USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Mikayla
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by Larry
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Joyce
Medicare Technology Mambo Standard
Written by I.J.
Travelscoot TravelScoot
Written by Barbara
Invacare 3G Arrow True Track
Written by David
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6000
Written by Robert
Box Wheelchairs Daily Chair
Written by Deidra
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-715HD
Written by debra
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Alber Adventure
Image of Alber Adventure
Alber Adventure
Modular electric power rear wheel drive wheelchair.

• Quick release wheels and seat.
• Jack-up system for wheel detachment.
• Free wheeling for pushing.
• Batteries, chasis, power base, seat, and wheels are modular for portability.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1310
Durability?4.692.000
Ease of use?4.382.000
Meet expectations?4.153.000
Overall Rating:4.154.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


Clara from Edinburgh submitted this review on July 8th 2014 at 09:47 AM. Clara is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Unfortunately there is no way to respond to other reviews besides writing a new one. Strengths as always the modular design, ability on rough surfaces, comfortable ride.
Weaknesses:Poor swing-away joystick, had that replaced over and over. Hubcaps I have given up replacing because they get broken again, particularly by airlines.
Comments:OK, so the comments I wanted to leave to follow on from other reviews:

* It took over a year to figure it out, but yes you can quick release the headrest. It's not a bit intuitive how it's done.
* Tyres: this is not Alber's fault, it is an international ruling, but where it says "not for road use" it doesn't mean do not go on roads, it means not for "road-going vehicles" i.e. ones which do considerably higher speeds. You can't, for example, stick them on a motorcycle, quad bike, etc. There is no reason to think you cannot go into the road with them!
* Get tyre Slime!! This green (other colours now becoming available) goo is an instant puncture sealant, which works by being pushed by air pressure into a puncture hole and making a virtually instant seal. It's a "temporary repair" but actually I have some tyres which have survived a serious slashing glass puncture several cm long and run for another 6 months just sealed with tyre slime. The front castor is still held together with Slime and going strong. You can also place protective tape around the inside of the tyre if you can be bothered to take the whole tube off.
* Changing the tubes: someone commented that they were very difficult because they are so hard to get off the rims. I thought so too, till I found out that you undo the bolts which hold on an additional wheel rim. Then everything slides off. That should be clear in the instructions. That's the main reason everything has been held together with tyre slime till now. Now I have realised this, I have sent for some new tubes and will fill these with Slime from day 1.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Tim from Townsville submitted this review on August 24th 2013 at 03:23 AM. Tim is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Ease of use.the setup wright from out of the box childs play.delivery times where comparable to most 4 to 8wks depending on location.also free delivery depending on the suplier. Suspension and ground clearence is supperb. The comfort level with the standered seating good add optional set richaro dosent get much better especialy as the seat bas many of the electronic options lacking or available with the Adventurer.
Weaknesses:Lack of electrical options
Comments:See strengths box for details
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Florence from Geneva GE Switzerland submitted this review on April 8th 2011 at 05:13 AM. Florence is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Real good to truck around, good quality, great design.
Weaknesses:TIRES, TIRES, TIRES!!!
Please make real tires that fit the possibilities of the chair. I constantly have flats going over little branches and all kind of things not supposed to flaten your tires. Those tires are made for home, certainly not for adventure. What a shame!
PLEASE consider all the comments about the weakness of the tires.
A few other things, like a wobbly control right armrest, the chair is very very hard to fold or take apart. Impossible for me.
Why not make full tires? then we would have no worries. I have to restrict my going around because of the fear to get stuck with a flat. At leat choose real tires. It cost 22.500 Swiss franks for that chair, and I keep it perfectly working.
Comments:Again, you had so many remarks about the tires, please react to it!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 3 Overall
 
David from USA submitted this review on October 3rd 2009 at 10:56 PM. David is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is very well designed but needs refining in certain areas. I have traveled over 4000 miles in this chair to raise awareness of homeless Veterans. I have made some modifications such as lights and even a custom trailer hitch. I pull a trailer designed from a Pelican Transport Case with a US Flag the size of a basketball court in it. Although Alber wasn't certain I could do this however it has done the job exceptionally well. I love the chair overall but as I said it does need some changes.
Weaknesses:As for those changes. How to say this is hard without offending someone is hard but here goes... 1) The TIRES SUCK! I have had over 25 flat tires. Now this is not the fault of Alber but the tire MFG. The rubber is so soft I have gotten a flat running over a stick. They say not for road use on them but where do they think we ride these in the grass? Side walk road whats the difference? The tire gives a nice ride overall bot perhaps a foam filled tire should be offered as an option. 2) Arm rest are very weak and wobble a lot and need to be tightened up often. 3) One thing here in the US some ADA access curb ramps san be a challenge due to angle and the alber seems to want to track sideways. This not the fault of alber however accounting to this should be made. Again overall in rating I give the tires themselves a 2 for durability.
Comments:This Chair is well constructed and the best design I have seen and I would not even try this trip with any other. Alber has been fantastic in their support even from the other side of the world. If ever I have a problem I call Germany or Frank Mobility and it is taken care of right now. Rating to these two companies is 110% and I couldn't even begin to have attempted what I am doing with out their support or any other chair. http://hhva.veterancottages.org
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Clara from Scotland submitted this review on June 22nd 2009 at 06:53 AM. Clara is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:This is an update review after settling in with the chair. Still a nice piece of kit, very comfortable, and I managed to take it around a hillside Roman fort on sloping wet grass, handled it fine.
Weaknesses:Dying to know if everyone else's rear suspension makes a creaking and cracking noise. I thought this would be something that died down with use, but I have oiled it and greased it and had someone rattle the suspension all the way up and down and it still makes a hideous noise with each and every movement.
Comments:They really don't seem to consider how the add-ons interact with the modular design.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Clara from Edinburgh, Scotland submitted this review on January 8th 2009 at 08:47 AM. Clara is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:If you have a strong and willing person with you then you can take this in an unadapted car. The modular folding system also eliminates many problems with airlines such as hold hatch height, as the back will fold out of the way. Design is nice-looking, not just functional-looking bolts.
Weaknesses:Beware the add-ons! Everything on this chair that is a core part I find reliable, sturdy and well designed. I also have the optional headrest (which despite the brochure does NOT quick release), swing-away joystick (wobbly beyond measure) and calf support. Conflicts are not shown on the dealer order form, so you don't realise till you get it home that you cannot remove the legrest without taking off the calf support if your seat depth is over 15in. You cannot set the 17-20in seat to 17in in certain back heights because the armrests do not flip up in that position. The calf support will not fit in the rearmost position unless you obtain your own spacer washers. This information should show up on the order form as a conflict but it does not.
Comments:You may need new tools for it, as everything is metric.
The user manual is rubbish, it does not tell you how to adjust anything at all, just how to take it apart and put it back together it its current format.
It's pretty hard to give an overall rating as it depends if I rate the standard product or the version I have with the below-standard add-on features.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Antonio from Tokyo - Japan submitted this review on August 27th 2008 at 11:41 PM. Antonio is an end user who has six months to a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Stylish , speedy , tough and good general performance . Good at railroad crossings too (believe me Tokyo's are MEAN and treacherous ) AA goes thru them easy. Got a good feeling ridding it specialy when I know the batteries can give me a good distance span compared to my old Jazzy or Panasonic scooter.
Weaknesses:Battery charger gave up the ghost less than six months of usage and if Alber Japan staff weren't competent , I would end up with a piece of junk on my doorway while the Germans decided to send another charger after the Summer holidays and the World Cup were over. No reason on why that happened came yet from Germany . The rear left wheel too ratled a lot and the performance in general of the chair was hindered because of that .The rear wheels fishtail on certain surfaces too. got to be careful when breaking too on top of manholes and other surfaces . uselless to try and you'd better get ready for impact . Plastic parts are weak and why should I pay for Alber's mistakes everytime I need to replace something that was faulty from the start ?Aber Germany better change their attitude .
Comments:I general it's a good chair . Just wish Alber Germany cared more , knew the different between Asian raods / streets and the weather too . Or simply admited they screwed up on certain points . Sent spare hubcaps an extra battery charger with the chair when sold . It is after all a very expensive golf cart .
Alber could do better if they put their hearts into it .
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Phil from Hertford UK submitted this review on February 22nd 2008 at 02:16 PM. Phil is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Had it over 2 yrs. Still going strong. Very comfortable and still looks great hasn't aged still looks very modern!
Weaknesses:Got through two set of batteries although the second set were replaced free. No obvious cause for the failure. Some problems with the armrests not locking in place some oil will probably fix!
Puncture in front tyre difficult to repair as tyre difficult to remove from rim. Tyres beginning to show wear. My wife has dismantled the chair but finds the drive wheels very heavy to move.
Comments:Still great and and a pleasure to drive. I've subjected it to serious all terrain use and it just keeps coming back for more. Highly recommended if you can afford it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Mary from UK submitted this review on November 27th 2007 at 12:46 PM. Mary is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:Durability
Comfort
Speed
Reliability
Performance
Weaknesses:I have not found any yet but it is early days
Comments:I am taking the Albert Adventure on a challenge of a life time. I am going to drive it, in 29 days at an average of 40 miles per day, from Lands End to John O'Groats UK.
Please read my bog www.powerwheelchaire2e.blogspot.com and follow my story
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
abdulhadi from uae dubai submitted this review on July 16th 2007 at 12:44 PM. abdulhadi is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:10/10

World wide best electrical wheelchair created so far. lasting batter, excellent design looks and its practical, powerful rigid over stones and grass and slight sand, but very good in doors between offices and wonderful outdoors
Weaknesses:weaknesses it can't fly has no wings
Comments:i don't blame those with style to switch on advanture
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Phil from Hatfield,Herts, UK submitted this review on November 11th 2005 at 06:04 AM. Phil is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Great to look at very stylish!
Tough, durable and with the right seat very comfortable
Can be dismantled.
Will tackle some tough terrain
Very quick and cover longs distances e.g. goes all day!
Weaknesses:Its pretty expensive
Doesn't like sand but then how many powered chairs do.
Some parts are very heavy when dismantled e.g. the wheels
Go for the contoured seat the standard one is like riding a plank!
Comments:The design and looks take powered chairs to a different place.
Don't buy it because your told it can be dismantled its hard work!Get someone else to do it for you!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Frank from Boston,MA,USA submitted this review on September 22nd 2005 at 04:52 AM. Frank is a care giver who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths: 
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Good service
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Philip from Stockton on Tees, United Kingdom submitted this review on August 20th 2005 at 04:28 PM. Philip is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:The chair is extremely stylish and it's detailing is great. The quality of construction is excellent. Lot's of options and upgrades are available.
Weaknesses:Although it breaks down easily some of the components are still quite heavy and could prove difficult to load into a car.
Comments:It's a great looking chair and I enjoy using it ver much. It drives well and is good 'off road'.

It cost me over 6000 and some of the upgrades are expensive.

I would recommend it!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Robin from Cape Town, South Africa submitted this review on August 25th 2004 at 08:12 AM. Robin is an end user who has less than a month of experience with the product.
Strengths:The Alber "Adventure" has many strenghts. It is powerful and agile.
I have really enjoyed using it so far.
Weaknesses:It has hardly any weaknesses. The only one that I have noticed is that it is heavy and very wide and therefore very difficult to lift into a car and drive through doorways.
Going to the toilet with it is also a bit hard.
Comments:I really enjoy using it and recomend it to any wheelchair driver, that has problems to get around with their present wheelchairs.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy