USA TechGuide Banner.
 
Search:
Home
The TechGuide
Wheelchair Reviews
Cushion Reviews
Scooter Reviews
Stander Reviews
Wheelchair tips
Wheelchair Diffusion
Accessible Travel
Wheelchair Sports & Rec
Links/Resources
Source Index
United Spinal Association
About United Spinal
United Spinal Membership
Donate
Email Us
 
latest reviews banner
Sunrise Medical Quickie Spirit 470
Written by mark
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by John
Invacare Action MVP
Written by Fritz
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-720
Written by James
Sunrise Medical Quickie QM-7 Series
Written by Michael
Tankchair Tank Chair
Written by jim
Radical Mobility Predator 4x4
Written by Ben
Pride Mobility Quantum Q6 Edge
Written by jim
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Pam
Redman 107-ZRX
Written by Lynne
 
poll banner
 
 
Translate This Page
spanish translation
french translation
italian translation
German translation
Portuguese translation
 
 
Horizon Mobility Mayan
Image of Horizon Mobility Mayan
4 wheeled electric scooter with 8mph top end.
 End UserCaregiverClinician
# Reviews1310
Durability?4.625.000
Ease of use?4.545.000
Meet expectations?4.005.000
Overall Rating:3.695.000.00
Post a review on this product    Email this review


john from leeds yorkshire submitted this review on April 13th 2014 at 10:06 AM. john is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:hi I have had my mayham 5 years now and I look after it my self
it has been one of the best mobility scooters I have had
Weaknesses:I have fitted disc brake on the front wheels to improve the stopping distance down hills when I am off roading
Comments:I have found that I can work how the components work and you must do maintance on it every 6 mounths
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 1 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Larry from Frizington, Cumbria, England. submitted this review on December 9th 2010 at 01:16 PM. Larry is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:It does all that is expected of it quite easily and then some. I live in the hills in the lake district and one particular hill on the way home is 1 in 4 for about half a mile and 1 in 3 on the inside of the corners and when my wife gets knackered walking up the hill, she stands on the back and it pulls both of us up, flat out in top gear, no problem. It is one of the older models that I bought second-hand, 4 x 55ah batteries (48volt) and 15 x 6.00 x 6 tyres and boy, can it go. Very powerful. In fact I was travelling too fast on a rough mountain track and I broke a battery casing and had to buy another battery, which was an expensive lesson.
Weaknesses:I haven't found any yet and hopefully I won't. I don't know how old it is but there are no problems yet.
Comments:I have not seen the latest models so I don't know how they perform but this older one is magic. There aren't any big mobility scooters in my area and lots of people stop and pass comments about it. Even teenagers say it's 'cool'. With it being so big it needs to be used carefully, especially in among a lot of people.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
DAPHNE from REDRUTH CORNWALL submitted this review on September 30th 2009 at 11:36 AM. DAPHNE is an end user who has over five years of experience with the product.
Strengths:I reiterate - wonderful when going OK.
Weaknesses:NO good when it breaks down, if you cannot get it fixed.
Comments:I do not intend to enter a "slanging war" Mike. The latest comments by you really do NOT BECOME you at all as a genuine, responsible businessman. I always appreciated your repair services whilst you were at Falmouth and as you well know, I ALWAYS PAID THE BILLS FOR BOTH LABOUR AND PARTS. I still have the receipts to PROVE it. "HOW THE MIGHTY HATH FALLEN!" To lower yourself to these sort of "tactics" is MOST UNWORTHY I think!
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
TechGuide says: OK, now that we have had one round each we can take this discussion somewhere else. Maybe both parties should discuss this over a nice brew and work it out.
 
Mike from Evesham UK submitted this review on July 27th 2009 at 04:31 AM. Mike is a care giver who has over ten years of experience with the product.
Strengths:Just thought I would reply to Daphne as the designer of the Horizon range of scooters and one who has tried to help you on many occasions when you have called looking for our assistance. These comments are my own and not those of HMTE Ltd.

HMTE Ltd is a small family business and I have been designing mobility scooters for over 20 years now. As the manufacturer of the Mayan we are proud of our products and the help it provides our customers.
Weaknesses: 
Comments:Daphne we provided you with free service and support for your very noble charity effort and since then as we were local to you, but you didn't purchase either your Mayan or Aztec scooter from us, but bought both of these rather elderly models 2nd hand from a 3rd party. You have not purchased any support from us and have refused to pay for parts or service calls. Unfortunately now we are no longer local to you we are not able to provide this level of service, especially for non-customers, however much we may wish to, as we are a business and need to earn a living.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Mike from Dundee submitted this review on May 19th 2009 at 01:27 AM. Mike is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Amazing performance, incredible strength and they build it to my specification and exact colour. I have specified the 110A/hr batteries which never seem to run out, go out most of day and it still has plenty of charge left. Much better than my original 36v Mayan that I had 2 years with out much problem, and even after the move Horizon came out and solved them.
Weaknesses:Not much now, charger has shrunk to a small lightweight package now, key switch it big black car type now, horn still weak, though louder than old machine and it still weighs a lot so only transportable in my MPV.
Comments:Bizarre looks, though I like them as it doesn't look like any other scooter out there and certainly less like a "disabled" scooter. No plastic bodywork to break, huge footplate with no obstructions to get my feet over. Lights are now amazingly bright, can actually see where I am going at night with Halogen headlight.
They fitted a trailer as well for me (see it on their website (www.horizonmobility.com). I love it.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Daphne from Cornwall submitted this review on December 15th 2008 at 05:51 AM. Daphne is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:As I have previously stated as a scooter, when running it cannot be beaten.
Weaknesses:When it goes wrong and you need repair you cannot get it. The firm moved to Evesham and despite promises they NEVER come.
Comments:I would like other Mayan users to get in touch with me. Or anyone that knows how to fix them and is willing to do so.
Does anyone have to scrap their's ? Do you want to sell it ? Either running or for spare parts ? We have transport to do pick-up. REDRUTH 01209 - 210269
email: daphne@barbary.co.uk
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Matt from england submitted this review on February 25th 2008 at 05:58 AM. Matt is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Very good range machine when working.
Weaknesses:middle battery, key switch,poor fitting plastics,steering and tiller adjustment.
Comments:very poor service, engineers that dont turn up, company now moved to another factory and cannot get an engineer booked to come out. Keep getting told that they are waiting for parts to be delivered from their suppliers. Have been waiting 3 months now and cannot us my scooter it is now 6000 of worthless junk,
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 3 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 2 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 1 Overall
 
Mike from Dundee submitted this review on September 13th 2007 at 03:44 AM. Mike is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Where do you start, having seen one performing at The Mobiliity Roadshow Donnington, I bought one and it has done me amazing service climbing any hill I could want, it goes off-road with ease, even through the steep forest tracks in Cumbria. Range is incredible, it never seems to run out of power, I have done almost 40 miles on a single charge on several holidays, I am not light by the way (304lbs at the last count)
Weaknesses:Being huge it weighs a lot so isn't easily transportable, though it goes into my people carrier without problem. Charger is the size and weight of a small house, but what do you expect, it is charging 3 x 80A'hr batteries, had new style key-switch fitted by Horizon, it is much better than the original small fiddly one.
Comments:See this charity website for an idea just what these scooters can do http://www.scoot-a-long.org.uk/ I have just seen their new scooter and talked to Horizon, they now look even more butch and indestructible, with all tubular steel bodywork that is really funky, this looks like no mobility scooter I have ever seen before and I really, really want one with the 100A/hr battery option now offered please.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Daphne from Redruth, Cornwall, England submitted this review on February 12th 2007 at 06:41 PM. Daphne is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Goes ANYWHERE I want it to, both on and off roads. Climbs Cornish hills at speed. Looks and feels Fantastic! Really SAFE on roads in comparison with other scooters.
Weaknesses:As others have said: horn pathetic, charger too heavy and keys puzzling and inadequate for fiddly locks. Front Basket very badly placed as any shopping or bag in it obscures vision.
Comments:I get tired long before the batteries are even half used. For Complete independence and freedom it CANNOT be beaten. I didn't know there was a 12mph Mayan, wish I had it.
I would really like to know email address or tel number of PETER from POLPERRO. (Previous reviewer from Scoot-A-Long)
Can anyone help please?
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
andrew from endland submitted this review on February 4th 2007 at 04:03 AM. andrew is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:I am 31 stone and the mayan pulls me up any hill without missing a beat i have had a few scooters but i will never change again she climbs up and down curbs without any rattle or squeek that i would get from others that i have try'd when every i go out i feel so confident and safe . i often here kids in the street saying its cool and that they want one and that it looks like a quad i realy can't praise the mayan enough oh yes my mayan is bright yellow very easy to see when on the road .I go on nature trails and this puts me over very rough ground through mud and very deep puddles and i have to admit the child in me thinks this i great fun as i have never felt i am pushing the mayan to far .
Weaknesses:transportability very expensive but worth every penny if you can offord iti bought mine second hand on e.bay.
Comments:the horizon mayan is second to none in my opinion
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Peter from Devon submitted this review on October 18th 2006 at 05:50 PM. Peter is an end user who has one to six months of experience with the product.
Strengths:Fantastic power and hill climb, Excellent on all kinds of terrain even cross country, Easy to use even though it is a large vehicle and does not look like a mobility scooter so you don't feel disabled, infact it is so good looking it grabs attention everywhere I go even youngsters think it is so cool. Best of all is with the 36v battery system the range is better than any other scooter I have tried and as a Disabled Rambler it it so good to know I am still going strong when others have to give up and also with it being all weather it can be used any time even when others can't
Weaknesses:Needs trailer to transport (but does fold flat which helps)
Comments:I love the machine and only wish that they made a 12mph model for off road use like the other machine that they make. Would recommend to anyone who wants to do more with their machine than just go to the shops
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 5 Overall
 
Martin from Sheffield submitted this review on May 19th 2006 at 10:33 AM. Martin is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:Amazing machine, mine is the 12mph version with 3 Modes. Taken it across Dartmoor National Park, it coped with anything I could dare to drive up or down. Huge with real road presence, smooth ride, really comfortable seat with a slight roar from the tyres being the only noise from a very solidly made vehicle. Light steering is a suprise for such a big vehicle.
Weaknesses:Huge, really needs a trailer to transport it anywhere, though I can get it into my Chrysler Voyager with the seat back down and a pair of 7' ramps. Horn is quiet for a machine this size, glovebox lock has broken because I used wrong key (the lock and ignition keys are almost the same. Charger, like the scooter is not transportable, it must weight 20lbs.
Comments:Brilliant machine, has given me my freedom back to travel anywhere I could want to go. Found Horizon service department very helpful when I broke my lock, they had an engineer out and fixed it within 3 days. It has been better than I could have hoped.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
james from manchester england submitted this review on July 30th 2005 at 05:11 AM. james is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:compared to shoprider 8 mph scooters mayan wins on power, stability,great seat , leg room, above all street cred, you sit real high and at high speed no rattles just a lovely deep rumble from the big knobbly tyres. fun to drive. have you ever fancied an old mini cooper? this comes close.
Weaknesses:not cheap. poor tiller adjust. charger weighs a couple of tons. pathetic horn. tiny key.
Comments:horizon can tailor the mayans performance to suit your wishes. i keep and use the mayan in ibiza
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
Peter from Polperro, Cornwall, England submitted this review on July 16th 2004 at 10:18 AM. Peter is an end user who has over a year of experience with the product.
Strengths:36volt motor so it can clime very steep hills (2 in 1)and has a long range 30miles in cornwall, it is very hillie hear.The best it has managed was 37.5 miles on the Isle of Man where it went round the TT motor cycle track on one charge.
Weaknesses:size,it needs a trailer to tack it with you.
Comments:I have used the Mayan to raise money for charity and the runs we have done with it include,in 2000 Lands end to John-O-Groats (one end of England to the other)and back (we have the Guinness world record for this,next as i said before around the Isle of Man in 2002 for which we recived certificates form the minister for tourism the tow years ago we went round the northsea cycle route.You start at Harwich in England go upto John-O-Groats ferrie to Orkney then to Shetland to Norway then to Sweden to Denmark,Germany,Holland the Ferrie back to Harwich,3500miles.And this year my fund raising group called scoot-A-long, are going all around the UK (approx 5000 miles) at this moment collecting money for shopmobility.I am a private user,but you can see between myself and the others of Scoot-A-Long we put the Mayan to a lot of hard work.In 3 mounths we use the scooter the same amount as a normal person would use it in 5years.
Durability?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in durabilityEase of use?This reviewer rated this product a 5 in ease of use
Meet expectations?This reviewer rated this product a 4 in Meet expectationsOverall Rating:This reviewer rated this product a 4 Overall
 
   
 

 



© Copyright 2017 United Spinal Association
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy