USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Da Vinci Wheelchairs Power Trike
Image of Da Vinci Wheelchairs Power Trike
Power trike add on for manual wheelchairs.
Front Wheel: 20 inch to overcome rough terrain and double skinned to facilitate dual braking.
Frame manufactured from 7005 aircraft grade light weight aluminium.
Range: 15-20 miles on one full charge*.
11 mph (17 km/h) with a 90kg rider*.
Battery, sealed lead acid gel - maintenance free (recharges in 1-4 hours).
Dual Twin calliper brakes, right hand with park facility, left hand brake (not shown) with power cut out facility.
150 watt power output brush motor.
Turning Circle, within 1.35 metre radius.
Weight without battery 11Kg.
Weight with battery 18Kg.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews911
Durability?2.785.005.00
Ease of use?3.335.004.00
Meet expectations?2.785.005.00
Overall Rating:2.444.005.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Keith from Lochgilphead,Argyll,Scotland submitted this review on September 29th 2012 at 10:11 AM. Keith is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Its a powered wheelchair that looks cool.

Great for EX-biker wife.
Weaknesses:150 watt motor is a little weak for the hills.

No reverse!

Have been informed that the electrics can give problems (we've had none yet!)
Comments:Ebay purchase two years ago, still using origonal battery's and
getting around 8-12 miles from each.
Absolutely brilliant.

My wife has DYSTONIA and the powertrike has allowed her to go out again.
Could do with some suspension as it jarrs you a little at speed.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Stuart from United Kingdom submitted this review on March 14th 2008 at 08:52 AM. Stuart is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:How can I complain about the Powertrike? I suffer with Multiple Sclerosis and it is one of the Best things I have brought. I can go to the shop in it. I can get into town in it. As a matter of fact I am doing a charity run in mine. Over 100 mile in 2 to 3 Days and I have been pledged 2,593.00 pounds thats how much faith I have in mine. Spot on. Good on ya PDQ.
Weaknesses:No weaknesses really if you have upperbody strength to put it to gether no probs, But even my wife helps me put it together as well.
Comments:PDQ Cracking piece of gear and I am not looking back, Thanks for giving me independance back. Spot on Power triking allthe way. Check my webblogg out http://meatball100.spaces.live.com or typeStu's Quest in a google search.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mary from Newcastle upon Tyne submitted this review on April 24th 2007 at 03:21 AM. Mary is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have only the wheelchair part of the trike but i am looking into getting the power front part.
Weaknesses:The wheelchair does not have extened foot plates.
Comments:I too find the biggest problem with pdq is the human side. When i was looking into buying the trike pdq prommised that an engineer would come and fit the wheelchair to my requirements, this they did not do. This was left to a neighbour. They prommised me footplate extensions, this turned out to be a large piece of metal plating bolted onto the orgiginal footrest. this was replaced by a smaller piecve of metel. now they say they will redesigne the footplate......i am now waitng for this.....|you are right, getting anything done bu pdq is like pulling teeth...in my opion, keep well away.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Robert from Chesterfield submitted this review on April 17th 2007 at 06:18 AM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good on the flat or downhill.
Weaknesses:Battery packs unreliable. Had 3 batteries in 12 months. Need good upper body strength to dismantle and reassemble. Even when dismantled difficult to fit into the back of a Volvo Estate car.
Comments:The worst purchase I ever made since buying a second-hand Triumph Herald in the 1960's. Numerous 'phone calls to PDQ - they make lots of promises, but fail to deliver.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
David from Herts, UK submitted this review on January 11th 2006 at 03:58 PM. David is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:What a great concept. I couldn't live without one now. Was a joy to own for first 6 months or so.
Weaknesses:Battery performance declining steadily. I didn't expect to have so much trouble with it. Components seems a bit on the cheap side -- I think the hub and controller are made in far east. I have since seen another trike that uses a heinzman hub -- for less money too. hmm. Service was pretty poor when trying to get support for battery.
Comments:I want a new power trike. Although I will shop around before commiting. I have read in other forums that the Viper from teamhybrid is worth a look. Happy triking!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
mark from cleveland, ohio usa submitted this review on September 15th 2005 at 12:27 PM. mark is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:easy to install and use
Weaknesses:ive burn out the power control board 2 times now and getting parts for pdq is like pulling out my hair very painfull thier csr's are not well educated and the parts cost are outrageous..
Comments:its a nice unit when it works right very durable the batt's last a long time and the speed is OK 11mph they claim but its more like 8-9 mph
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Terry from corry, pa submitted this review on July 8th 2004 at 07:19 PM. Terry is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:great for getting around town, going up hills, wood areas...only suggest don't go wooded areas alone to be safe...the pt is suggested to be used by paras and such...however i'm a low level quad limited hands but fair upper body strength...i have little trouble if any attaching pt to chair....by myself.
Weaknesses:as for batteries, they have never gone dead on me yet, knock on wood. the bad...for me is the battery case itself, do to limited hand funtion...the handle to case is so narrow, i cannot fit my hand thru it to pick up battery pack barely get my fingers thru....solution i use a piece of looped rope to pick it up.
Comments:as for those whose speedometer stops working such as mine have, every now and then it is usual do to the pickup on the fork is out of whack and does not make contact with the little magnetic attach to the spoke...
can these product be made better, of course what one can't be.
as for lazy people like myself....i'd like to see a reverse switch added...if the motor itself is capable.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
herbert from derby, england submitted this review on May 18th 2004 at 01:46 PM. herbert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:for the fisrt six months great distance speed. Allowed me to go out with my children cycling. Was able to go round town with wife new independence.
Weaknesses:After the first six months things went from bad to worse!!!!! Distances became a problem I am lucky to get 5-7 miles from a batt. Speed reduced gradually and finally it failed to work at all. Over the last 2 years it has spent more time in the workshop than here and when it has been here it has failed to work at all. Heavy and need assistance to fit which can be problematic.
Comments:There seems to be little knowledge about the mechine by the supplieries and I was informed that the manufacturer has gone out of business and therefore I have to relay on the trike being fixed by suppliers as opposed to having had a new one to replace the original fault. VERY FRUSTRATING !!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Anna Pettman from Southampton UK submitted this review on February 7th 2004 at 09:34 AM. Anna Pettman is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good for excercising my dog, will go over rough ground (although not as easily as the iGlide)
Weaknesses:Batteries wear out quickly, they have paticular problems with hills. I have a lot of upper body strength and I can't attach it to my chair alone its very frustrating when I bought this for independance.
Comments:The customer service from PDQ is terrible, I'm really unhappy with my trike and I've been trying to sort it out for 18 months with no sucess.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Paul from Albany, OR, USA submitted this review on January 29th 2004 at 07:51 PM. Paul is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ability to tackle different types of terrain -- grass, dirt, firm sand, a shredded bark pathway. It came with an excellent setup video on VHS tape.
Weaknesses:Putting the front power wheel on or taking it off requires some strength -- it usually takes some assistance. The bicycle speedometer has stopped working.
Comments:This device is excellent. I have a Quickie GPV with narrow high-performance tires, which limits it to pavement only. With the Power Trike much more can be taken on. I've gone camping, spent some time on the beach, gone blueberry picking, towed my 12 year-old son on his skateboard around the park.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Robie from Newport, RI submitted this review on December 31st 2003 at 01:10 PM. Robie is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Utility - train, planes, automobiles
Contruction/design - brillant design, beautifully built
Function- follows form - no transfer required -fast,stable, comfort
Weaknesses:Need upper body strength to independenty attach
Speed - even at very respectable 11 mph (25mph dwn hill) want more.
Batteries - you get 400 miles per set ($115 repacement cost)nmhd better, but too expensive.
Comments:I have been 800 miles on my PT. The best invention since the light weight chair. I have taken mine to FL, Alaska, Las Vegas. Great in airports.Easy store in car trunks. I could not life without my PT !
Beats a scooter hands down. Very reasonable prive at $1900 all up.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy