USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by allen
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by William
Horizon Mobility Mayan
Written by john
Alber E-motion
Written by John
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by Kathleen
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by JP
Lifestand LSC
Written by Max
Pride Mobility Go Go
Written by Allan
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1122
Written by James
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by alex
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Invacare 3G Torque SP Rwd
Image of Invacare 3G Torque SP Rwd
Invacare 3G Torque SP.
Rear wheel drive electric power wheelchair.

Standard 4-Pole motor, maximum speed of 6.5 mph.
Standard MKIV RII electronics, horn, flying lead connection, charger and programming port built into a one-drive joystick.
Standard independent rear-wheel suspension.
Height adjustable arms.
Back Angle: 80 - 115 (5 increments).
Base Width: Standard: 4-pole motor 25". Optional: GB with TrueTrack motor 24.75" (with 14" x 3" wheels).
Battery: Standard: 22NF Optional: Group 24.
Standard: 8" x 2.25" semi-pneumatic.
Drive Wheel Standard: 14" x 3" pneumatic. Optional free wheel hub with HD 4-pole motor (14" x 4" adds 2" to overall width). Standard: MKIV RII electronics. Optional MKIV-A with switch options.
Overall Length: Short base: 28.5", long base: 31.5" (Measured from head tube to standard anti-tip wheel).
Product Weight: 190 lb (without batteries).
Product Weight Capacity: -4-pole motor w/ MKIV-RII: 250 lb (w/ tilt/recline: 200 lb) -4-pole motor w/ MKIV-A: 300 lb (w/ tilt/recline: 250 lb) -HD 4-pole pkg w/ MKIV-A: 350 lb (w/ tilt/recline: 300 lb) -GB Motor: 300 lb (w/ tilt/recline: 250 lb).
Seat Depth: 12" - 20" (1" increments).
Seat Tilt: 0 - 10 (continous adjustment).
Seat To Floor Height: Low: 17.5" Medium: 19.75" Tall: 21".
Seat Width: 12" - 20" (1" increments).
Speed: Standard: 4.5 mph (max) 4-pole, optional: 6.5 mph (max). 8.5 mph (max) GB TrueTrack motor.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1100
Durability?4.3600
Ease of use?4.3600
Meet expectations?3.7300
Overall Rating:3.640.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Terry from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada submitted this review on January 28th 2013 at 01:55 PM. Terry is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Motors have never failed. Still stylish looking.
Weaknesses:Audio jack style connectors come loose when traveling outside. Tilt mechanism is a constant problem because of electrical shorts. Dangerous in that I have been left outside in the dark tilted too far back to drive. Control box soaks up moisture like a sponge and resulting electrical short causes chair to turn in circles. Especially dangerous on subway platforms.
Comments:Invacare had excellent products up until five years ago. Avoid at all cost. Useful only for facilities. Dangerous outdoors.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Michael from Australia submitted this review on November 28th 2012 at 12:57 AM. Michael is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Quality build new style gearbox saves space & weight, Adjustability
Weaknesses:Came with foot rest that are to large dealer took mounting hardware and footrest for swap over yet to hear from him
Comments:Invacare need to look at dealing with people who know what they are doing my first storm was great and I completed the script myself it was built and delivered in 4 weeks after travelling around Australia in my van due to been homeless i ended up in WA my controller blew I had to drive to Sydney to get a replacement after getting back to WA i was hit by an unlicensed driver wrecking my van and Storm it has taken 2 years to replace my chair during this time i found that Invacare in WA and SA are Deregistered companies i had to buy a box trailer and use my brothers hatch back to travel to my closest dealer witch is Canberra Invacare should have a system to deal with remote areas as a dealer near me River Abilitys before the Invacare shake up where licensed to deal with invacare chair why cant they order now there is no dealer or let me import directly as i know more than most dealers with 35 years experience any way after all this trouble and a heap of cost I'm glad to have my Invacare again as been alive after a 62mph impact the TRRO kit proved the extra $300 is worth paying for otherwise i would have been killed
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Peggy from San Francisco California submitted this review on December 13th 2011 at 10:26 PM. Peggy is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I have had no problems with the mechanics in the 2+ years I have had this chair. The motors are loud and make different noises at different times, but they have done a very good job so far. The batteries have lasted too. The tilt/reclining functions have worked well, as have the automatic elevating leg rests. The electronics and mechanics cannot be faulted.



I hope I am reporting on the correct chair - I have been Invacare storm torque three and at times mixup which storm is which.
Weaknesses:I purchased this chair because everyone I knew who had one was happy with it and kept repurchasing it when they needed new chairs. A few years back it was probably an excellent chair all around. But I have had a great many problems - Invacare is clearly influenced by Wall Street profit grabs.

About a year ago I noticed rust - the seat is rusting, the screws are rusting, everything that can rust is rusting. This will shorten the life of the chair unless one can find a mechanic who does more than change out parts. The mechanic has to be able to dig rusty screws out and replace them - in parts that may have also rusted. The upshot is that this chair may not last long if the metal starts disintegrating. Invacare is clearly using cheaper grades of metal to hold the chair together.

The armrests are made out foam that chunks off, requiring more than one replacement in a short time. Or you can use gorilla glue.

The headrest is miserable. Invacare headrests are too wide from top to bottom. It cradles my head, which causes terrible headaches and back pain that only a chiropractor could fix. My prior quickie S646 cradled my neck, which worked perfectly. But it does not fit on the Invacare. (This was the soft headrest, not that hard plastic head torture device you get if you don't pay extra.)

The retracting joystick is difficult to move and breaks easily. It also broke easily 15 years ago and they have not changed the design or adapted the chair so that the independently produced magnetic retracting joystick can be attached. Placing the switch for the tilt/recline/elevating legrests on it endangers those electronics.

I cannot figure out where you would put a mirror on this chair, even if some producer makes a usable wheelchair mirror. I tried to affix an orange flag, but the frame make this impossible. Also impossible was attaching bicycle lights for safety after dark.

There were no handlebars; apparently they are an up charge.

Initially the back was attached to the chair at the top of the posts to which they are attached. I moved to the back down and was able to attach a bag, but somebody who needs a higher back could not do that.

It is way overpriced for the junk heap quality of everything but the mechanics/electronics. Go Wall Street!
Comments:durable:
1 for non-electronics/non-motors

5 for electronics, motors, batteries
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
Ronnie from Mckinney,Tx., U.S.A. submitted this review on April 23rd 2009 at 11:05 AM. Ronnie is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ability to charge battery's and go a long way.
Weaknesses:Hard to find replacement parts and repairs for.
Comments:Can anyone in my area help me with parts and repair?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Elena from Brewster, NY, USA submitted this review on September 8th 2008 at 07:31 PM. Elena is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fastest Wheelchair on earth. Small and get through tight places. I hardly recharged it and went over 10 miles and it was till good to go the next day.
Weaknesses:Speed is too fast, can't adjust the speed level to go slower but then again, its not a weakness its great. Just be careful running over peoples feet.
Comments:Top shelf and even though its old, I have refused a newer model because it gets me to places with ease and trust.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
John from Phx submitted this review on October 2nd 2007 at 05:14 PM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Reliability all the way. Assuming you have all motor upgrades and hub upgrades. The suspension works well and battery life is measured in days for me.
Easy to fix because of low part count and the use of off the shelf stuff like bearings and such.
Weaknesses:Little tough getting around in tight areas.
Little noisy for a library setting.
Tilt actuator pron to break if not careful about putting to much weight on the foot rest.
Comments:I used this model for 8 years and it was a very reliable chair after the first year and all the upgrades. The best thing I ever did was get a set of Froglegs for the front suspension. Made a world of difference Should of been standard equipment. I still use it some days just to go full speed down the bumpy dirt road, it's smooth a glass. Something my TDX5 can't do. It drives like a truck and takes a while to get the feel of it. But its a strong chair and handled me fine when I was 325 lbs. Pushes furniture around well also. :)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Smokey from Longmont, CO, USA submitted this review on March 14th 2004 at 11:16 PM. Smokey is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This chair is a very durable and with the upgraded motors has a good top end speed. I recently purchased a mid-drive chair and have not been as happy with it as I was with this chair. Over a period of almost five years to chair was incredibly durable and I don't believe I ever needed to take it in for repairs. The programming was easy and the chair was responsive with two different settings. Even with semi pneumatic tires on the front and solid filled tires in the back it had a good ride. It did have some trouble staying straight and tracking correctly on an incline, but nothing that was unusual. An excellent chair and the best I have ever had!
Weaknesses:Some trouble tracking a very steep grades. It could have gone faster but then I feel that way about all chairs. It does have fixed "wheely bars" in the back which very much hinder going up curbs with assistance because the chair cannot be tilted backwards to assist in going up curbs etc.
Comments:Overall the chair was excellent and the best thing about it was there was very little if any maintenance. The motors were very reliable and never gave me any problems (I have the upgraded motors). It was easy to maneuver both inside and out. The chair was quiet and very reliable in all kinds of weather. The only problem at all was the wheely bars in the back which made it impossible to tilt backwards for assistance in getting up curbs or stairs.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Paul from Staten Island, NY submitted this review on December 1st 2003 at 10:27 AM. Paul is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:MKIV A electronics are easily adjustable and pretty self-explanatory (as long as you order the remote programmer.)
Weaknesses:The actual torque on the upgraded motors was completely inadequate despite multiple adjustments to the controller. This chair has much less torque and manuverability than my previous Arrow GB. This chair, with upgraded motors, could not back up a kneeled minivan ramp with a 200lb. man in it. Getting the chair to pivot on a carpetted floor (from a full stop) also was a challenge. To get the chair to pivot, I had to overpower the turn which, in many cases, resulted in an uncontrolled swing. This was particularly fun inside a minivan. Simply put, the chair does not live up to its name.
Comments:Invacare puts out a chair that is very adjustable and can be configured to make me comfortable. Previous chairs have been reliable work-horses with minimal maintenance, but this one truly misses the mark. This chair was very disappointing compared to my previous Invacare chairs.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
Wheelchair Aid

12/01/03 This user has requested assistance in resolving several wheelchair performance related issues.
12/03/03 Several adjustments were made without success.
12/05/03 Dealer has agreed to exchange the wheelchair.
Our thanks to the Eastern Paralyzed Veterans Association Wheelchair Repair Service for facilitating this service.
 
 
 
Edward from Bronx, New York, USA submitted this review on February 22nd 2003 at 01:01 PM. Edward is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Absolute workhorse! Pound the hell out of this chair on city streets everyday with no problems. There's very little out there that slows this thing down.
Weaknesses:Haven't run across any yet.
Comments:I am a spinal cord injured 33 year old who doesn't hang around the house much. I just can't emphasize how well this chair has performed for me on the rough streets and sidewalks around here.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Harry from Syracuse, New York, USA submitted this review on December 20th 2002 at 05:16 PM. Harry is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is a very tough chair. I have the upgrade motors on it and use it for street use. It hasn't given me any trouble at all.
Weaknesses:Some anticipated traction loss in wet areas. I'm thinking of switching to pneumatic tires so that I can get better traction. It's hard for someone to push when disengaged. But I think that may be the case with any heavy wheelchair.
Comments:The rear and fork suspension helped alot on rough terrain. My old chair didn't have any suspension and was horrible on uneven terrain. I can't complain, this chair has been pretty good to me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
John from Baltimore, Maryland, USA submitted this review on July 13th 2002 at 09:58 PM. John is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The Torque has been very reliable. I have owned it for over a year and haven't put a dime worth of repairs into it.
Weaknesses:The motors are a bit loud. You can hear them wind up and down. Every once in a while the motor release locks up and you have to give the chair a slight push to release them.
Comments:This is not the best looking chair on the road, but this is greatly offset by the steady workhorse performance.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Other products by Invacare
2G Arrow Fwd
2G Arrow Jr Rwd
2G Torque SP Rwd
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
A-6S
Action MVP
Allegro
Aluminum Transport Chair
Arrow FWD
Arrow FWD Junior
At'm Take Along Chair
Auriga 3 Wheel
Auriga 4 Wheel
AX3
Buzz HMV
Buzz HMV R17
Comet
Comfort Mate Extra
Compact
Compass SPT
Compass XE
Deluxe
Eliminator OSR Racing Chair
Essential
Excel Front-Wheel Drive 250 Series
Excelerator Xlt
Excelerator XLT 2000
Excelerator XLT PRO
FDX
Infinity Gentle Contour Cushions
Infinity Low Contour
Infinity Max Contour
InTouch Stabilite OM
Intouch Targit
Invacare Jr
Invacare Jr. Sa
IVC 18
IVC 900
IVC 9000 JYMNI
IVC 9000 Topaz
IVC 9000 XDT
IVC 9000SL
IVC 9000XT
IVC 9000XT RECLINER
IVC TRACER IV
L'L Excelerator
Leo Scooter
Leo Scooter
Lynx LX3
Lynx LX3 Plus
Lynx SX3
MVP Fixed Frame
MVP Jr.
MVP Jr. Fixed Frame
MyOn Jr. Wheelchair
MyOn Ultraleightweight Wheelchair
Nutron R32LX
Nutron R50Lx
Nutron R51
Nutron R51 LXP
Nutron R51LX
Orbit
P9000 XDT
Panther LX4
Personal Seat VF
Power 9000
Power Tiger and Orbit Seat Frame
Pro - Pro-T - Pro-SA Series
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto M71 Jr
Pronto M91 with SureStep
Pronto R2 250 Series
ProSpin X4
Ranger II Front-Wheel Drive Standard
Ranger II Junior Front Wheel Drive
Ranger II Mid-Wheel Drive Basic
Roller M1
Roller Navigator
Rolls 900
Silhouette Pin Dot
Solara
Solara Jr.
Spree 3G
Spree XT
Spyder
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
TDX SI
TDX SP
TDX Spree
Thompson Lever Drive
Top End - A-6, F-6
Top End - A-6S, F-6S
Top End - A4, F4
Top End - Terminator BB
Top End - Terminator Everyday
Top End - Terminator Jr.
Top End - Terminator SS Everyday
Top End - Terminator Titanium Everyday
Top End - X-Terminator BB
Top End - X-Terminator QR
Top End A4 Titanium
Top End Crossfire T6A
Top End Crossfire T7A
Top End Crossfire Titanium
Top End Force R
Top End Paul Schulte Signature BB Titanium
Top End QR.2G Defensive Rugby Chair
Top End QR.2G Offensive
Top End Reveal
Top End Schulte 7000 Series Basketball Wheelchair
Top End T-5 7000 Series Tennis Wheelchair
Top End T3 Tennis Adjustable
Top End T3 Tennis Elite
Top End T3 Titanium
Top End Terminator Everyday Heavy Duty
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Terminator Titanium
Top End Transformer
Top End Twirl
Top End X Terminator Titanium BB
Tracer Ex2
Tracer Sx5
Tracer Sx5 Recliner
Transfer Chair
XLT Gold
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
Xtra
Zoom 220
Zoom 220 HMV
Zoom 300 HMV
Similar products (Rear Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
320 PC
320 PC
3G Arrow True Track
3G Ranger X Rwd
Adaptachair
B500
B600
Bounder
Bounder Plus H-Frame
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
Compact
Conquer
Conqueror LY-EB203)
Conqueror LY-EB206
Dassie 200M
Elyps
Excite
Gazelle 250s
Go Chair
Hp 4
HPS
HS-5600
Hub Motor Drive XML10D
Jazzy Z-Chair
Kernow
Lancer 2000
Leader
Liber-T
Liberty
Mambo Mini
Mambo Standard
Model No. 08 02 02A&B
Model-No.-08-02-01A-D
Moto Standard
Neo
NUD Elevating
Power Carechair
Power Rider Indoor
Power Rider Outdoor
PWC 2200
PWC 2300
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Quickie P200 (Discontinued)
Quickie S525
Quickie S646 & 646 SE
Rascal 250 Pc
Rascal 410 Pc
Rascal 415 Pc
Rascal 445 Pc
Roller M1
Select Traveller
Series 6
Street
Sunfire General
Sunrise LS
Supertrans
Teknique Gt
Teknique RWD
Tilite SXP
Tilite XP
Tracer
Traveller LY-EB103
Trooper
V 100
Wheeltech Budget 16
Wildcat
Zenit 4000
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy