USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by Dan
Golden Motor Technology Co Ltd E-Wheelchair PW-8F20
Written by Justin
Permobil C500 Corpus
Written by Thomas
Permobil M400 Corpus 3G
Written by Michael
Sunrise Medical Quickie 2 Lite
Written by Ruth
Electric Mobility Rascal 326
Written by james
Sunrise Medical Quickie Q7
Written by Kerry
Pride Mobility Quantum Blast 850
Written by Gary
21st Century Scientific, Inc. Bounder Plus H-Frame
Written by Bill
Otto Bock Wolturnus Tukan
Written by Edward
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Magic Mobility Frontier
Image of MAGIC MOBILITY Frontier
All terrain, mid wheel drive, power electric wheelchair.
• 4 Pole DC motors.
• Knobby Tires.
• Full 6 Wheel Articulated Suspension.
• Off-Road All Terrain Performance.
• Design. 6.5 mph. Seat Widths: 16", 18"-20" (410-460-510mm). Seat Depths: 16"-19"-20" (410-480-510mm).
• Base Width: 710mm. Overall Length:905mm.
• Backrest Height: 560mm.
• Chair Weight: 240lbs (110kg).
• Maximum User Weight: 265lbs (118kg) 400lb Option Available.
• Battery Size: 38A/hr or 56A/Hr or 73A/hr Gell Cells.
• Range: 15 to 20 mile.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1100
Durability?4.2700
Ease of use?4.1800
Meet expectations?4.2700
Overall Rating:4.090.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Tim from Auburn, MI submitted this review on May 13th 2010 at 01:43 PM. Tim is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Off road performance is it's strength hands down. Up hill traction is as good as any. Good battery life. good power and speed
Weaknesses:Center of gravity! Too high in the seat. Tires are not the best, reminds me of 70's 3 wheeler tires. They load up easy with leaves and such. You don't see modern quads with this type tire for a reason!
Comments:I lowered the seat 4" (I don't have any tilt/raise so it was easy). I have new tires with more tread.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Dan from Florida Suncoast submitted this review on April 1st 2010 at 07:16 PM. Dan is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Sand, mud, rocks, snow and ice all show this chairs nearly unlimited strengths.
Weaknesses:Exposed EZ-Lock pin reduces bottom clearance.

The chair should also have a built-in limit on how far back you can have the 50 degree tilt in space seat and still be able to drive at full speed!

Poor quality leg hangers, Frontiers foot plate is not the answer either.
Comments:I am a wildlife photographer who often finds myself in some precarious places and positions. Anyplace and anywhere with this chair, dunes at the beach to fresh water springs deep in the forests. I travel mostly Florida, with an occasional trip up the east coast of the United States.
I have only managed to get stuck in this chair once and that was my fault, not the chairs. I was climbing a very steep sand dune, when half way up I buried it down to the frame. Luckily I had two friends and a park ranger to pull me out. I could have made it to the top, but I was new to the chair and forgot to let some air out of the main drive flotation tires.
I have been able to absolutely terrify onlookers with this chairs capabilities. I have had people come running to help me, sure that my chair was about to flip over, only to be amazed at what it can do. I am no little guy, so I can only imagine what this chair could do with a young lanky person at the control's.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
T from Forest County, PA submitted this review on January 2nd 2010 at 04:44 PM. T is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:OK outdoor/indoor chair. Excellent traction with the low pressure,knobby tires.
Weaknesses:High center of gravity. Can be very unstable depending on operators weight. Very susceptible to wet weather. The controller has raised buttons and will let precipitation penetrate the electronics causing ultimate failure. The actuator for the tilt operation and other equipment is exposed to the weather.
Comments:I live in a National Forest and require a powerchair with excellent stability, good suspension, reasonable moisture resistance and trustworthy tires. The X-5 does not meet this requirement.
I have both the Next Mobility OmegaTrac and the Frontier X-5 and travel dirt and gravel roads and rough, uneven terrain. I am out in all weather conditions, by myself (C 5/6 Quad) with little or no outside contact. The OmegaTrac is twice the chair and much more stable and safe than the X-5. As long as you seriously consider the conditions and your routes of travel then the X-5 may be OK for you.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
wendell from pittsburgh, pa. usa submitted this review on April 13th 2009 at 12:53 AM. wendell is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I decided to order the Frontier because it's the third best chair. (in the USA ) The Permobil Trax, The Super Four and the Extreme 4x4 are not possible for me to get so its the Frontier.

So far It's strentghs are power and speed. Its great in tight quarters band you can turn on a dime.
Weaknesses:Weakness is the batteries coul last longer and the wheels in the back goes flat a lot.
Comments:The Super Four would had been my choice, hands down its the best out door chair in the world. The Extreme 4x4 is too damn slow yet its the most powerul wheelchair in the world. Even though they upgrade it to the 8x8 which they increased the speed since I have not driven it I can not give you a report on it.

The Frontier is the 3rd most powerful chair and it has a little speed. Its great for both worlds outside and inside.

I would had loved tobuy another Trax its the best chair pound for pound in the world. I will fix up my Frontier and add a sound system, GPS system, and my laptop. It will be a beast.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Wendell from pittsburgh, pennsylvania; usa submitted this review on December 24th 2008 at 12:35 PM. Wendell is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:POWER! & SPEED! Not as fast as a Permobil Trax, but a little more powerful.
Weaknesses:They gave me a demo and the caster wheel got flat making the ride enjoyable.The demo chair came with that hated field goal post joystick and it was a nightmare to use.
Comments:Its a good chair, if I ha a regular joystick it would had been a dream ride. The Frontier seating was uncomfortable, Trax is no longer being sold in the United States, so I had to choose the 4X4 Extreme over the Frontier because the Extreme is more comfortable.

Trax was the best chair on the market, I would say the Frontier is the second best chair, it is great out doors and indoors a good chair. Those who made mechanical problems You should ha been covered under their warranty. Those who had problems after the warranty drop me a line we are in the process of getting wheelchair reform laws implemented through Congress.

Wendell Fears
Chairman
Fears & Fears Investigations and Intelligence Agency
1-412-231-7016
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
michael from san antonio submitted this review on December 23rd 2008 at 02:34 PM. michael is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:i don't get stuck!
Weaknesses:the good folks at usatechguide suggested i repost my review of 3/2008! so here go's! since i have had this chair! it has been a nightmare! it has been serviced 6 times since i accepted delivery in 3/08!
1st the chair's motors would lock up(alternating right and left at times) at speed! this caused me to flip the chair over in the street(how embarrising and dangerous)! then about a week later a wire burnt out for the recline motor! then the recline motor went out about a week later! it had to be replaced! expensive! on 12/19, on the way to the corner store, the battery light went from 80% to zero in a split second! i "limped" the chair home before it give out completly about half way home! here i had this $13000. neat looking chair and i had to be pushed home! it was a friday afternoon at closing time! i almost had to spend the weekend on the side of the road! this chair was meant to replace a chair(invacare) that was ment to replace my first chair(quickie s626)which had been recalled several times! as i sat on the side of the road! i really began to wonder! are all power chairs a peice of crap?
Comments:no sidewalks required!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
michael from san antonio, tx US submitted this review on March 13th 2008 at 01:52 PM. michael is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:very tough chair! i have been real happy with mine! responsive! excellent turning radious indoors! very good price point compared to my older chairs with similar features! despite my criticisms of this chair. i would highly reccomend it for not only outdoors but indoors as well! you can buy tires and wheels for it anywhere if you encounter a flat on a trip!
Weaknesses:extremely weak documentation! if tires (knobby) go flat and you need air most air machines at the service station can blow these tires up because only 4-5lbs of air are required to fill up these pneumatic tires to begin with. most air machines will not read that low! wierd controler! unlike my invacare or even my old quickie! you can not control the seating effects(tilt/recline, seat elevation)while your driving! forcing you to stop and put the chair in "tilt/recline" mode to enable those functions and then go back to "drive mode" to continue driving.
Comments:beware of peoples reactions to a chair like this. a lot of people do not realize this is a wheelchair! they have, on occasion, denied me access to their establishment(s) because they think this chair is some kind of offroad vehicle! carry a spare tire!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Sharon from Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA submitted this review on October 20th 2007 at 09:01 PM. Sharon is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Where do I begin. Handles and rides like a dream.
Husband helps with the tire pressure.
Some many strengths. I feel the most important is the suspension. I wish my old 1122 had this type of suspension.
Weaknesses:None
Comments:You and add features after owning this chair for a year or more..
All other chairs forget it. If you want power elevating seat you can add it, power recline you can add it. This is a very big plus for anyone that is losing all their ability to function at least a little bit or use to.
No other chair will add the features like the Frontier X5.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Dawn from Knoxville, TN USA submitted this review on June 6th 2006 at 05:13 PM. Dawn is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Can go anywhere, the company has been great when my DME was a jerk and the company talked us through getting a tire off which got popped. ( Before I had a way to transport the chair my roommate took it out and got his dog's leash wrapped aound a tire and he drug that rear wheel home.) Tires are lawn tractor tires, the company tech said go to a lawn tractor tire shop. This chair is VERY comfortable. I have pulled my 150 lbs roommate up and down hills 3-5 miles with no problem, I have gone over a pile of gravel on a construction site, and a pile of 6 inch rocks.
Weaknesses:To not have caster wheel wobble you must be able to weekly check tire pressues, and EVERYONE keeps telling you the mid-wheel tire is low. ( I have had to argue to get on a city bus when the driver siad my mid-wheel tire was low) It was a MAJOR battle to get this chair approved mainly because it is different. Only other issue is I have bent the foot rest 2 X first my fault hit a high speed bump in high speed, second time was a stupid trolley driver in a local resort area.
Comments:I just wish other wheelchair users would not get so nasty about why I do not have a jazzy or invacare.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Billy from Jacksonville,Texas U.S.A submitted this review on June 30th 2004 at 10:57 PM. Billy is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is the awsomest chair on the planet.Its fast when you want it to be and aggressive enough to climb and claw its way through the woods. On the other side it is nimble enough to slip indoors and grab a cup a tea. Smooth as ice on the rough stuff. Its strength is its self and the ability to go where you want to and get work done around the house and maybe a little play time too.
Weaknesses:NONE!
Comments:Everybody that is confined to a chair and loves the great outdoors needs a frontier. It is flat out the best of both worlds I live in East Texas and its all rugged terrain around here I have yet to get stuck but you hafta drive smart. I take it in the house no problem at all compaired to other power chairs it turns on a dime. It is like driving a recliner around. If you ever can get on one do it you will be glad you did.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Bob from Billerica,MA, USA submitted this review on February 13th 2004 at 11:11 AM. Bob is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:So many, can be used in house 32" doors/42" hallways to back yard, over crusty snow ice and at speed. Up grade over 3" stepping stones and up 3" step to sidewalk. No jarring to start spasm like riding on cloud thanks to five psi in tires. Got right into Ford F150 van lowered floor 6" pulled up to steering wheel like it was made for it.WOW! please read comments, full story.
Weaknesses:I ain't got one. X5 that is. Don't like foot rests, should be footplate.Front tires lift off ground when your stopped and turn left/right that wheel picks up.ODD! But that's the way it is, with the independent suspension.
Comments:DEMO HAD IT FOR TWO HOURS, GOD I NEED ONE!
Thursday, February 12, 2004
Frontier-X5

Set as in picture in brochure for 400-lbs. person. Transfer into chair, a little trouble for first time but not difficulty. No rocking of chair, getting in or out of chair. It did not shift or roll or move when my weight was added or removed from chair.
MPS Seat was very comfortable. Could be a little wider. Did not shift or slide in it.
Joystick worked fine, movement good, selection of top speed easy to change, horn in reach, on/off switch right there. I came up my front walk, to front door easy to open door and operate control of joystick, back, turn, and forward through the storm door and main door over threshold. Which I could not feel any bump or jar or twisting of chair. Twisted up scatter rug inside of door, when I turned around on it. Went down 42 hallway to den through den door 32 no trouble. Spun around back out to hall left into computer room. Right up to computer desk, fit just right, keyboard/mouse/monitor no trouble no adjustment.
Backed up left room 32 door left up hall right to kitchen through to dinning room. Pulled up to table I was at the right height.
Then moved to kitchen sink, my favorite spot. Must pull up to it at 85 not open under sink. I would not have any trouble at the sink, or stove. Boy this is a great chair in house. I forgot to try transfer to bed and toilet. Should be little or no trouble.
Center wheel drives so easy, easy to maneuver inside house.

Now to backyard.
Opening back door no trouble, pulling through door 31 wide with big threshold 1.75. It steps up a half-inch brim to door threshold up another half inch to another brim. Half inch up. Then the floor starts to slop away from door. I could not even feel it. No bounce, which starts leg spasm, no jar to start spasm, or twisting of chair to scrap door. Then backed through the door, which I do quite a bit, no trouble, no scraping of door-frame/door. Then out to backyard, on patio covered with ice and snow and dog paw prints, which turned to ice making a very rough surface, even to walk on. Frontier rolled over it like it was dried leaves. Crackle of crusty snow and ice cracking. Slowly then faster and faster. Rolling over the uneven surface like it was level. The Invacare FWD cannot go over this, to pick up dog poop. My wife cannot walk out here due to bad knees. Somehow I do pick it up, but have gotten stuck out here. I have fallen off deck by pool filter and not been able to get unstuck alone. Frontier went over this area like it was only expansion joints. This is 3 drop off onto stepping stones 3s high. Over these objects like nothing. Oh! Here I am at the garden shed, which I cant get to, till all the snow and ice melt. I could get the sump pump, pick up dog poop, and pick up some of the dog toys. Pick up branches that have fallen in yard. I went around the in-ground pool, ice, snow, springs, straps that hold the Saf-T-Cover on pool. Areas that I usually get stuck in. God I cant believe where I am, where I have gone in this chair. In the front door, around inside the house, out the back door around the yard, through the garage and workshop, out to driveway, to my van, on the lift to driver position better then Invacare. Back out to my chair. Transferred out of Frontier with no trouble. Boy does it feel funny (my old chair). Oh, darn did all this and no pictures.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy