPV5
Written by Les
Sunrise Medical Quickie P222
Written by John
Beamer Ltd Tramper Buggy
Written by Louis
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by Connie
Alber E-motion
Written by Scott
Invacare Pronto M51 with SureStep
Written by Michael
Permobil M300 Corpus 3G
Written by Michael
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1122
Written by Michael
Sunrise Medical Quickie Q7
Written by Mark
Invacare TDX SP
Written by Joe
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Quickie XTR
Image of Sunrise Medical Quickie XTR
Manual wheelchair with rigid frame.
• Features Rock suspension system. • Product Weight: Approx. 23.5 lbs. w/o footrests.
• 14 in. - 20 in. seat width.
• 14 in. - 18 in. seat depth.
• Product Height: 18.75 in. - 19.25 in. front seat to floor (0 deg. , 4 deg. camber). 18.25 in. -18.75 in. (8 deg. camber).
• Product Weight Capacity: 250 lbs.
• Overall Width 24 in. - 30 in. w/ 0 of wheel camber.
• Caster Options 3 in., 4 in., 5 in.
• Rear Wheel Options 24in, 26 in.
• Axle Options Standard- stainless steel, optional Titanium, and Quad release axel nuts
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1300
Durability?4.3100
Ease of use?3.8500
Meet expectations?3.6900
Overall Rating:3.770.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


William from Moultrie, Ga. USA submitted this review on November 22nd 2008 at 02:26 PM. William is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:The XTR out preforms all other wheelchairs. I use my XTR in the Vet. Wheelchair games each year. I use my XTR in basketball,bowling,salum,field track events,archey,and airrifle. I got gold metals in all events except basketball and two field track. My XTR got me four silver metals in the other events. My XTR is a part of me as I am a part of it. The XTR has proven to me it is a gold metal winner. The Best.
Weaknesses:None
Comments:I highly recomend the XTR.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Warren from Terrace, BC, Canada submitted this review on October 25th 2007 at 09:03 PM. Warren is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Everything I love this chair i have taken a 4ft drop on it and jumped off a six step flight of stairs and its still going strong. Vary stable i like racing cars down hills.
Weaknesses:front tires need a harder compound rubber kinda wearing out
Comments:get this if you like playing in skate board parks.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Blaine from Idaho submitted this review on July 3rd 2006 at 02:25 PM. Blaine is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have enjoyed this chair's ride. I am not as tired at the end of the day from sitting in it as with the other non-suspensioned chairs I've owned.

Lifetime warranty on the frame. No questions asked, just give 'em your serial number and send the broken frame back when the new one arrives.
Weaknesses:Brakes. Thumb killers if they are not stowed away properly (it's a habit that I unconsciously check them all the time. IMHO, anyone who would use the non scissored style brakes on these chairs is crazy). The brakes worked well when I first got the chair, but they are practically worthless now. The chair rolls away as soon as I jump out of it.

The upholstery on the back split where it folds down on the corners on top of the back rest. Quickie should use leather over that portion of the upholstery for better wear.
Comments:First of all, I have been in this particular chair for 5 years. I do periodic maintenance on it (lube and tighten hardware, etc.). I'm sure that goes a long way toward the longevity of any chair.

I have broken the frame twice where the tabs are welded to the tube for the Rock Shock. First it was the upper frame, second was the lower frame. Also had the shock fail once about 6 months after I got the chair. Replaced no questions.

When I bought this chair, it was for every day use. I deep sixed the off road tires and got the standard 24" "grey" pneumatic tires and spoked rims when I ordered it. Living with those larger tires everyday would have been a pain.

The chair is a little more effort to push due to a small amount of suspension flex, but I haven't noticed it, prabably because I set my suspension up fairly rigid to minimize movement except when jumping of curbs or steps.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Jasmin from Issaquah, WA submitted this review on June 10th 2006 at 01:15 PM. Jasmin is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I just love this wheelcahir. I used to have Quickie TNT and have been able to brake two frames. I am outdoor person, camping and traveling a lot and XTR makes my life easier.
Weaknesses:Back seat screw got broken, but that's not big deal.
Comments:I wish Sunrise will come up with little bit lighter XTR 2 version. :)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
stephen from scotland submitted this review on February 26th 2006 at 09:32 AM. stephen is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:frame
Weaknesses:the backrest could be better made dosent last long splits at the top of chair. then leaves u with no support, front casters become slack , wheels become loose as well, have to keep tightening them. brakes are leithal rippt and bashed,. my thumbs a few times, poor design on brakes, shocker burst when that goes ure nakerd the chair wont move.
Comments:it looks good, but its not the best chair ive had , ive had this chair for 5 yrs and its been put through a lot. dont think i would have another. wear a helmet if going fast easily tiped endo style.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Doug from Sammamish, WA submitted this review on May 16th 2005 at 07:11 PM. Doug is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Strength:
Frame and suspension have survived a lot of abuse over the last 5 years.
Weaknesses:Weaknesses:
1. The spring is undamped and tends to bounce you out the front of the chair when jumping down a curb or other obstacle. Very dangerous! Control and comfort would be greatly improved with rebound and compression damping. Would surely be described by Ralph Nader as "Unsafe at any speed!"
2. Poor caster design. Always coming loose. And they're too small and narrow for soft surfaces (dirt, sand, grass).
3. Poor brake design. Position causes two problems. First, thumbs are jeopardized (OUCH!). Second, getting in and out of the chair engages/disengages the brakes due to the brakes' excessive radial distance from the suspension pivot. This action stresses the brakes a lot, requiring constant adjustments. They are a joke and are now virtually useless.
Comments:I can't believe they still sell this chair design, unchanged!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Paul from Macclenny Fl. U.S.A. submitted this review on March 10th 2005 at 12:37 AM. Paul is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is one tough chair It handels very well It is able to climb ramps much better than any chair I have owned it has a comfortable ride due to the shock assembly When this one wears out I will get another one.
Weaknesses:I have had no problems with this chair in thirty months.
Comments:I really like my chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Lonnie from Somerset, KY submitted this review on July 25th 2004 at 07:06 PM. Lonnie is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:One of the most durable wheelchairs that I have ever owned. You could take it down a mountain and it will go back up for more! A comfortable chair because fo the Rok Shock. Very stable at slow speeds, Good for tricks. Looks very cool!
Weaknesses:Very, very poor caster design, if you get any speed you might as well figure on doing an end over end rollover! Very poor design on the camber tube, unless you have an extremely precise measuring instrument it is impossible to align the rear wheels identically, they really should rethink that one. It's taken me forever to get the rear wheels aligned (I've had the chair for almost six years). The brake handles will rip your thumbs off if you aren't very careful.
Comments:If you are a hiker, camper, outdoorsy type and don't mind some of the incoveniences that go along with this chair, well, this IS the chair for you! If you don't feel like you can propel this beast, then try something a bit lighter or pray that Sunrise Medical comes out with the XTR II!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
chris from franklinville,nj,USA submitted this review on March 12th 2004 at 08:29 PM. chris is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:This is the only chair i havent broken within a year! I totally recommend it for a comfortable, sporty ride. :)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
vincent from france submitted this review on February 4th 2004 at 03:14 PM. vincent is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:maniability, suspension
Weaknesses:overall width, brakes
Comments:probably the most comfortable wheelchair
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
J.Michael from Raliegh-Garner NC , USA submitted this review on November 27th 2002 at 12:47 AM. J.Michael is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Rock Shock takes a lot off your back.Stable,easy to change around. Tuff chair
Weaknesses:Just a little too heavy,end caps under seat come off too easy.Can not slide the center of gravity back but so far.
Comments:Would love too see about 5 pounds come off if possible.I have hade this chair for 3 yrs. I have take it whitewater rafting,camping,hunting,swimming,boating,all kinds of travel, and it has not let me down yet. It is not a chair for some one who can not set it up right and not in shape. Made for some one who is out doors a lot. Not saying that it will not work inside ,I use it as my everyday chair.Have been in a chair for 15 yrs. very active,!GO QUICKIE!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Paul from Virginia submitted this review on June 8th 2002 at 12:11 AM. Paul is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:Chair is very heavy. A bigger problem than that is stability. The forward casters gave me a front tip and broke both of my legs with five fractures.
Comments:The XTR has been a living nightmare for me.
The vendor was not familiar enough with the technology.
Quickie reps locally and on the phone in Colorado also gave mixed/vague information as I was seeking answers to problems which eventually ended in a fall and serious injuries and multiple surgeries.

The shock absorber concept is a good one but I predict this chair will be gone soon with an improved safer model replacing this death trap.

Wear a helmet and full body armour if your going to push this piece of junk.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Lynn from Sumner WA submitted this review on May 1st 2002 at 12:57 PM. Lynn is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durability is good. Very comfortable.
Weaknesses:Was not good in the snow, even with the knobby wheels and tires. Is wide with the 4 degree camber tube. Is heavy compared with my other chair and harder to maneuver around the kitchen. The castors seem to be the weakest point on mine, they loosen all of the time. When I received the chair, the castors were overtightened from the factory and had be replaced. The mag wheels are quite heavy.
Comments:I like the chair overall. The shock helps to even out the terrain that I have to go over. I wish that I had gotten the spoke wheels and pneumatic tires rather than the mag wheels and airless inserts.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Rigid Frame Wheelchairs)
1000
A-6S
AC2
Act
Activ
Active Univers
Advantage 4
Advantage 4
Aero R
Airlite
Airlite
Airlite Pro
Airlite Pro
Avenger
B2
Blizzard
Boing
BT
BT Ballistic
BT-G Tribal
BT-Mg
BT-Mg-A
BT-Mg-AS
BT-Trail
BT-X
Carbon Black
Champion 3000
Classic TI
Competition
Daily Chair
Dupont Modulo Active Chair
Eclipse
Elite
Evo
Extreme
Fusion
Hallmark
Hi Lite
Hi Lite 3
Hornet
Icon A1
Idra
JAG
K Series
K-Nova 300
K3
K4
Krypto
Kuschall Advance
Leggera
Leggera Compact
Leggera XL
Leggera XT
LY-5000
M1 Marvel
Max Lite
Maxima
MRX
Mtm
Netti 1
Next
Octane
Panther
Panther AX
Pcht
Performance
Performance Superlite
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Prodigy
Quasar
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Q7
Quickie R2
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie Ti Titanium
R33
Razorblade
Roller
RoVa 4
Shockwave
Shockwave
SL-5000
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Ti Titanium
Spazz
Spazz-G
Speedy 4all
Speedy F2
Speedy F4
Square Standard Frame
Stiletto
Street Classic
Street Xl
Style
Switch
Switch Attack
Taper Squeeze
Taper Standard
Tilite TRC
Titanium
Titanium
Titanium XL
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Reveal
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Twirl
TR
TRA
Tripod Lt
Tsunami
Typhoon
Ultima
Veloce & Vivace
Voyager
Wolturnus Tukan
Wolturnus W5
Wulturnus W5
Zephyr
ZRA
 

© Copyright 2015 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy