USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Hoveround MPV 4
Written by CJ
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Rick
Tzora Active Systems Easy Travel
Written by Ron
Permobil Street
Written by Justin
Teftec Omegatrac
Written by Jim
Pride Mobility Jazzy Select
Written by HOLLY
Permobil C300 Corpus
Written by sandra
Pacesaver Eclipse
Written by Gary
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Chris
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by Paul
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Permobil Trax
Image of Permobil Trax
All terrain power electric wheelchair.
• The Trax can be fitted with manual or electric seat rotation.
• Manual or electric adjustment of the wheelbase.
• Two control systems, power steering with a joystick or manual steering with levers
• The suspension can be adjusted to the user’s weight
• Individual suspension on the front wheels.
• Adjustable wheelbase, also available in an electric version as an accessory.
• Electronics which can be programmed to meet the user’s requirements without tools or instruments.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1000
Durability?4.9000
Ease of use?4.6000
Meet expectations?5.0000
Overall Rating:4.700.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


J from NETHERLANDS submitted this review on December 12th 2012 at 04:42 AM. J is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power, durability, looks, all terrain capability, maintenance costs
Weaknesses:I found out the electronics are not waterproof... in wet conditions you should put a plastic bag around the joystick.

Difficult at the moment to find spare parts, esp. second hand parts. New parts are expensive.

Front lights are week. Who cares...
Comments:I hope to use my Trax for many years to come. If neccesary, I'll buy the X850, but it's expensive and probable not much beter.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Hein from Heerlen, The Netherlands submitted this review on December 31st 2008 at 08:00 AM. Hein is an end user who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:The real Trax was fenomenal. The new X850 isn't even likewise. Its the greatest mistake Permobil ever made!
Weaknesses:The stearing-motor was a weak point and that was the only thing that should have interest.
Comments:The real Trax was all good Swedish material. The new X850 has many Chinees parts. Its therefore that the relayebility increased. In my opinium the changes took place without looking through the eyes of the end-users.
See the Dutch Trax-site. A club of owners and users of the Trax or X850 wheelchair by Permobil. (www.traxioten.nl)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Wendell from Pittsburgh, Pa submitted this review on July 15th 2008 at 04:41 PM. Wendell is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power and Speed
Weaknesses:They quit making this chair! The best all turf chair in the world and you just leave your customers hanging?

Whats the worst thing ou can have happened to you? Having no electric wheelchair, leaving you stranded and bed bound.

Sad day...Sad day indeed. I ordered a new Trax and we can not find one.
Comments:What I had done was read all the reviews and clicked all the links to every wheelchair, every damn scooter, to fin that one chair you can depend on and the Trax was such a chair. The Trax cabn extend an my Beast was in the extended position and it broke in that position. While I am waiting for the Chesapeake Dealer to find me a new Trax, I may have to find a new chair other than a Trax and that my friends is messe up.

Permobile shame on you!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Richard from Pittsburgh,Pa. USA submitted this review on March 30th 2008 at 10:04 PM. Richard is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The Trax is an amazing vehicle. Its very strong going up steep hills or on any terrain I have so far run it on. Its fast when you want it too be , and slow and quiet enough to roll up on animals unobserved.
Weaknesses:The only possible weakness I can find is the lighting. The bulbs are inferior, especially for a machine like the Trax.They cannot be matched for similar beams and are practically usuless when the sun goes down.
Comments:I just love the Trax. Aside from the inferior headlights its almost perfect. It has given me back my mobility and allows me to go exploring again. I can tell you that whenever someone first sees it, I am always stopped and questioned about what it is and where can they buy one.When I tell them its designed for a person with a disability they often just say that they still want one.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Richard from Pittsburgh submitted this review on October 3rd 2006 at 12:08 PM. Richard is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Power,and more power. This power chair will fly, it will also climb slopes that most ablebodies folks would have trouble climbing. Its fun and very mobile.
Weaknesses:The only real weakness I have found first is the standard seat. If you are tall it will hit you mid-back and after a bit it can get uncomfortable. Another weakness is the lighting. The headlites are almost useless. Sadly i had techs from Able Mobility work on it and they made a weak system worse by not matching the lights.
Comments:The Trax is spectacular. its given me my freedom back. It can cruise just about anywhere, and will do it with speed. The only real problems I have had with it were the inept technicians that came from Able Mobility. The first one that came by to install the roll bar mentioned that this was not only the first time he had ever worked on a Trax, but it was the first time he ever saw one...go figure. The second tech came and replaced the headlites and neglected to pay any attention to matching the lights so in effect made the Trax look like junk with the lights on, the lights also do little to light up your way when the sun goes down. Maintanance is also a problem, seems Able Mobility does NOT back up their products in any way. They first demand payment in advance for a warranty call and while they are waiting fir the insurance company they do not call the client to see if hes stuck on the road or laying next too it. Stay away from Able if you want a scooter of any kind. They are NOT a good representive for Permobil. The Permobil folks are terrific and care about their products, but a dealer like Able destroys any good customer service. Their techs are not trained for Permobil products, and frankly an expensive perice of equipment like a Trax should have someone who "has a clue". The only thing Able is good at is cashing checks and acting like used car salesmen when it comes to after purchase work.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
wendell from pittsburgh, pa united states go steelers! submitted this review on May 8th 2006 at 09:32 PM. wendell is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:power power and power! the speed is great, dependable.
Weaknesses:only weakness i noticed is batteries do not last long, i had problems this winter the chair would only drive up to 3 hours before they were drained completely it seems this happened after i got new eletronics system, my chair lasted at least 6 hours while i was driving on the second speed. it is in the shop for the 4th time n three years, it seems to break down once a year though.
Comments:three year review, it seems me and my boy from virginia are the only two on the east coast with this type of chair, it is a great chair as i posted three times before. it will be time for me to order a new chair and it will be a trax.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Wendell from pittsburgh, pennsylvania, united states submitted this review on August 28th 2005 at 12:16 AM. Wendell is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is my 3rd post about the Trax, and it will be my one year review
strenths are:
style
power
durability
speed
Weaknesses:some may think it is to big, to fast
you can't take public transportation or acess
not for indoor use, particular apartments, small homes, stores
Comments:again, the device that turns the front wheels broke down, not the fault of the chair but the inter tubes that was ordered was the wrong size when i got a flat tire, the tech from Apria Heathcare was a idiot! He did not know how to fix a simple flat tire... when he went to replace the inner tube, he put it on wrong and made the wheel wobble, had another tech come out, he stated the tech before him did not have a clue to what to do, it was the same tech who messed up putting on the device that turns the front wheels back in january!
i requested he never come to my house and requested that he never work on my chair again!

please make sure you have a qualified person fix your chairs
if you get the TRAX, PLEASE REMEMBER THIS:
This is a great quality chair, it has more upside and you will have few problems. most problems seems to be with the electronics at times my chair just cuts off and flashes lights on the joy stick i think the permobil electric wheelchairs have these types of problems my chairman hd had serious problems with the electronics and bolts and other things kept following off, the trax i made surew i took the standard seat instead of the corpus seating system because i thought less moving parts i would not have to.

worry about the elavating seat system bolts falling off or the back to the seat always coming loose. i notice too, that the arm rests of both models trax and chairman hd starts to slop downwards

i will post new problems as they arise i will post the two year review and the three year review i hope posting these problems about the trx will help you in your decision when you select your new chair. i am trying to keep a record here for others if you have a chair please post about it here if you can posts your problems, posts updates so others who are thinking about getting a chair like yours could have a great review by someone who knows, because we use them everyday who better than us to help others have a easier time to find a chair that they need and depend on.

i wish i read abouy the chairman hd before i selected it, i would not had to waste my time and three years of having it-well one year out of three it was in the shop for a whole year, then the year before in the shop for nine months, then when i first went to pick it up it was not working then.
i should had known something was wrong then.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Paul from Fairfax, Virginia submitted this review on June 17th 2005 at 01:12 PM. Paul is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Speed, stability, traction, shock absorption, ground clearance, comfort, and safety.

You HAVE to try one to believe it.

Reps and service techs are awesome. Specifically Anjali Weber and Mike Raway.
Weaknesses:It's HUGE! Not for inside a house or business. Very tall. If you have problems transferring this may not be for you.

I really don't consider this a weakness but some might. It drives like a car. Meaning that the front wheels steer (via electronic servos) rather than the rear wheels spinning in opposite directions. It takes a bit to get used to and that's also what makes it hard to use in tight spaces.

Again, it's a "van seat" arrangement. Some don't like them,... I didn't until I tried the Corpus seating on my Permobil Street. I suggest trying it before deciding against it because of the seating system,... Standard or Corpus. The seats are a bit firm so if you have issues with skin break downs on your butt then you may want to look into alternate seating or a different chair.
Comments:If you're active and love the outdoors as I do then this may be the perfect chair for you. For about the same price as an Invacare TDX-5 you can have a Trax.

Anjali Weber (Permobil Rep for Northern Virginia) let me demo a Trax Standard (first for a week then for three and a half weeks and then later for two more weeks) while my old, donated chair was broken down and I was in the middle of purchasing a Permobil Street. (See my rating of the Street.)

With the exception of it's size and not being able to drive it into my house I absolutely loved the Trax. The one I demo'd had power seat elevator and base extension. They came in very handy while fishing and hiking with my family.

I'm currently in the middle of ordering one.

Brand Loyalty? Maybe so, but their products and reps have been great to me.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
wendell from pittsburgh, pennsylvania united states submitted this review on January 30th 2005 at 02:47 AM. wendell is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The last time I posted my information of the Permobile Trax with standard seat, I had just gotten it. It has been 8 months now, so I feel I can give a more adequete report and or review of the Permobile Trax.

The strenth of this chair is it's durability. I had destroyed electric wheelchairs only after a few days after I had recieved them.

Two weeks after I had gotten the Trax sure enough, it was broken but not by me this time, this time it was put together wrong by the tech at Apria.
They had to oder the part and again it was put on incorrectly and i ( well not I) But they chair was burning the wires in the part that turns the chairs frint wheels because the tec did not put it on correctly.

I so desperately wanted to drive in the snow with the Trax and it drove fine.
My Permobile Chairman HD was broken for an entire year, the Trax I can honestly say did great never broke down.

It is fast, it has a greak look and it is a great style it looks more like a all terrain vechicle than a electric wheelchair i love this and it's great power most.
it takes the steepest and longest hills with the greatest of ease, we have so many hills in pittsburgh, the Trax too all the hills i drove it through or up. it is truly my best friend.
Weaknesses:it can not be used in small stores, as i posted before, you can not take the public bus with the Trax, even Acess can not be used.
Comments:The best chair on the market period,
this is my 36 electric wheelchair since 1992
i had the mis pleasure of driving the cheapest and most expensive chairs ever made, all fail to the TRAX IT is the best chair if you are completely independant.

If you depend on Acess or disabled transpotation services like wheelchair vans or buses then this chair is not for you
but if you are the adventurous, like to drive your electric wheelchair person like me
that likes the freedom of the road, then THE PERMOBILE TRAX IS YOUR ELECTRIC WHEELCHAIR!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
wendell from pittsburgh, pennsylvania submitted this review on April 15th 2004 at 05:31 AM. wendell is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:WELL WELL WELL! The Permobile Trax-Standard-pictured over this review is excellent! Strenghs are it is a powerful chair, fast and will drive where others fear to tread, Permobile's promo add really applies and a perfectly great statement!
Weaknesses:The seat is hard and uncomfortable need to get my old seat system from Permobile added on it would make the chair a dream come true.
Being a huge, I mean huge chair, you can not ride public buses and most if not all Access transportation vechicles.
Comments:Man! W3hat a huge difference compared to the over 35 plus wheelchairs I had driven in the past 10 years! Trax is a beast, great for out-doors but not good in small stores great for malls though!~
I posted about the Permobile Chairman HD and Promised to post about the Trax, and the Trax is better, It does not (batteries) last long, though I believe the medical supply company that delivered my Trax drove it a few hours before delivering it to my home the service man that repairs the chairs for me even admitted they were driving it in the woods, jumping off curbs with my new chair! The nerve Huh?!

I can relate to their excitement though, The Trax is amazing, People on the streets thought it was phat!
Middle aged womaen that it was cute, Young bucks that it was sweet, I think it is mean, awesome I recommeded the Trax to several friends and I recommend it for you.

During my ten year carreer advocating for disabled and elderly needs one of them a great not good but greaqt electric wheelchair The Trax is close as it comes. Dependable when the sidewalks are destroyed like many in Pittsburgh' s low income areas or neighborhoods.

The seating as I stated above is only problem but could be corrected with the Corpas seating system.
OH YEA! Before I forget, The stearing is weild because it steers like a car, I never drove a car so it seemed ackward to me, The joystick will lock because you can change menues with the settings with the joystick, it will lock you out if you do not have special key to turn it on. So do not lose the special keys!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Other products by Permobil
C300 Corpus
C300 CS
C300 PS
C350 Corpus
C350 PS
C400 Aeron
C400 Corpus
C400 CS
C400 Lowrider
C400 PS
C400 Stander Jr
C400 Vertical
C500 Aeron
C500 Corpus
C500 Corpus
C500 Lowrider
C500 PS
C500 Stander
Chairman 2 Corpus
Chairman 2K Aeron
Chairman 2K Lowrider
Chairman 2K Stander
Chairman 2K Stander Jr.
Chairman Corpus
Chairman Entra Stander Jr.
Chairman HD
Chairman Minivertical
Chairman Vertical
Entra Corpus
Entra Miniflex
Entra Mps B
Hexior
K300 PS Jr
K450 MX
Koala
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Playman
Playman Robo
Street
Trax Corpus
Trax Miniflex
X850 Corpus
Similar products (All Terrain / Off Road Wheelchairs)
224
6 Wheeled All Terrain
6x6 Explorer
Action Trackchair
All Terrain
All Terrain Chair
ATB Ultimate
ATW
Boma Off Road Wheelchair
Bridge System
BT-ATB
C2000
CadWeazel Energy
Countryride
Extreme 4x4
Extreme X8
Four X
Freedom
Frontier
HexHog
Hippocampe
IRV 2000
K-2 ALL TERRAIN
Mountain Trike
Off Road Wheelchair Kit
Paramobile
Predator 4x4
Pure
RPV
Scorpion
Seeker
Seeker II
Superfour
Tank Chair
Terratrek Outlook
The Beach Cruiser
The Buzzard
The Hunter
The Nomad
Trax Corpus
Tremor
Woodstar
X850 Corpus
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy