USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Electric Mobility Rascal ConvertAble - 600T
Written by Carol
Sunrise Medical Quickie 2HP
Written by Al
Life Motors Tara
Written by Evan
Lifestand LSE
Written by Joanne
Pride Mobility Quantum Q600
Written by Alex
Alber E-motion
Written by Kris
Sunrise Medical Quickie Q7
Written by Karl
Permobil C500 Corpus
Written by Mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Donald
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by Travis
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Sunrise Medical Kid Kart TLC
Image of Sunrise Medical Kid Kart TLC
Pediatric dependent stroller type wheelchair.
• Ability to position the shell forward facing or rearward facing.
• Selection of fabric and base colors.
• Foam-padded, height-adjustable handle bar for varying caregiver needs.
• Options for vent/battery tray, IV pole holder and an oxygen holder.
• Transit approved.
• Adjustment capabilities within the shell for secondary supports.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews293
Durability?4.503.892.33
Ease of use?3.002.892.67
Meet expectations?3.003.562.67
Overall Rating:3.003.442.67
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Janemarie from Puqua, OH USA submitted this review on November 29th 2008 at 12:22 PM. Janemarie is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durable
Tilt and recline easy to use
Foot rest and head rest are easily adjustable
Easy to get child in and out
Easy and fast to break down for transport
Looks more like a stroller than a wheelchair
Weaknesses:Heavy and awkward
Not enough space on tray for all medical equipment. (transport power battery, bipap, pressure monitor, pulse ox /heart monitor, suction unit).
Difficult to get to some parts that need adjusted.
Time consuming to make growth adjustments and add growth pannels to back of seat.
Durable Medical Equipment company did not supply us with all the parts for growth. Never recieved: the screws to attach the two growth plates to the back of the seat, not able to secure hip support to growth plate inserts because of missing parts, never given the 5-point harnes.
Have to buy own tools to make adjustments / repairs.
Not approved for use as a car seat
Comments:Our insurance paid for this chair and that is why we have it.
For the most part I like it. It works for us. I don't have to make adjustments very often and that is why I just found out three days ago that we were never given critical parts to secure growth plates and other parts.
Even though the Kid kart seat is not approved as a car seat, I use it as one. My three year old daughter is so severely disabled that none of the car seats on the market will work for her, even the ones for disabled children. My daughter needs head, trunk, hip, leg support. She has severe CP and her legs have to have a foot support. If I didnt use the kid kart seat as a car seat the only place she would be able to go is to the doctor and that would be by ambulance! Thats no kind of a life. I consulted with her Pediatrician who said we could take her in the car for a short amount of time(15-20 minutes) as long as she tolerates it. The kid kart seat is more safe and secure tied down in the back seat of our vehicle than it is on the base tied down in a wheelchair van.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Linda from Missoula, Montana submitted this review on March 18th 2008 at 10:35 PM. Linda is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:We've had the Kid Kart for more than three years, and we use it all of the time. Strengths include the variable positioning options, varied and diverse head support systems, and the indoor and outdoor bases. We especially love that we can alter the height of the chair when it is on the indoor base. Also, the materials are easy to clean. We started using this as a feeding chair when our son was 12 months old. Now we depend upon it so much, we don't leave home without it.
Weaknesses:It is definitely heavy and can be difficult to lift into the vehicle, especially if the seat is on the outdoor base. It is also difficult for the "layman" to adjust; we have to have our equipment professional come to adjust it every 6-12 weeks.
Comments:While we've had the Kid Kart for more than 3 years, we have not transported our son in the chair, so we cannot fully evaluation the tie down system on this chair.

I've heard this chair was originally designed in Montana; I wonder if that's true.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lynn from NY, NY submitted this review on March 14th 2008 at 07:09 PM. Lynn is a clinician who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:1. Height-adjustable booster base.
Weaknesses:1. Easily wears and tears.
2. The foot rest is very weak.
3. Booster base is not durable.
4. Screws of the head support and foot rests are subject to loosening.
5. Arm rests are not adequate to give support.
6. Lap tray is poorly designed.
Comments:Needs constant tightening of screws and lap belt. Would not recommend.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Margaret from Albany, New York, USA submitted this review on June 5th 2007 at 08:50 PM. Margaret is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is a great looking chair with good positioning options. It is good as a first "wheelchair" for smaller children and more easily acceptable for parents. I like that it comes with a transit option. The parents of children I have worked with are able to fold it down easily for transport. Most fit it right into the back of their minivans without having to fold it at all. Also, it maneuvers well.
Weaknesses:It is very heavy- although it comes with a lot of components that are sturdy and will add weight to any chair. I have a lot of difficulty adjusting it for growth. Many components need to be taken apart before you can get to the piece that you are actually trying to adjust. Sometimes this is frustrating. Also, I find that the lap belt loosens too easily and a child with high tone loses the important stability that a tight lap belt provides.
Comments:see above
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Chris from Pittsburgh, PA, USA submitted this review on August 30th 2006 at 01:34 PM. Chris is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Still looks enough like a stroller that we do not feel like she is in a wheelchair. Very smooth rolling. Easy to steer even with one hand.
Weaknesses:Very heavy -- it weights about 50 poounds.
Comments:We love the Kid Kart TLC. It has been great for our daughter and for us. It easily fits in the back of our Dodge Caravan without breaking it down. We take it everywhere we go.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
telese from robertson co, tn submitted this review on June 30th 2006 at 12:03 PM. telese is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:good positioning
Weaknesses:bulky heavy cumbersome forget taking it anywhere
Comments:wouldn't recommend except for a classroom setting
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
John from Canada submitted this review on April 15th 2006 at 01:22 PM. John is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:adjustability
Weaknesses: 
Comments:We have had this chair for our son since he was 3 he is now 8 nothing has broken the fabric just needs replacing we have traveled extensively with it from the beaches of Norfolk England to those of the Caribbean and thought by now the sand would have taken it's toll, not so; just maintain with WD40 and its like new
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Mary from Miami, OK, USA submitted this review on October 15th 2005 at 08:50 PM. Mary is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is very easy to handle..even with just one hand. I like the tilt features, so many different options.
Weaknesses:The lap belt doesn't stay tight...We have had to safety pin both sides to keep if from loosening while in use.
Comments:This has been great for our child and should grow with her.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Mari from St. Louis, MO submitted this review on August 19th 2005 at 10:11 PM. Mari is a clinician who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:parents of young children with special needs are more likely to accept this because it looks less like a wheelchair, but still provides decent positioning. I LOVE that you can get the transit option...not enough WC-19 compliant wheelchairs on the market and I applaud Sunrise for their work in this area!
Weaknesses:difficult to adjust...many adjustable parts are covered. generally don't seem that sturdy to me and I feel like I always have to "fix" them. To me, they aren't very "sleek" looking.
Comments:A decent intro to wheelchairs for young pediatric clients, and great that it is WC-19 for transition into the school districts, but parents should be informed of their options with other potentially more durable, growth friendly folding frame wheelchairs...
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Lisa from Chouteau, OK, USA submitted this review on August 15th 2005 at 03:45 AM. Lisa is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It doesn't look like a wheelchair. I love that.
Weaknesses:Ackward to carry. Sometimes it's hard to take apart and put back together. We recently acquired the power base for it and it's hard to get into the base sometimes. The joystick controller has to be in a certain spot before it will fit.
Comments:I have had problems with it since the day we got it. I have had to take it in to have screws replaced/tightened too many times to count. But I do love the way it holds my daughter up when she sits in it. And she loves it being powered. She runs over everything and laughs when you run to stop her.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
J. Anne from Richmond, TX, USA submitted this review on July 25th 2005 at 11:00 AM. J. Anne is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Tilt in space is great. Very comfortable for my 3 year old son. Positioning is excellent.
Weaknesses:Big and heavy. It will break down small enough to fit in our Honda Civic though.
Comments:We love this wheelchair. It doesn't look like a wheelchair which is nice. The plastic can break. We broke off an arm and part of the back when it fell when we were trying to load it into our civic. The airlines finished breaking it on a trip. It is great for at home use but if you can afford it I would get something smaller and more portable for trips.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
David from Seattle, WA, USA submitted this review on December 7th 2004 at 06:07 PM. David is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Sturdy. Nylon easily washed. Easily adaptable to new configurations. Tilting and locking is pretty good. Easily manueverable and requires little effort to push and steer. Puts child at a good height for visiblity and use at tables. Large rear wheels good for tilting/offroading on rough/soft surfaces.
Weaknesses:Handle bar easily torqued and a little weak. It never bent, but felt like it could. Being a two part chair, it was very large and could not be stored in an automobile. Adhesives on rubber pads would slide after months of use. Some bolts on footrest were suspect to loosening. Raaarely used the rain cover because of it's additional bulk. As with most chairs, there is little that can be done for storage.
Comments:Pretty decent for a child 1-8 years old. It doesn't really look like a wheelchair but more like a stroller. It is therefore less obtrusive. It feels more modern than the traditional wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Tara from Oklahoma City, OK US submitted this review on May 13th 2004 at 11:02 PM. Tara is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Does very well at accomadating med equipment. I liked the positional options.
Weaknesses:VERY HEAVY AND AKWARD!! It is very difficult to set up and take down.
Comments:Although I was pleased with ours overall, I probably should have just persued a motorized chair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Chrissy (Mom) from Stevens Point, Wisconsin submitted this review on January 20th 2004 at 04:49 PM. Chrissy (Mom) is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good positioning device, maneuvers very well, i like the reclining feature, and that the base is detachable.
Weaknesses:Easily wears & tears, fabric isn't the easiest to get water or sweat stains out of, the base is IMPOSSIBLE to unfold 75% of the time, it's very, very heavy, and the push-bar in the back sticks too far out- ot should retract or remove for when you're at a restraunt or something like that.
Comments:It's good for stroller-like use, but it sort of high to be put in a modivied vehicle.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Other products by Sunrise Medical
Breezy 100
Breezy 150
Breezy 150 Recliner
Breezy 500
Breezy 503
Breezy 510
Breezy 600
Breezy Ultra 4
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Guardian Easycare 1000
Guardian Easycare 1000 Transport
Guardian Easycare 1000HD
Guardian Easycare 2000
Guardian Escort
Guardian Microlite Garnet
Guardian Microlite Ruby & Ruby 2
Guardian Trek 3
Guardian Trek 4
Iris
Jay J-Gel Cushion
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart Xpress
P222 SE
PowerTek F35
Quickie 2
Quickie 2 Lite
Quickie 2HP
Quickie 3d
Quickie Allcourt
Quickie Argon
Quickie Argon Ti
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Chameleon
Quickie Cyclone
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie GP Swingaway
Quickie GP/GPV
Quickie GPV Competition
Quickie Groove
Quickie GT
Quickie GTi
Quickie Heat
Quickie Kanski
Quickie Kidz
Quickie Kidz Bike
Quickie LX
Quickie LXI
Quickie M6
Quickie Mach2
Quickie Match Point
Quickie P-11
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie P210
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie Q7
Quickie QM-715HD
Quickie QM-720
Quickie QXi
Quickie R2
Quickie Racer
Quickie Recliner
Quickie Revolution
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie RXS
Quickie S-11
Quickie S525
Quickie S626
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Quickie Shark
Quickie Shark S
Quickie Spirit 470
Quickie SR45
Quickie ST/DT (Discontinued)
Quickie T45
Quickie Ti Match Point
Quickie Ti Titanium
Quickie Titanium
Quickie Ts
Quickie V121
Quickie Xtender
Quickie XTR
Quickie Z500
Quickie Zippie
Quickie Zippie GS
Quickie Zippie Kidz
Quickie Zippie TS
Quickie Zippie TS Folding
Quickie Zippie2
QuickieTi All Court
Sopur Allround 615
Sopur Allround Kid
Sopur Classic 140
Sopur Easy 160 HP
Sopur Easy Max
Sopur Friend
Sopur Power 160E
Sopur Ti Titanium
Sopur Youngster 2
Sopur Youngster 842 TS
Suntec 4005
Suntec 4020
Supor Allround Kid 2
V 100
V 121
V 521
Zippie Z-Bop
Zippie Zone
Similar products (Pediatric Stroller Style Wheelchairs)
Axiom 1.5
Axiom Improv
Brio
Bug
C2000
Carrie Rover
Clip
Convaid Cruiser
Convertible
Cruisaire
Cruiser Scout
Cuddlebug
Dimo
EASyS 1 Jogger
Eco-Buggy
Expedition
EZRider
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart Xpress
Kimba
Kimba Cross
Kimba Inline
Kimba Twin Tandem
Kiwi
Lex EASyS 1
Lisa
Major 2000
Max EASyS 1
Max Tilt-n-Space
Merlino
Metro
Novus
OBI
Panda Futura
Promyk
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Rodeo
Safari Tilt
Scout
SL-9000-A
SL-9000-B
Special Needs 5
Special Needs 5 (modified)
Special Needs5 (modified)
Swifty
The Stroller
TRI
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy