USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Electric Mobility Rascal ConvertAble - 600T
Written by Carol
Sunrise Medical Quickie 2HP
Written by Al
Life Motors Tara
Written by Evan
Lifestand LSE
Written by Joanne
Pride Mobility Quantum Q600
Written by Alex
Alber E-motion
Written by Kris
Sunrise Medical Quickie Q7
Written by Karl
Permobil C500 Corpus
Written by Mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Donald
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Travis
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Tracabout IRV 2000
Image of Tracabout IRV 2000
Power all terrain tracked wheelchair.
• Length:49 1/2" with footrest down. 38" with footrest up.
• Width: 27".
• Weight:410 Lbs.
• Tuning Radius:Zero.
• Load Capacity:Up to 350 Lbs.
• PLUS. Speed (5 speeds):The speeds are programmable to a maximum of 3.5 Mph.
• Energy Source:24-Volt System (two 12-volt batteries).
• Maximum Incline:30 percent.
• Range:Approx. 5 to 12 miles, depending on terrain, weight of driver and battery condition.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews900
Durability?5.0000
Ease of use?4.8900
Meet expectations?5.0000
Overall Rating:4.670.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Fred from Placerville, California, USA submitted this review on August 29th 2012 at 01:34 PM. Fred is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I live on 120 acres of Sierra Nevada foothills, which is either up or down and covered with forest and brush. This chair gets me from our home on the canyon rim down 1,000 feet nearly to the river and back on an abandoned, overgrown logging road, and nearly everywhere else I want to go. Motors heat up after climbing steep grades for more than 20 minutes, and batteries run low after such a workout. But it has the power to easily get me up any steepness of grade. I keep someone with me when I go places I shouldn't - like extreme steep hills. I go in snow, mud, water up to 8" deep, sand and bash my way backwards through rotten logs, pushing aside smaller fallen trees. Parts are easy to replace by anybody who can turn a wrench. Made by great folks in Kansas in a small plant where they specialize in building wheat processing machines. I give my TracAbout a real beating, so even though it's tough, I've broken an axle, transmission gear and rear wheel from bashing into logs too hard. Extremely precise and easy to control - can ease through tight places without breaking things.
Weaknesses:Track comes off sometimes, mostly because I take places that are too steep sideways or turn on uneven terrain. Easy to get back on if I have a helper along to loosen the front bolts, roll it back on and tighten properly. Low ground clearance means I need to watch how I climb over rocky areas.
Comments:I've taken it in my van to many places across the USA (Yosemite was great!) and throughout Mexico - had no problems crashing through the jungles or doing dry and wet sand on Veracruz beaches. Has low center of gravity and I've never been dumped - yet! This chair has taken me places that NO wheelchair can go and I absolutely would be lost without it! This chair gets me outdoors and is great therapy!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Paul from Newbury, NH, USA submitted this review on July 6th 2011 at 11:51 AM. Paul is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Made in USA!
I have LGMD, cannot walk or stand, have enough strength to transfer from chair to auto, back to chair w/ assistance.
Goes anywhere. Too well sometimes.Very comfortable seat, so any rough ride is offset, if you want an all terrain chair a few bumps shouldn't bother you. The chair tilts back, even lets dentistry be done if Dr.'s office handycap friendly. Have steel War Surplus ammo box on footrest for xtr.storage yet rest still folds up, plus large pocket on back comes w/ chair for other items. In winter I have a large leather (ladies, but looks macho) saddlebag type purse on right armrest for all kinds of stuff, flashlite, tools,first aid kit, wallet etc.
The large footrest and superior traction allow me to put a bucket of sand between my feet and sand my driveway,with treads in full flat mode,even on black (glare)ice. The total tread surface contact is about 10x greater than most autos.For the mechanically inclined changing treads is not difficult. If properly adjusted will not come off if you check them occasionaly.
Can be scary at first when going up slopes etc. but you get used to it. Use your head or you may land on it.
Have done all repairs myself, except when nearby lightening strike blew electronics while still under warranty, Tracabout footed the cost.
Not a chair for lil'ol'ladies. lol
Great customer service so far.
Weaknesses:Very heavy, you have to watch people around you. It will make Donald Duck feet if foot gets run over.
'tis a tad slow.
Range is not the greatest either but so far no problem, never had a dead batt.
Comments:Not a piece of junk. Built solid takes a beating. I reccomend it whole heartedly.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Derrick from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada submitted this review on March 1st 2011 at 03:10 PM. Derrick is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:This winter in Canada we have had record snow falls. I've been through 18" drifts, never gotten stuck. It's truly amazing in snow. I've climbed very steep hills, no sign of tipping over.
Weaknesses:My only big complaint is it's so slow. I realize there's a trade off between speed and power and you can't have both.

Also due to the type of footrests it has and the seat being so far back getting on from the front is next to impossible. Getting on from the side is difficult too.
Comments:It's unreal in snow. I've rode past cars stuck in my condo parking lot like nothing. I have had guys try on purpose to get it stuck and they have. However if you drive it reasonably you won't get stuck. It seems to go over curbs well. One thing I've noticed is there's nothing to prevent you from flipping over backwards so be carefull climbing curbs. I learnt this the hard way! It's made out of metal no plastic. I added a small box behind my feet for my wallet, keys, phone, etc. I also added headlights, tie down rings. It's a great rugged chair. The only downside is it's so slow. It won't keep up to a person walking.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
m from WA submitted this review on February 24th 2011 at 12:48 PM. m is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good performance, goes where I point it regardless of obstacles. The smooth tracks do much better than most people think even in 8 inches of snow. Wet snow and ice on a grade are different. This offers a new level of freedom & some security.
My old chair(brand X) got stuck often causing long waits for help. It overheated and stalled eventually catching fire causing injury while completely destroyed.
Weaknesses:It is heavier but not all bad for traction. A little bit slower. It can ride rough.
Comments:This is a well thought out piece of equipment. It performs as advertised. It gets a lot of attention wherever I go. There are other chairs in the same category but this one meets a broader range of requirements. The weaknesses are far outweighed by what this chair can do.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
JR from Oologah, Ok US submitted this review on November 1st 2010 at 06:02 PM. JR is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Never tips over, never gotten stuck, never high centered like chairs with wheels. I own a horse ranch where I travel all over, sand, plowed arena with ease, grass pasture, wheat field, gravel, horse pens and more. Went to cancun, mexico to get married and honey moon. I got around every where nothing is set up for wheelchairs. Goes up curbs, steps, unlevel ground. I have tried the new permabile wheelchairs with frontwheel drive and I went back to my tank. My tank even fits in my minivan with a side ramp. I recomend it over any chair I've seen on the market. I've had it over 5 years and only had to replace the batteries and the tread about once a year.
Weaknesses:There are some weakness i found in cancun, mexico on the beach don't drive over the wet sand. It got all balled up in the tracks because the sand is real fine. And its hard to load onto planes due to the weight but other than that its goes anywhere. It does eventuly losen up your carpet where you turn alot. One way we did was to not put any padding down and glue it to the floor, works great. The tracks can slip off at times so you need to keep checking the tightness of them cause over time the tracks do stretch out. Its rougher riding than a chair with wheels but I only have partial head control and I can with stand it.
Comments:Oval all I wouldn't trade it for nothing. Plan on putting headlights on it next with a duel cigarette plug in for a fan, electric blanket, massage, ect.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Eric from rapid city sd usa submitted this review on September 25th 2008 at 02:04 AM. Eric is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:go just about anywhere. optional cleated trax and you might find your self in trouble lol.
Weaknesses:side slopes you really have to watch so the tracks dont slip off.
lots off maintenance and track adjustment
Comments:great product to get your sence of independence back
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Eddie from Mckinney texas submitted this review on December 28th 2006 at 10:56 PM. Eddie is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:EVERYTHING.
Weaknesses:speed and ride
Comments:I seem to have forgot to mention that it is EXTREMELY capable indoors as well.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Eddie from Mckinney Texas USA submitted this review on December 28th 2006 at 10:50 PM. Eddie is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair will go about anywhere. The Tracabout IRV 2000 that I ordered has smooth tracks and and can go up hills and through mud that other chairs would not make, including the X5. I have even stopped at different points on hills and in mud to see if I could start again, I did with no track spin at all on the hill, but it did spin in the mud, but i got out on my own. It is an EXTREMELY DURABLE CHAIR. I have not had to do any maintenance on it.
Weaknesses:Rough ride, and slow. But there is NO OTHER WEAKNESS.
Comments:This chair is the most Durable and dependable chairs that I have used and seen on the market today. I have been in 30-35 mph. wind and driving rain creating washes 6-10 inches deep with no protection over any part of the connections behind the Tilt and Recline seat, and it did not even phase the chair. I have gone up and down 6" curbs with no problems, (I STRONGLEY SUGGEST GOING AT A 45 DEGREE ANGLE with curbs that steep). I have used it in 100-110 degree Texas summers with no sign of overheating with extended use in the summers. To sum it up, the chair is a BEAST, designed and built to last as well as take on any conditions and get the operator home safely. There is one last thing, it should be ordered with Group 27, 97-100 ahr. batteries.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Don from Newbury Park, Calif. submitted this review on February 1st 2005 at 08:31 PM. Don is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair works very well in all-terrains! It is manueverable in the house and the chair can almost move sideways. I ride it right up into my van, transfer into the drivers seat and go. When I get to the beach the TracAbout will easily go through the softest sand and up the steepest hill. I took it to the snow and rode it several miles into the mountains. After 5 years the only maintance was a two minute tightening of the tracks.
Weaknesses:NONE!
Comments:I love this wheelchair it changed my life.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy