USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by allen
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by William
Horizon Mobility Mayan
Written by john
Alber E-motion
Written by John
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by Kathleen
Permobil C500 Stander
Written by JP
Lifestand LSC
Written by Max
Pride Mobility Go Go
Written by Allan
Pride Mobility Jazzy 1122
Written by James
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by alex
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Pride Mobility Jet 7
Image of Pride Mobility Jet 7
Electric power wheelchair with mid wheel drive.
• Drive Wheels 10" solid.
• Rear Casters 8" solid.
• Anti-Tip Wheels 6" solid; front-mounted
• Suspension Limited.
• Maximum Speed up to 4 mph.
• Brakes "Intelligent Braking" (electronic, regenerative disc brakes).
• Ground Clearance 2".
• Turning Radius 17".
• Overall Length 33".
• Overall Width 23".
• Medium Back Seat Contoured medium-back (standard). Deluxe High Back Seat Contoured high-back.
• Drive Train Two-motor, mid-wheel drive.
• Battery Two 12-volt, U-1.
• Per-charge Range 25 miles (varies with client weight).
• Battery Charger 4-amp On-board (standard).
• Electronics PG 50 amp VSI.
• Weight Capacity 300 lbs.
• Base Weight 83 lbs.
• Seat Weight 36.5 lbs.
• Colors Jet Red or Jet Blue.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews930
Durability?4.002.000
Ease of use?4.673.330
Meet expectations?3.892.330
Overall Rating:3.782.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


MIKE from SALISBURY, NC submitted this review on August 7th 2012 at 12:59 PM. MIKE is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:I love this chair because it is able to be completely disassembled and stored in a car trunk if you don't have an SUV or truck. It is also very stable, quick, and light enough for most electric lifts. I liked it enough that when I broke the controller on mine by accident, I found and bought a used one to use until I could fix my primary one. I now have one for the house, and one to stay in the SUV until needed at stores, etc. I would recommend Pride products to anyone, and especially this chair for it's versatility. I took the fenders off and am having them custom painted - can't wait to see the results!
Weaknesses:Same as with all chairs, the cost of repair parts. I broke the controller on mine, and found out that full price for a new one was over $500!!! I eventually found one (took 2 days to find) for $85, and it has been working wonderfully since. You also need to be sure to adjust the front wheels so when you stop, you don't feel like you're going to be dumped. It won't flip, but it just feels like it, and it is am easy adjustment to fix. I also would like a drink cup holder, but that's frivolous, to say the least.
Comments:If you get either a Pride Jazzy, or a Jet 7, you'll be very happy, as long as you can afford a lift for the vehicle - this you will have to pay for all on your own. I tried ramps until one day one kicked out and the chair fell on me. That hurt quite a bit, but the chair was fine, just a small scratch. I got a used lift immediately after that! Just stay with PRIDE chairs, you'll never regret it - I promise!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
R from Oklahoma City, OK submitted this review on April 21st 2011 at 03:49 PM. R is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Battery charger if over 4 amp.
Smaller in width
Easy to break down without a tool
Seat adjustable in height
Leans back
Easy to manuever
Durable
Nice to sit in.
Lower to the floor
Weaknesses:There are really few weaknesses, if used in the proper way.
Don't like it that they often have to have a special tool
to adjust the foot rest.
Comments:I noticed that people have been having a battery problem.
I might ad a suggestion here. The pride product, most of them have to be turned off, while using the charger. If you dont, the charge keeps going down, and will not ever recharge back to the original level, and yes, in about 30 minutes of use, it will die back down.
These products need to be charged about 8 hours a day after usage, so its better to leave it charging over night or while sleeping.
I have never really had a problem with the Jet 7. Oh, a few minor things, like the ball bearings in the rear wheels. But in five or six years, it has served me well. It was my late wifes chair, and while I was attending her in her illness, it was a life saver.
The chair fit me, not me having to fit the chair.
I was not easy on the chair, but as someone says, it takes a licking but keeps on ticking.
My suggestion is to be kind to any product you use like this, and do minor maintences, keeping it clean and it will keep you safe.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Rod from Las Vegas submitted this review on February 21st 2010 at 11:10 AM. Rod is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:This thing is just what I needed.
Weaknesses:None
Comments:Just do what the book said and you will be fine.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
linda from chicago heights, il submitted this review on October 13th 2009 at 10:30 PM. linda is a care giver who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:it was free and it looks nice. a friend gave it to me after finding it in the garage of her new home.
Weaknesses:i don't know yet
Comments:i could tell you more if I could get the darn thing to run! we put in new batteries. the power button works but I get 2 red LEDS. According to the trouble shooting guide, the left side of the motor is loose or something but I can't see anything wrong. any suggestions?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
nick from kawkawlin submitted this review on July 29th 2009 at 05:18 PM. nick is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:easy to break it down to transport, pretty responsive, tight turning
Weaknesses:the batteries are um... laughable.the chair was used 3-5 times a week and within 2 months they went bad. during that time it developed a grinding noise from the motors. its incredibly tippy towards the front also.
Comments:i got this chair used but basicly new after the older lady it was bought for refused to use it after being tossed out of it due to the stick response and tippy tendency. she wasnt wearing the safety belt either. im overall not very impressed.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 2 Overall
 
nick from kawkawlin, MI, USA submitted this review on May 10th 2008 at 04:43 PM. nick is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:well, i havent broken it yet. it has a good tight turning base. im currently in a mobil home with small doorways and it goes through them better than my manual custom tilite wheelchair. it has been great for walking my high energy dog.
Weaknesses:its slow, squeeky, tippy in the front, batteries are a joke. after a couple months a small grinding noise appeared from the motors
Comments:i really cant complain much because i recieved this chair as a gift after my spinal cord injury, but after i got it i bought 2 brand new batteries for it and at best, on a new charge, got about a max of 1000 yards, came home on dead batteries. i now only use it to go in the yard and try to walk the dog about a year and a half later.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
Thomas from Gainesville , Florida submitted this review on February 8th 2008 at 04:44 PM. Thomas is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Pulls great going up steep Hills! Goes 4 miles per hour on a full charge! Easy to use! Easy to break down to transport or too store. "I really love it!"
Weaknesses:It has Gell Batteries! With Gell Batteries you have to charge it regularly or it will not hold a good charge! Sealed Lead Acid batteries you can charge them anytime you want! Then again, "Gels" don't have to be replaced but every 7-8 years if you charge them regularly! And you can take a powerchair w/ gel batteries out in sub-zero weather and the batteries won't freeze like "Sla's " will." I guess it's a Toss -up!"
Comments:" Really awesome little chair was designed I understand for avarage weight people Under 300 lbs. And it really goes like a Timex* "Takes a kick in' and keeps on tick in' , that is if you take care of it".
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Gary from Memphis submitted this review on July 19th 2007 at 06:34 PM. Gary is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Cool name. The number 7 is lucky for some people. Tight turning base.
Weaknesses:But it has an effective range of 500 yards per 16-hour charge.
Scooter Store of Tennessee won't admit, after multiple replacements of batteries, charger, cord, tires, that it's a complete lemon.
Comments:I go to church with the user.

I've gotten after-dark calls to come rescue her and her stalled power-chair in Downtown Memphis a couple of times (using my pickup and an improvised plank-ramp).

The 13-month-old chair won't take a charge, despite replaced batteries and repeated service calls to the Scooter Store (Nashville) who maintains that there's nothing wrong with the chair and that she's riding it over "rough terrain" and that the chair is affected by "extreme" heat and cold (even though it goes dead riding up and down an air-conditioned hallway.)
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
LARRY from VANLEER,TN submitted this review on July 3rd 2007 at 08:35 AM. LARRY is a care giver who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:has run with very little maintenance for over 2 year and with daily use.
Weaknesses:battery length and life.
Comments:been a great chair
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
John from Salisbury, NC submitted this review on May 5th 2006 at 01:04 PM. John is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Excellent product, well built, perfectly designed for intended use (no grossly obese). This chair is a dream come true, and I would recommend it to anyone in need of a chair that can be broken down for transport, and still hold it's own against any other brand - period!
Weaknesses:None found - maybe could use an ashtray and cig. lighter - maybe an ipod.
Comments:Anyone speaking against this product doesn't need a chair as much as a shrink.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Kevin from Henderson, Nevada, Clark submitted this review on May 16th 2005 at 06:46 AM. Kevin is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Throught the years my walking around has become worse. I found the Jet-7 in a Pawn Shop and did not pay through insurance this was out of my pocket. Since I have had this chair it's been everything but excelent in workmanship and relyability. This chair is a blessing and will work for years I feel because of the way my chair is working.
Weaknesses:Have not found one yet. And have not had to call the dealer for any problems. It works GREAT!!!!
Comments:I have read some of the other complantes about this product and don't understand there problem. If they need a chair that is going to have to work under conditions of 300lbs. or more don't buy it. The manufacture even states that the chair only holds x-amount of lbs. Don't put down a product just because you are the cause of making the chair brake down and in such a short period of time. Maybe the salesman should have sold you the right chair for you and your weight instead of thinking about the comission. THE JET-7 IS A GREAT CHAIR PERIOD.!!!!!!!!!!!!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
JD from JACKSON, TN.38305 USA submitted this review on February 10th 2004 at 12:42 AM. JD is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:NONE
Weaknesses:EVERYTHING:
SLOW RESPONCE,WILL NOT GO AS FAST AS STATED, CONTROL UNIT WAS BAD AFTER 1 WEEK, BEARINGS IN REAR WHEELS WENT OUT IN 4 WEEKS,SEAT SQUEEKS ALL TIME YOU ARE IN CHAIR, MOTORS WHINE AS IF YOU BEAT IT, BACK OF SEAT ALSO SQUEEKS. THE BATTERY CONNECTIONS AND EVERY NUT AND BOLT HAD TO BE TIGHTENED THE FIRST WEEK. THE ARM REST ARE WEAK AND WILL NOT STAY TIGHT. THE FOOT REST HAS BEEN TIGHTENED 4 TIMES, WILL NOT STAY UP OR AT HEIGHT THAT IS SET 1 MOTOR PULLSLITTLE MORE THAN OTHER CAUSING A CONTROLING PROBLEM THE BRAKES DON'T STOP THE CHAIR LIKE THE FIRST WEEK
Comments:I AM TOTALLY DISSATISFIED WITH THE CHAIR BEING SO NOISY I AM ASHAMED TO GET IT OUT TO GO TO CHURCH. THE SERVICE THAT I HAVE HAD IS SO BAD THAT THE DESCRIPTION FROM 3 DIFFERENT TECHS. HAS ALL BEEN DIFFERENT. 1st TECH THAT DELIVERED CHAIR KNEW EVERYTHING HE SAID. THIS CHAIR AND HIS COMPANY WAS THE BEST. I ASKED HIM ABOUT A RAMP. HE TAKES OUT HIS RULE AND MEASURES UP TO THE DOOR FROM THE FLOOR. HE STANDS BACK AND SAID 12 FEET, HE MARKED THE SPOT. THE FLOOR TO THE DOOR HEIGHT WAS 30ins. BACK TO THE CHAIR, THE CHAIR IS A PIECE OF JUNK OR IT WILL BE IN 6 MORE MONTHS. THE LAST TECH TOLD ME THAT MY CHAIR WAS FOR A LITTLE OLD LADY 75 YEARS OLD AND 100 POUNDS THAT NEVER GETS OUT OF HER HOUSE.
I AM A MAN 56 YEARS OLD 225 POUNDS AND THE REASON I WANTED THE CHAIR WAS FOR MOBILITY AND TO GET OUT AND GO ANY TIME I WANT. THE SCOOTER STORE SOLD ME A PRIDE PRODUCT WITHOUT ANY THOUGHT. I CANNOT SAY HERE HOW DISSATISIFIED I AM WITH THE JET 7, PRIDE MOBILITY PRODUCTS AND THE SCOOTER STORE OF TEXAS.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Other products by Pride Mobility
1143 Mighty
Celebrity 3 Wheel
Celebrity 4 Wheel
Dash
Go Chair
Go Go
Hurricane
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1105
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1115
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy 614 HD
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jazzy Z-Chair
Jet 10
Jet 2HD
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
Legend 3 Wheel
Legend 4 Wheel
Legend XL
Maxima 3 Wheel
Maxima 4 Wheel
Pathfinder XL 4
Quantum Blast 650
Quantum Blast 850
Quantum Blast Hd
Quantum Blast Xtreme
Quantum Dynamo & ATS
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Jazzy 1470
Quantum Kids Up Kids Fast
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 2
Quantum Kids Up Kids Rock 3
Quantum Litestream XF
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quantum R-4000
Quantum Vibe
Rally
Revo
Select Traveller
Solution
Sonic
Spectrum
Sundancer
Victory
Victory 10 Four Wheel
Victory XL
Wrangler
Similar products (Mid Wheel Drive Wheelchairs)
1143 Mighty
6Runner 10
6Runner 14
Catalina
Compass Sport
Euroflex Flexmobil 600
Guardian Aspire (full and mini models)
Hexior
Image
Jazzy 1100
Jazzy 1101
Jazzy 1103 Mini
Jazzy 1103 Ultra
Jazzy 1107
Jazzy 1113
Jazzy 1120
Jazzy 1121
Jazzy 1122
Jazzy 1133
Jazzy 1143
Jazzy 1170XL
Jazzy 600
Jazzy 610
Jazzy Select
Jazzy Select 6
Jazzy Select 7
Jet 10
Jet 3
Jet 3Ultra
M300 Corpus 3G
M400 Corpus 3G
Mambo 361
P222 SE
Pronto M50 with SureStep
Pronto M51 with SureStep
Pronto M6
Pronto M71
Pronto R2 250 Series
Quantum Jazzy 1120
Quantum Jazzy 1122
Quantum Jazzy 1400
Quantum Jazzy 1420
Quantum Q6 Edge
Quantum Q600
Quantum Q6000
Quantum Q610
Quantum Q614
Quantum Q640
Quantum Q6400Z
Quickie Aspire (full & mini)
Quickie Freestyle
Quickie G424 (Discontinued)
Quickie P220
Quickie P222
Quickie Pulse 6
Quickie QM-720
Quickie Rhythm
Quickie S-11
Rascal 326
Rocket
Roller Navigator
Scout
Series 8
Solaire
Storm TDX3
Storm TDX4
Storm TDX5
Streamer
Tango PC1
TDX SP
Xterra GT, with MKIV RII-80amp Electronics
 

© Copyright 2014 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy