USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Hoveround MPV 4
Written by CJ
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Rick
Tzora Active Systems Easy Travel
Written by Ron
Permobil Street
Written by Justin
Teftec Omegatrac
Written by Jim
Pride Mobility Jazzy Select
Written by HOLLY
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by sandra
Pacesaver Eclipse
Written by Gary
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Chris
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by Paul
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Invacare Pronto M51 with SureStep
Image of INVACARE Pronto M51 with SureStep
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
• SureStep technology allows for driving over thresholds and transitions up to 2" in height.
• 6 wheels on the ground provide optimum stability.
• Medium Back van seats and flip-up adjustable-height and width arms.
• Turning Radius: 19.5" overal turning radius.
• Electronic Options: MKIV-RII (full programmability).
• Speed: Maximum speed of 3 mph.
• Charger: 3 amp (on-board).
• Product Weight Capacity: 300-lb. user weight capacity.
• Incline Capability: 9 degrees. • Warranty: Base frame: 60 months
Seat frame: 60 months. Electronics: 12 months. Motor/gearbox: 12 months.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1231
Durability?3.174.674.00
Ease of use?4.174.335.00
Meet expectations?2.254.675.00
Overall Rating:2.084.004.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Judy from Junction City, Ks. USA submitted this review on July 2nd 2014 at 09:03 AM. Judy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I honestly can't think of any. I hate this chair with a passion. The shocks are worthless and I am lucky if I can go 10 blocks before it needs a charge. The M-51 had a joystick recall which I was never told about by Hatfield Mobility out of Wichita, Ks. The joystick has been replace 3 times and still isn't working right.The batteries have been replaced at least 3 times and now Hatfield is acting like I'm a liar just because they come over and ride around in it for 15-20 minutes and of course it works just great for them.
Weaknesses:This chair is a piece of junk, vinyl is falling apart, footstool falls off, loses power when the batteries get low, which is all the time. Now I'm told by Hatfield I should have charged it at least 14-18 hours a day? Never again will I deal with Invacare or Hatfield Mobility in Kansas.
Comments:It's junk stay away from the Pronto M-51. Unless you just want to ride around your house like I was told by the people I got it from.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Michael from Okla. City, OK submitted this review on September 18th 2013 at 07:24 AM. Michael is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Altho this chair has given good service in the 5 yrs I've owned it, I can't recommend it to anyone!
Weaknesses:It does not ride good on either carpet or my van. I dislike the turning wheels being on the front. I dislike the narrow footplate. The vinyl is tearing.
Comments:I regret the day I bought this POS! DO NOT buy anything from Invacare!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Michael from Okla. City, OK submitted this review on September 17th 2013 at 06:51 AM. Michael is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:Many. This chair is nothing but Chinese junk! It does not run good on carpet. It does not ride good in my van! I cuss at this junk every chance I get! I also dislike the small drive wheels. I regret the day I bought this piece of junk! Run from anything made by Invacare as U'll regret Ur decision as I did!
Comments:The LESS sed about this junker the better!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Jim from Pepperell, MA, USA submitted this review on May 17th 2010 at 07:29 AM. Jim is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The van seat is pretty comfortable. The surestep works fairly well. It is a capable chair indoors and around town.
Weaknesses:Motors seem to have a short life span. Suspension is squeeky. It doesn't handle well outdoors on terrain, it will do it, but you lose traction easily.
Comments:I got the chair in May and by August/September I needed new motors. I finally got those motors in December and by April I needed another one. It is now the end of May, I still haven't got the motor. The bearings have been shot for most of the time I have had it and I was told to put WD40 on it, it is a sealed system, what little WD actually gets in lasts for about a week.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
ernie from toledo, ohio submitted this review on November 24th 2009 at 11:13 PM. ernie is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:A great powerchair, Great battery life and like the surestep feature
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Donald from Elk River, MN., USA submitted this review on July 29th 2009 at 04:00 PM. Donald is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Our 94 year old uncle uses the M-51, in a nursing home now, enjoying it very much. It's zero turn capacity is great, comfort is good and speed control is about right.
Weaknesses:There is no safety stop, for when the joystick slips just under a table, or when his toes extend beyond the narrow step and he gets them crushed.
Comments:The VA provided this chair and I suppose it will need to be returned if our uncle's capabilities diminish any more. Too bad it doesn't have some safety features for an operator who is not 100% on the ball at all times.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Emily from Washington submitted this review on May 31st 2009 at 07:52 PM. Emily is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:a strong chair able to withstand crashing into things when on full charge and even a partial charge will usually get me to where i am going
Weaknesses:it is a really big chair won't fit on some lifts when tilted. also won't fit onto standard wheelchair scales. charger in the back is difficult for staff to access and the cover had to be velcroed into place. a bit noisy. the on off switch was broken off by the hoyer lift i was out of achair for 2weeks
Comments:in the first week i had this chair the tilt broke because the technician tied the wiring too tight. that was upsetting. when driving it has suddenly stopped throwing me sharply forward, usually because it decided the tilt was off. the gearbox has been replaced 3 times. still this has been a fairly reliable chair for me and drives well in rainy weather. not a good chair for a fashionable lady like myself.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Constance from Yukon, OK, USA submitted this review on October 18th 2007 at 03:55 PM. Constance is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have trained many people to operate power wheelchairs. Of the many chairs out there, I like yours the best. I find it has less play in the joystick, The controls are easy to read and understand, the chair turns on a dime and the ride is very smooth. So many elderly people are frightened by the quick jerky movements of some models. I can't tell you how many chairs I have found in the back room of someones house covered in a blanket because they cannot operate the chair. Wise spending of Medicare dollars is a chair a person can truly use.
Weaknesses:I would like to see the footrest a bit wider. I have had patients feet slip off one side or the other. Also need a good carrier attachment for a rolater walker.
Comments:Keep up the good work, excellent product.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Sally from Wisconsin submitted this review on November 23rd 2006 at 10:51 PM. Sally is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair gave my mother's life back to her. She got her independence back after she broke her hip. She didn't have to depend so much on other people to get everywhere in the retirement facilty where she was living.
Weaknesses:The battery was defected after 6 months.
Comments:We had excellent service from where she bought it. They were always there within 24 hours. They always came to her place to fix it. It was under warrenty. We even bought ramps for my mini van. this chair went everywhere my mother went. She absolutely loved her chair. She had it for 3 1/4 years before she passed away. It was very easy for her to drive it with ease. We loved the six wheels, no tipping over.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Ginger from Lubbock, Texas USA submitted this review on April 11th 2006 at 04:11 PM. Ginger is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Seat is comfortable and the turning radius makes it perfect for home use.
Weaknesses:I have had this chair 8 months and the motor has burned out. The repair was turned in under warranty. I have been in contact with the Dealer where I purchased the chair and spoken on the phone with InvaCare customer care several times as well as e-mailed them. It has now been 3 weeks without my chair and the only explanation I am given is that the motor is on back order. I find it interesting that you can order a motor and pay cash for it, but if it is to be fixed under warranty, the motor is on "back order". Seems to me that the warranty is only as good as the paper on which it is written.
Comments:I was a cash customer and this was an easy sale for my Dealer. My experience with both the Dealer and InvaCare has been a huge disappointment. I certainly will never buy another InvaCare product.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Donna from Pittsburgh, PA submitted this review on October 29th 2005 at 01:11 AM. Donna is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfortable seating, including power height adjustment of seat for table and desk use; a lot of power, taking me up a 12-degree ramp without problem; stable ride with good braking system coming down that 12-degree ramp; charge lasts about 5 days for daily home or office use; easy to manuever due to tight turning radius; feels sturdy, even on broken concrete sidewalks and potholed asphalt; easy to keep clean and looking nice.
Weaknesses:It would be nice to have a side foot guard to protect feet from front wheels in a sharp turn; wish the footrest could be folded up and down without bending over; wish the joystick could be moved from one arm to the other without the use of a scredriver.
Comments:Reading prior comments, I wonder if there is such a thing as a "lemon?" I have no problem without holding a charge, regularly climb 2" curbs, and never lose traction in either direction on a variety of surfaces.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
SM from Williamsburg, Ky 40769 submitted this review on October 23rd 2005 at 10:12 AM. SM is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:long distance on full charge, confortable setting especially when in it all day. full swivel.
Weaknesses:need to fully recline, the front wheels can drag you out of the chair if the seat belt is not on, and as your feet set on the small platform your feet can get caught on the front wheels as you turn and we little or no control of your feet it can do damage your feet or foot before you can stop. needs a place to place things that you get from shopping and your personal items
Comments:It is a good chair and I like it, but before it I had a power 9000 invacare and had it for 12 to 14 yrs and it was a good chair, but I like the pronto 51 and I wish it would fully recline and I wish it had the foot rest at least 6 inches longer and a heel rest to keep it from sliding back where the front wheels can catch the feet. I have a friend that has a houveround and it has a built in guard around the wheels, I whish mine had that because I have RSD in my left foot and ankle and have done extensive damage to the foot, I have to wear special boots that cover my ankles for protection because my bones break so easy and I have to be very careful.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Ronald from Florence, OR, USA submitted this review on December 28th 2004 at 02:25 PM. Ronald is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very Heavy and sturdy
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Off/on switch is exposed, which will allow a cane or other object to accidently turn on.

Front wheels can swivel and crush the feet if they get between the edge of the foot tray and the wheel.

Electric charger plug is situated in the middle back of the chair, making it very difficult to reach.

Chair will not back up on carpet.

If you drive the chair into a narrow space, and try to back out, the front wheels will turn sideways and trap you in the narrow space.

Have had two service calls, one to replace the batteries, and one to replace the charger.

Today I am calling again, It takes 24 hours to charge the batteries enough to last one day. So they will probably replace the batteries again.

You must be very careful going down a ramp, as the chair has a tendency to tip forward.

The independent front supension makes a loud noise that is very irritating when making a sharp turn.
This chair is not very well engineered and has a lot of weak points. I'm surpised that others haven't mentioned these defects.

Chair does not always stop when taking hand off the joy stick.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Roger from USA submitted this review on September 26th 2004 at 05:07 PM. Roger is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:turns well in tight spaces, very sturdy and stable
Weaknesses:tends to wonder a bit when driving, but better then it was
Comments:Theis is a very good chair, I'd recomend it!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Joe from Bridgeton NJ 08302 submitted this review on April 12th 2004 at 05:03 PM. Joe is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:I purchased the Invacare Pronto M51 for my wife and she loves it. I tried it out and it was very easy to operate. I originally went to buy a Jazzy, but the features the M51 offered impressed me. All six wheels are on the ground, eliminating rocking. The front wheels do not extend outwards past the footrest, making the chair easier to maneuver in tight quarters.
Weaknesses:We've only had it a few weeks, but have not found any weaknesses
Comments:We are very happy with our purchase and we often get compliments from people that see it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lonnie from Union City, California submitted this review on August 16th 2003 at 08:43 PM. Lonnie is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Nice unit, stylish, looks well built
Weaknesses:Large grip screws used to hold armrests in place come lose and armrests slide out. Wheels have a tendency to spin on carpet when front and back casters are in certain positions. Has problem going over a 1.5 to 2.o inch step. Max speed is only 3 miles per hour (20+ minutes to get to bus stop one mile away).
Comments:The captain chair type seat has a plastic vinyl covering on it, I developed an ulceration on my buttocks after using the Pronto for 5 or 6 days. Although the back would tilt back, the seat would not tilt back, allowing pressure to be placed more evenly along back and bottom. Suggest using a ventilation type cushion if you purchase this or similar type product.

The chair that I received from "The Scooter Store" had a problem with either the battery or charging unite. Was only able to go 3.5 to 4.5 miles before needing a battery charge. Attempted to call service department 3 time, got put on hold and disconnected after 7 to 15 minutes each time. Called there Customer Care Department, talked to very curious person who assured me someone would call that afternoon (Friday) or first thing Monday. After no reply, called again and again no reply. After total of 6 calls and no replies, informed them I would be returning the chair, as per there sales contract. Not one person ever called back to make an inquiry of what the problem was or what could be done to rectify the problem.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Other products by Invacare
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
A-6S
Action MVP
Allegro
Aluminum Transport Chair
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
At'm Take Along Chair
Auriga 3 Wheel
Auriga 4 Wheel
AX3
Buzz HMV
Buzz HMV R17
Comet
Comfort Mate Extra
Compact
Compass SPT
Compass XE
Deluxe
Eliminator OSR Racing Chair
Essential
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Excelerator Xlt
Excelerator XLT 2000
Excelerator XLT PRO
FDX
Infinity Gentle Contour Cushions
Infinity Low Contour
Infinity Max Contour
InTouch Stabilite OM
Intouch Targit
Invacare Jr
Invacare Jr. Sa
IVC 18
IVC 900
IVC 9000 JYMNI
IVC 9000 Topaz
IVC 9000 XDT
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
IVC 9000XT RECLINER
IVC TRACER IV
L'L Excelerator
Leo Scooter
Leo Scooter
Lynx LX3
Lynx LX3 Plus
Lynx SX3
MVP Fixed Frame
MVP Jr.
MVP Jr. Fixed Frame
MyOn Jr. Wheelchair
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51 LXP
Nutron R51LX
Orbit
P9000 XDT
Panther LX4
Personal Seat VF
Power 9000
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto M71 Jr
Pronto M91 with SureStep
Pronto R2 250 Series
ProSpin X4
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Roller M1
Roller Navigator
Rolls 900
Silhouette Pin Dot
Solara
Solara Jr.
Spree 3G
Spree XT
Spyder
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
TDX SI
TDX SP
TDX Spree
Thompson Lever Drive
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator BB
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator Jr.
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End - X-Terminator BB
Top End - X-Terminator QR
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Force R
Top End Paul Schulte Signature BB Titanium
Top End QR.2G Defensive Rugby Chair
Top End QR.2G Offensive
Top End Reveal
Top End Schulte 7000 Series Basketball Wheelchair
Top End T-5 7000 Series Tennis Wheelchair
Top End T3 Tennis Adjustable
Top End T3 Tennis Elite
Top End T3 Titanium
Top End Terminator Everyday Heavy Duty
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Transformer
Top End Twirl
Top End X Terminator Titanium BB
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Tracer Sx5 Recliner
Transfer Chair
XLT Gold
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
Xtra
Zoom 220
Zoom 220 HMV
Zoom 300 HMV
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy