USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
21st Century Scientific, Inc. Bounder Plus H-Frame
Image of 21st CENTURY SCIENTIFIC, INC. Bounder Plus H-Frame
Rear wheel drive power electric wheelchair.
• For users up to 250 lbs; it can be configured for speeds in excess of 9 mph.
• For users up to 500 lbs (or who are tough on equipment or want more speed.
•16" to 20" seat widths in 1" increments (12" to 15" available.
•Durable H-style TIG welded frame using 2.5"x1.5"x0.125" wall steel.
•Top speeds up to 11.6 MPH (18.7 kph).
•Super Torque 3 Motors & Brakes (ST3M&B.)
•Quiet non-slip Panther synchronous gearbelt drive.
•Sliding dual group 27 battery box with safety reflectors.
•UE1D premium electronics (6 programs with bi-directional select switch).
•Built in taillights
•Electric brake control (Drive Chair / Set Brakes).
•Battery condition meter
•Smart brake release switch.
•Heavy duty 12 position adjustable suspension forks.
•Super Duty caster barrels and suspension forks (5/8" fork stems & bearings ID's).
•9"x3.50" metal caster wheels •12.75" x 4.00" steel rear wheels.
•0.120" wall seat rails and back posts.
•Black powder coated frame.
•Super Duty sling upholstery (double liner, cap and web strap under every screw).
•Sling upholstery attached with machine screws.
•Quick adjust clutches (combination belt tensioner and belt release mechanism).
•Detachable desk length arms •Reinforced arm mounts.
•Anti-tipping wheelie wheels.
•Fully automatic 8A Dual Mode charger.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1901
Durability?4.1605.00
Ease of use?3.8905.00
Meet expectations?3.5305.00
Overall Rating:3.580.005.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Curt from Indiana, PA submitted this review on November 11th 2016 at 05:22 PM. Curt is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I don't know of another chair on the market, as well built and engineered to have minimal framing and moving parts. This chair is as durable as needed or more so than needed for any use someone using it would need.
I was originally looking for a track style chair, yet gave the Bounder Plus "H" frame with knobbies a try to see how well it would do would in an off road situation. The first thing I noticed was how the chair must be kept moving to use maximum agility and power. This includes traction for off road use also. Then it didn't take long to realize how tracks would take so much more power and speed comparatively, relating then to battery reserve. We all know how it sucks to run out of power, let alone off road. After a week or so, I figured out how to maximize it's full capabilities to navigate thru fields, up moderate hills(being safe!)and wet mud. Once the snow came, I was so surprised to find I could go through about 4-6" of snow. I think snow is my favorite thing to ride though except for the cold. I am a real fan of the Bounder Plus "H" frame, and I have the rear suspension which adds to a nice ride. I am fortunate to have an indoor chair and the Bounder for outdoor use. If I had my way, I'd have two Bounders and use one for indoors also. It's nimble, sits lower which I prefer over the mid wheel drive. I also notice how much smaller of a footprint the Bounder takes up in a vehicle vs the std., popular, mid drive chair.
Weaknesses:I suppose not having a dealership as close as I like, would be something I don't like. I have the one piece foot plate which is build like a piece that would be on a tank!, heavy and safe, but a little lighter wouldn't hurt. Maybe some weight could be lost yet it's better than the wider two single foot plates. I really don't have comments regarding negatives or weaknesses.
Comments:If you are considering a track chair or something claiming to be good outdoors or off road, please find a Bounder dealer and hopefully take a test drive. Otherwise look over all the specifications and nothing has been stretched or misrepresented. The motors on this chair are definitely the real deal or high performance. I've had my chair for almost two years now and have only replaced the batteries! I've not had one issue besides!! These chairs are built the way we would only dream of a chair being. If we must be chaired, this is the way to go. This chair is for an active "wheeler" that can respect the limits of what we are still able to do safely. This is not a chair to get an elderly person unless they are fully sharp enough to fully control this chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Michael from Woodstock, Ga. USA submitted this review on May 25th 2016 at 01:29 PM. Michael is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have been a quad for 34 years and most of those years I was in a Quickie. Quickie is a great chair, however I needed torque and suspension to get around on my new mountain property. The Bounder has given me these features and more. It's built rock solid, it hauls butt, and it's worth every penny. In addition, their post-support is awesome.
Weaknesses:I really haven't found many weaknesses in the build itself. I have difficulty moving in tight spaces - but i opted for the huge front wheels and casters which hinder my ability to move as easily as before but that's a personal preference.
Comments:David and his team at 21st Century are absolutely THE BEST - bar none! They listen, ask questions and research until they find a solution. I recommend this product to anyone needing a wheelchair and wants the features of an ATM 4 wheeler!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Bill from Kingman, Arizona submitted this review on July 21st 2014 at 11:38 AM. Bill is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I'm 30 years post injury, C5-6 and have only used a powerchair for the past 2-3 years. This is the first powerchair I've had measured to fit and ordered the features I wanted. I did a ton of research prior to ordering, so I knew what was going to work for me and what wasn't.
Through the entire, very long process (15 months) of getting my insurance to cover the cost, 21st Scientific was great to work with and responded quickly to every email or phone call.
I selected the right features for my needs and lifestyle, like tilt/recline, lithium batteries, suspension and chain drives. I believe it's the off road model except for the large balck knobby tires.
I've used the chair for almost two months and have to say overall it's everything I expected and then some.
The speed and power are awesome for me at work when I'm on job sites tarveling over dirt, hills and mud. It's also very convenient around the office and my house.
While it took a few days to become accustomed to the joystick, I found it to be very easy to control inside and out. There's no fluttering of casters, the ride is smooth even at high speed and I'm more comfortable than I've been in years.
Construction of this chair is astounding. It's so solid and tight I see no problems ahead.
Weaknesses:Not many weaknesses in this chair. I had to move the charging port closer to the front of the chair frame to where I could see to plug in the charger. Living alone, I need to be able to maintain everything on my own and trust that the chair isn't going to stop working.
One inconvenience for me is the armrest has the tilt/recline control box mounted directly to it. This means when I try to remove the armrest, the cable keeps it from clearing the chair. It's unavoidable due to the need for the control box and switches but it remains a hassle for me. I may look to relocate this control box if possible.
Comments:Overall, I'm thrilled with this chair. Getting this chair approved my insurance took 3 appeals, a face to face meeting with the insurance company Board of Directors and 15 months of debating with them. But it was worth every bit of hassle and should I need another powerchair in the future, Bounder will be my go-to chair for sure.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Glenn from Arcola middle of nowhere, IL USA submitted this review on December 13th 2012 at 10:35 PM. Glenn is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Heavy duty steel construction. Dependable with long range, plenty of torque and speed. Sometimes you may need to sacrifice a little speed for torque, but 9.1 mph the slowest speed option is still getting there quick. Excellent first name basis customer service. Rear wheel drive so no wobbles in full speed, if so just tighten the caster stem bolt a little. Easy to work on with self diagnostics. Speed can be controlled with 6 different pre programmed combinations even while moving. Totally customizable seating combinations and customizations. My dentist can even drive it out of the way in slow speed or free wheel it with the flip of a switch.
The only problems I encountered using it outdoors was sand and deep mud, but it works fine in my yard even with 8 inch front casters. The 13" scissor seat rise is invaluable for transfers, getting in my cabinets, at the store, watching a race from the second row while seated in the first, and in my garage. It is made with solid 1" bar steel not cheap tubing. The extra weight is worth piece of mind knowing it won't break. I can also drive the chair in the raised position slowly and it is very stable. You won't any find plastic parts or gears in the drive train, you can go from full speed forward with the joystick to full speed reverse to stop on a dime without worrying about tearing something up. I have been using this chair for 7 1/2 years in and out of the house with no problems. Presently waiting for my 6th chair with suspension and hopefully lithium batteries for even longer range and less battery maintenance. Kudos to 21st Century for a great chair made and well built in the USA, not just assembled in the US.
Weaknesses:Won't make breakfast or pay the bills.
Comments:I am a quadriplegic and this is my 5th Bounder since 1990 the chairs are dependable and speedy. I live in the middle of nowhere and the closest wheelchair tech is 50 miles away. My theory is keep it simple based on tried and true but evolving technology. I have been using power chairs for over 30 years, starting with a Everest & Jennings 3W which ate motors and gears for breakfast. I have had one motor failure which was my own fault, and 2 electronics problems which were easily solved in the past 22 years of use with only a total of about 2 weeks down time. Bounders are so easy to work on you can almost take it to a car dealer. In fact my wife and I changed out some failing potentiometers in the joystick in about 20 minutes with no wheelchair tech needed, just a little mechanical knowledge. I also had 1 weld failure but my Father and I removed 4 bolts, unplugged the electronics, took it to a welding shop and I was back up and running in 4 hours. All the wires are color coded and labeled so no rocket science in putting it back together.
The extra reinforced footrests are almost indestructible and it's easy to open doors with the rollers (also a wall and furniture saver). Parts are readily available through the company and can be shipped to your home.
The customer service is on a first name basis unlike mass producers and excellent in getting the problem solved. When initially ordering a chair they will work closely with you to find what best suits your needs. The company has been building chairs long before most of the others were even thought of. Everyone's dream chair in the early 80's was an Everest & Jennings with 21st century motors and battery boxes. A tech that was working on my chair a couple years ago commented I should use a newer technology chair, my answer to him was if it ain't broke and works I'm not going to change. 21st Century Bounder H frame gets a big thumbs up from me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Dwight from Kenyon Minnesota USA submitted this review on April 21st 2012 at 04:47 PM. Dwight is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Heavy duty frame
Weaknesses:Your sitting position is tilted back at its lowest point making it difficult to reach forward to drain urine bag or do bench work.
The controller was highly over rated by the company. The weight balance puts too much weight over front wheels making turns difficult. Black wheels leave a mess with the least little water on the floor. Switches for selecting drive mode are of the cheapest design. Controller is shape in such a way that you are constantly smashing your fingers when close to counters or walls. Tires aren't available in flat free design. Chain Keeps coming off. the turnbuckle pops open alowing the chain to fall off. Companies answer was a velcro strap to put around turnbuckle release. Slow speed switch for recline, never worked. Companies answer was to disable the switch(so much for safety). Constantly switching drive modes for different terrains or functions. Batteries drain fast if you are on soft ground(so much for off road uses)
Comments:I have had several types of wheelchairs over the years from front drive,, to rear drive and mid drive. This has been by far the worst chair I have ever been in. Since recieving it, I have gone thru the repairs for my old permobil chair and this one has the notorious title of "Used seldom, Dusted often"
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Jason from SoCal. CA, USA submitted this review on January 29th 2012 at 03:58 PM. Jason is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is custom built out of steal and is strong. This chair is fast and powerful and the battery last a long time. It can ride over 40 miles per charge which is awesome on vacations when there is no AC outlet to chair a dead battery. You have many seating options for a comfort fit. This chair is durable and can last a long time because it's not made of plastic parts which age and crack.
Weaknesses:None so far.
Comments:This is custom power chair and can't be compared to the cheap mass production power chair you see everywhere. It's made to last and the company stands by it's product and knows it's costumers by name. If there is an issue which is rare in my experience they have excellent customer support and will overnight a part needed to get you moving again.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
JB from Florence, AL, USA submitted this review on September 18th 2009 at 03:48 PM. JB is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I use a chin control, and I have to say it is the fastest chair that I've had.

Speed
Durable
After practice, it handles great
Weaknesses:It is all up the user.

No Chin Cup
Jerky if not programmed for your needs
Hills
Price
Comments:It is great with time.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Craig from Silver Spring, MD submitted this review on June 22nd 2009 at 09:57 AM. Craig is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fast, leg rest has few pressure points, safety bumpers on foot plate, joy stick programmable by user, nice lights, horn, wide wheels,large battery
Weaknesses:defect in power leg rest(aluminum parts easy to break), belts easily lose tightness,chair not good in rain(too many electrical components exposed), wires from factory not long enough, no tie down points for transport (see new storm), power seat does not recline back far enough, no flashers/key (see new scooter), no rear suspension for large battery package, hard to find knowledgeable mechanic, customer service needs improvement
Comments:my 4th (new) powerchair in 6 years. I ride them far and long and they told me this is the most reliable. That's yet to be seen. So far have replaced the rear right tire/rim, sprocket, axle, joystick, wiring connector crushed under seat, wiring harness fell off during travel. Currently waiting for right front headlight, left/right belts (already), and a piece to the power leg rest which has to be fabricated. Due to lack of follow-up by customer service I missed "FATHER'S DAY DINNER" waiting for parts. This chair does attract attention and is costly, would be nice if had a key to prevent theft (lrge cities). Shame have to compromise and choose small battery if you want rear suspension versus large battery (no) suspension. 1st & last bounder for me
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Bill from Sacramento, CA submitted this review on May 20th 2009 at 09:25 AM. Bill is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durable and fast with lots of power.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:On my third Bounder and love it. Would recommend it to anyone.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Tim from Boston submitted this review on April 25th 2008 at 12:16 PM. Tim is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Owned this chair for 7 years and have not had to do anything to it except minor maintenance. It goes like a bat out of H---. I will be a Bounder user for life.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Fast, Fast, Fast.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Tom from Seattle, WA submitted this review on April 25th 2007 at 12:19 AM. Tom is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fast and durable.
Weaknesses:None.
Comments:Excelent Chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Fred from Ohio submitted this review on January 24th 2007 at 10:31 AM. Fred is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fast and powerfull motors. Sturdy frame.
Weaknesses:Very rough ride. Loud brakes. Hard to control on hilly surfaces.
Comments:I use my chairs in a rural area and wanted this chair for the speed and power. However, with no rear suspension it rides extremely rough, I would definetly get the suspension option. Also at top speed the front casters vibrate so you have to slow down. Right from the factory it was hard to control and needed programed but was still difficult to control, especially on hilly surfaces. I probably wouldn't recommend this chair to a quadriplegic who needs an outdoor chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Dan from Minneapolis, Minnesota submitted this review on April 23rd 2006 at 07:28 PM. Dan is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is very fast. Unfortunately with the small tires that come with the H frame it does not go through much at all. In addition, the ride is very rough. When I got my chair they did not have suspension as an option. It may be worth getting
Weaknesses:As noted above,the ride is very rough. In addition, I have had a number of problems with pulleys (gears). It has not been very reliable. In addition I have not had very good luck with communications with the manufacturer. Unless you simply want speed, I would not recommend this chair. Also, the chair is very heavy.
Comments:Not worth the high price. I would think twice about getting this chair, in particular the H frame.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
John from Pawtucket,RI submitted this review on July 7th 2005 at 02:46 AM. John is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:VARIOUS SPEEDS
SAFTY FEATURES - HORN,TAIL LIGHTS,HEAD LIGHT
GOOD SHOCKS,SMOOTH RIDE
Weaknesses:BELTS STRETCH
GEAR BOX SLIPS AND IS DANGERIOUS.YOU CAN'T STOP
GOING DOWN HILLS.
Comments:Limited Warranty
Replacement parts very costly
Manufacturer is hard line
Poor Investment,you can buy a new car
with 100,000 miles parts.labor
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
David from Sacramento submitted this review on May 8th 2005 at 06:18 PM. David is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair has excellent speed, and is built quite sturdily. The other reviewers have covered the strengths quite well. The panther belts are effective in dealing with the problems of wet weather, and the range that I get out of a battery charge is more than sufficient to my needs.
Weaknesses:While in the main the chair is well built, in some respects it is quite shoddy. The panther belts, are linked to the motor via a pair of cheap plastic gear cogs that were worn smooth after only 1 year of use. The chair was quite expensive, in excess of $17,000, each set of belts that the worn gears caused cost $120 per pair, and the replacement gears were around $300. I have no idea how much the plastic ones that were used originally cost, but if I had known that they were plastic when I bought the chair I would have replaced them immediately and saved myself a lot of money.

In additon, calling the manufacturer resulted in a report from them that "...you must have the belts too tight". This despite the fact that others have reported this problem to them. When I this pointed out, the technician I spoke to acknowledged that plastic was inappropriate for the amount of wear the gears are subjected to. All in all, it was a very upsetting and disappointing experience.
Comments:This is the second Bounder I have bought. I had an old one purchased in 1991 that is still somewhat useable, although the electronics are no longer working as well as might be desired. While I am quite angry at 21st Century for the shoddiness of their work, I still recommend the chair. I would stongly suggest, however, that purchasers regard what they are getting carefully. And, replace the plastic gears as soon as you get the chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Linda from Blacksburg, SC, USA submitted this review on November 29th 2004 at 10:27 PM. Linda is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power, stability, group 27 batteries, very easy to program thru the joystick. This wonder chair powers me up steep slopes with confidence, and has equal control going back down.
Weaknesses:Lack of suspension system, can be a rough ride on uneven surfaces. Cheesy, small plastic joystick ball, cracked and came off in mid-intersection of a busy street.
Comments:This is my 2nd power chair,I have had it almost 18 months and I absolutely love this chair. It lets me be totaly independent again living in a hilly rural area. The joystick programing is so easy, and has the ability to have 6 different programs to handle almost any speed/power needs that I have. It is easy to change programs on the fly, so crossing a 6 lane intersection is a breeze. The group 27 batteries are a blessing, I can ride all day,useing my power seat riser and have plenty of power left in them to ride another day with out having to charge them. Oh, and the power seat riser, I chose the scissor lift system over the standard post style. You get a full 13 inch lift with it, what a difference it makes, all the way to the top shelf of my cabnets. This is the chair I hope to have for many years to come!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
John from Morristown,TN USA submitted this review on July 7th 2004 at 01:27 AM. John is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:very well engineered frame AND electronics,fast,lotsa torque,many extras,elevate,tilt both EXTREMELY well engineered, most durable,well built chair on the market, keep legrest adjusters loose to avoid bending frame on ANY CHAIR, common sense aids in all things in life feel free to contact me if questions
Weaknesses:expensive,as is anything in med field, heavy but this is small price to pay for such durability.
Comments:even better than I expected!! super chair!! I have been in mechanical repair and fabrication fields all my life, I know this is a well designed chair. wanted one for 8 years finally bought it myself from ebay,would recommend to anyone who is hard on chairs and live in hilly rough terrain as I do, use tubed tires and keep just a bit low for shock absorbing ability, worked for me for 8 years on all chairs and saves wear and tear on yer body!! I have STM3B motors, tilt,elevate UE1D electronics,lights,horn, brakes etc, got the full Monty here and super pleased
can program 16 different programs through joystick yourself w/o external programmer!!! with UE1D electronics PS I AM HARD TO PLEASE ALSO..
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Ralph from Salt Lake City submitted this review on February 3rd 2004 at 06:24 AM. Ralph is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Strong frame
Weaknesses:Belt driven-If belts get wet they slip.
Foot Rest - If foot rest hits a solid object such as a curb, it can bend the frame which makes the armrest difficult to remove.
Electrical connectors unplug easily.
Ride is very rough, especially if the airless insert is used. Recomend air tires.
Comments:I have over 6,000 miles on my chair and I use it but not abuse it. I am an active person and now I find I must tinker on the chair almost weekly to keep it in working order. I have had to beef up the frame around the legrest to keep the frame from bending when the footrest gets caught when going through curb cutouts or other dips where the footrest may come into contact with the ground or a solid object.
For a less active person this chair would more than last a lifetime but if your really active be prepared to do a lot of repairs. Above all else, carry plenty of spare belts and they are not cheap and can be bought only through 21st Century!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
George from Modesto, Ca. USA submitted this review on December 10th 2003 at 12:58 PM. George is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is extremely fast and durable. It is well built in every way possible.
Weaknesses:The biggest weakness this chairhas, would be the ride. It does fine on very smooth terrain, but if the terrain is uneven, prepare for an extremely bumpy ride. This chair doesn't have any suspension.
Comments:If you can handle the bumpy ride, this chair is for you. Speed and durability are its trademark.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Brendan from Pittsburgh, Pa. USA submitted this review on August 30th 2003 at 01:26 PM. Brendan is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The Bounder is a very fast and powerfull wheelchair. It appears to handle hills and rough and uneven terrain very well. The parts and components appear to be very well built and are visibly much more substantial than those you see on most other wheelchairs.
Weaknesses:It is an expensive wheelchair and any special modifications are also expensive. The durability though may offset the added expense. The stability of the user is important. This wheelchair can take off fast and there is not much that will slow it down.
Comments:I haven't had much exposure to this chair, but from what I have observed so far it would appear to be a good chair for active users who have some difficult terrain or long distances to cover, and for active bariatric users.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by 21st Century Scientific, Inc.
Big Bounder
Big Bounder H-Frame
Bounder
Bounder Plus
Bounder Plus Folding
Similar products (Rear Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
320 PC
320 PC
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
Adaptachair
B500
B600
Bounder
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
Compact
Conquer
Conqueror LY-EB203)
Conqueror LY-EB206
Dassie 200M
Elyps
Excite
Gazelle 250s
Go Chair
Go Chair
Hp 4
HPS
HS-5600
Hub Motor Drive XML10D
Jazzy Z-Chair
Kernow
Lancer 2000
Leader
Liber-T
Liberty
Mambo Mini
Mambo Standard
Model No. 08 02 02A&B
Model-No.-08-02-01A-D
Moto Standard
Neo
NUD Elevating
Power Carechair
Power Rider Indoor
Power Rider Outdoor
PWC 2200
PWC 2300
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Quickie P-222 SE
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie S525
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Rascal 250 Pc
Rascal 410 Pc
Rascal 415 Pc
Rascal 445 Pc
Roller M1
S-6 Series
Select Traveller
Series 6
Street
Sunfire General
Sunrise LS
Supertrans
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Tilite SXP
Tilite XP
Tracer
Traveller LY-EB103
Trooper
V 100
Wheeltech Budget 16
Wildcat
Zenit 4000
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy