USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Supracor Stimulite Contoured
Written by Jarrod
Max Mobility SmartDrive
Written by jimmy
Permobil M300 Corpus 3G
Written by WheelieGuy
Electric Mobility 600 Series
Written by Larry
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Ralph
Invacare Top End Crossfire T7A
Written by jesse
Discontinued Flofit Medical Flexseat
Written by Siggy
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Emily
Kuschall Kuschall Advance
Written by franco
Hoveround MPV 4
Written by CJ
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Invacare Storm TDX5
Image of INVACARE Storm TDX5
Power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
• Comes with TrueTrack technology • SureStep Suspension
• MK5 electronics
• Center Wheel Drive and Stability Lock.
• Speed: 7.5 mph maximum
• Seat To Floor Height: Min. 16.5" @ 0 degrees tilt; Max. 21" @ 5 degrees tilt (18.5" and 19" with Tarsys respectively).
• Product Weight Capacity: User weight capacity - 400 lb. with ASBA, 350 lb. with Tarsys, 300 lb. with Tarsys and vent.
• Overall Height: 34" with 16" back height; 37" with Tarsys and 22" back height.
• Overall Width: Base: 25". Seat width to outside of joystick (16" width): 24.5". Seat width to outside of joystick (20" width): 28.5".
• Turning Radius: 22-24" depending on riggings.
• Arm Height: ASBA/2GT: 9-13"-2GR/GTR: 10-16".
• Incline Capability: 9 degrees.
• Overall Length: Base (caster to trailing caster): 35".
• Product Weight: 314 lb. (with ASBA seat),388 lb. (with 2GTR Tarsys).
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews3211
Durability?3.062.001.00
Ease of use?3.944.003.00
Meet expectations?2.941.002.00
Overall Rating:2.941.001.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Lisa from Evansville, IN, USA submitted this review on January 26th 2013 at 03:59 PM. Lisa is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Dependability, Durability, & Performance are great. I've had several mobility chairs/scooters in past 15 years. I like the invacare tdx the best.
Weaknesses:I can't really think of any weaknesses.
Comments:I like this chair. I'm at the point of where it's time to order a new one and after 5 years, this chair works great except my elevate is not working and instead of paying to get that fixed have opted to get a new chair, but hope the new one is as good as this one.

I can get comfortable inside or out, it will ride and I'm able to handle the joystick for long rides, sometimes travel several blocks and go for hours and battery lasts extremely long time.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
M from Goodyear, Az, USA submitted this review on June 25th 2012 at 07:39 PM. M is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Reliable. First used in 2004 and never had a problem.
Weaknesses:Had to get custom cushion and replace the standard seat with a custom seat.
Comments:After 5 years of use this has become the backup unit. What is nice is that its performance is the best of all the chairs I have experience with. For 2 years I tried to get along with a Quantum 6000, a high end Pride product. Control of the new chair was so bad I ran into walls often and every little ridge at a door would throw the wheelchair into a radicaly new direction. I had the software adjusted at least six different times and it didn't help. The TDX is still the most controllable chair I have ever had, and I have been using power chairs for more 20 years. My current Permobil 300 is an excellent chair with the best ability to adapt to my specific needs, but, I am comforted by the fact that the invacare is ready to keep me mobile even though it has over 3000 miles on it without a bit of trouble.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
kiera from East ORange NJ USA submitted this review on December 3rd 2011 at 01:19 PM. kiera is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:fast, comfortable easy to turn in tight corners
Weaknesses:easilyloose battery loose break loose springs
Comments:ive been in a wheelchair for 29 years(all my life) and this is by far the worse power chair ive ever had, ive only had it for 4 years and ive had to have it serviced 7 times , i have issues with it stopping midway while i am driving, it has stopped a few times while i was crossing the street or if i am going down a curb cut and ive always had to turn it off then turn it back on then today while i was walking my dog it cut off and wouldnt turn back on it just kepted saying m2 default then it said left brake defualt i had to call the police and someone had to push my wheelchair back home i have medicaid and every time i have to send my wheelchair in they take 6 months to fix it(because medicaid has to approve then they have to wait for the piece)its just so frustrated i had a invacare ranger ex before this one and i only had to get that fixed twice and i had it for 8 years next time i need a new wheelchair it will not be this one
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
zaq from ontario, canada submitted this review on June 18th 2010 at 12:55 PM. zaq is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:had to pay $500 for fixing the electronics only 15 months after purchase of a new unit.
Constant problems and repairs.
rear springs get stuck frequently
very sensitive to cold weather (at plus 5 degrees celsius will stop working
Comments:avoid
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Barry from Ottawa Ontario Canada submitted this review on November 14th 2009 at 11:03 AM. Barry is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Steering is very touch related and ride is quite smooth. Power tain responds well.
Weaknesses:Back Up signals and tie downs missing. Should be standard equipment. Does not work well in ice or snow.
Comments:Standard equipment should include tie down supports, back up signal and tires for year round use.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
nancy from toronto, ON, Canada submitted this review on August 27th 2009 at 10:22 AM. nancy is a clinician who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:nothing special when compared with similar products
Weaknesses:although has been gently used (1km daily) the wheelchair needed many repairs
bulky
Comments:check your options before buying this
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
ton e from chambana, il submitted this review on August 5th 2009 at 02:34 PM. ton e is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:not much, maneuverability
Weaknesses:crap cant even take shag carpet, dont even think of going up a hill backwards
Comments:stuck everywhere. broke 1st day. piss poor design. couldnt even take it 3 months took it back to the va because it became useless.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
stan from nepean, canada submitted this review on November 15th 2008 at 07:28 PM. stan is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:broke electronics after 700 miles. the chair is out of warranty. avoid.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
sandra from austin, tx submitted this review on September 22nd 2008 at 02:16 PM. sandra is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfortable, fast
Weaknesses:Does the opposite of what it is advertised for. I've been stuck in grass, very little snow, wheel will get caught between a ramp and door entry, stuck in gravel, etc.
Was in the shop one entire month at Advanced Medical in Dayton Ohio for repair of the control box.
Comments:I would never buy another one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Frank from Tucson, Arizona submitted this review on May 28th 2008 at 07:00 PM. Frank is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have had a lot of power chairs over the years, all Invicare's except a Power Chair I bought for a Cruse made in Israel has two motors attached engage both wheels looks like a regular manual chair. It's under powered with two 17 AMH Batteries will last for about 7 Miles or less.But, it would run 5.5. MPH which is not slow. The Battery Charge was small and I could take it with me and plug the chair into any outlet when I was sitting on the Ship or Air Ports waiting and recharge the batteys.

I have had this TDX5 for about a year and a half and have no complints about it's operation because like my Old Arrow that had the GBM Motors it has a little less range than the Arrow though it's no match for the Arrow when it comes to speed the Arrow would really go and with the TDX5 the 7.5 MPH is slow, then I use a seat belt all the time and brake with back throttle in the joy stick becaue the Arrow had no brakes back throtteling was the brakes on it for me and I could stop it quick.I also back throttle on The New TDX5 though it does not go that fast since I have only 3 gears or setting since I have a Power Front Center Mount life and tile that takes one of the gears so 4th. gear is taken up with these two functions on the chair. I had the Arrow with the GBM's for over 9 years bouth it in 1999. The ARROW Would Run Fast and I always had the seat belt on and it scared me at high speeds. It was a new Chair and the GBM's were new at that time and I am use to the Motors and have never had a problem with any of them. Had to only replace tires on the ARROW it just never broke down nor did it need any thing other than New Batteries about ever 3 years. I keep all my chairs and batteries on a charger when not in use it's usually at night time. Before the Arrow I had a Invacare Storm 9000 it did not give me any problems other than I bent the foot rest on curbs and coming down my ramp from my Conversion Van. The TDX5 solved that, the Arrow I would hit a high or low curb and coming off the ramp of the Van if the ramp landed on a rough surface, I did on it bend a foto rest. Invacare makes good stuff in my Opinion. Oh! Yes,the Arrow had the R24 Batteries and they were changed only once during the 9 years and I only Bought them early 2006. I have had the New TDX5 Since December 1006. I still have the Arrow, had to change chairs for health reasons. I bought the New TDXt5 because of the controls and Motors.
Weaknesses:Has none and I don't expect to have any since the Arrow with these saame Motors were in it and it still runs and I keep it and the Storm which still runs as well as spares if one goes down. I have to use tube tires since I can't take the roughness of solid tires.I put Slime in them and I don't have flats only had one flat in all my time in a wheelchiar. I can go over a 2 inch threshold with no problems as with the Arrow the Storm 9000 had two weak motors that want go any faster then 5MPH and less on an incline. I had it for about 10 years before the Arrow and I now have all my old chairs and they all still work and the one for the cruse I boutht it to works. I have a Ultra Light Invicare manual chair which I use in the house a lot, it has a DAMCO Power Pack on it with two 35 AmpH Batteries and they last and last, 3-5 years. I keep them all on a Charger when not in use. I have as I said before that Invicare makes great products and I have had no problems with parts as I did bend a foot rest and had to buy two new ones. They were pricy at for two $225 and took about a week to get them locally through a dealer.
Comments:I would recommend this Chair to any one who wants a reliable chair and need not be broke down as I have read above. I have not had those problems with Invicare Products. When I am out I do pust them hard when in open areas I go full throttle and take then into gravel, grass and rough terrain. I do have one problem not the chairs the EZ-Lock Down in my Conversion Van hs a stud under the chair that is only 1 Inch ground clearance so I can get high center in some places when that stud hits any thing and if I get in mud or soft ground I can get stuck Usually there is someone willing to push me out and I have had that happen only once in a Cemetery where they had watered the grass and I got into a soft place. I can say I have broke doors with the power of the Engines they are so powerful I can open a door of a business with no problems with the center front power mount lift foot rest. It will turn in it's own tracks so going around corners is easy. I have a spinal cord Injury and have had a lot of chairs all Invicare except the one Chair for the cruse it was made in Isreal they make good stuff also. The Arrow rides the best of all the chairs I haveever had it had four wheel suspension on it rides like a Cadillac. I like Invacare products and would not buy anything else. Seen to many friends with problems with their chairs then taking care of them does count if you neglect any chair you are sure to have problems. I don't work for Invicare they charge me as much as any one else or more?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Ken from Dunedin NewZealand submitted this review on November 1st 2007 at 10:50 PM. Ken is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:love the flexibility inside, turns on a dime. In two and a half years i have done 4763kms had about 12 sets of tyres some through wear some from glass damage, gives me good range i use it like a car in fine weather.
Weaknesses:gets stuck in any kind of soft ground, rear wheel flutter is a pain but can see a fix from another post,auto braking going down hill is a huge problem as my left wheel always brakes more than right DANGEROUS had almost all electronics replaced having trouble with chair stopping at full speed and going into limp mode, not fun when you are half way across a road.
Comments:even with all. the faults the chair is still very good for what it does it gets lots of use, the only big improvement would be to put no puncture tyres on as while i get great service from my service agent it is still a pain having to wait for a repair
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
John from Phx submitted this review on October 2nd 2007 at 04:48 PM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very tight maneuvering.
Very adjustable in setup. Both physically and electronically.
Good top speed.
Quiet
Weaknesses:I've have two difference tilt and recline sensors fail in the past two years. No over-ride for that without a programmer, so you are DOA till all the paperwork gets pushed around. Two month most cases.
Invacare will only sell parts dealers.
The ride is rough.
I can't get good torque to climb a 2 inch step from a stand still. I weigh 150lbs. Need a 3 inch run at it.
Comments:For the most part I am happy with the chair because it is very comfortable with tilt and recline, and very quiet.
I got a programmer of ebay cheap to really dial things in over a few months.
I live in the sticks, and the ride is a little rough and getting stuck is easy to do, so I am limited in my travels. It is a great chair for indoor use because it is quiet and it's foot print is intuitive for maneuvering around corners and tight quarters.

Invacare not selling replacement parts to end users is beyond me. The design is simple enough for a general mechanic to grasp, and being able to have on hand parts, (in my case a potentiometer) would make the difference between a few hours out of the chair or a few months in bed. If the policy makers were in that situation things would change in a heart beat.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
jerry from council bluffs iowa submitted this review on July 3rd 2007 at 03:31 PM. jerry is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:good all around chair
Weaknesses:takes invacare forevery to get parts out
Comments:needs to do better about parts
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
David from Iowa submitted this review on June 12th 2007 at 05:41 PM. David is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Manuverability (when it runs!)
Weaknesses:Dependability (BIG TIME!!!), Gets hung up on anything, Good luck getting parts from invacare!
Comments:This is my 2nd post. I've had my TDX 5 2& 1/2 years. This time it has been broke down since the first of march. It is still broke down. This is june 12th. First it was motors, then the drive control box (the one down behind the back of the battery box), then it was the joystick, Then the left motor wouldn't stay engaged, now it's the drive control box again. We have been through three motors, a joystick, a set of engagement linkages, and this will be my third drive control unit. I don't abuse my chair. Disapointing dosen't even begin to cover it. If I'da known then what I know now! If you get this one make sure you've got a backup...you're gonna need it!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Jenny from Auckland, New Zealand submitted this review on January 6th 2007 at 01:38 AM. Jenny is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Manuverablity, Design, Speed = 12km/7.5mph, Nice and Quite, Nice Ride, options of features are great, HDTTGB motors and electronics.

Being able to get up and down cut curbs with low speed and lots of torque/power is great, with the seating staying in it's position keeping me upright.

The manuverablity of the TDX Series chairs are unreal, turns on it's own spot, no more reversing out of certian areas, just turn and I'm away. I'm able to get into areas of my home better, turn in tight areas, get closer to things, being able to turn in a shop isle and 'face the product' rather than sitting sideways and struggling to turn my neck to see the product.

Programming is the KEY factor in having the best preformance from the chair, any chair for that matter! It has taken me awhile to program and fine tune my TDX to suit 'my needs'.

I use my chair like a car, as I drive it everywhere and use it to it's max. I've driven on loose stones, wet & dry mud, wet & dry grass, long grass, bumby footpaths, cobblestone footpaths, flat concrete and on the road and have had no problems on any of those terrains so far. The new traction control does help too.

I've played some wheelchair sports in my chair too and it's alot easy to play due to its turning and programming.

I have tilt/recline and they have with pressure relief and re-positioning in chair.

It has great battrey range too, good to know I can do long distance wheels, without worrying about the chair going flat.

The joystick position is good, easy to reach. The on/off toggle is easy to reach for me and I just leave the speed dial on rabbit:)

A very reliable, compact, strong chair for me and I feel safe in it.
Weaknesses:When I go down a 'steepish hill' the HDTTGB motors safety feature locks on, slowing the chair down, sometimes this happens quite suddenly. I dislike this feature and think it's a bit unsafe. If your 'not' aware of this feature and don't wear a belt, it could turn out bad. But if you know about the feature, then that helps as you wait for the HDTTGB motors to pull back. I've gone down less steep hills and the HDTTGB motors just let go and the safety feature isn't picked up.
Comments:Rear wheel castor flutter at high speeds is caused by the castor fork bearings becoming loose - just get them tightened.

Every powerchair has it's limitations and you have to know them from working out how you/I feel when driving on certian terrains and angles.

I have an Invacare Board/Forum at www.invacareboards.com for those that user Invacare powerchairs and Equipment. Check it out and take part in some discussions:)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
larry from mtn. grove, missouri, usa submitted this review on December 5th 2006 at 04:44 AM. larry is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:easy to handle inside of house. turns on a dime. 16 months and batteries still holding up and charges very well. i run it a lot in home and a trip outside for about three blocks on street. only have to charge it every 4 days.
Weaknesses:gets hung up on even a hint of uneven ground. then someone has to unlock it and push/pull you to where it will take off again. if like me you can't walk it is very dangerous to leave the house unless you are on super smooth surface. very expensive to repair. arms come off in chunks at the slightess bump on doorway etc. makes a lot of noise from the rear when going over even a small rough place in house.
Comments:got this july, 2005. didn't even have it 2 weeks when no go happened. thank god the warranty replaced both motors, brain and joy stick controls. november, 2006 quit me again. the controller and something else quit. cost me $2078.25 to fix!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Lesley from NJ/USA submitted this review on July 23rd 2006 at 04:38 PM. Lesley is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses:Controller permits movement at undesired speeds. The "rabbit-turtle" control is so free to move that an inadvertent brush by myself or anyone else can increase the speed. When the joystick is then touched, the chair moves at unexpectedly rapid rates and bumps into furniture, etc.
Comments:Speed control should be in steps as is the Drive selector or somehow protected by accidental touching.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
David from Sigourney, Iowa, USA submitted this review on June 7th 2006 at 09:57 PM. David is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:turning radius, simple to use
Weaknesses:Batterys need to be replaced often. is usless on anything short of a perfectly smooth, flat, level, hard surface. Warantee not worth the paper it's wrote on.
Comments:I've had mine for about 2 years now. Am on my 3rd or 4th set of batteries. Leg lifts broke before I'd had it 6 mo. Warrantee didn't cover them. Gets stuck on doorsills less than 1" high, and even manuvering into the wheelchair spot on a lift bus or in my van. And don't even think of going into the grass!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Damien from Des Moines, Iowa USA submitted this review on June 7th 2006 at 05:37 PM. Damien is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Smooth ride Easy Manuvering Turns on a dime.
Weaknesses:Electronics and motors don't hold up in the heat.
Comments:Invacare claims this is a chair for very active people, WRONG! When I drive the chair in warm weather and at top speed the controller and the motors burns up. The problem I'm told is the new GB brushless motors and the new style electronics. So I'm going back to the TDX3 with the 4-pole motors. Invacare still makes the best chairs!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Mark from Lakewood submitted this review on May 4th 2006 at 10:25 PM. Mark is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my third posting since I got my TDX5. I now have over 1200 miles on the chair, and still I am getting good performance. Had to
change my chair to an thoratic air controlled back, because of back
surgery. My chair is still fast, motors are responsive and quiet, I
did have to replace the center wheels because I ran down the tread,
but I wouldn't trade my chair for another
Weaknesses:The noisy rear wheel adjusters (the adjusters that stable the chair
when you take an slope or incline) make noise,but just got used to it. My batteries are still the original and are holding up like new.
Comments:I have tried several chairs, but the TDX5 is the best I have ever used.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
John from New Jersey submitted this review on April 29th 2006 at 08:20 AM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:GOOD SPEED AND BATTERY LIFE. GOOD MANEUVERABILITY. COMFORTABLE.
Weaknesses:VERY ROUGH RIDE. GETS STUCK EASILY ON UNEVEN SURFACES. SINCE NEW MOTOR INSTALLED BRAKES ARE VERY NOISY, "WAKES EVERYONE UP AT NIGHT". ARMREST GEL PADS HAD TO BE REPLACED AT MY EXPENCE AFTER A COUPLE MONTHS YET NEW ONES ARE FINE. LH ARMREST PIVOT VERY WEAK AND BROKE AFTER 6 MONTHS. I WOULD LIKE TO TALK TO THE MANUFACTURER BECAUSE I HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON REPAIRS AND MY DEALER (KESSLER WILPAGE) REFUSES TO GIVE ME THE NUMBER. I FEEL THESE REPAIRS SHOULD HAVE BEEN WARRANTEED.
Comments:HAVE HAD NEW DRIVE MOTOR, MAIN COMPUTER, ELEVATING FOOTREST, ARMREST PIVOT, ARMREST GELPADS REPLACED AT MY EXPENSE EXCEPT FOR MOTOR. ALL FAILED AT 12 MONTHS. "UNFAIR".
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Malcolm from Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand submitted this review on April 1st 2006 at 07:35 PM. Malcolm is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The TDX 5 offers you, a real high degree of control ability-right from the word go!

I must caution you though it is important that the chair is programmed specifically to your particular abilities (some people may find it difficult controlling the chair with forward speed plus brake force set to 100% for example. The controller that comes standard with this chair is completely customisable.

My Experience of the Wheelchair:

Since December 2003 I've covered approximately 1851 km which is 1150 miles!

No other electric wheelchair I've used has performed to the level of this chair ever!

Being mid-wheel drive, offers many advantages to me and also having a tilting feature means that I can reposition myself much easier :-)

I never have to worry about battery range with this chair, there is plenty of juice left for me to go anywhere I want to.

Of course there are some features that I would dearly love to be incorporated in this chair but it might mean compromising one of the other good things that I've found with it. And really, I don't know whether I would truly want to compromise just for the sake of another new feature.

Of course any wheelchair does have its limitations it doesn't matter who the Manufacturer is. The Storm TDX5 from the Invacare, can sometimes get stuck on soft grass or wet terrain. While this isn't a four-wheel-drive wheelchair it can handle a rough terrain. I find the battery range is absolutely fantastic

Really this is the best Wheelchair I've ever owned. Really one of the key factors contributing towards this is the fact that I feel safer! I think in order for a chair to be really secure doing street work, it needs to be a little bit heavier then some of the budget chair 's. Many of the wheelchairs I've used in the past have been lightweight.
Weaknesses:really, I've got very little to complain about Regarding the Invacare Storm TDX5. The only real problem I had with the chair very early on was as the actuator failure. But once that was fixed the chair worked flawlessly.

There is a bit of wheel flutter at top speed.
Comments:I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CHAIR TO ANYBODY THAT NEEDS A SAFE ROBUST WHEEL CHAIR WITH DECENT BATTERY RANGE AND SECURE FOR DRIVING ON A NUMBER OF DIFFERENT TERRAIN TYPES
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Matt from Carlsbad, CA submitted this review on March 16th 2006 at 05:53 AM. Matt is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:good turning radius
Weaknesses:weaknesses: stalls often, requires frequent repair, spins out of control x3, tipped over, causing hematoma & bleeding from head -- paramedics took me to nearest ER for treatment.
Comments:unsafe product which should be recalled & replaced.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Lynn from IL submitted this review on January 17th 2006 at 11:26 AM. Lynn is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good turn radius, nice speed
Weaknesses:Tilt
Comments:The TDX5 has been the least reliable chair that my 15 year old son has ever had. The tilt mechanism consistently breaks down. We have had the same parts
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
BJ from Toronto submitted this review on January 13th 2006 at 05:39 PM. BJ is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Smooth take off and stopping. Speed.
Weaknesses:Over the past 6 weeks this chair has left me completely stranded in inclement weather 5 times. It got stuck in a very tiny amount of snow twice. The wire to operate the tilt became disconnected once and broke once while I was reclined and therefore, the chair would not move at all. Once, I had to travel 1 block in the heavey rain (there was no wheelchair accessible entrance to the subway from inside)and it brokedown in the rain, at night. Ever since then, the chair has been stalling everday, at least once, and up to 3 times a day. I find that the midwheel drive is not appropriate for people who are very active because it very easily gets stuck in the snow and you cannot "rock" the chair to get unstuck, like I used to do with my backwheel drive chair. In 6 weeks I have had to have it repaired 3 times and it still is stalling everyday. I definately do not recommend this chair for anyone who does not "sit around the house 24-7". As well, the ride of the chair is very bumpy, which is especially bad for people who have arthritis in their spine.
Comments:There should be a default shut off switch for the tilt because if it breaks down, not only are you stranded, but no one can push you as well! Six firemen, 2 police officers and a transit supervisor had to lift me in my chair on and off a wheelchair accessible bus to get me home. Then, they had to transfer me to my old wheelchair. I am willing to listen to any recommendations/suggestions. Please email me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Mark from Lakewood CO submitted this review on October 30th 2005 at 12:51 AM. Mark is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Battery Life, The motor package, mk5 electronics, design
Weaknesses:noisy going over bumps, curbs
Comments:This is my second comment on the TDX5. I now have over 600 miles on my TDX5, and I am very happy with it. Since I no longer have an manual chair, I use my TDX5 everyday, everywhere. The battery life is amazing, I can go almost 4 days without recharge, the motors are true and quiet and powerful, better than the tube motors in most chairs, and the design catches everyone's eye. The springs make some noise going over bumps,but the performace, has been great. Will write again around 900 miles.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mark from Lakewood submitted this review on September 8th 2005 at 11:34 PM. Mark is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed, looks, battery life
Weaknesses:Size, width, and length.
Comments:I have had my TDX5 now for almost two months now, and I have over 200 miles already. I am able to almost go two days without an recharge, the chair is fast, I had the tech program drive 4 all out (speed, reduced braking, etc) and drives 3 to 1 are lowered according to spec. At drive 4, I am actually able to go faster than the 7.5 max (clocked by following car)but at that speed is harder to control. I have no problems with wheel flutter or outdoor travel, including rough areas. The chair is wider than usual chairs, but was easy to get used to. I have to use my chair for everyday use, and push it to it's limits. So far, the chair has been very good and reliable. I have found out how to change the display to show miles, speed, voltage, etc. Your chair must be programmed to be able to use the stand-by feature. Ask your tech about this. My last chair was an Jet3 Ultra, and it was so slow that I was hit by an car while trying to cross at an light. My main reason for the speedy TDX5. Be careful if you program the max because the chair will do wheelies on you. I use bus transporation every day, and my chair was able to be four point tied down, without the tie downs, the brakes do give a little when the bus stops. Don't attach the tie downs to the wheels, use the seat frame, it's more secure and solid. I need to hold on to keep from sliding or moving at times without the tie downs. Overall I feel safer in this chair, knowing that I can get home before the batteries lose charge and safer crossing busy streets. The independent supension takes a little getting used to, but it does help when going over uneven areas. Ground clearence is good, and the chair carries weight very well. I always get an double look by other chair owners, because of the unsual front fork design, but I like to be different. Be sure to have the seat adjusted for the proper fit.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Debra from Kutztown, Pa., usa submitted this review on August 1st 2005 at 12:12 AM. Debra is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:great on indoor and hard surfaces.
Weaknesses:BAD REAL BAD outside of the house. If you stay inside all the time great chair. Want to go out in the rain or snow, grass. FORGET it
Comments:Ok chair for home use only
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Chris from Victoria, British Columbia,Canada submitted this review on August 16th 2004 at 11:26 AM. Chris is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:So far it seems not to bad,I've noticed it slows down going down a hill,but that could be the brakes kicking in.Over-all power seems to be there when I need it & speed.
Weaknesses:Like people have said about the two wheels forward and back,they flutter on flat roads,but now since my technician tighten up the main wheel bolts it dosen't do it now.When I go up a curb it dosen't seem to have the power to complete it.
Comments:One more thing can you set the controller milage counter so it will stay on while the controller is shut down,other-wise give me a total milage count all the time like a car.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
M from portland, Or USA submitted this review on July 29th 2004 at 03:59 PM. M is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power, tracking and battery use. I can go farther befor starting to be concerned about getting back. At this pont in time have over 2000 miles with an average of 20 a day, seems to be holding up with no breakdowns.
Weaknesses:rigger wheels (front and rear) flutter
Comments:Love many of its features. Wheel flutter on semi-rough surface at above walking speed obnoxious, otherwise it has the right stuff.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Smokey from Longmont, CO, USA submitted this review on March 14th 2004 at 11:00 PM. Smokey is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is much better than traditional chairs in going up and down bumps or curbs. It seems to track very well on uneven surfaces. The motors are very quiet and turning radius is small which is necessary due to the back wheels sticking further out from the chair. The chair responds very well when programmed correctly in the four different settings which are very useful.
Weaknesses:The front and back wheels start to vibrate very badly at top speed (or even close to top speed). The wheels are obviously too small when trying to go anywhere past medium speed which limits the capability of using it outdoors. I have been very disappointed by this inability to move at a quick pace outside.
Comments:The chair is not too much different than every other chair, however, getting used to the front wheels sticking out wider than the traditional chairs as well as the back wheels sticking out of the back is difficult and takes some time. I am especially disappointed at the vibration of the wheels when trying to go at any amount of speed. The suspension is excellent but takes time to get used to when you are driving because it share will tend to move when my van goes over bumps etc.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Ross The Boss from Providence, RI, USA submitted this review on January 9th 2004 at 12:29 AM. Ross The Boss is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very smooth and so far very durable. True Trak system seems to work very well and stays on course. Gets up to speed quickly and stays steady at top end without drifting. So far no motor chatter or cut outs. Some suspension rolling on uneven terrain but no loss of stability at all. I haven't owned it long enough to be absolutely sure about mechanical integity, so far so good.
Weaknesses:Nothing I can identify yet.
Comments:This turned out to be a very important issue: When I first got the chair there were some performance issues related to exceleration, top end speed, and handling. The dealers people did a quick programming on the unit that was almost worthless. A friend who is great with a programmer spent some real time with me and the chair. Programmed and fine tuned the electronics over a number of days. It was like a new chair! Agile, responsive, and with greatly improved tracking characteristics. The best advice I can give anyone interested in this chair is to hook up with someone who will work with you on the programming, or buy one yourself and learn how.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Robert from Vernon , BC, Canada submitted this review on November 12th 2003 at 10:39 PM. Robert is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:climbs curbs well
Weaknesses:When batteries are charged the brakes continuously come on and off when going down hill - very frustrating and dangerous
Suspension springs are too weak - bouncy ride
Doesn't track as well as they promised - tends to wander off centre when I am using the ASL head array
Comments:This is my second Invacare Power Chair. The TDX5 was recommended by Invacare to replace my Pronto R2 powerchair. After the first year the Pronto required major repairs. Before the second year was over it was in the repair shop requiring more major repairs. Needless to say I am not happy with Invacare PowerChair products. I wonder if Invacare does complete product testing before putting them in the market place. I do not abuse my chair, I don't expect it to run over rough ground but I do expect it to go up and down paved roads.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Invacare
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
3G Torque SP Rwd
A-6S
Action MVP
Allegro
Aluminum Transport Chair
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
At'm Take Along Chair
Auriga 3 Wheel
Auriga 4 Wheel
AX3
Buzz HMV
Buzz HMV R17
Comet
Comfort Mate Extra
Compact
Compass SPT
Compass XE
Deluxe
Eliminator OSR Racing Chair
Essential
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Excelerator Xlt
Excelerator XLT 2000
Excelerator XLT PRO
FDX
Infinity Gentle Contour Cushions
Infinity Low Contour
Infinity Max Contour
InTouch Stabilite OM
Intouch Targit
Invacare Jr
Invacare Jr. Sa
IVC 18
IVC 900
IVC 9000 JYMNI
IVC 9000 Topaz
IVC 9000 XDT
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
IVC 9000XT RECLINER
IVC TRACER IV
L'L Excelerator
Leo Scooter
Leo Scooter
Lynx LX3
Lynx LX3 Plus
Lynx SX3
MVP Fixed Frame
MVP Jr.
MVP Jr. Fixed Frame
MyOn Jr. Wheelchair
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51 LXP
Nutron R51LX
Orbit
P9000 XDT
Panther LX4
Personal Seat VF
Power 9000
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto M71 Jr
Pronto M91 with SureStep
Pronto R2 250 Series
ProSpin X4
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Roller M1
Roller Navigator
Rolls 900
Silhouette Pin Dot
Solara
Solara Jr.
Spree 3G
Spree XT
Spyder
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
TDX SI
TDX SP
TDX Spree
Thompson Lever Drive
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator BB
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator Jr.
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End - X-Terminator BB
Top End - X-Terminator QR
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Force R
Top End Paul Schulte Signature BB Titanium
Top End QR.2G Defensive Rugby Chair
Top End QR.2G Offensive
Top End Reveal
Top End Schulte 7000 Series Basketball Wheelchair
Top End T-5 7000 Series Tennis Wheelchair
Top End T3 Tennis Adjustable
Top End T3 Tennis Elite
Top End T3 Titanium
Top End Terminator Everyday Heavy Duty
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Transformer
Top End Twirl
Top End X Terminator Titanium BB
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Tracer Sx5 Recliner
Transfer Chair
XLT Gold
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
Xtra
Zoom 220
Zoom 220 HMV
Zoom 300 HMV
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Jet 7
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy