USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Mikayla
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Larry
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Joyce
Medicare Technology Mambo Standard
Written by I.J.
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Barbara
Invacare 3G Arrow True Track
Written by David
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by Robert
Box Wheelchairs Daily Chair
Written by Deidra
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-715HD
Written by debra
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Otto Bock Kimba
Image of Otto Bock Kimba
Pediatric dependent stroller type wheelchair with tilt and recline seating system.
• Adjustable seat depth, seat width, back height, footrest height.
• Hip and lateral pads adjust.
• Tilt seating with 180 degrees of recline.
• Folds for transport.
• Many accessories.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews390
Durability?3.333.670
Ease of use?3.673.780
Meet expectations?4.003.670
Overall Rating:3.673.560.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


LaKiesha from Jacksonville Fl USA submitted this review on August 12th 2010 at 12:03 PM. LaKiesha is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Adjustable. More contouring. Easy to access tilt and recline. Good amount of options. Has sunshade and basket. Comes in 3 color options. Folds easily. Tray is easy to take without it having to be on the chair. Easily loops over handles.
Weaknesses:Sunshade is ackward. Loose and stiff at the same time. Gets stuck on headrest pole. Basket is small. TIS requires two hands. Recline is very funky to operate. You pull a pin and twist a lever then do some jiggling for it to finally release and move easily. Cheap parts. Was very surprised that so much of this is PLASTIC. Seat bottom and back are all plastic! Makes me question crash worthiness, esp for continued use after crash. Seems like it would fall under car seat rules for that. When my son extends, you can see the seat back bend backwards. I'm afraid he'll break it. Head rest pole is way too long. Not sure when a child would need the headrest to extend 8in INTO seat. Many people cut theirs. We are thinking to do the same. Wheelchair doesn't hold up to self transfers well. Chair is wide, especially considering seat width of child is only 9.5in. Wish there were less bulky headrest options. Sunshade breaks easily.

Make sure brakes are locked in! They can seem to lock but won't be firmly on allowing rolling. Other times, they release unevenly leading to one wheel being stuck and a frustrated parent.
Comments:Will NOT harm child if using TWO HANDS to tilt! Use one hand to pull lever. Other hand holds seat back. Simple. Overall, we like the chair. Supports him better than previous stroller wheelchair. Still not 100% so we are moving on to full manual chair. Chair is big and, although folds well, does take up quite a bit of space in 2010 Odyssey. Straps down easily on bus.

I do recommend switching chest harness for one from Body Point or another company. Kimba version is very big and stiff. Offers no give for movt. Very restraining and limiting which is NOT the function of a chest harness. Would be great if Otto Bock offered 4pt waist belts, too.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Crystal from Gaffney SC 29341 submitted this review on May 13th 2010 at 09:54 PM. Crystal is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:It will go anywhere.
Weaknesses:It is made with cheap parts
Comments:It doesn't feel really sturdy
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Denise from Windsor Mill,Md,USA submitted this review on March 14th 2010 at 04:16 PM. Denise is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:t







The seat is very is soft and comfortable,the adjustable chest harness that fits like a vest and helps with trunk control. I love that the stroller can recline,this helps alot with her inability to hold her head up. I love the canopy for the sun and the clear rain cover that covers the whole stroller in bad weather. We also use the tie downs for the school bus. I love the storage basket at the base of the stroller. We use the tray at school as well at home when her seat is attached to the home base,this is a really nice feature to have it's like a highchair
and we can roll her from room to room. Also I like the fact that the seat can be installed forward or rear facing,if your child has a medical condition you can see at all times or you just might just want to gaze at your princess or prince(smile)
Weaknesses:At first I did not like this oversized dark navy blue mechanical looking stroller.It is very HEAVY!!
Comments:I have come to love this stroller. After visiting some of the high end baby shops for a PRETTY stroller I noticed that most of the strollers were european made and had a lot of the same features that my otto back kimba had but was not customed made for my little girl. The kimba is very easy to use and fold.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Kelly from Livingston, LA submitted this review on October 29th 2008 at 09:07 AM. Kelly is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great support, ease of use on outside terrain, easy to turn, adjustable. Folds up easily, can load and unload very quickly.
Weaknesses:very wide, but I guess as my son gets bigger, wheelchairs will get wider. Storage under chair is very small and limited. I wish that a bar went across the pelvis rather than a seat belt.
Comments:I get so many coments on this chair! I love the fact that it can easily recline, folds up easily and fits in the back of my van. My son HATES all other chairs, but is quite comfortable with this one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Lixa from Fajardo, P.R. submitted this review on February 11th 2008 at 11:34 AM. Lixa is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very comfortable, good seating.
Weaknesses:The front wheels are to wide and is very difficult at doors ways and very difficult in mini vans ramps.
Comments:Please modify the wide at the front wheels for easy access in doorways and car ramps.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Holly from Pennsylvania submitted this review on March 28th 2007 at 12:22 PM. Holly is a care giver who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:good seating support
Weaknesses:front wheels stick out to the side making it wide and difficult to get through doorways. Spider base hi-lo base is difficult to adjust. Spring that adjusts tilt flips seat back rapidly - dont adjust with child in the seat! Seat seems to click onto base but test it each time by shaking it! We had an ER visit on the first day when my son got dumped onto his head!
Comments:I got this stroller over a kid kart based on the ratings here. I hope my experience is an isloated one for this stroller.
Head supports aren't stationary. My son can easily push them out, even with his limited head control. - much to HIS delight:)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Elizabeth from Salem, MA submitted this review on November 4th 2006 at 08:23 PM. Elizabeth is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I really like this stroller. It is very comfortable for my daughter to sit in for long periods, is nice and smooth riding, and I like how I can adjust the handle to whatever height I like. It's easy to adjust for the most part.
Weaknesses:I find the chair to be very dangerous if you have other children around. There are lots of parts that stick off that you can easily bump into. Try cutting a hole in a tennis ball and sticking it on the end of these parts! It's quite heavy, but worth the extra effort. The footrest is not easy to adjust.
Comments:Over-all a VERY nice piece of equipment. It should last my daughter 5+ years of regular use! It's the Cadillac of Adaptive Strollers.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Fred from California, USA submitted this review on August 16th 2006 at 03:33 PM. Fred is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Good positioning and is easy to push and maneuver. We have taken the Kimba everywhere (even to Europe) and have found the larger wheels helpful on most urban surface settings. Nice adjustability on the handles so short or tall people can push easily. The handles also fold completely in so it takes up late space if you are eating out in a restaurant or other tight settings.
Weaknesses:Heavy.
Comments:It is a very nice transition vehicle between stroller use and a wheelchair.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Kris from North Port, FL USA submitted this review on January 30th 2006 at 08:43 PM. Kris is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great for going out of the house. All terrain wheels. Durable.
Weaknesses:Heavy
Comments:We are thankful for insurance covering this equipment along with the home base that moves to the ground and lifts to hi chair position. It has wheels which is nice for home.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Beth from Columbus Ohio submitted this review on January 23rd 2006 at 01:11 PM. Beth is a care giver who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I think this seating system has everything that anyone could possibly need for their child. It is fairly easy to adjust. We have the spider indoor base and mobility base (check the otto bock website for the most up to date photos) Having the hi-lo base at home is a great help to our daughter, by using the base at different heights she is able to stay involved with the family.
Weaknesses:I would be fun to have a few more color choices. The footrest has been difficult to adjust to the right position for us.
Comments:A great overall system. I love the hi-lo base and the mobility base is great too.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Maggie from Massachusetts submitted this review on July 28th 2005 at 08:32 PM. Maggie is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Excellent for positioning my son (who has severe spastic CP), he loves sitting in it.
Folds/stores in car easily.
Weaknesses:Weak plastic back: my son loves to "rock" in the chair and he has broken two backs. Although the chair is supposed to be safe for a bus, I don't think it would be because of the ease in which the back has broken (2x).
Comments:We are glad to have the chair - we have an indoor base which has been wonderful for feeding and meals with the family. The stroller base has been a life saver any time we go out.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
rebecca from fairhope, alabama, usa submitted this review on March 28th 2005 at 06:19 PM. rebecca is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:comfortable, easy to tilt and easy to assemble, great support
Weaknesses:pretty heavy, no more under the seat for suction machine
Comments:We are so happy that we have the chair, our little one loves sitting it, We can take him everywhere in it. It helps with his head control. It's easy to push and manuver, the only set back i see with it is that is heavy to lift, but it's easy to fold up and fits in the trunk.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Otto Bock
Adult Standing Frame
Avante Garde V
Avante Garde VX
Avantgarde FL
Avantgarde T
Avantgarde Teen
Avantgarde Ti 8.9
Avantgarde Ti Ultra
Avantgarde TR
Avantgarde VR
Avantgarde XXL
B500
B600
Blizzard
C1000
C2000
E-Support
Eco-Buggy
Evantgarde a-100F
Kimba Cross
Kimba Inline
Kimba Twin Tandem
Kiwi
Lisa
Mini
Motus
ParaGolfer
proVario 1 &2
Sherpa
Start Basic
Start Hemi
Start M2 Effect
Start Multi
Start Plus
Superfour
Supertrans
Switch
Switch Attack
Teeny & Teeny+
Voyager
Voyager
Voyager Teen
Wolturnus Tukan
Wolturnus W5
Wolturnus W5 Junior
Wulturnus W5
Xeno
z50
Similar products (Pediatric Stroller Style Wheelchairs)
Axiom 1.5
Axiom Improv
Brio
Bug
C2000
Carrie Rover
Clip
Convaid Cruiser
Convertible
Cruisaire
Cruiser Scout
Cuddlebug
Dimo
EASyS 1 Jogger
Eco-Buggy
Expedition
EZRider
Kid Kart Mighty Lite
Kid Kart TLC
Kid Kart Xpress
Kimba Cross
Kimba Inline
Kimba Twin Tandem
Kiwi
Lex EASyS 1
Lisa
Major 2000
Max EASyS 1
Max Tilt-n-Space
Merlino
Metro
Novus
OBI
Panda Futura
Promyk
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Rodeo
Safari Tilt
Scout
SL-9000-A
SL-9000-B
Special Needs 5
Special Needs 5 (modified)
Special Needs5 (modified)
Swifty
The Stroller
TRI
Zippie Voyage
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy