USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Supracor Stimulite Classic
Image of Supracor Stimulite Classic
Wheelchair cushion.
• Three layers of honeycomb —each a different stiffness —enable bony protuberances to sink freely into the cushion while supporting the surrounding anatomy.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews800
Durability?4.7500
Ease of use?4.7500
Meet expectations?4.1300
Overall Rating:4.250.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Michael from Midwest City, OK, USA submitted this review on February 2nd 2016 at 12:39 PM. Michael is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I've had this cushion on my VA-supplied Permobil M300 for 5 yrs & it's just as comfortable now as it was on day 1!
Weaknesses:NONE!
Comments:I also have the Jay cushion which is VERY uncomfortable unlike my Stimulite cushion...I wouldn't recommend the Jay cushion to anybody, but I'd highly recommend the Stimulite cushion!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mary Ann from Elmira, OR USA submitted this review on August 6th 2011 at 10:48 PM. Mary Ann is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Lasts a LONG time; comfortable, firm for ease of transfers; air circulation; has helped to prevent pressure ulcers; washable (although the cushion won't fit in my new front loader) :-( LOVE the little pouch in the front of the cover
Weaknesses:Can't think of any.
Comments:I have been using this cushion for about 17 years. I saw it advertised in the classified section of Paraplegia News. Got it about a year after I became paraplegic. I'm now on my second and may be getting another. I
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Chris from Lake Placid, Fl. USA submitted this review on March 27th 2010 at 12:56 PM. Chris is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Firm enough not to cause problems transfering onto it.
Being able to wash the cushion and the cover.
Weaknesses:Does not cushion my bony Butt.
Comments:I researched cushions extensively before deciding on one to purchase. I picked this cushion because of the ease in transfering onto it. It is basicly a comfortable cushion but I sit hard on the left side of my butt due to scoliosis and it does not hold up on that side. I spent close to $400. for something that does not work for me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
mary from raleigh, nc submitted this review on July 2nd 2008 at 05:50 PM. mary is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:1.comfortable for the long run
2.helps with positioning
3.washable in the washer - yes, the cushion
4.I had my first one five years (still good) and almost a year on this one on my new chair.
Weaknesses:1.the contour may not feel like it fits you at first but molds to you shortly once it gets your butt-print.
2.expensive upfront but then again it won't ever deflate, get hard or leak like gels can or feel lopsided, plus you can wash it.
Comments:this cushion was actually designed to FIT a human being's hiney! it is not flat (i have the contoured for a sling). it is cooler because it is open honeycomb so i don't sweat - a big problem for me. it keeps my legs properly positioned and i sit more upright.

the first couple of weeks the company said it might feel stiff while it is molding to your bum. i was so worried that i'd be sitting on a brick, but it felt great right off. It isn't "soft". it is firm but fits in all the right places like wearing clogs.

I am in my chair 24/7 (yes, really) so comfort is a HUGE factor and this cushion (as well as my first stimulite from my old chair) is really quite good. I haven't had a pressure sore since using this cushion.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Les from BC Canada submitted this review on February 10th 2006 at 01:47 AM. Les is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durable, comfortable, easily cleaned, good usability
Weaknesses:expensive and the zipper could be better quality
Comments:Best cushion I've ever used in 31 years. I've had it for about 10 years and it's still comfortable. (I have most of the sensation).
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Chrissy from Arnold Mo 63010 submitted this review on July 28th 2004 at 10:44 AM. Chrissy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This cushion provides a very firm sitting surface, which aids in propulsion and posture, yet it is very yielding at the same te. I will never own anything other ten a supracor cushion. I aso have the greatest siting tolorance with this cushion. It is very light. I also have a problem with my rear getting rather hot and sweaty with foam and gel cushions, and this helps immensly. If for whatever reason you need to make the cushion smaller, you will not destroy it if you cut it.
Weaknesses:The cushion does not last forever and eventually will need replacement, but the same can be said for almost any cushion. Because this cushion is flat, it may not be suitable for people with more of a need for positioning, but in the case you can get the contoured version of the cushion. they ae also one of he most expensive types of cushions out there.
Comments:If you are looking for an alternative to Gel and foam but dislike Roho cushions for whatever reason (I id not like them because they were too unstable) then try this type out.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Michelley from Fairfax, VA submitted this review on June 26th 2004 at 07:06 PM. Michelley is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:washability, antibacterial
Weaknesses:zipper on cover
Comments:The cushion itself is superb... it comes with a baggy to toss it in the standard clothes washer with - aterwards it dries quickly. The cusion is antibacterial which is great for your skin and general health if you have continence issues. I have two, and my only complaint is that the zipper is a bit stingy (mine broke).
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Tom from Nashville, Tn submitted this review on May 27th 2003 at 03:50 PM. Tom is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very, very, very light. The ability to just throw it into a washing machine for cleaning is great. I don't sweat nearly as much on this cushion as I did on my Jay cushion.
Weaknesses:I am a paraplegic with some sensation in my butt. For some reason the cushion starts feeling a little bit hard around half way into the day. I then have to switch to my old cushion for the rest of the day.
Comments:I haven't had any problems with sores on this cushion, although I don't use the cushion all day long. It is over a year old and still appears to be in good shape.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy