USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Teftec Omegatrac
Image of Teftec Omegatrac
All terrain power wheelchair.
• Front-wheel-driven
• transmission-steered powered wheelchair
• automotive 3-inch vertical travel suspension on all four wheels.
• Lifetime frame warranty and 5-year drive train warranty.
• When backed against a wall, it is 36.3 inches to the control box cover.
• The feet and footrests go in front of the cover to define the overall length, starting at 43 inches with small footplates.
• Narrowest powerbase width is 24.5 inches and takes up to 17-inch wide seats between the fenders. Next is 26.5 inches, which takes up to 19-inch wide seats between the fenders and 28.5 inch that takes up to 21-inch wide seats between the fenders.
• When using optional 4.00 x 8 high flotation tires, add 2 inches to these widths.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1320
Durability?4.315.000
Ease of use?4.624.500
Meet expectations?4.084.500
Overall Rating:3.774.500.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Jim from Duluth Minnesota United States submitted this review on September 14th 2014 at 11:55 AM. Jim is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:The OmegaTrac is a great wheelchair whether you live in the city or the country. I like the stability, air suspension and maneuverability of the OmegaTrac. It looks like a large chair but it's actually not. The outside dimension of the wheels is the outside dimension of your seat and that adds to stability and ease of entering buildings because the doors hit your tires and not your seat or your arms. Being front-wheel-drive the OmegaTrac is more maneuverable in tight spaces then my Rear wheel drive, Invacare Torque. Mine has tractor tires and is virtually unstoppable in snow and yard conditions. You do have to be careful in loose dirt and sand.
Weaknesses:This chair is advertised as being able to climb a 6 inch curb but mine will not do that unless you run into it which, is hard on the chair. I believe the electronics have something to do with this.

My chair will "overheat" and slow down or even stop climbing steeper grassy slopes but has plenty of power to climb any hard surface Hill.

This chair requires a lot of battery power and may not last the whole day of continued use.

Next mobility is horrible for service. After six years of use something went wrong with my steering and Next Mobility Was not very cooperative helping the company that I have service my chair. At this writing, I have been out of the OmegaTrac for four months because Next Mobility will not respond in a timely manner to my wheelchair company. Also, Next Mobility does not have a "service" manual for the OmegaTrac which causes service problems.
Comments:The OmegaTrac is a great wheelchair for all around use but the manufacture Next Mobility is horrible on the service side. For some reason they do not respond in a timely manner when issues occur. Despite Next Mobility terrible, terrible, untimely don't care attitude toward service I would consider purchasing another OmegaTrac unless something better came along.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
rick from findlay,ohio submitted this review on November 7th 2013 at 10:59 PM. rick is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:big chair. heavy chair, will go most any where. i feel my daughter is very safe in this chair..
Weaknesses:heavy to move ,parts good luck..i have manufactured stuff for this chair ..over and over. hard to get parts ..and if you do they are way over priced
Comments:when the company moved to Michigan it as if they don't want to sell chairs.. or help at all??? when the chair is down life sucks for us but they got there $$$ and they don't care .. my daughter is due for a new chair...so I believe we will be looking somewhere else. i like the chair but there customer service...just flat sucks
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Benjamin from Denver, Colorado, USA submitted this review on July 16th 2012 at 03:49 PM. Benjamin is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Maneuverability, longevity, strength.
Weaknesses:Weight, customer support or lack there of
Comments:This is only my second power chair but by far exceeds my old Ranger X storm. I have been able to go almost any where that I want. If executed properly this chair will easily hop up a curb where there is no cutout. If you are able to, I recommend having spare belts and other parts around for when neccessary.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
rick from findlay,ohio.usa submitted this review on May 25th 2012 at 12:49 PM. rick is a care giver who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:awsom chair
Weaknesses:???? it is a BIG chair
Comments:love it time to get another one ..
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Ed from Folsom, CA U.S.A. submitted this review on June 18th 2011 at 05:43 PM. Ed is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great boat anchor
Weaknesses:reliability
Comments:I've got close to $30,000 invested in my OmegaTrac wheelchair. That's my money, not an insurance company check. When it runs, it's a great chair. When it's broken down, no one really cares how long it takes for you to get it fixed. The company doesn't seem to understand how important our chairs are to us. I used to be a company rep. I fixed and modified chairs for new owners but they won't let me fix my own, only because I'm disabled. Never again.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ed from Folsom, CA submitted this review on June 18th 2011 at 05:26 PM. Ed is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:None anymore.
Weaknesses:Service. Standing behind the product.
Comments:Since the company was bought out by NextMobility a few years back, the product went into the toilet. I have always done my own service and repairs. I bought the chair with my money directly from the manufacturer. Now suddenly, they feel that just because I'm disabled I'm also stupid. I can buy any parts I need for a modern automobile but I can't buy parts from NextMobility BECAUSE I'm disabled. They want me to pay someone else to do what I can do. I wouldn't buy anything from this company ever again. Go for one of the better manufacturers.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Layne from Savannah, Ga. submitted this review on April 4th 2011 at 10:09 AM. Layne is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my second Omega wheelchair. It is indeed strong while traversing hills, small curbs, etc. The lay back system, although designed by laybac, fits nicely upon the Omega wheelchair. It is durable, terns great within small areas as well.
Weaknesses:The air packs leak constantly. Locating a qualified technician to work on many issues that might occur. For the elevated price, this chair should come with its own pit-crew. I would be satisfied just to find a qualified technician, anyone, to work on this chair that lives within one hundred miles of Savannah.
Comments:Overall, this is a good wheelchair, sturdy, and dependable. I would be satisfied if there were no air shocks whatsoever. Unless the air pressure is kept at Max, the ride and performance suffers. At Max, the pressure holds throughout a day and drops throughout the night; forcing more air to be put in them come morning, or before using the wheelchair again. If there could be someone to work on this chair, someone close, and the warranty stretched out longer, perhaps even two years, this would be another buying plus. Without another wheelchair to compare this wheelchair to, Omega is top of the line quality... with a few flaws.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Norm from Pocatello, Idaho USA submitted this review on July 22nd 2009 at 06:32 PM. Norm is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very strong running, fair on rough ground, good seat tilt. Good soft ride.
Weaknesses:The compressors seem to have problems and the plastic back is faulty, I have replaced it once and the replacement is already cracked. Poor parts dept. After it was worked on seemed to lose power.
Comments:I have replaced the air compressor, the back, the main power board. Parts were very expensive and the new owners very hard to deal with. Parts dept. very poor service and unwilling to work with me. Chair waranty good for 1000 hours or 1 year, At the time of the problems chair had only 600 hrs. but was slightly over year old. They refused to honor the warranty because of time limit. The price you pay for one of these they should last a little longer that that. Also inexperienced people in the field working on them can cause problems. This company has problems. The I would have to really think about going to the expense of buying another one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
bill from martinsville,IN submitted this review on August 24th 2008 at 01:12 AM. bill is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:off-road capabilities. adjustable pneumatic suspension. 'brute' 1st class tilt-seat. Can't believe where this chair goes comfortably. Injury - quadreplegic/function c7 level. That considered; have yet to spill-out/removed seatbelt..not needed. Chair is extremely fun. over-kill on materials and construction, a good thing. Lifetime wheelchair provided parts available. Personally haven't taken this chair to its limits, can't afford injury. Twenty-eight years in chair. Have had many...nothing compares to Omegatrac.
Weaknesses:weight-very heavy. Size-wide and long. Consider transportation issues; lift better pick-up 750+ lbs. Very concerned at recent sale of 'teftec' to 'next mobility'...no info available on internet. expensive - will have obstacles in purchasing through insurance or voc. rehab. size of chair dictates a roomy indoor environment...however-30'' doorways work for me with hinges that offset the door.
Comments:Chair is a 'must have', you'll love it!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mac from Pa National Forest submitted this review on November 17th 2007 at 05:02 PM. Mac is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great indoor but wonderful outdoor chair. Will climb steep grades with no problem, specially with tilt. Air suspension very comfortable. Strong, powerful chair
Weaknesses:Heavy. Parts take a long time to arrive.
Compressor box that lifts front and rear suspension has been replaced twice. No place for a cup holder.
Comments:I live in a National Forest and I can drive almost anywhere.
I have a lot of trust in this chair. I am Quadriplegic and go everywhere by myself, by chair in the forest. Dirt and gravel roads. Grass and snow. Climb really steep hills backwards.
Front wheel drive is the way to go. Leading with casters suck.
Use nylon tires. Black rubber tires leave floor marks.
2 years plus.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Larry from San Antonio, Texas submitted this review on April 6th 2007 at 03:16 PM. Larry is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great smooth ride, very strong with its excellent traction, very powerful when carrying extra weight, excellent ranged distance, and virtually maintenance free.
Weaknesses:This wheelchair is heavy.
Comments:If only they could shorten the distance from rear to front.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Gordon from Ohio submitted this review on January 25th 2007 at 11:13 AM. Gordon is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is extremely powerful and about everything on this chair is very durable. A very smooth ride with the air suspension and Good battery life.
Weaknesses:The only dislikes I have are the chair weighs alot and motors are a little noisy especially when turning, but that's not a big deal.
Comments:I live on a farm and have had this chair for almost 7 years and it's still going strong. I've taken this chair through fields, woods and about every kind of terrain and almost nothing will stop this chair (except deep mud and soft sand). The chair will not try to turn downhill when driving on an incline as most do, I have no worries when I am driving outdoors because it's safe and there are almost no limitations or boundaries. The air suspension is the smoothest ride you can get and the ability to lower the chair 3 inches lets you get your knees under most tables and have ample head clearance getting in and riding in vehicles. I still have the original batteries which I can get about 30 miles out of. The front wheel drive makes driving the chair indoors very manuverable. I've had several other chairs but the Omegatrac is the best all around indoor/outdoor chair i've tried. I would recommend this chair to anyone who needs a power wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Ed from Sacramento, CA submitted this review on April 10th 2006 at 06:35 PM. Ed is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Built like a tank. Able to climb steep grades and most curbs. This is a true off roadable wheelchair.
Weaknesses:None noted
Comments:I love this chair. This is true freedom to go where I was never able to go before.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Steve from Ishpeming, MI submitted this review on July 25th 2005 at 10:29 AM. Steve is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fantastic chair for outdoors and off-road. Great torque and the front-wheel drive allows the chair to easily climb over obstacles up to about 5" high. Excellent suspension. Even goes amazingly well in snow up to 6" deep. In 4+ years of heavy use everything still works perfectly.
Weaknesses:The chair is quite heavy and some mass-transit lifts struggle to lift it. It's cumbersome indoors and front-drive steering takes getting used to since it steers just like driving a car in reverse. I've never gotten more than about 8-10 miles from a full battery charge. The trade-off for the great torque is that the top speed is fairly slow.
Comments:If you want a wheelchair that you can take into the woods and fields, this is a great choice.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bruce from South Glens Falls, NY. United States submitted this review on February 26th 2002 at 09:43 AM. Bruce is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Incredibly durable offering the power of a lawn tractor, off-road ability of an ATV and the ride of a luxury car. It’s a wonderful chair indoors or out.
Weaknesses:The sheer bolt in the legrest will break rather easy although it takes only five minutes to replace.
Comments:My OmegaTrac has changed my entire lifestyle. I can go places and do things I never thought possible to do again. In my opinion the technology used in the OmegaTrac has made every other chair manufactured today antiquated and seriously lacking in abilities. Here are just a few of the things I can do with my chair. http://home.adelphia.net/~stoner3221/
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Β  Β 
Β 

Β 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy