USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Independence Technology - A Johnson & Johnson Co. iGlide
Image of Independence Technology - A Johnson & Johnson Co. iGlide
Power assist for manual wheelchairs.
• The iGLIDE™ Manual Assist Wheelchair is designed to supplement your own natural effort.
• Gently propels the chair using a small, tucked-away power source and a "smart" microprocessor.
• The chair is an integral part of the system. The unit is not an add on system.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews910
Durability?4.222.000
Ease of use?4.674.000
Meet expectations?4.331.000
Overall Rating:4.112.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Janet from Puyallup, WA, USA submitted this review on October 1st 2010 at 01:00 AM. Janet is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Way too many to list.
Weaknesses:It is too heavy to break down by the user, so the user would need to drive a van.
Comments:I purchased my IGlide new from Johnson & Johnson while I was still in rehab right after my accident. JNJ has been great to work with over the 6.5 years I have owned my chair. The chair has held up very well. I have only had to do minor maintenance such as changing tires due to normal wear and tear.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bob from North Brunswick, NJ, USA submitted this review on May 30th 2010 at 10:48 PM. Bob is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Functions as advertised. Looks great.
Weaknesses:Very heavy in manual operation. Battery now lasts MAYBE a day on a full charge. Left wheel now unpredictable.
Comments:Since I've been using an iGlide, I have become weaker, gained weight, and now have high BP. The battery once lasted 2 days between charges, and now lasts barely a day. Sometimes, the battery quits after a few hours at work. I've used 3 CPUs in 5 years, and it may be time for another. The left wheel often fights me to get it to start or stop, and it accelerates suddenly, causing unscheduled right turns at high speed. I can't risk running into others at home, work, or the store. I'm going back to my old manual Quickie tomorrow.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
John from Crofton Maryland Anne Arundel submitted this review on October 24th 2008 at 10:27 AM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great light weight chair. It aids my weak left hand and makes me feel like I can do the things myself. Many people don't know the chair has power. I lift the iglide into my small SUV. I wish they still made this unit. I 've had my unit since November 2004. I don't know of anything that could replace it.
Weaknesses:It is a one piece chair and does not fold that small.
Comments:I enjoy using this chair. It frees me and I hope Independence Technologies starts production of this unit again. There is much more they can add or modify. I hope they hear my vote of confidence in this product.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Steve from Minneapolis, MN submitted this review on February 19th 2008 at 03:47 PM. Steve is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The ONLY chair that overs variable assist; ideal for quadriplegc user. Chair works the same as the day I purchased it, 4 years ago.
Weaknesses:Indetech dropped support of chair. Amazing mistake. Battery life mandates need for 2 batteries; one charging, one in use.
Comments:Most amazing chair I have been in...
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
scott from pomona, ca 91768 submitted this review on September 16th 2005 at 02:53 PM. scott is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Supirior sensitivity compared to other power assist chairs. At concerts it workes very well across the uneven, potholed grass. One day I tortured it for about 5 hours and still had life in the battery. Around the house it lasts 8-10 hours. Can't be sure about the distance though. In no way a trip to Wal-mart ran mine dry. Has taken punishment well. Regulates speed going down hills. pushing up them is as easy as pushing on flat ground.
Weaknesses:Heavy, orininal back and seat are crap.
Comments:Convenience increased 10 fold when I asked J&J for a second battery. Using one while the other is charging is a huge help.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Chris from Brookings,Oregon submitted this review on March 27th 2005 at 09:05 PM. Chris is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:this chair will go up and down Hills with ez's But only a 15% grade Chair is well built and service has been good. The chair is very comfortable and easy to get in and out of. With a lift it fits easily into a standard sized mini-van.
Weaknesses:I have had 3 service calls on this chair. one for the wheel out of alignment and two for the CPU unit. I was not able to get a color of my choosing. You have to have both hands available to work the chair - it is impossible for it to function if you are using only one hand.
Comments:I have not been impressed with this chair for the simple reasons that having 2 CPUs going out while going downhill. The chair dropped into manual mode and I nearly ran into a brick wall because of this. IGlide has not been able to give me a reason why this occured. The chair works well as long as the base surface is hardpacked - on soft dirt gravel sand or grass this chair does not function well and can tip backwards - even with wheelie bars. this chair would be very good in a city environment but not country. the manufacturer states that the battery life is 3 miles - my experience is that the reality is about 1/2 that distance - one regular trip in Wal-Mart will run it dry. The on/off switch is very hard to recognize how much battery life is left. There is no audio signal to let you know that the chair is shutting down due to low battery. Chair was advertised chair would go in hard packed sand - this is absolutely not true - the chair does not work in sand - wheels are too narrow for such conditions. The front wheels are easily torn up. Afer evaluating this chair I wonder if this is why IGlide has stopped making this chair - there are too many bugs to be worked out to make this a truly effective and useful chair as it is advertised as. Iglide stop maken this chair as of Nov,1,2004 but service chair for five years after that who knows. after talks with J&J I have been told thay have no plans to bring back this chair and plan to put all effert into there star ship chair the iBot
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Steve from Fraser, Colorado, USA submitted this review on March 12th 2005 at 10:15 AM. Steve is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is great. I live in a ski town so in the winter we have a lot of snow, and the chair goes through the snow no problem. I am a T3-T4 para. The chair goes up hills ramps over dirt and grass and ice and snow. The service department is wonderful and willing to help even if it is my fault and I caused the problem. This chair has given me ability in my disability to go places I could not in my regular chair.
Weaknesses:Not to much, Battery placement, being abel to see how much battery is left with out removing the battery. But hey life is full of things that do not work as we would like them, but that is life we just need to adjust when we can and when we cant then we need help from others.
Comments:It is to bad that they stopped makeing the chair for a while, but I think they will start again.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Joe from Saint Charles MO USA submitted this review on March 16th 2004 at 11:57 PM. Joe is a care giver who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:The all-TERRAIN FEATURE
Weaknesses:THE COMPUTER, THE FRONT 6IN TIRES THAT HAVE TUBES, DIFFICULTY
RE-ASSEMBLING THE CHAIR WHEN IT IS PLACED IN A CAR. FRAGILE OUTSID RIMS AND EASY TO KNOCK OUT OF ALIGHNMENT.ARMREST DRIFT PINS ASSEMBLY REQUIRE FREQUENT ADJUSTMENTS
Comments:My son has used this chair for 3 months, has had 3 service calls, replaced the computer and a flat front tire that is next to impossible to work on. The chair has been out of service almost as much as it has been in service. When it works, it works well. When it breaks, as it does often, it stays broken for a while.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Phil from Hertfordshire England submitted this review on February 8th 2004 at 07:23 AM. Phil is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Reasonably lightweight, great on hills and ramps and soccer pitches! Battery lightweight and easy to insert/detach better range than e-motion.
Weaknesses:Difficult to align and assemble drive wheels, lack of rigid side skirts, only one colour. Expensive. Takes a little getting used to controlling it.
Comments:The best manual power assisted chair on the market. E-motion not in the game by comparison. I've travelled all over Europe using it easy for airlines and gel battery comes on board. Totally reliable
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
John from GA submitted this review on June 4th 2003 at 12:41 PM. John is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:ok, i thought the e-motion wheels were good until now. this chair is way better. the computer on it regulates how much power to help you and with just 1 speed.(e-motion has 2) going down hills were great too. i went down my ramp and the chair's computer has its on brakes. you have to push down a hill. it'll roll some on its own down hill but very slowly. the cost is better too. the iglide is $7,900(thats everything)and just the e-motion wheels(no chair)are $6,500.
Weaknesses:the only problems with the chair were the frame only comes in 5 different sizes and they are not custom. the chair i tried out was an 18x18 with a 19' front and 17' rear. only 2in of dump. so for most quads and me, that means you'll need a top strap just to feel secure. the dealer said they may offer custom frames later on.
Comments:i've been told, "the e-motion is the wal-mart/k-mart and the iglide is the finest jewlery store." well i am now a true believer. i just wish i never bought the e-motions now. As far as the product ratings go, i only used the iglide for a day. it was better than i thought it would be though. great customer service too.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy