USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Hoveround Teknique FWD
Image of HOVEROUND Teknique FWD
Front wheel drive. Operator Speed Control. Flip up / angle adjustable armrests. Automatic battery charger. Automobile quality seat with formed foam. Regenerative and automatic braking. Tru-Charge Meter. Programmable, microprocessor controller. Special high-impact cover. 24-volt system for power and range.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews710
Durability?4.145.000
Ease of use?4.435.000
Meet expectations?4.005.000
Overall Rating:4.005.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Marion from Wills Point, Texas USA submitted this review on May 26th 2010 at 03:29 AM. Marion is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It's heavy
Weaknesses:It's too heavy for the batteries, and motors. The controllers are evidently junk. The flat plate seat is uncomfortable. The thing is too heavy to load on a carrier on the back of a Bronco 2, runs the springs down. The never without wheels motto is bogus, each time I'm out of wheels for a week ot this time two weeks and counting. Support, is just not there any longer.
Comments:I cannot walk much because of terrible low back pain, hip pain, and alot of falls from dizziness. A good mobility chair would be great. This last year they have put six sets of batteries on, a new controller, and a new battery charger. My yard is hard dirt and imbedded gravel. I hear the batteries are part of the problem, but they are locked into a contract. True or false I don't know. I know mine all just drop out the LED display from full to almost no LED lights burning. 2 hours will charge it full again. I'm down without my Hoveround, and Hoveround I guess considers me a crocthety old man ( 63 ) not in a nursing home. You cannot Email corporate, or get a supervisor to call you. I have been met on the phone by a hateful woman, who screamed at me...because I was telling her I thought the battery charger was bad. I missed the Trucking Show last August, we used to go with my son every year. Hoveround told me, the VA was not a viable place to take a hoveround product, as it is for getting up out of bed, to the bathroom, the eating table, and back to bed. No yard period, and trips to town,on a carrier to the grocery store...not to your bathroom. These people have lost touch with their customers, I think especially after the new wears off.
Lyle lathem
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Cheryl from Southfield, MI submitted this review on August 25th 2008 at 09:58 PM. Cheryl is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is the only power wheelchair that I have found with a foot rest actually big enough to rest your feet on.
They come to the house to fix it (after they verify you insurance every time and it takes about a week for them to come out).
Weaknesses:Seat is too shallow so I had to take a seat pan and cushion and they always say their is only one size cushion available when that isn't true. They just don't want to bother ordering a different size. I have seen the same cushion on line in other sizes.
Comments:The company and I had a falling out. They sold me mine when I was only 25 lbs. under the weight limit of 350. Then I went on prednisone and gained weight and went over the weight limit. They got me approved for the next one up without bothering to tell me that it doesn't have the power seat lift (which my doctor ordered and insurance paid for) and THAT IT WOULD NOT FIT THROUGH MY DOOR! How can they sell a chair you can't get into your house? Since I wouldn't take it they won't service this one anymore.They called me about 5 times trying to get me to take delivery. I offered to sign a liability waiver but they said no.
Medicare told me to take it locally to get it fixed. I have been waiting on parts since 7/10 and today is 8/25. Now they say the parts are on "backorder". These are common parts they readily bring to the house to service the chair.
They just don't want anyone else fixing the chair.
I think they sold me one close to the weight limit so they could hopefully sell me a second chair later.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Gwendolyn from District Heights, Md submitted this review on May 22nd 2008 at 02:29 PM. Gwendolyn is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good for travel
Weaknesses:Hard to find information for replacement parts. No feedback from Bruno.
Comments:If I could find parts, I wuld be happy.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
TechGuide says: Bruno??? You may want to try contacting the Hoveround people. http://www.hoveround.com/
 
dennis from Arlington, MN. submitted this review on January 22nd 2008 at 08:59 AM. dennis is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Generally a good strong chair.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Trying to get the main company in Florida to understand an immediate need is a losing proposition. You canall them and tell them that you have the same insurance you have always had, and they STILL make you wait up to 48 hours to make sure you have insurance. I guess they don't believe what I say. They are very slow. The local service man does a good job of trying to get here after he is notified, but trhe company in Florida is so slow to get him notified. Even when you make it very clear that the service is needed ASAP, they still seem to take their sweet time. That is the biggest gripe I have with hoveround. They didn't even offer a loaner chair. Because of these facts, I will seriously consider other brands if I ever purchase again. What good is the chair if the service sucks?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Robert from Winter Haven, FL, USA submitted this review on January 21st 2008 at 05:32 PM. Robert is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Comfort
Power
Turning ability/radius
Center of Gravity over drive-train
Service
Battery Life
Charging Ease
Weaknesses:It gets stuck in sand easily, but I am not sure that is not true of all power-chairs.
Everyone I have talked to state it is true of their chair, regardless of brand... so I do not see it as a detractor from buying the chair. Just a product issue for all manufacturers currently.
Comments:This is a copy of an e-mail I sent to someone shopping for a chair...
"Mine is an older model and still running like new. They are an amazing company, with GREAT local support, even for my used chair... that is right, live support & tech/repair for my used chair.
If I needed a loaner while my was being fixed, which it has never needed in the years of daily abuse, I would have one.
It turns, literally, on a dime. It is the only direct drive chair on the market... that means POWER and TORQUE. Mine goes 7mph top speed, which is far faster than you need it to go (you can set how fast/slow it goes). I too have joint/bone/muscle pain and it is too fast for me on it's fastest setting wide-open. I keep it on a lower setting out in the open.
But, the toggle is graduated so it only goes as fast as you tell it to no matter how fast you have to top speed set.
You are over the center of gravity and drive wheels, which means no tipping over NEARLY as easily as most chairs and getting stuck FAR less.
I cannot rave enough about this chair.
Also, there are more options for the seating, headrest, footing, etc than I could ever go into and they will talk to you about and show you anything you need.
All I can say is I am just happy with this chair."
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Terry from Garland,Texas USA submitted this review on March 20th 2006 at 07:56 PM. Terry is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:will go through a yard like a lawn tractor very strong & sturdy would recomend highly
Weaknesses:none that I have found
Comments:This teknique fwd is the strongest chair I have seen. I searched for over a year and found what I beleive to be the best value and best power chair on the market today!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Preston from Arkansas submitted this review on March 4th 2005 at 05:16 PM. Preston is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Most dependable equipment I've ever owned. I weigh 250 lb. This chair takes me up steep ramps with ease. I'm in my chair 18-20 hours per day. Comfortable, powerful and efficient. Will turn on short radius. No maintenance problems at all in 2-1/2 years.
Weaknesses:No complaints.
Comments:I just wish the seat would swivel. Would make it easier to approach some tables and places.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
sharon from florida submitted this review on February 20th 2004 at 02:27 PM. sharon is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:wonderful sturdy product easy to operate
Weaknesses:none
Comments:this is top of the line
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Hoveround
Bolero
Forerunner
Hvr3
MPV 4
MPV5
Teknique FWD
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Teknique XHD
Transporter
Transporter GL
Transporter GLX
Transporter LX
Similar products (Out of Production Items)
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
500 Range
800
800 Gt/Gt Gold
aaa
Activator
Airlite
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
Classic Lite
Coaster E.B.L.
Compact
Compact
ddd
Delta Glide
Deltassist
Easy Rider
Ecstaseat
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Express
Folding
GL 3000XL,
Harmony Tandem
hhhh
Homecrest Healthcare Rock N Go
Ibex MK5
Ibex Rescue
Jazzy 1105
Kili Kart
Overlander
P2 Plus
Power Advantage
Power Chair
Powerchair
Premier Classic
Quickie P210
Quickie S626
Quickie T45
Quickie Titanium
Range Rider
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Regular
Solaire Labac Fst 50
Tango Elite
The Accommodator
The Charles Cushion
Walker
Wheeleasy
xxxxxxxx
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy